(2008/04) April 2008

jamie

thx...but i scare control of diet will affect e breast milk oso..then my mom say if wan breastfeed, during confinement cant eat those chinese wine chicken liao...

orh.. our parent generation, they are advise not to breastfeed..but the latest research show alot of benefit for breastfeeding. Both for the infant and the mother.
Benefit for the infant
1. Protects Against Infection
a. Diarrhea
b. Haemophilus Influenza
c. Enhances Vaccine Response
d. NEC
e. Otitis Media
f. Herpes Simplex
g. Respiratory Syncytical Virus (RSV)
h. Respiratory Infections

2. Protects Against Illnesses
a. General
b. Immunologic Development
c. Wheezing
d. SIDS
e. General Morbidity
f. AIDS
g. Infant Survival
h. Gastroesophageal Reflex
i. Multiple Sclerosis
j. Inguinal Hernia
k. Cryptorchidism (Undescended Testicle)

3. Protection From Allergies
a. Allergic Families
b. Eczema

4. Enhances Development and Intelligence
a. Higher IQ
b. Cognitive Development
c. Social Development
Long Term Benefits for Infants
a. Dental Health
b. Toddler Health
c. Diabetes Mellitus
d. Childhood Cancer
e. Chron's Disease
f. Hodgkin's Disease
g. Juvenile Rheumatoid Arthritis (JRA)

Benefits for Mothers
1. Delays Fertility
2. Breast Cancer
3. Uterine Cancer
4. Ovarian Cancer
5. Endometrial Cancer
6. Emotional Health
7. Decrease Insulin Requirements
8. Decreased Osteoporosis
9. Promotes Postpartum Weight Loss

http://www.breastfeeding.com/all_about/all_about_more.html

if I BF, I cannot eat spicy food, else bb will drink spicy milk..

can we store the milk in the fridge then warm it up before feeding bb? haha i wonder my milk enough for my bb onot, i got small B keke~

jamie: tats what i thought also... save $$$ on milk powder keke~ after 3mths maternity leave, i can hide in my meeting room to pump milk out then store in fridge. after work bring home to warm up for my bb...

kapo the whole morning.. reading Jan, Feb and Mar MTB posting so good to found out that no mention of ms + saliva... so we hang on for another 1-2 weeks.

everyone excited abt the istean sale. and they have so much energy.. meeting for dinners, swimming, yoga and shopping. look forward to that.

do you all think for hygine purpose can borrow the breastfeed pump. i hv small b other than sometims sore.. its not growing much . not drinking milk or EOC so don think will produce milk or not. so really drop the idea of buying if its only for 1 mth use.

complain time: this morning hv a small argument with male ang moh boss.. thou they are more open but they are the same. so more he is a nurse by training.. saying with your condition like this u won't be staying long.. hello, i feel like telling him what condition, i am pregnant and yes i am leaving cos of HQ decision in a month time. so rude of him to give this type of comments. going to give him a 2 weeks notice that he don hv any 2nd support for a while or support from me remotely of cos last priorty. (HQ being planning secretly abt my leaving but not disclose to him). ha ha so angry not being working for whole morning.

If anyone is interested in getting a weighing scale, saw Osim promo at $59. Don't know if it's cheap but normal price is $99. Think the promo is only valid at KKH branch.

Kea
It's ok to eat chinese wine chicken even if BF-ing. cause after cooking, the wine no longer contain alcohol content as it will be evaporated. My gyne says it's ok as well.

Cheesy
Usually they will put in freezer if baby is not going to drink on the day of expressing. Then they use first in first out method.

Serene
hahaha swimming refering to march thread? :p we going swimming this coming sun and at the same time yoga and shopping also our planned events.
Aiyo.. i thought ang moh more open one leh. seems like i am wrong. cuase my classmate, her ang moh boss very open one and treats her very nice.

adeline, my op next tuesday, very fast...5days more. woah u go swimming already ah? do u buy maternity swim wear? can still swim full lap at 1 go? I'ven't swam for quite long, dunno can still make it or not

kea, heard tt BF can also help to slim down after birth besides all the pros as listed by jgal.

Cutiebb
Ya but not swimming is call soaking in the pool hahahahaha.. cause i bring my #1 to the pool with my HB.. so i just play with her inside.

When my sister was breastfeeding her 2nd one, she used DOM to cook her confinement food. Like Adeline say, probably cos the alcohol will evaporate after cooking.

I believe breastfeeding is best for baby as this is how nature intended it to be.

Adeline: there's this program abt baby sometime back by chn 8. professional said can store breast milk for up to 49days in freezer. then shldnt be a pro for working mum hehe~

just got motherhood and mother and baby magazine (got free gift)~

yeah cheesycake i watched tt 2 on sunday 1...was surprised to noe B milk can be frozen for bb's consumption, tot the nutrient will be loss

Kea: $5.50 erm tat time is indian lady with i think malay guy. now they shift the shop to other end. the usual store now is one chinese lady open de, next to shoe shop.

Jenny

ok, thx...but me today gt abit spotting, don wan walk ard..tink ltr tking cab hm oso....haiz..will get it on sat aft i c teh gynae....

Kea,
You are not going to see your gynae today? Normally, the nurses will ask me to go down immediately if I have spotting.

Tsukushi

nope..my appt on sat...coz mine is not the first time liao...is due to uterus infection..normally the nurse will ask me to monitor for 1 day first ..coz i oso taking an tai medication nw.....

this thread is moving super super fast lah... all mtb no need to work one har.... just kidding..

so how is everyone today.... anyone over with MS.... just had a huge merlion event last night.... haiz... hope it to be over really soon

serene123,
no problem... will bring it to office tomorrow...

Breastmilk...
The best is BF for the 1st 6month, thereafter can start introduce other semi solid food.....
yup when u r BF, u need to eat as balance as possible for the benfit of the baby... what u take now go to the baby...
that apply to BF...

kae;
u take care okie....especially if the spotting is alot... if a little... try to rest... if it stop then is okie... if not, it is advisable to go to see ur gyn immediately....

have all of u told yr mother, MIL, friends that u are pregnant or still keep it as secret. so far some of my collegue and bosses know cos i m mc

3mth liao.. can tell already right ? hee hee. i guess.. tell when you think the baby is safe after 12wks. So that family member wont get disappointed and "enemies" wont gossip if anything bad happens.

yeah...3mths already tummy speaks it all, ppl can tell by looking. Even though mine is still a ?, i am proud to let ppl know I'm preg. No matter wat happens bb is my 1st

some ppl is 4mth...

i have a fren, she cannot tell ppl she is pregnant until baby is stable... like 4-5mth..

cos she has 2 MC b4, her mum scared...

cos i remember the stress my SIL hv to thr when she told us when she pregnant.. keep on asking boy or gal and when is it due..

i m impatient type don like to be ask the same questions again and again.. so KIV till later date.

good news to share with all of u, posting back to sing mid oct confirmed.. so looking forward to home sweet home.. and can catch up with any of u during the shopping trip. cos none of my close friend married or hv babies.

Hi Kea and all,

Breastfeeding is benefits not only baby as well as mom. I breastfed both my kids up till 20mths. For my no.2 I am in the process of weaning! It is not true you have to control your diet. A well-balanced diet is enough. AS for alcohol, like wat adeline mentioned, it evaporates at 70 degrees so not a problem when it comes to confinement food. Even things like ginger which many ppl claim to cause jaundice is ok if taken in moderation and so far no scientific proof that it casue janudice. Breastmilk jaundice is in fact good as the bilirubin that cuases janudice is an antioxidant. Both my kids has mild jaundice up till 3mths and my pead is not even worried.

The only thing you have to be cautious when it comes to breastfeeding is perhaps MEDICATION. Some drugs has contraindication when it comes to bf. Just have a balance diet.

As to spicy food, some babies has very sensitive tastebud so might reject the bm if mommies consumes spicy food. But all will. Some babies are sensitive to garlic as well as onions. You will know when the baby comes and adjust your diet.

I always encourage frens to breastfeed. It is not easy but you will realise the benefits when the kids are older. Children fall sick lesser and even if they fall sick they recover faster.

Oh yes, when it comes to breastpump. I highly recommend an electric one. As for brand, Medela is well sought after. But just a warning, different pumps works efficiently on different woman. So if you have frens who can lend you that brand of pump try it first. I know of frens who dun expereince let-down with certain brand.

hi, how's everyone??
my MS is not subsiding but getting worse. Now added with a rapid short of breath. can't even finish my sentences these days. Tiredness struck again just recently. Suddenly felt my whole body goes weak and shiver. Not gaining my appetite yet but have hunger pang in the afternoon. But the moment i eat, nauseous feeling comes in again. Argh. I could keep up with the nauseous feeling (afterall it has been 6 weeks like that), but the shiver and numbness is scary. Anyone has that feeling?

i have told my friends, close relatives and colleagues already but cos i used to wear loose clothings in the past, they can't really tell that i have a tummy now. I am still in my sneakers and big clothes, so no one gave up seats for me. my frenz all said that my tummy is not showing at all.

morning mtbs...

cath, yup i do get short of breath smtimes, wat i do is try to take in deep breath like mums in labour. Have u started on all the supplements? I also get tired easily too maybe coz i'ven't started coz this period of time fetus start to absorb more nutrients. Every night b4 sleep I've to drink a glass of milo if not will feel hungry. Occassionally will vomit for food which the body rejects, on the whole MS has slowly subsided. U r in wk 12+?

actually different MTB will experience MS differently..... some will even last for the whole of the preggy...
so don need to worry too much.... may for those with very bad MS... just notice what actually coz it... because of certain smell, food or thing... then try to avoid it..... my MS still on and off....

I think I suppose to bring the MH... but hor.... now with no 2... haha memory is falling... oh dear.. how to cope with exam like that....

well... I think mainly my immediate family are aware of the preggy... though I'm not too sure whether my mil know haha I left it to my hubby to inform her mother... my co mainly most of them know... coz this my no 2... plus some spotting on earlier stage.... so had take a couple of day for MC... then my tummy is obvious had already start wearing ML clothing... haha...

poshies, u r studying as well? still continuing? Has been wondering how to manage my wk, studies and bb next time? Not an easy task ya!I agree tt preg really make our memory poorer. Dunno isit sleep too much. Yuppie certain food will cause vomitting. My case is I can't take garlic and onion.

morning ladies...
My MS seems to be subsiding day by day. I used to feel very lousy after dinner and all I could do was to lie down. Now, at least can sit up and walk around. However, I think I'm still losing weight instead of gaining.

Btw, in office, people on my left and right keep coughing...
Very jialat...

Poshies
what are u studying? i am also studying and yes it's very tough esp when my memory is falling me greatly. I can to the extent of didnt bring anything out of my house and just go out.
There is once i wore 2 different slippers out. So Malu leh.. And i keep forgetting where i put my things, what should i do next.

Cutiebb
it's never easy. hehe when i had #1 i stopped my studies for 1 year. now i am not going to stop but continue till i give birth. During my confinement i still have to do my projects. Thats my current plan.
i am able to cope with work, studies and baby. but i am unable to cope with work, studies, baby + PREGGY.
It just wore me out.

Tsukushi
aiyo preggy immune system lower leh so u must try to keep away. That time our department quite a number of people having flu. Within 1 day i got infected as well. Usually it's not like this! Do take care ok?
If u're vomiting, it's normal that u're losing weight. But definitely will put on in the later part. jia you jia you.

good morning mtbs,

any one of you went for the isetan pte sale yest? I din go in the end coz was kind of suffering from MS last nite. Any good buys from there?

Hey mommies out there, would need your advise. I need to get a present for a one year old's birthday.. but not sure what to get. Any suggestions?

cath- seems like we 2 not over the ms thing.. this morning throw up again.. act smart know drink water before brushing will ms but too thristy so try my luck..

called my gynea nurse yesterday, ask me to take one gastric pill every day. could be our gastric acid making us feel ms too. took one in the evening and keep on burping so helps a bit too. if not she suggest i see the doc if still don get better.

if u still don feel well than should see yr gynea. cos of the ms, i don look pregnant. no bump and all clothes still fit nicely.. i m my starting my 13 weeks today so a bit worried. in fact my face slim down quite a bit.

Poshies- no worries abt the mag.

Adeline- can scan the ms, saliva page to me.. at [email protected]
still struck at the 1st trim stage...
thanx.

cherish: same here... even since im preggie people keep asking me boy/gal... haiz hear liao abit stress~

hi MTB: any idea where is the best place to have romantic dinner with my DH? my DH birthday today
this yr special, coz our bb celebrating together...

Adeline: btw, have u exp ur bb 1st kick? just to find out, in case i exp i know how izzit

Cheesy - u can try this if u like western food, nice ambience. 'Fosters Restaurant' 277 Holland Avenue (S)278994 Tel: 6466 8939