(2008/05) May 2008

dolly,
hahaha. anyway, its abit long for damien now...mayb can let him wear to class coz its really rather warm, so gd for airconditioned places.

ant,
wah! so shiok ho. u have the whole bed to urself. hehehe. ya, i think aft work and weekends sure crowded...so i thot of going in the aftnn lo..faster get the things then go hm...

evie ,

Wow sooo fast put dried scallop liao ??

Hmmm ... the porridge must be very sweet leh
Hubby kept on asking when our boy can taste scallop i tell him after he is 1 yr old

Jo,
Heheh one day I was walking past Hock Hua medical shop, dan the lady asked me to try e dried scallops for bb's porridge, and she liked it when we added it in her porridge! So we have been giving to her...but not everyday la, and we only add a little little bit
But it does give the porridge a nice taste!

Are alot of u mummies SAHM? Makes me so envious. I oso wanna be a SAHM but my hubby is against it
so during the day, my mom and maid looks after the baby, I feel my baby is even closer to my maid than me. Sigh.....

Evie ,

Me not SAHM ...i dun think i capable to be one ...cos i think i will go crazy kekek haha

Hmmmm...if too sticky also no good like my boy very very sticky and like koala bear . Every evening come back from work sooo difficult for me to eat dinner and bath . Cannot see me around fuss and cry . Morning also the same see me leaving the house for work cry and fuss . Sigh ...

Jo,
So good ah ur boy, so cute, so sticky to u!! My ger ah - every morning when I leave home for work with my hubby, she still give us a BIG SMILE at the door..hahaha like machiam very happy to see us going off for work lor

My hubby says that I cannot do housework / cook, might as well go work. But I feel these things can be learnt mah...sigh...but I guess I resigned to fate ba...work lor..

Good afternoon!

Re: Tearing
My bb also likes to tear tissue paper... If i give him a piece of tissue paper, he can sit quietly for at least 1/2 hr ~ 1 hr by himself and be in his own world of tearing the tissue paper without disturbing anyone...

Re: Scallop
I also put scallop in his porriage since 6 mths. He seems ok with it. Sometimes i put sweet potato / pumpkin, or fish too... Sometimes, i put everything... whaha...

RE: Birthday bash,
wow... so many people... Should we all wear a tag so that we can help to identify the Mummies and babies...and we can also play a game of who is our daddy! Whahaha....

Evie,
me too gotta work! Sob Sob...I even asked my maid if we can swop position, she goes work and i stay at home with my bb... ;p

evie,
i am a FTWM but i prefer SAHM or PTWM over FTWM anytime. hehehe. been telling my hubby whether i can retire early or nt depends on him. hahaha.

jo,
tried cooking the pasta yest and its really nt easy to cook le...and its really nt visually appealing. hahaha. my hubby see liao gives me one "eeks" and dun even dare to taste...lucky damien is a gd boy and finish 1 bowl of it =P

Re: food
besides giving damien threadfin, i have started giving him codfish also...which i prefers the latter la coz the taste is better.

Valerie ,

heee heee it look eeee but taste oki lah .

Codfish cook liao very hard i dun like ....but Jorel so far so good with any fish ahahah :p

jo,
i normally steam codfish separately le and its v soft aft tt. yummy. hehehe. damien normally cant finish so hubby n i will finish it. hahahaha. damien abit picky abt fish...if got fishy smell he dun really like. that is why i intro codfish to him coz abit creamy taste not so fishy and surprisingly he took it better than threadfin. But was told threadfin is better than codfish so i only give him once or twice per week.

Evie:
No worries.. mi too a FTWM... n worse i'm a weekend mummy ...

But i'll visit them everynite aft work before i go home slep.. so at least i get to play wif Lucas n check jie jie's homework.
Very funni thing is Lucas is still super sticky to mi le.. although he spent most of the time wif my mum... once he sees mi, he will forsake my mum...

Hoping to become tai tai also.. but my HB said wait LONG LONG... so looks like gonna wait super duper long liao...

VAl:

I bought my kids there too... wow.. quite fun.. n lotsa kid le.. Lucas loves play ground... so when he sees all the kids running abt, he so happi although he cant join in the fun..

Val- no leh cos nw aldan slp besides me. Hehe… find it easier to pat him to slp when he’s awake in the middle of the nite. But my hb was complainin cos he cant slp well, he scare he wil squash aldan. Haha
Wat pasta u gv damien? Cook w wat ah? tinkin of lettin aldan try diff foods rather thn only porridge n cereal

Evie- I used to be sahm. Reali missed those times. enjoyed the bondin w my boy lots! nw everyone commented tat my boy is closer to the teacher who’s takin care of him. hear liao so sad but bo bian. Bbs wil tend to be closer to the main caregiver.

jovial,
i havent been there yet coz only saw the advertisment yest. hehehe. okok. i will bring damien there one of these days. so do u let him get wet even tho he cant run? are parents allowed in?

ant,
yes, me too! its easier when they are on the same bed with us. hehehe. yest had to send my hubby to airport at nite so i have to put damien to slp then get my parents up to help look aft him and my parents ask why is he still slpping on my bed when he got his own cot =p

i tried the bellamy pasta, jo gave me a portion of it to try. i cook it with carrot, sweet potato, pork and fish to make it sweet wo if nt will be tasteless lo. take abt missing being a sahm, i miss it too =) told my hubby to work hard so i can be a sahm and cook for him and damien. hahaha.

Valerle:
Ya parents are allowed.. it an open space playground...there timing for the water splashing.. i tink its 11am till 2pm on weekends..
I didnt let him get wet cos he nt feeling very well the other dae.. so just let him watch his jiejie and other kids play..

hey mommies,
just went to isetan during lunch time. heheeh
manage to buy some stuff within one hour..
find the 2 things i bought qutie worth...

1. endo food jar for only $13..
2. all fisher price and vtech toys got 30% off leh.

today pte sale got extra 10% for certain stuff.. quite worth it....

actually i prefer to be a working mom, really..i find it not so stressful..maybe those FTWM will envy SAHM and those SAHM envy FTWM , coz working got income dont have to ask $$ from hubby , can buy anything u want without him nagging ;-p ..i no choice got to be SAHM coz oz cannot have maid, labour cost too ex, if get a nanny will set u back at least $2000/mth, if i work , after tax cut, all my $$ will go to the nanny, i might as well take care of bb myself...now used to it liao, routine schedule everyday..frankly speaking, i also surprised myself !! i am really not those stay at home type woman...but i guess circumstances will really change a person's mindset..and now ask me to get someone to look after bb, i somehow 'bu ser de'..

anyone still looking for 'konfidence' swimsuit? it;s autumn now so there might be another sale coming up..last mth got sale, after discount, the babywarma is about S$28, i remembered choc said she bought it for $69+ , i very excited , wanted to tell u mommies but saw cheri organising the BP so very peiseh to intersect..here is the website : www.konfindence .com .au ...if any of you mommies want, i will keep u inform about any upcoming sale..i superkaisu, even bought size 2-3 ..wahhaaha , since going back to sg for good, might as well buy and keep lor..

any mommie want to get anything from oz , if i can help i will help u to buy...i am going back in may or june for good, so no more lobang after that..

Evie,thanks..will try again today

Yanling,
Was at isetan too, but did not really find too many stuff to buy. Was looking at the maclaren stroller and thinking if should change my capella but ended up never buy

Re: Baby porridge
Matthias love to eat porridge wor. My mum ever put dried scallop and he's ok eating it. But now we only use a pork rib and put in short-grain rice and cook in slow-cooker. After 3 hours, can put in ngoh he and vegetable. Matthias loves to eat porridge and he can eat alot of it. I tasted the porridge before and it really taste good even without salt/soya sauce. hehe.. That time I saw Dolly post on the short-grain rice(jap rice), I think porridge really taste better and sticky using short-grain rice. Maybe you all can try this brand, it's cheaper than jap rice and also taste as good. My mum have been using it for years. CALROSE AUSTRALIAN CALROSE RICE (the first one in blue pack with kangaroo)
http://www.coldstorage.com.sg/onlineshopping/products.aspx?SubcatCode=05&CatCode=70&DeptCode=07
I think it's cheaper in Sheng Siong/Giant.

Re: Gymboree Birthday Bash
Is it confirmed already? So the timing is 4pm-5.30pm?

Re: Isetan Private Sale
I'm going later after work.
hehe.. hopefully can get some good buys.

Re: Matthias Egg Allergy
His rashes were gone overnight. But he farted alot that day, think he couldn't digest well so alot of wind in his tummy and so he didn't drink alot of milk that day.

Re: SAHM/FTWM
I think both have different kind of stress. I think I'll prefer PTWM cos Full time staying at home is too stressful for me if I have to take care of Matthias alone. Haha.. But I don't like to work Full time either. I will enjoy more flexible working hours. I think I'm daydreaming.. hahaha.. But having income is really better.. so that can have more spending power.

Val, spa very shiok hor! I haven't gone for a long time. Now we kept thinking of catching a movie but still no chance. Haha.. So your hubby went off liao ar?

eh.. Lukemommy, you should have told us earlier. I organise BP but it's from the singapore supplier. Singapore alot more ex lo. I tried to email the UK supplier but still refer me back to SG. Anyway, doesn't matter since I wish to use it earlier. But I'm considering to get the 2-3 year one and probably also for older one. How much is it after discount? You can pass to us when you are back? Since i think postage will be expensive too.

Von, Felval, Jovial, Ant
Ya looks like wat Lukemummy says is true..FTWM will wanna be SAHM and vice versa..sighhh..guess got pros and cons la..the only thing I like abt working is that I dun need to ask hubby for $$, can just buy wat I like..guess if SAHM, will be hard for me to ask hubby for $$ coz he very stingy wan

Felval,
I oso recently started giving bb codfish, but I find codfish tends to have more bones than threadfin (ngoh he)? So we usually give threadfin...but I tot codfish is better dan threadfin? coz it seems to be more oily, so I tot got more DHA?? Hahahhaah

Jo,
Like Cheri, we use slow cooker and only put the fish in after abt 3hrs, ard 10min before we gg dish out the porridge, so wun be hard. So u can steam too like Felval

jovial,
okok. thanks. excited to bring damien to the splash pool. i think he will love it. hehehe.

cheri,
gd to hear Matthias rashes are gone =) agree PTWM is gd coz there is a bal between spending time with our kids and yet have our own income =) I dun mind being a FT-SAHM but I cant tahan having to ask my hubby for $$ to buy personal things lo...if my hubby is more generous with my spending then i dun mind being a FT-SAHM with allowances for grocery and shopping.whahaha. looks like i am daydreaming too. hehehe. find a weekday both of u take leave and go catch a movie la =) having some couple-time once in awhile is shiok, couple that with spa even more shiok. hahaha. my hubby was telling me we sld allocate fri as couple-time only and i went "huh, every fri..." hahaha. ya, hubby fly off le...but he also reached le...just had a teleconversation with him. =) now countdowning to the day he is coming back =P

evie,
hmm..so far the codfish i buy either 1 bone/fish or no bones at all le...and somemore codfish v soft even aft steaming so the bones pretty easy to remove so still ok. hehee. i also thot codfish is better coz of high DHA and omega 3 but my parents told me threadfin is better le...duno why..they also cant ans. hahaha. but when i compare the price between codfish n threadfin, the latter is indeed more exo...my grocery expenses went up pretty much just buying these 2 fishes and organic brocoli and cauliflower.

adnes.
confirm the order.. but cos i cann't read my personal email at office now leh...
so can only read ur mail when i am back home tonite.. sorry abt tat...

Hi Mummies order stop liao. Those mummies who had requested for the brochure do reply me through email latest tml afternoon if u are interested.

valerie / evie

Yes . I did the same thing i steam the fish for 10min before the porridge being serve to my boy . But I still find the cod fish harder than threadfin fish .

hahaha ...anyway ***touch wood*** so far he is oki with anything we gave him . Only egg yolk got rashes appear so will try him again after he reach 1 year old

Anyway thank for the advise !!

malcheri, maybe i should inform u abt the sale then coz saw u already organising the buying and mommies placing orders so better don't interupt..nevermind, i believe they will have another sale soon since its autumn now, will inform u and jovial about it..last time the sale was 30% off even for sales items, hope the next sale also at least 30% off..if send by post, use the 'up to 2 kg' parcel envelope should be abt A$6 - 8 per pc, i think can put 3 or 4 pcs in the envelope..

ant,
that's my mom. i dun like to go out with monster in law... even if have.. is "action action" only.. hehehe...

felval,
ya lor.. he love rubbing nose... or kok-his forehead to my forehead. hehehe...

ylyn,
you are not alone. my boy oso enjoy eating bottled food, yoghurt, real fruits.
today he first time eat korean starberry. hehehe...

valerie,
hehehe.. you still got your "choi choi" ME TOO!!! hehehe.. my hubby oso cannot stand me... i have modified it many times...
my weijun oso got one choi choi... or rather 2! one is the mon jardin nursing poncho, another one is mickey mouse! hehehe...

lukemommy,
sure.. i will be more free now... but.. still got teach lah.. i teach on monday, wednesday, friday and sunday. the rest teach at home. hehehe... =)

dried scallop,
my monster in law suggest using slow cooker to boil 1 week supply dried scallop soup base, then keep in fridge... oh gosh...my mom say use hot water to soak awhile.. then cook together with porridge good enough liao.. dunno why my monster in law always eat so unhealtily...
she also can cook a few days supply of sweetcorn soup to cook her instant mee... seems like her best dish is instant mee.. although is her best dish... its also the yuckiest dish for me.. *puke*

von,
i'm going for the 11am class on sunday too. Wanted to try out teacher Angeline since she got such good reviews! See you there!
BTW my gal's name is Avelyn. Your boy leh?

ylyn,
I thought my girl is the only who is refusing porridge. Tried feeding her all sorts of porridge already, i tried, my mom tried, my MIL tried. All also failed... hahah....Think maybe my girl is ang mo chiak...don't like chinese food. Going to try cooking star pasta this weekend. Dunno whether she'll eat or not. Or maybe I should really try putting dried scallops into the porridge since so many babies here seem to like it.

Evie,
My gal will smile very wide and wave bye bye to me every morning when I leave her at my MIL's place before I go to work. Never once has she cried! Sometimes I feel a bit sad that she's not so sticky to me, but on the other hand, it'll be harder to deal with a crying baby every morning yar?

How come the list for birthday bash keep changing? i had added my name few time but always got missed out half way.

Dolly, Please help to make sure my name in b'cos i won't check the forum frequently. Now still working. Work schedule too tight.

Re : Birthday bash 16th May 2009 (4pm to 5.30pm)

Gymboree Harbourfront Branch
1. Choc
2. Dolly23
3. Jo
4. Adnes
5. Annabelle
6. Chobits
7. JJBoy
8. Von
9. Jer
10. Evie_82
11. Cheri
12. Dearie_e
13. felval
14. bb08
15. Jocelyn
16. Alice
17. Jovial
18. ylyn
19. ting
20. Diana
21. winnedy
22. yanling
23. icebubbles
24. Angela
25. mona
26. muzicgal
27. Jane
28. Lynn
29. Yueling
30. Corynn

muzicgal,
last time when we attended the talk on introduce solid food at Thomson hospital, they also recommend on preparing 1 week supply for the stock. But they took 1 night to cook the stock in slow cooker, so it really get all the nutrient. last Week when shaine is sick, i brought her for PD, the PD also said the same to prepare 1 week stock and frozen it.

For those baby who don't like porridge, may be can try to be a bit more patient to them and give them some more time. Some baby took a bit longer time to like the porridge. Last time Shaine start her porridge at 6 month, she also only take few tea spoon only, but after that she can take 1 full bowl.

Today is a damn tiring day for me... Isetan Sales then Taka Baby Fair!
So happi thou... managed to get Maclaren for a damn good price =)

Me like juz released from jail like that (after being confined in India for a while) muahahaha... cheong to buy and buy... So shiok!

Oh, found this website quite interesting, juz to share :>
http://www.babygorillaz.com/

corynn,

i personally dun like overnite food... same to my mom... it taste different after put in the fridge.. my boy oso dun like frozen bm last time...

Corryn,
pai seh for the birthday bash list, the last around, we are using the voting method to choose the venue. Dun worry, i will ensure your name is in.

Re : Birthday bash
wow ... now we have 30 mummies .... so happening ... anymore babies coming, if not registration will be closed.

Evie / Diamondust,
my boy is the same, every morning when i send him to my mil place, he will also wave off happily to me, never cry once before as well ... haiz ... but i feel that this way is also good, at least i wun feel "xi tong" or sad to go to work as well ...

Alice,
age is catching up, we cannot shop alot now.