(2008/05) May 2008

I find that my tummy looks almost normal early in the norning, but after food, it looks so bloated, esp the lower abs

My students sometimes comment on my big tummy (well bigger than usual), but they dunno I'm pregnant yet lol

I'm more paranoid abt how my bb is doing (cos we can't feel them yet)..

ant1712 : ya i oso dunno i go slim down anot.. very sianz whenever i saw myself in the mirror.. especially when wearing my uniform.. wah lau.. feel tighter & tighter lor.. ;(

dolly23 : i used to b v fat.. ard 70kg.. den i slim down to 55kg.. dat was last yr Nov.. den i maintain my wt til my wedding which is on june.. but nw im wting @ 64kg!! i hate dat.. ;(

moony- u hv to wear uniform at work?
we in same boat
i almost the same weight as u nw. n i cfm gainin at the rate i am eating. dun wan to tink hw much wt i gonna put on for the whole preg..

ya i gt to wear uniform to wk.. ;( sux.. my uniform makes mi looked like sec sch student or ITE student.. ;( ppl wil tink dat im fat nt preg.. ;( & bcos its nt 3mths yet, i cannot request for maternity wear cos later ppl sure find our de.. ;( actually i always get hungry n i diedie muz eat.. last time im nt like dat de.. ;( when i feel hungry i can tahan.. nw cannot le.. my gastric juice feels more acidic nw.. furthermore tonite i gt a wedding dinner to attend.. i really dun feel like goin bcos i feel dat i look fat.. ;( but my hubby says bcos of my ht i din look much of a diff.. my close colleague oso commented dat i dun look liked i've put on alot of wt.. ;(

Lynn,
My tummy looks little bigger than usual in the morning. same like you, after food, it's bloated, esp by evening, really look big and stretched ....
Poko, my gynae not yet advise on me OSCAR yet, but i am just paronoid, coz' i am not young liao, so can't tell u abt the cost.
ant1712, i also worried fat, and hard to lose that extra pound later. but i think, let's concentrate on growing well with bb, and worry abt the losing weight part later lor.. ..
For me, I felt like puking at times, but always tahan, so far did not puke. Since young i hated to puke, so no matter how sick i am, i will tahan the puking until it finally come out from the other end a few hours later, ie diarrhoea. Which is bad, coz' i suffer longer than if i were to let it go from the mouth.

twinkle star, thanks so much for the chart! No wonder my MS is so bad... at 4wks, its at 560.3! And it keeps doubling... i guess dats why i kena bad MS... too high hCG... keke! I thank God for making me a cheerful person and also for having caring hubby, families and frens... lots of frens who prayed for me and gave me advises. And then there are forum frens too! Pple like you all have been encouraging! I am glad to know you all...

moony, i used to be fat at 70kg one... dats when i kena my slipped disc.. then reduced my weight to 51kg. After wedding and honeymoon put on 1.5kg. LOL! So when i first when to Dr Lim, I weigh 52.5kg, but now 52kg after all the puking. But then hor... now is never the time to worry abt how much u put on, unless u put on way too fast which yr gynae will tell you and remind u to watch wat you eat. But if yr gynae did not mention, shld be still ok. Hmm... u cannot count yr wedding weight but i think u must count yr weight from 1st appt till now how much you gained loh. Then said... dun worry, u managed to lose weight before rite? So after pregnancy, it should not be too difficult... just jia you again! I am confidence we can all do it... at most lets all go exercise together if we live near by... ok? Jia you! Be a happy mummy and no matter wat, you will look pretty one...

Hi Jaspire,
Just curious, how did u manage to lose 19kg from 70kg to 51kg?? Any "mi jue" to share (so that we could follow it after giving birth). heehee..

Gynae also told me that the weight which we put on in the 1st - early 2nd trimester are on mother and not baby. So if we put on too fast and too much, we may have difficulty losing it after that.

hey jaspire.. thanks!! haha.. i shld curb my eating habit.. ;( haiz.. losing wt is nv easy de.. i managed to lost by seeing doc for panbesy.. n panbesy cannot take for long.. liked u.. i've mild slip disc.. so i dun do sports.. very diff to slim down..

mickymouse, my "mi jue" is when i tried to lose weight for my slipped disc... i ate soupy stuff oni. No fried food at all. I oso cut down on carbohydrates...eg rice and bread. But every morning i will load up on carbo such as Quaker Bran cereal... cos the carbo in morning will help last till whole day and not make u faint. Lunch and dinner can cut but be careful, cut doesnt mean dun take carbo loh. Then start exercising as well... i started light exercises cos with slipped disc, i cant do much. But slowly as my weight dropped... I started to exercise more... eg. swimming and jogging. Last yr even challenged myself to do 10km marathon... hee... so its possible, you just nid to tell yourself u can do it loh.
I am happy with my weight now and not too paranoid but for sure, I wont wan to be a fatty again bcos of no self-control... very unhealthy and no self-esteem. So ladies, i know we can all do it!

peace, yes... me sensitive to smell... Some bathing foam i cant use cos i smell liao wanna puke. Oso some food etc all smell horrible. Hee. Endure... else i move away from it.

Jaspire,
No wonder you could sucessfully reduce 19kg! You've such a strong determination & self control which is very good. Really got to "Pei fu" you.

Hope I can do the same as you after giving birth.

hello!

so far i didnt gain any weight... on the other hand... lose a kg... maybe becoz of poor appetite...

my appetite very weird one... one moment i can be soo hungry...queue up for fish soup...next moment.. i feel like throwing up even before i eat....

at nite will be most unbearable... always dreaming of food.. hahaaa... must be very hungry i guess... =D

oh ya...i will be going for the down syndrom test in another 3 weeks time....is that the oscar tests u are talking about?

Read from magazine that pregie pop (lollies) is the remedy for morning sickness, available at egg maternity at $9.90, for backache, place a pillow at the back of seat and wear flat shoe and for leg cramp & water retention, place a pillow under the ankle when sleeping or sleep with ur leg hanging against the wall (L shape). Hope these are useful

hi mickymouse,

me too have no ms, and my tummy getting bigger and bigger each day... now my clothes are getting limited liao.. went to bought some clothes from perfect mom on monday. not as comfy as my usual clothes. i only have cramp and backache.

peace,
I am 8 weeks plus. Don't worry, you'll get to see more details on your next scan.

I hate fish too. Can't even stand the smell of neighhours' cooking especially of prawns and fish.

someone here (sorry I forgot who) mentioned that exercise may reduce the MS feeling. These 2 days I brought my son to swim, I feel that my MS has improved even though I didn't really swim much in the baby pool. So maybe you all can try some mild exercises like swimming or walking although I know that exercise is the last thing on your mind when you are nauseous. I wouldn't go if not for my boy.

Im new here... just got confirmation from my gynae and saw my bb on ultrascan... finally i believed im pregnant.

my EDD is 13 May 08 and Gynae is Dr Yeah ML at KKH ...

looking forward to all the interaction here

Me also sensitive to smell, don't put on perfume now even though I used to everyday. Some food smells so good (neighbour's cooking) but sometimes all food turn me off..

When my gastric juices go into overdrive, I take some digestive biscuits or have some cereal drink, but then I'm not hungry at all. Think that's bad right? I should just take the gastric pills my gynae gave me, if not end up putting on more weight.. Me also a fatty, at the upper end of "normal weight".. Wanted to lose some weight before getting pregnant, was going to start on my weight-loss program then found out already preggie.. Hiaz..

Any MTB with a sharp pain in the lower back(around tail-bone area)? I seem to be getting it more often this week. Sometimes after sitting for very long (2 hrs plus) and get up suddenly very painful. Stand also painful leh.. Dunno could it be due to me wearing high heels? I limit my heel height to 2 inches at the most, and dun feel uncomfortable or anything usually.. Anyone started strictly wearing flats already?

hi juin,

welcome! You are our 38th May MTB!

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>EDD </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>Child # </TD></TR><TR><TD>ant1712</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr C Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>jaspire</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>muzicgal</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Soong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>rantingbaby</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>Dr Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>icebaby</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A.</TD><TD>3rd </TD></TR><TR><TD>sugar</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD>Dr Sim LN</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>xavpris</TD><TD>4th</TD><TD>Dr SC Quek </TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>bonjon</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>kab</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Dr Yeap ML</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>snoopie</TD><TD>5th</TD><TD>Dr W.K Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>diana</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Dr Beh</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>courage</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>lisa cheng</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>twinkle star</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>xiuxiu</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherimoya</TD><TD>10th</TD><TD>A/Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>jen</TD><TD>10th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>moony</TD><TD>11th</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>poko</TD><TD>11th</TD><TD>Dr HK Ho </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>sunshine</TD><TD>11th</TD><TD>Prof Mary Rauff</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gina Loh</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>choc</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>dolly23</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr C Khi </TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>juin</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr Yeah ML</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>missymouse</TD><TD>13th</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>lynn</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>melc</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD>pooh</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Chua</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>3rd </TD></TR><TR><TD>PL</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Loh SF</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>winnedy</TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Yeoh SC</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>gosh</TD><TD>17th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>sparks</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>mangogal</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>doglover</TD><TD>23rd</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>poky</TD><TD>25th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>annabelle</TD><TD>26th</TD><TD>Dr CK Tho</TD><TD>TMC/Mt A.</TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>luvbella</TD><TD>27th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>- </TD></TR><TR><TD>friesbandit</TD><TD>30th</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2nd </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

choc, maybe u can try keeping some snacks with u, and munch when u feel like it, instead of trying to appease the sudden hungry, and when u found the food, the urge goes away. Whenever i felt a wee bit of hungry, that's when i felt nausous, i'll munch something, like kids' size corn flake pack. it seems to relieve, but I don't eat all of them at 1 go. Nowsadays, I am beginning to find myself very heaty, got nose bleed too.... so am trying to switch the corn flakes into fruits... dunno if this works or not...

Muzicgal, i had reduced my 2.5 inch heels to 1 to 1.5 inch. it's less stressful for the calf, and easier to walk. last time, when I hear the "kok kok" sound while i walk in the 2.5 inch heels, i always felt insecure on behalf of my bb ..... :p i'm paranoid la. lower heels does help for my case.

wah!! finally dis morning i MS.. ;( sux.. i finish 1 packet of teh o den & den i sudden feel so disgusted.. den i go toilet 'test water' really vomit.. ;P so xin ku.. yucks!! i wanted to eat my breakfast de.. nw i dunno shld i eat anot.. ;(

hi peace,

i dont the habit of wearing heels, i think i dun own any heels (am i a woman?) hahaha... i wear flats, slippers, flip flop or sneakers to work. =D

i'm putting on a lot of weight... i miss my slimmer days...losing a bit of confidence now.. thinking i'm fat and ugly now... *sob sob*

Hi mizicgal,

Yeps I'm a teacher (sec sch).. I am now very mindful of getting near groups of students who are rowdy etc, for fear that they hit me accidentally...

I went maternity shopping last weekend and prob need to again this weekend. I went to Perfect Mom, but the pants are so expensive! Ended up buying 2 pairs at Spring Maternity (cos they happen to have teacher's day promo, buy above $100 get $20 off).. Still spent 120+ after the discount, so heart pain..

Anyone knows where to find cheaper yet still presentable maternity clothes?

Hi, i'm now 6 wks and not expericing to any MS... Juz went to see gynae and heard my bb's heartbeat! Hope bb will hang in there. As for gynae, i havent' decide yet.

i agree leh... perfect mom pants quite expensive.. I find that not very comfortable. maybe because my tummy still not very big yet... then have to tighten the waistband alot, then the back of the pants looks crumple, then wear over a shirt, it looks like donald duck. dunno how to describe...but it looks ugly.

muzigal, why not u juz get yrself some bigger sizes clothings instead of maternity... as the tummy is still not so big yet... but i would suggest all MTB to wear "big big" loose clothing to "tell" passer-by that u r pregnant. This is to prevent any pushing or banging/knocking on us... B'cos, our bb is still so tiny... needs our protection badly..

And u can still wear it at home too or during weekend outings...? My hb suggestion is to buy maternity aft 5th mth...but i tell him it depends on the tummy size... hahahahaha

hi muzicgal
I recall during my first pregnancy, i also felt fat. so i made a pact with hubby that he must put on weight with me! haha... then after delivery, i lost the weight, but he couldn't!
I've not visited perfect mom. are their clothes nice? Right now i'm just buying the remnants of the season's fashion of big/loose tops that are v long (that are supposed to be worn with leggings). Works well as in between maternity wear, and can cover the fact that i no longer button up my pants, but rely on the zipper only.

Hi Sparks
I think the depression is just due to the great fluctuation of hormones. Chin up! better days will come in the 2nd tri. =)

Hi Lynn
Actually for my first preg, i also bought majority of mid range maternity clothes. A lot from Spring Maternity as well. After all, only wear for a few months. But now that i dig out all my past maternity clothes, i find that the ones that i would dare to wear again now, are the expensive ones that i indulge myself in! The cheaper ones just look either too cheap or too unfashionable or too worn. If you're planning for more children, i think there's no harm in paying a little more for timeless clothes that you can wear 2-3yrs down the line.

Cheers.

Congrats Sparks! So nice to be able to hear bb's heartbeat! I couldn't hear yet, could only see on the ultrasound..

hi lynn, i bot my pants frm perfect mum too n ended up spendin $200+! reali heart pain man but since can wear for nxt 7 mths n even after birth if i cannot shed off all the extra wt.

muzicgal- i noe wat u mean! my bum looks so big when i wear the pants frm perfect mum!! but i find it ok leh, v comfy esp the tummy area. i like the cutting beta thn the other shops i went too so ended up buyin 3!

fries- haha... my hb also gainin wt nw cos i'm hungry every 2-3 hrs so ended up he eats more nw =P n he alwz say it's my fault! hahaha

sparks- amazin to hear bb heartbeat rite

Thank u Lynn... hope to hear good news from u soon...

hi ant, thanks for remembering me...
ya, i'm resting at home now... still on MC

Hi gals, went to see gynae on wednesday and can hear my baby's heartbeat. so happy
but gynae says there is a little bit of blood clot adjacent to the baby sac, so was given 1 week mc to rest at home. any idea why does this happens?

Another thing, how come the EDD given by the gynae is later, 1 June 2008. Do you all count from the date of your last menses or the last conception date? Abit confused here, need some advise.

hi Sparks ...
great to hear that your bb is hanging on well together with you .. Jia You and Rest Well !

hi MTBs,
can you gals advise whether it is good for us to drink fresh Kiwi juice, will it be very acid for us ?

Hi Lynn,
I am also having very bad backache... similar to your description.
I remember I felt the pain since week 4 which is slightly pain but now its pain when I wake up, after sitting for some time & also walking...

My 1st visit to gyne will be 2 weeks later, will ask the gyne any remedy if he has...

Qiqi here.. so happy to see this forum!
Would like to check any on of you take chinese herbs prescribe from chinese physician? Coz my body is quite weak and recently asthma relapsed and fainted. I'm very worried... but lucky went to see my gyane and hear the baby heart beat is normal.. (",) really relieved..

Oh dolly, heard from my frds is would be better to have fresh kiwi rather than juice coz it contain alot of sugar..

FYI, my gyane is Dr Heng Tun Lan - East Shore Hospital.

sparks, hv u sent to me? [email protected]
great that u r doin well. jiayou!

bought 2 pants at novena today at 80+. the store was hvin 15% mostly. So anyone interested, can try the store at seconf flr. =)

speak too early, started to get nausea n vommitted for the past two days.... dun feel like eatin with the queasy stomach...

I bought 2 pants, 1 jeans, 3/4 pants, dress, and a nursing bra from perfect mom = ~$320

then i got their silver membership, dunno can share share or not... if can share then can pass around and use it to get 10% discount. =D

i have yet to find time to do shopping for clothing, it's high time i go get some, coz' my skirts are really tight.

i've just got the avent stretch mark cream, smells good leh, since i am sensitive to smell now.. keke..

sparks, do take care and try to relax. for me, sometimes when i go on medical leave during busy season, i felt very lousy at home. not sure if your depress feeling is trigger by this. nevertheless as hormone change, we can experience mood swings. i also have, now that i am aware, i try to adjust and manage it b4 pp start calling me "THAT PREGNANT WOMAN" instead of addressing my name. :p