(2008/05) May 2008

re: pnuemococcal

Just to share.. For mummies who have not bring the babies to vaccinate the above, pls do so.

My colleague nephew just passed away 2 weeks ago. He was only 25 mths.

He had fever on a Monday (on and off, less than 38 degrees). So his mum only fed him with the pink panadol.

His fever did not get better. Thus, by Wednesday, brought him to see a PD at Pasir Ris (Pasir Ris Baby and Chxld Clxnxc). The doctor gave them some medicine and they went back.

By Friday, the boy still did not get better. They called the clinic to ask how. The doctor said "Nowadays, parents so kiasu, come and see me on Wed and Fri call me again!". On hearing this, the mummy felt that "Oh, maybe I really to kiasu ald.. just monitor to see how"

Things did not get better. On Monday, they decide to bring the boy to Polyclinic since he started to feel restless. The doctor decide to do a blood test for him since its the 8th day of the fever. After drawing the blood, the boy went to sleep... and passed away... Everyone was shocked...

The blood test report came out on wed and the boy was diagnosed with pnuemococcal.

The doctor at the mentioned clinic is under police investigation currently.

Mornin mummies! Aldan stil sick leh… tinkin if I shd bring him to PD. Stil hvg lots of mucus n phelgm =(

Von- u so yong gan!! My hb n I dun dare to use our mouth to suck. My dad did it ytd n aldan was on the verge of tears. Managed to suck out some n it came bk later again.

Val- I’m nt wrkg tis fri so tot of droppin by ur plc to collect the potty. U free boh?

Sugar- shoppin n eatin is gd enough! Kekeke… enjoy ur er ren shi jie n who noes maybe come bk w tim’s sibling? Hehehehe

Corynn- wher to get the pigeon sucker? Shaine is reali advanced! Tink she can walk in no time! Aldan stil prefers to crawl cos faster. Haha

Lynn- u sure u wan dylan to start walkin? I cannot imagine once aldan does so. Wil be busy chasin aft him! ahhha

diana,
hehehe. our mums are always the best ho. hehehe.

winnedy,
OMG!!! that is sad!!! some $$ can nv be saved on...prevention is better than cure...my boy pending his last pneumoccal jab liao.

ant,
hope aldan recovers soon. hmmm...aftnn i will be out le...fri evening i am ard u ok mah?

diana,
ya, better go check and see... i think its better for parents to be kiasu than allow such things to happen..

val,
pending last jab?? oh... when is tat?? my boy last jab was when he was 8mths old... cant remember wat was tat... any others??

winnedy- gosh! i din bring aldan for tat jab!!

val- if aft dinner u at home? thn i shall wait for my hb to book out n go over ur plc =)

ant, jo

i heard that giving tat jab any time before 24 mths, still have to give 2 dosage.. only after 24mths then only require 1 dosage..

cos my niece (16 mths) just went recently becos of this incident...

may need confirm with the PD

winnedy,

the last pneumoccal jab can be taken once he turns 1yrs old but i intend to let him taken on his 13th mths coz i thot of doing the chicken pox jab when he is 12mths...mayb will make some amendments...need to see wat jabs he need to take when he is 12mths old...i try to avoid letthing him have 2 jabs in 1 day.

ant,
yes. aft dinner i will be at hm =) anytime u wanna drop by give me a call or sms will do =)

winnedy ,

Ya correct beofre 24mths still need to have 2 dose . Our intention is after he took he 1 yr jab do it together .

Cos almost every mth he kenna jab ...sooo heart pain so only taking it after 1 yr old .

Sooo scary and sad abt the incident

lynn..
wun come after u lar... let the little ones choose their loves one in future
hehee..we can onli joke joke nia... the future is theirs...

corynn....
dun worry...raphael still very "in love" with shaine..hehehee

ant..
bring to PD lar... babies sick very cham one... cant slp well... haiz

pnuemococcal :
pls go take the jab ba..since so dangerous... mine also last jab when he 1YO

poky,
hee.. very excited for you, do update us on your baby gender. Try to relax as much as possible. Must take care!

angela,
Megan so smart! I been teaching Keon how to get down from bad and sofa with his legs down too cos he like to dive down onto his kor kor when his kor kor is sleeping on a mattress right at the end of my bed. I did see some results, keon did try to turn and one leg down but he like "kia kia" will grab the bed very tight then like dun dare to get down.

diana,
actually theres no right or wrong regarding your mil reactions. Maybe she just those very kan cheong type and is it her first grandchild? haha... when i gave birth to my #1, i tell you my mil, fil and i like "fighting" for him, haha.. we all wants to carry him so he end up like a baton and i got really furious and went home complaining to my dad till my dad gave me a serious talk saying that its just natural even for him, he will feel jealous to know that baby is spending more time with my in laws but it just natural, a feeling that they cant control.

lynn,
welcome! ya you should get the daytripper, very good to use and its good price. haha... ya we can buy shoe during the next sales :p

muzicgal,
aiyo weijun also look like gal leh, haha... i also want to let keon try pink clothes to see if he look like gal but i dun have pink clothes.

winnedy,
very sad to know that! the doctor is very rude and unprofessional. but sorry for my straight forward, why the boy parents waited till wednesday then see PD? Fever is very serious for kids so better to see doc straight away even its on and off.

so means only 1 jab aft our bb is 1yo??

val- okies! wil let u noe again =)

choc- ya i wil brin him to PD this fri. hope he gets beta soon. v heartache to c him sufferin, sighz

ant
no.. if hte baby take pneumoccoco the first jab at 2mth, he needs to take altogether 4 jabs... and the last jab is when he is 1YO.

better be safe than sorry

jo,
i quite blur...

1 yr old got one more jab?

his last jab is in when he was 8mths... so when is the next jab? or shd i call the PD?

ant,
between 1yrs old to 2yrs old total need 2 jabs. if u take now, think total need to take 3 jabs. I let damien took it when he is 6mths, 2nd jab at 8mths, last jab ideally is when he turns 1yo.

jer,

ya her 1st grandson lor...coz my 2 elder BIL nt marry mah...actually i can understand ware she coming from...but i do nt see the nid of purposely calling up to inform on such small tings lor...but guess i hv no choice ba...anyway, i dun care...i leave it to her son to inform her....

then i think i more ks, i let darren take his first jab when he was only 2mth old. so altogether he needs to be tuk 4 times.

but ok lah. acutally pnuemoccocol is compulsory in Japan, usa and australia.. dunno why they never make it compulsory in singapore

hi dolly
been busy for the past few days and only today i got to read the posting and realise that you double input my entry for the birthday bash...so total should be 31 babies only... so paisei...

A big sorry for all the mommies if you have already done the transfer.

Birthday Bash --- Registration closed

Venue : Gymboree @ Harbourfront
Date : 16 May , Sat
Time : 4.00pm - 5.30pm

Charges : $370 (10 babies package for 1 1/2hrs)
Additional : $26 Non member registration fee
Additional 30 mins : $26 (so that we can have 2hrs)
Additional babies : 22 x $15 = $330
Finger food & drinks (estimation) : $200

1. Choc
2. Dolly23
3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
6. Chobits
7. JJBoy
8. Von
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
13. felval
14. bb08 X 02
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice
17. Jovial
18. ylyn
19. ting
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
24. Angela
25. mona
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn
29. Yueling
30. Corynn

Total : 31 babies

Bb08,
no worries, we have not transfer, as i am still pending for Diana account no

Birthday Bash --- Registration closed

Venue : Gymboree @ Harbourfront
Date : 16 May , Sat
Time : 4.00pm - 5.30pm

Charges : $370 (10 babies package for 1 1/2hrs)
Additional : $26 Non member registration fee
Additional 30 mins : $26 (so that we can have 2hrs)
Additional babies : 21 x $15 = $315
Finger food & drinks (estimation) : $200

Total : $937
Per baby : $30.20 / around up $31.00

1. Choc
2. Dolly23
3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
6. Chobits
7. JJBoy
8. Von
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
13. felval
14. bb08 X 02
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice
17. Jovial
18. ylyn
19. ting
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
24. Angela
25. mona
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn
29. Yueling
30. Corynn

Total 31 babies

dolly
you sure are very fast...hee... thanks

i'm going to taka fair later...if anyone want anything (small items)i can help you to buy...

dolly,
i pm you my contact no. if there's anyone who want to buy, you just give me a call.. ke..thanks

i'm going off for shopping spree now..bye

Re: Pheumococal

Winnedy and ant,
Val said is correct.

Baby age: below 1 yrs old
Need 3 jabs (6mth, 8 moth and 13-15mtns.

Baby age: 1 yrs old to 2 yrs old
Need 2 jabs.

Baby age: above 2 yrs old
Need 1 jab.

Shaine's last jab will be in August. Though it's quite exp. $180 but better play safe.

Winnedy,
Yes thanks for sharing on pnuemococcal. Din know it's that scary!

Corynn,
Thanks for the information too, that means my bb must go for 1 more jab..haha

bb08,
Wow do have a good time at Taka Fair! How I wished I can go now too..

bb08, if u dun mind, can u check if pigeon wide bottle L size teat is in....been checking but cant get it last wk at taka nor 2day at harbourfront mothercare or cold storage...

Bb08,
yeah ,i received your PM ... enjoy your shopping ...

Diana,
no worries, do it at your conveniences ... lil one is defintely more impt.

taka sale!! i also wan to go!! maybe this weekend go shopping!! hehee...

me confirm cannot get the pram lar..if get ah..my hb be running after me... hehee..though is less than 100... but i doubt i be able to hide the day tripper.. LOL

bb08,
can you help me check the marlaren stroller on offer is there stock for grey... thanks...

Winnedy,
so sad and scary of the story...

Me bringing my boy for the jab when he is 1 year old... so that no need to take so many poke..

diana,
is L size teats high in demand? went last fri to taka fair and got 3 sets and still saw alot of stocks left. the hole quite big...the flow quite fast le.

val, i dun noe...i went on sat and then no more leh...been using L size eversince he pass 8 mths le...heehee...fast flow good...coz daryl dun like to wait for his food de....muahahaha

diana,
ehhehe. actually this is the first time i notice L size =P coz mostly i get Y size teat...was still thinking Y size is bigger or L...in the end ask the promoter then know L size meant for 8mths onwards so i get L size.

in the past, i worry if fast flow damien will be lazy to suck coz can just wait for the milk to flow in. now heck care le =P

re: maclaren daytripper

yes there is stocks for grey-orange, grey-red and black.

i bought it on mon night. So light!! only 4.5 kg

re: cot bed

any recommendations on which brand to get? there is so many at the baby fair. i want to get something tat can convert to toddler bed after tat..

re : mclaren daytripper

choc ... seem like i am a good promoter, after jo and alice bought it, then followed by jer, and plus a few more mummies ... haha i can apply and work part-time for them.

btw, i just saw the OG flyer. My Mclaren Quest is only selling at $268 plus FREE walker ... haiz .. lose out big time

Winnedy,
I bought a WHITE baby cot last year at Taka bb fair before i delivered Shaine. I can't really remember the brand liao. It a cot that can convert to toddler bed which they used to call 4 in 1.

The most important is the level of height the mattress can go and the size. Choose a size that common and easy for the mattress fitted sheet and quilt cover set. I opt for the biggest size so that they can sleep till 5 yrs old when change to toddler bed.

muzicgal, seems like you are teaching almost everyday !! afternoon will be good..so any afternoon you not teaching can arrange meeting..:p

ant, yes, after sale, was $28 for babywarma in lilac and blue color , for size 2-3 abv was $35..i am waiting for the next sale, coz i need to buy 1 more for a friend's kid..got sale, i will inform u then :) if i can find someone i can trust to look after Luke, i dont mind to work again, i had been working for 10 years before stopped working but i doubt i can find back my previous job position.. i guess will take quite a while to find one babysitter you can really trust..

re: pnuemococcal. yes, its compulsory in oz, Luke has to jab on 2M, 4M and 6M. There is another one jab every bb should take too, it is called Meningococcal. Luke will have to jab this May , every 1 yo kid in oz has to jab this but in sg, it's not compulsory but better to be safe, go for this jab too.

wishing all bbs that are unwell speedy recovery ..

Corynn- thks for explainin =) shall bring aldan for the jab when he turns 1yo thn. He’s in infant care, chances of contractin any virus is v high!

Val- I saw the BP on animal pants n decided to get for aldan too. Hehe… size 90 ok for damien? I tinkin if I shd get the biggest size instead.

Lukemummy- cheap leh! Pls inform me when there is another sale. I dun mind buyin bigger size n keep =D

Re: Pneumococcal
Matthias finished all 3 jabs already.. Hubby insist that we let him take all these jabs.. Even rotavirus one. It's sad to hear of such story. So I guess we should play safe than sorry.

Re: Fever
Matthias fever is gone. My mum said he could be teething, that's why. Which we thgt it might be cos he doesn't want to eat/drink, refused to let us go near his mouth(think it's pain?) and he's drooling alot more! Anyway, hope his teeth be out soon. Seems like a torture to him.. Haiz.. See already also heartache.

dolly... nvm lar..most impt u buy it when u so "gian" that time...

imagine u wait till now..fire all die off liao...
i still believe in buying when i got the urge..
HAHAAA

corynn,
thanks for the info on the cot. I want to get a white one as well!!

there are a few brands thus abit confuse which to get...

hi mummies, i also joined e gang of mummies w sick babies liao. Sigh, aftnn nanny called to say baby got fever so quickly take time off to bring him to see doc. Sigh, again no other symptoms other than fever lor. So doc suggest do blood test. Damned heart pain to see him got poke at e back of e hand somemore aft tat he stil say there might not be enough for test. Asked us whether want to go tmc lab for test again. Wah liao, darren oredi cried so loudly liao, i dun want him to get poke again lor. End up at home monitor again lor

is prevenar the jab for pneumococcal? tat daryl hv it leh...finish the 3rd jab in Oct 2008.

Dolly, i only make payment of $185 nia...so dun nid all transfer to me lah...

but no one is member? coz they say if anyone of us hv member, then on that day itself shown them dun nid to pay the non member fee...

also how abt the invitation card huh? do we nid to send out to all the mum?