(2008/04) April 2008

Kea of coz we miss chatting w all mummies here when the system was down....great tt u ve such understanding boss...yup puking is terrible, i vomitted today in public. I was so embaressed coz quite a few ppl saw esply the guards, but no choice can't stop it fm puking.

kea **hugz**

My friend also say.. KKH facilities for private suite patient is very good also.. he say he gets a sofa bed to accomp his wife in A1(free). While his friend in mt e / NUH get a addition hospital bed - chargable.

aiya.... so many option until i blur!

What is oscar test and NT test?

Kea: take good care
pregnant is not easy, dun give ur too much stress.

cutiebb

me the day before oso puke in expressway when DH drive halfway ...cant tahan...

me sat gt spottin again..so v v sad...haiz...doc say my uterus v sensitive , so easily infected....u all knw any ways i can prevent? doc say cant do anythin to prevent coz is inside body..not UTI...haiz...

jamie. actually i assume all good/popular gynea has long waiting time..
dr fong also need to wait 1-2hrs from the waiting time.. the good thing i go home/shopping first.

One thing i know abt public hospital is that the medical personell are very overwork. They have 24hrs shift, pte hospital normally has 12 hr shift. So you do expect lousier services frm the doc/nurse lor.

I has a small accident last year, cut my toe underneath the toenail. Paid $500+ to fixed it in raffles where my friend told me $80 will do in public hospital. but my friend who has similiar experience.. lost his toenail forever(never grown back) .. mine looks normal now. *1 cent money 1 cent worth* .. I lost faith in public hospital liao.

Morning Ladies...

Was bz past few days didnt log in to join u all in the conversations..

was reading the above and realised that my baby's heartbeat during last scan which was at 8 weeks 4 days was as high as 180bpm.. gynae didnt mentioned any abnormality but am worried as according to the guide which Calamari posted - FHR shld be between 149-172bpm for week 8..

kea, my gynea say to prevent infection or yellow discharge shd use cold water to wash it cleanly. He say warm water will promote growth of bateria. U may wanna try.

Jgal: tat time was advised by the nurse .. all the jabs for baby will be included in the package already .. therefore go polyclinic will not have to pay anything ..

And of cos if *touchwood* baby needs to be admitted to there in future shld have subsidised rate lor .. (if i am not wrong)

Adeline: me also like durian mooncakes ..

U got try the one from Harbour City? The Snow skin durian mooncakes not bad .. abt $26 per box for 8 pcs after discount .. :p

jgal

i agree that most good/ popular doc hv long waiting time. but for KKH i believe u r not assign the same gynae for each visit. i personally prefer the same gynae throughout, & of coz better service from private hospital

kea

dont give yourself stress, remember u r not alone. we r all goin thru this pregnancy together. its always never ez to be a mum, but thats what motherhood is all abt. stay positive

Kea: me never tried out in raffles wor .. maybe u wan to c if Times have? Below Golden shoe there ...

For me i printed out the cute pictures on those photo papers ..

jamie

thx....nw i m seeing preggie as a beta way.....am gg to buy lotsa posters and stick everywhere in my rm to remind myself , i am a MTB......!! thx all for all the encouragement..it reali helps!!

Jamie: For KKH u can opt for same gynae thru out if u choose a consultant or senior consultant .. but of course u have to pay abit more for it ...

Me took the same gynae thru-out .. 1st consultation cost abt $150 + scan & medi ... 2nd consultation abt $130 + scan + medi ...

jamie.. under premier scheme, you see your regular doc at the pte suite all the time. Dun have houseman following you.
Work out to be abt the same as pte doc. Only thing you save is the jabs and if you have complication lor. ha haha.. some of the top docs in singapore are still in KKH hor.

any of u all taste plain water then wan puke? me nw drink plain water, wan puke liao..haiz..dunno wad i can drink......anyone??

Jgal: think the premier scheme package can only sign up during the 16th week of preg ...

Details as follows:

Antenatal PackagesAs of Wednesday 25 August 2004, women who choose to give birth at KKH will not have to pay any cash up-front when they opt for our hospital's antenatal packages.
This is a deferred payment scheme when you sign up for the antenatal package using Medisave.
The Antenatal Packages - Classic or Premier, are offered to women who are into their 16th week of pregnancy.
The package price ranges from $330 to $620.
It includes:
- 10 antenatal visits, and
- 10 urine tests
However, the package excludes: - First consultation with the obstetrician - Unscheduled visits - Prescribed medications and investigations ordered by the obstetricianAny other additional items or services will be billed separately.
There will be no refunds for unutilised antenatal visits.
The package price will only be billed after your delivery.

jenny

i didnt know we can opt for same gynae at KKH, so they more like private nowadays. got package also?

cherish

Both Oscar & NT test is for Down Syndrome. i forgot which one i took during my #1 preggie, will check it out during my next wk visit to the gynae.

have you all read the article that this girl delivered at KKH and had all the complications after birth but KKH was not able to rectify it...... she had to go GlenE to have it done.... something about her placenta not being removed etc...... i read it and was so turn off by KKH!

Thanks Calamari...feel more relieved now.

Am just wondering if i am hitting the end of MS - after 3 weeks of feeling so ill, tired and no appetite....yesterday and today i cannot stop eating and dun feel like puking anymore. YAY! I really hope i can start eating normally again... i lost 2 kg in the last 3 wks.

BTW anyone know where got good neck / shoulder and head massage? I dare not massage lower than that. Also, do you ladies paint your fingernails? is it safe?

Additional Info:

Hospitalisation Services
The hospital offers Classic and Premier Hospitalisation Packages for patients who opt for Class A1 ward (single-bedded) and Class B1 (four-bedded) wards.
Class A1 (single-bedded) Packages
Type Length of Stay Package Price*
Normal Delivery 2 days $1,550
Caesarean Delivery 3 days $2,300
Class B1 (four-bedded) Packages
Type Length of Stay Package Price*
Normal Delivery 2 days $920
Caesarean Delivery 3 days $1,700
* Package prices shown are subject to prevailing GST and are effective from 1 March 2007. All rates are subject to revision without notice.
Package Features:
Standard procedures and supplies.
Delivery Suite charge for 8 hours usage or Operating Theatre for 30 mins usage.
For Normal Delivery, Delivery Suite charges will be waived after the 12th hour.
For Emergency LSCS Delivery (initially signed up for Normal Delivery Packages), the first 2 hours of the Delivery Suite charges will be waived. However, a flat rate of $380 (A Class patient) / $323 (B1 Class patient) will be charged for subsequent usage.
If the actual length of stay is shorter than the package's stipulated coverage, we shall offer a rebate for the unconsumed ward and daily treatment fee only.
The Maternity Package is not all-inclusive.
The package does not include doctor's professional fees and all neonatal related charges.
All other procedures and investigations not included in the package will be charged based on usage.
For Premier Hospitalisation Package
Your chosen obstetrician will provide private and personalised care during labour.
Your chosen obstetrician will conduct the delivery.
Medical students will not be involved in the labour and delivery.
Patients will receive priority in bed booking.
For Classic Hospitalisation Package
A team of trained doctors on duty will be involved in the assessment of labour.
Your chosen obstetrician will conduct the delivery.
.Medical students will not be involved in the labour and delivery.

Jgal: we can take the package after 16th week of preg lor ..

Scubababe: i think its also on individual case by case ba .. only very low percentage of preg case will have complications like tat ya...?

thanks for the information.
from what i know hor, delivery by senior consultant is not cheap $1200 (delivery) + $120 (post natal visit) + $620 (pkg) = $1940.

So it work out to be almost the same as Dr Ong which has all these included after 12th wk ($1900) with no limit on visit + 3D scan. Only thing saved is the ward cost + jabs + complication.

Jgal: think so .. but it be up to individual ... also must feel comfortable & have the chemistry with the gynae in charge .. rite?

jenny, thanks for the info!

kea, u may want to put some lemon in your water. thats how i drink it nowadays, i also cant stand plain water.

Scubababe .. to be fair to KKH. I think that's a problem with signing up pkg in a whole. Cos' everything is in from the start. So hospital/gynea will also be relentant to give you more than budget for. Gynea in public hospital probably need to "justify" for the addition operation which maybe very difficult if it just a gutz feeling. Or worst, they are too lazy to it because they are overwork already.

Pte gynea only need to answer to their own pkt and concussion. If you meet a pte doc, that thinks that you are just one of the many patient.. you also suay lor.

you know how .. mt e is famous for their guts feeling.. always kena complain for unnecessary scan and treatment etc.. hahaha .. so got pros and cons lor

jamie

i tried to put honey to make honey water ystrdae, drink it with my supplement....drink liao ok...but i scare will be too swt if i tk it everytime..

kea

i also take honey at times. u dont make it too sweet, anyway we just dont like the taste of plain water, so as long as the drink got abit of taste can liao. i also take diluted cranberry juice, suppose to help to prevent UTI.

jamie

ok..thx...then tink i will stick to my honey water...i 4get to bring my honey over to office..nw drinking that yucky plain water..discover my water consumtion is getting lesser...

i v worried all of a sudden...today my MS seem to subside , then i don have the feeling of frequent peeing ......is it anything wrong??? and i have have sudden cramps sometimes.............anyone???

The thread sure to move super fast.

Cutiebb, NT scan is a scan for down syndrone, Gynae asked if i want to test, i just say ok lo. for TMC, it costs $101. Did some research, NT scan is only about 70% accuracy, it's a scan where they will be able to measure the fluid behind bb's neck. There's a range for abnormalities. They will also combine our blood test, age and weight and the scan to calculate the risk. If risk is high, you may want to consider the test through amniocentesis where they will draw your water frm your waterbag for further test. However, seldom or hardly recommended unless high risk or high age coz there is a risk of miscarriage for this test and i heard it's very painful and costly. For NT scan, i think you can know the results immediately. The actual measurement on Tues when i was 10weeks 3 days was 39.7mm so i just round it up to 40mm lo. When is your EDD?

Hi Kea - Same here, I'm like u. MS seems subside and there are some cramps for these three days.

Hi Sherin - I am going to scan for down syndrome on Tuesday, 18 Sep 07 at TMC. U?

Kea - I'm in my 10 weeks +- 3 days. I think should be okay mah. Nevertheless, we must think positively lor. My next appt with the gynae will be the coming Monday, 17 Sep 07. So will be asking him as well.