(2008/05) May 2008

as for me, since last week I had been feeling queasy at night. after dinner, the thot of food make me sick, even fruits. These few days, i kept getting this fishy taste in my mouth, where i did not even ate fish, and it makes me nausea. think i am beginning to get ES (evening sickness).

sparks, can sent me the receipes also? Thx!

jaspire, think that there is a concern with over puking right? If no food can reach bb, then not gd liao... mayb u want to consider to ask ur gynae to lessen the vomittin if too serious?

i think i lucky that i dun hv much yet. but mayb cos i stil too early ba.. =p

Weekender, pls take care, ok? Hope to see you soon again in the forum.

Sparks,
jia you, hang in there. Think the baby will be much more stable once in the 2nd trimester, right? You'll make it!

peace,
I'm also having evening sickness. The Chinese dishes I have for dinner make me wanna puke. And the icky feeking lasts from dinner time till the wee hours in the morning. I can't even fall asleep. Sigh~

The good thing is that finally I get to see my gynae and saw my baby and the heart beat. The baby looks so cute on the scan with its short limb buds and round body. Hehe...

jaspire, could you pls update my EDD to 11th May? Thanks

Had my 2nd visit this morning, saw and heard the bb's heartbeat. My son was amazing and kept asking where is the bb throughout the day.

I'm only given folic acid, my gynae will be giving me vitamins & iron pills at a later stage to ensure my body is strong after 1st preg.

I dun have any MS but insomina, stays awake for at least an hour after giving my son the night feed.

Take good care of urself, moms & let's pray for smooth preg and delivery.

muzicgal, me got backache on and off.
I oso have slipped disc, so gotta be extra careful.

sunshine, no prob... will update later.

bonjon, ya... we shld all pray for smooth preg and delivery.

sunshine, how many weeks are u now? u could see the limb buds, wow amazing.

i'm in 8th weeks. last sat, ie end of 7 weeks, went to see gynae, saw heartbeat, bb only 10mm, ie = 7 weeks old, only see the head till the bum I think.

i thot my tummy is bigger, but bb only 10mm, ie 1cm, cannot imagine, but my water bag seems a lot bigger in proportion.

i slept at 10, but tend to get up at 3 to go wee wee, then i will be awake till 5.... not very good.

now i hate fish so much.... what is the alternate substitute?

jaspire,
after dinner, before i feel sick, i will apply axe oil or tiger balm, it seems to help. i find these oil smells great ! i used to hate them.

peace, i could oso see the limb buds of my baby at 8 weeks. Tmr I will be going for my next review and I will be 10 weeks already. Its cute, even the umbilical cord is showing very clearly. So hope to see more growth tmr.

My tummy is oso growing bigger liao. I can see a slight bulge. LOL... water bag is bigger and dat is normal lah.

Hmm, not sure wat is the alternate substitute for fish leh. I oso dun really fancy fish now, used to like fish alot. But force myself to eat a little fish cos they say fish is gd leh. Dunno.. anyone got any idea?

Ok, will go buy axe oil and see if it helps.

i oso hate the smell of fish.. i used to like fishcake so much but nw the smell of it makes mi wanna puke.. so sianz.. nw if i wanna eat anything i got to think 1st.. c my stomach gt any reaction wanna puke anot den can eat.. if nt if i order le i sure will nt wan to eat.. ;( haiz.. anybody is like dat??

peace(II).. i oso my tummy seems bigger nw but hor my bb is stil so small.. dunno is it normal.. i kept tellin my hubby dat i put on wt.. i v fat.. but i dis few days only ate porridge dun tink i will put on wt leh.. ;( nw my skirt oso feel tighter le.. ;(

hi peace,
i face the same problem too .. as i always drink alot of water in the evening, i also tend to wake up in the middle of the night to go toilet, after that, i will have difficulty in sleeping again .. so now, i try to control, not to drink so much.

hello
u all got so many check up liao ar..
now coming 8 weeks, i only got once leh.. the 2nd check up would be when i'm 12 weekers..
my dr quite "pang sim" with me.. think that's why so long then go see her again

now my tummy also become bigger.. read that the uterus is abt the size of a grapefruit now..

i also have extreme nausea and insomia.. but iced cold drinks help me in curbin nausea and chocolates too! :p

muzigal,
I'm actually experiencing very severe backache now... still resting at home. Was given a month's MC to stablise my pregnancy.. Being a preggie... is simply not easy..

hi sparks,

so good.. one month MC??? how i wish I can have one month MC at home and still get paid. *sob sob*

my back spoil my mood a lot.. then tummy cramp cramp... so xin ku... guys won't understand how xin ku we are now... I almost want to surrender liao... My nightmare is 12th week for the OSCAR test...

something nice to share with you. I just bought a Jean Perry Memory Pillow, it's so much more comfortable than those cotton pillow.

Me now starting to develop some backache, no matter which posture I take when sleeping it's never comfortable

4 more weeks to go before MS wears off.. Almost cannot tahan already

Anyone else given gastric pills by gynae? I was prescribed some cos I complained of overactive gastric juices, even right after my meals I can feel the gastric, accompanied with the feeling of wanting to throw up, it's really tiring!

Morning ladies, finally the May site is back up again...

hi muzicgal, u read my multiply? http://jaspire.multiply.com/journal/item/38/23rd_Oct_2007_-_10_weeks_5days_My_baby_dances

Slipped disc is the jell-like cushion for your spine and in the middle of the jelly-like disc and your spine(bones) runs the nerve... hence when your jelly-like disc shifts... it is known as slipped disc. Slipped disc happens to obese pple cos of the extra weight they put on their spine or pple who carry too heavy things (such as army guys) or pple with not gd posture. I was quite fat in the past and was carrying the "brick" laptop home... walking for 25mins each trip, hence i kena the slipped disc. I was told to reduce my weight too. Now I am normal weight but cannot carry heavy thing. So being preggie with a big tummy is a challenge already, and my doc says no epidural. So I really need to find out wat is the best alternative for me in delivery methods.

jaspire, at this moment, axe oil definitely smells better than perfume! sometimes i sniff it like glue sniffer u see on tv :p and I read somewhere, if u feel nausea in the morning, b4 u get out of bed, drink something first. Either get hb to go fetch milo drink or u can keep a small thermal flask next to your bed. Fill the flask with hot water the night b4, by morning, it will be just warm. So sip something b4 u get out. Slipped disc, oh u better take good care of yourself.

Sparks, do rest well, rest is probably the best medicine now. I had back ache too, but this week, my body seems to "accept" the aching condition, I felt less ache, not sure if body is adjusting to it or what. I tried to sleep on my left, i read this is the best position coz' help blood circulation to bb. Face up is comparatively not as good.

Muzicgal, I am also worried abt OSCAR test. Actually, dunno I am paranoid or what, always worried this and that....

Hi Jaspire,

Thanks for explaining.. last time i also in TAF club.. not normal weight liao... then i think my heavy bag i carry everyday make my backache worse also leh... then how u treat your slipped disc?

Hi peace,

I'm scare of needle... i see needle i can cry and start to hide liao... my gynae that day explain to me what will happen this and that only hor.. i start crying liao.. then my gynae advise that will knock me off then take out the baby.... cos natural birth i sure cannot make it de...

muzicgal, i was given a jab to ease the pain and then went for physiotheraphy... they used heat and stretching machine on me...

Can I check with you if a MTB got no MS, does it mean that the bb is not strong or healthy?
I'm worry cos till now I still no MS. BTW, I should be 7 weeks + now.

mickeymouse, i also ard the same period as u. but i also dosent hv any typical ms, vommiting, appearing yet. But I dun think it sayin that the baby not growing well. my gynea mention that not all mtb will hv ms. Or ms will only hit us in a later stage? dun worry. Will b seein my gynea tmr, will ask her more on this and keep u update? =)

Hey Peace do you know how much we need to pay for the OSCAR test? Heard that is 90% accurate and only can do the test in TMC... My ang is asking since TMC is better in technology why not get a gynae there... I just see Dr Ho @ MT A pay a total of 240SGD for the 1st visit... Really feel heart pain but no choice still need to see lor.

I am having backache too, what Dr Ho suggest to my hubby is massage me whenever I need 8)

I'm also paranoid abt the OSCAR test, although my gynae says risk is considered low, 1 in 1000??? That sounds bad enough to me!

I still can't stomach anything much with feeling sick except bread, and maybe some fruits. Drinking enough water seems to be a problem cos I hate plain water now, can only drink flavoured water, all that sugar must be really bad for my weight!

Mickymouse, my sis had very mild MS during her pregnancy and my niece is very healthy and strong! My MS is not as bad as some of the ladies here, most times I can endure and not throw up. Although on days when I have very little MS I admit I am quite worried abt my bb.. We're so strange, MS make us so sick and tired, but no MS we're worried as well..

any mommies wanna buy clothes from motherhood.com?
some of the sale clothes are quite cheap. if can amass a critical volume, maybe can ship direct using motherhood.com shipping. if not, i'm using vpost. if interested, pls PM me! thanks.

mickymouse, poky, u gals r lucky not to have MS! just thank your gd fortune. =) and no it does not signify that bb not growing well.
Cheers.

mickey- i also dun hv any ms n at times worried if bb is growin well anot. alrdy in my 10 wks liao. but tink we shd reali count our lucky stars cos see the rest of the gals like jaspire, ms reali reali v bad! i cannot imagine pukin out everything!

My gynae told me the OSCAR test is $200? Or $200+? Can't remember, but I remembered it was more accurate and more expensive and can be conducted earlier than the triple test.. So prob going for that..

My gynae also said next visit 10 weeks+ will be doing the neck thickness test is it? After that we can assess if we are higher or lower risk and if we need to do the OSCAR test..

According to the nurse she told me there is a duration of the Oscar test to be tested if over that timing the result won't be accurate liao. I properly will go for the test as me not young liao...

mickey, dun worry... really like wat ant say count yr lucky stars for no MS leh... if u puked 8-10 times a day like me, its no joke. Then whole body turn weak. Its even worst when you puke and throw up everything and even thru your nose (i mean food literally oso coming out from nose, then both throat and nose so painful... sometimes bleed too) U really dun wan to be going thru dat loh.

my sister and sil no MS oso gave birth to healthy babies... so dun worry unnecessarily.

hmm, my gynae din ask me to do any kind of test at all leh... me now 10wks, 6days liao leh...

jaspire- ur gynae din mention abt oscar test?? i shd be doin mine at my nxt visit. tink cannot be over a certain no. of wks to do.

gals,
so most of you gng for Oscar? I dun think is compulsory right?

If oscar detect any bb defect, will you all continue the pregnancy?

I think Oscar is an additional stress test:p

Hey like to know anyone looking for a Confinement Lady? I actually booked mine but my MIL suddenly say want to come to SGP to help me do my confinement... There is no way I can turn her down so have to let go the CL that I have confirmed. According to my Friend she is very good as she not only take care of BB and cooking she also take care of the household work. So if anyone of you interested can email me :- [email protected]

Can share the procedure of oscar test? pain or not and must take blood test? I very scare of pain one leh, once see needle I sure...<faint>.

OSCAR is blood test, my gynae at TMC Women's Clinic said it's $200 or $240 something like that leh.. He scribbled on a piece of paper with FAQs of the various tests, so I can go home and verify the costs..

oscar test is blood test + NT scan.... i done it when i m in my 12th weeks... total cost $290+ after discount from FBI

Oh, NT scan is included in my gynae's package, maybe that's why the cost of the OSCAR blood test is lower..

Hi Jaspire, your MS sounds very bad, yet u always seem so cheerful when u post, really look up to your positive spirit. Your baby is blessed to have a strong & cheerful mummy like u.

My gynae said it is the hcg hormone that makes us experience MS. If it is of any comfort to u, I found the following hcg information in an American website. Seems like the hcg level peaks at 12 weeks & falls after that. So, hang on, things will be better soon.

Guideline to hCG levels during pregnancy:
hCG levels in weeks (gestational age) :
3 weeks: 5 - 50 mIU/ml
4 weeks: 5 - 426 mIU/ml
5 weeks: 18 - 7,340 mIU/ml
6 weeks: 1,080 - 56,500 mIU/ml
7 - 8 weeks: 7, 650 - 229,000 mIU/ml
9 - 12 weeks: 25,700 - 288,000 mIU/ml
13 - 16 weeks: 13,300 - 254,000 mIU/ml
17 - 24 weeks: 4,060 - 165,400 mIU/ml
25 - 40 weeks: 3,640 - 117,000 mIU/ml
Non-pregnant females: <5.0 mIU/ml
Postmenopausal females: <9.5 mIU/ml

hey Mickymouse.. i oso no MS.. but seems like my tummy is getting bigger each day.. my gynae oso said not all will haf MS de.. so dun worry..

anyway nw i feel so paranoid.. i dun like to c myself in the mirror cos i started to put on wt n some of my clothes i cannot wear le.. ;( i hate dat.. til the extend i threw my temper @ my hubby.. haiz.. dunno hw.. nw i feel v depressed.. ;(

moony- same here. i dread to see the extra weight i hv put on! sighz... today sm one jus commented i got double chin!! sobz... all my pants cannot wear liao. i reali reali scared cannot shed off all the weight after birth

Hi Moony,

why are you feeling depressed .... we should be happy that our tummy is getting bigger each day, as this means that our bb is growing well.

So please stay positive and cheerful, so that you will have a happy and chubby bb ...