(2008/04) April 2008

morning everyone...

i'm on MC today... very tired due to a bad morning sickness last night. can't sleep and stomach is terribly bloated.

burpy, thanks... i wanted to buy the belly belt too. but the ones that i have tried out are rather uncomfortable. So i will just have to buy more mat.pants. Even undergarments are not fitting now. Rather disappointing to see that most of the wardrobe clothes need to be shelved away for the time being.

cutiebb, i saw ur post on the choco issue, almost laughed off my chair. All the best to you in the next crucial week.

Hoops, hope u r feeling better... take care take care.

Hi Burby_Babe: Yap i most probably will be going for c-section ... dun intend to give birth to so many so okie lor ...

Dr Tham had arranged for me to do the test in the next 2 mths leh .. next appt will be on 16th October ... followed by 12th November (which i can sign up the package) ..Another appt on 3rd December U opt for which one? cos there is 2 rates for the test ... Think difference abt $50 + dollars ...

cherish, yes - visited last wed when i was 11weeks+.. gynae didnt want to confirm gender all he say was nothing seen in between the legs.. guess he dont wanna give us false hope until later stage.. hubby asked him on when can we know the gender of the bb, he said that week 16 - its 99.6% accurate; week 20 - its 99.9% accurate.. so i'll hv to wait until 2 more visits to know bb's gender as i'm scheduled to visit him every 3 weeks.

yup... cherish

my colleagues told me the same thing too... gynae usually won't say until they are very sure... some will only confirm until the 5th month, where things are real obvious. So usually 11 - 12th week, they won't really tell.

tratties & Kea

i m also in my 12wks, still taking folic + pregvat but my stomach not taking it well. i take in the afternoon but after tat i feel bitter and want to ms. really hope the ms or want to ms ends at 1st trim. Also i don understand why preg woman need to swallow so many pills.

serene

at first me oso think like u...but is for our own n bb good..coz our normal diet, those outside food, vits is not enough......then calcium is v important oso.....coz bb need alot alot of calcium..if we not enough , bb will tk fr our bones, then nxt time our bone v fragil...

burpy_babe & Jgal - hihi
my Edd initially is 25th april then after the 2nd visit become on the 21st april, according to dr im in my 10th week now, follow up with dr vincent lee in mount e but changing dr under kkh.. todae is my 1st appt wif the kkh with dr benjamin tham.

hi hi serene

u r not alone. Same here. i'm only taking folic at this time. suppose to take vit B and obimin (multivits) but i will constipate if i take vit b and obimin, so no choice, can't take. MS is also not reducing in its impact, esp night time worse - makes sleeping super difficult.

hang in there... mums are the greatest. must record down in a little diary, next time can show bb when he/she grows up. (heehee can claim credit then.)

strawberries

me cant tk milk oso..will puke.....so have to tk calcium supplements..at first i tot y shld i tk..then aft that i heard my fren say one preggie when she give birth, her bb lack of calcium and she herself gt to admit to hospital due to lack of calcium-oster.....duuno how to spell..so i scare...must eat liao.

Thanks... how is everyone doing....
i think i pretty over with my ms....

work wise is okie just that my boy is super super clingly to me...
very difficult for me to rest well...

i'll ask from gynae some calcium pills in my next visit. Can feel my ankles a bit more fragile than before... always giving off a "chuck" sound when i walk. my gynae didn't want to give me fish oil, so i am sticking to folic, obimin and vit B by far.

congrats poshies... ms' over can enjoy pregnancy better...

hmm muz tk calcium supplements.. i been trying to keep drinking soya milk.. heheh.. me so far on folic acid and rivercon ( but then the 2nd drug not taking cuz too big a tab cant swollow, so stop on my own..) hehe.. then later bring all the infos and drugs to show the kkh dr

tratties, i every 2 - 3 hrs muz eat something.. i cant stand myself.. cuz usually me dun eat like tat.. then ahz.. now trying to curb the feel of eating so often..

Jgal Thanks for your advise. Yeap, actually called MOM on Sat to check already, as I earn more that $1600 a month, I am not protected under the employment act. Basically the employer can do anything, and MOM say will be between the employer and employee. Actually I have accepted the change in my job scope, now more worried abt my pay. If they want to pay me the same for doing something that a lower ranking employee does, thats fine with me ;-) Like you say, less stress also. Was just not happy over the way my boss handled the whole issue and felt that some of the things she said was really not fair to me.

BTW, wat are the reasons you gals usually take MC for? Do you take MC if you have very bad MS? Was having very bad MS today, but forced myself to come to work. Yesterday nite throw up until my stomach pain.

Hoops - oh no, wat happened? Take care, ok? Keep us updated....

my boss is rather understanding towards taking of MC... he don't usually ask for the Medical certificate. I told him today that i had very bad MS last night and can't sleep well, asked if i could have a day's off today, he agreed very swiftly. cos in the past (before pregnancy), we worked till late hours (like 10pm+) to complete our work, and didn't make any claims on off days/ hours off. So he did mention that if we are not feeling well, don't hesitate to take a day off. His wife is a preggie now too, so he is very understanding.

Sputnik - yup sometime it is not up to us..... some employer is super mean to preggy mtb.... but it is also subject to your immediately boss and company environment.
I have a collegue who took 2 month leave to rest due to her condition.... also no problem.... but i just take a couple of days more of MC kena complain... but what to do.. .think i had used up my 14 day of MC this morning... but don care....

btw any HR personal here....need to ask... does HR really monitor the no of day a employee take each year? what will happen is that employee took more than 14 day? especially if the company is big listed company...

Sputnik.. when will hr get back to you on your pay? Dont be upset over what she say.. she dun understand preggy. Actually, right now .. if you are not feeling well, you shld take the day off..*maybe after the pay amt is out*, cos' this becomes an entitlement liao.. it's your side of the bargain. I believe HR/big boss will be on your side.. if your boss make it difficult for you since you already take a step back.

i dun have MS.. but i take hrs off when i have cramps in the morning.

i believe my year-end-bonus is tied to my MC in some way.. so i try not to take leaves instead of MC.. since most of the time, i still can work.

i believe frequent mc will affect the promotion in my area.. but nowadaes i dun really care cuz when u not well.. juz tk mc.. no need to really slot so hard whereby u dun get appreciate at all ..

Jgal I thik they will get back to me by this week. My MC entitlement is 30 days per year, have never exceeded this before. But I had a colleague who was pregnant, she took more than 30 days MC, but my HR did not deduct her pay. Another colleague who took abt 60 days MC, thik HR deducted her pay. So I thik it really depends on the company, your boss and why you take MC then they will decide if they want to deduct pay.

Strawberries : I thik it is not advisable to rebond or perm hair when pregnant.

strawberries.. i read from books.. that they didnt really conduct any tests on such thing... So no right and wrong.. it's just a precautions not to rebond and perm your hair.

cath
my dairies actually say 6 painful injection over 2 wks cos body not producing pregnancy hormones and the past few wks is like suffering food posioning. so far not enjoying it all, so terrible that i want to give up. so far only sleeping makes me better but sleep too much bodyache. and the thing is my HB want the baby but i am the one who suffer.

strawberries
i eating a lot too but i eat really slow. 2 extra slides of wholemeal bread for 2 hrs and another 2 after lunch. try to eat healthy. but i not putting on weight, quite worried so already in my 12 weeks.

Poshies
Used to cover HR last time, sad truth is my staff love to deduct overtaken leave. must see if your hr people sadist or not. but one thing is that make sure people don abuse the system. see if doc can give hospitalisation leave or not cos its up to 60 days not part of mc.

oh serene... dont feel upset, though i can understand from the injections and food poisoning, it must be hard on you. Don't give up... take a deep breath. 1st tri, is real hard esp so much changes in our body that we sometimes question the need to bring a little life into the world. But this is a project that is jointly shared by you and your HB. He has to share your pain... at lest in listening. Perhaps, you can find a good time to tell him how you felt. It is important to communicate to our HB. Cos i think by 3rd tri, it will be harder for us. The anxiety, tiredness and pain, we will need HB to hold our hands together to go through together.

Sometimes, i felt totally frustrated when i told him i felt very nauseous and he made no response but only talk to the bb, ask if bb like to eat this / drink that. But din't ask me. Made me feel that the focus is not right. Then i told him,"hello, u only care abt bb and not me, you go and have ur own bb yourself." He will explain that i got it wrong. he expressed in a wrong manner. Then you know some guys are wood one, they don't know what we need. So I will have to spell it out. for eg, i need encouragement from you in this area... and you will make me feel better if you say this and not that. Not much energy to play the guessing game, so just tell him straight.

i believe u will feel terrible but think abt bb slowly grows in your tummy... every week bigger... think abt how capable you are, despite of the pains and trouble, you are growing tough and can handle even tougher things in the future. Stay Strong.

strawberries & kea

me too not a milk person and couldn't take in milk when ms was terrible but starting last week i tried to take in small amounts of milk - half cup at a time, and it works ok - no more puking already.. anyway, its now the right time to start drinking milk for me as going into 2nd trimester very soon and its during the 2nd trimester when bb absorbs most of your intake..

btw, my weight seems to fluctuate up and down 1kg recently and havent been putting on.. could it be that bb is now really starting to absorb most of my intake?? me too not getting much hunger pangs already..

just did some research on stroller/carseat . I found this very helpful online merchant.
it's www.babytown.com. I gave them a call on their cappella system (carseat with opt stroller) and ask for some advises. She is very helpful and give many useful tips.
1) she advise that i dun get now cos' the warranty will start when i purchase.
2) normally the new model/design/fabric will be release in Mar/Apr.. So we can get the more updated model later.
3) since i have a car, she recomm. i look at bigger stroller because they are more comforty and easier to use. If i dun , she recomm. to get something light for alightly and boarding public transport. *useful*
4) i told her i may not be using a stroller.. but she say.. probably it not a option cos' i will need to carry quite alot of things when i bring bb out for walk.. no stroller.. will be very troublesome and baby will weighs.
5) she also recomm this brand call graco *not found on her website*. which basically include the stroller and base in the system.
not bad and very durable.
6) orh.. btw, the good car seat can last 3-4 yrs.. and the cheaper ones 1-2yr because of the washing.. this point also have to be consider lor.

.... she delivers at $9 per trip.. so she advise that i get it later nearer to my EDD.

Cathy, yup very true we need our hubby to pamper us for these 9mths. Indeed giving birth is not easy, tts y i always wonder y ppl r willing to put their child for adoption or to abandon their kids after birthl.

tratties and cherish
my weight fluctuates too. but on the overall, i din put on weight but lost abt 1 kg. i couldn't eat well still. din feel like eating most of the time but eat for the sake of eating.

Any of you thinking of going for some exercises - like pre-natal yoga/ pilates/ aqua-aerobics? Any good ones to recommend?

tratties

me oso didnt put on weight..actuali since first visit before my MS, i put on 2.7kg...but nw back to my before preggie weight....DH ystrdae bought weighin machine, then i weigh...c liao, i worry...haiz......

cath

me tinking of gg prenatal yoga..that one can be do aft 1st trim. i will ask my gynae whether i am suitable to do during my this coming sat visit...

cath

me thinking of going for prenatal yoga but gynae advised me not to do any strenueous exercise except for brisk walking even after 1st trimester. he say that too much exercise might bring about miscarriage or early labour and it isnt good... so guess i'll just stick to walking & swimming when i'm bout 4mths+

cherish

u shld be happy that yr tummy is showing...hee..if nv show then i worry...yup..mine gt abit liao...my DH say can tell is preggie....is normally aft i ate then bigger coz full n bloated..if not, morning i wake up is little v abit of tummy only

hi cutie
guess they have no choice... maybe financially / unwed. else it is real difficult to understand.

it is rather tough to handle our HB sometimes too. i mean they have their work stress (so are we though), they came home and hope that we don't pull a long face. but we are not feeling well.. need them to humor us, so pull a blackened face. this will all build a tensed up environment. So still must give and take. Sometimes, i joked that my HB is a "yun-FU"- pregnant dad, so he will be emotional and i will try to understand him and give in to him when he look stressed up and little words. then he will break the ice and understand that it is not easy for us too.

cherish

tink is normal...is only second pregnancy that will show faster...i read my pregnancy bk, it oso say by 4-5mths then will be obvious..

Hoops: Hope u r ok, rest more and walk less.

Adeline: Gd to learn that u r better now and can eat. Continue to eat well.

Cloudluv: ya, i thnk it is defintedly cheaper in msia as the service is comparable to gleaneagles. Gd that ur mum can do confinememt for u in msia. My friends also advised me to do confinement in msia after c-sec in spore. They say for firstborn, some mums are prone to post-natal blues.So it is impt to have hubby's support and presence. I think i am one of the candidate for that as i usually have bad mood swings 2 weeks before my mense come. I would prob discuss with my mum and see if she is ok to come to msia to do confinement, if not then i will do in spore. Prob ask hubby to take 1 week leave to accompany me.

Spuntik: Like what jgal said, if u r an executive level, employment act is used as a guideline and mostly derived from consenus between employers and employees.

If the job scope is permanent and request for perm 4 day work week has been agreed between the parties, i believe this is a new contract of service/appointment. This will be diff from your inital appt. Your HR has prorated your pay according to 4 day work week. This can be prob termed as flexible work schedule for working mums. I presume no discussion on the new pay has taken place while discussing abt the change in job scope and work days. It will be good to check with HR on this than directly your supervisor so that hr can direct the salary qn to supervisor instead. And do check with hr if they r coming up with a new letter of appointment or official letter to commence the new contract/appointment for u.This is impt. This need to be done properly so that in the future when u switch jobs, prospective employers would look at your portfolio in ths foreign bank from 5 day to 4 day work week and change in job scope.

R u getting a new supervisor? Is this an inter-department transfer or simply a revision of job scope within the same department for your case only?

On the matter on mc, by industry stds, employee is getting 14 days of outpatient sick leave and 46 days or hospitalisation leave. So if u think u have exceeded your 14 days of mc, can prob ask if doc is qualified to give hospital leave for u to cover. what i know is that most hospital can give hospital and outpatient leave but am not sure if gynae can unless if it's delivery? If your bank is giving employees 30 days of outpatient leave, that's v gd. Can check on your employee handbook or with your hr personnel direct.

sorry ladies

me out of topic for a while...anyone knw where i can get N70 black keypad...? been searching for v long.....haiz......