(2008/04) April 2008

there are a few baby/prenatal titles found at popular cd dept.(<$20). they will do the same, think 25.90 is over priced.

cutiebb: gynae told me between 11-14wks need to do down syndrome test. either oscar at TMC/bloodtest at his clinic. he din tell me abt the dimension/feature thing... this test is for? wat is ur 2nd fear?

burpy_babe: haiz they been thru it ma shld understand loh. at nite i only take 2-3 teaspoon of rice. now im eating muffin... had fish soup beehoon for lunch, nv have bloated feeling keke. later in the afternoon having fruits
do u take papaya de ma?

cheesycake: hmm nope. I dun really like papaya. Have heard something like not advisable to take papaya leh. but then I dun like papaya. but I love pineapple. But now cannot take. whenever walk past fruit stall gotta ren... cannot succumb and buy a slice. sigh. i try to take the safer fruits like apples, oranges and guavas etc lor.

burpy_babe: i heard also... but i have constipation... my fren told me try not to eat papaya at nite. if can eat in the morin/afternoon. i love papaya, pineapple erm i seldom take. i eat fruits like: apples, kiwi, papaya, guava, dragon fruits and strawberries.

adeline

i agree, those confinement caterer may hv MSG but no choice leh, my mum still need to take of my 1yr old gal & my newborn. so may be too much for her as i dont hv a maid. thot to ease her burden thats y consider confinement caterer to settle my meals. although my mum also not in favour, will see how it goes lah. i'm still exploring ard.

Cheesycake, the website u gave, the age refers to our lunar age and the month of conceived also lunar mth rite? My second fear ah...is my op for cyst lor...tink my dimension check is just to make sure bb is in proportion. He say for my age no need for down syndrome test

BTW y cannot eat papaya at nite ah?

cheesycake: sigh. me too suffering from constipation. i have always included vege in my diet. but dunno why still having constipation. these few days feeling worse. stomach felt like its going to explode. guess there's alot of gas in my stomach.. sigh.

cutiebb: erm its not stated in the webby whether shld we use lunar age/mth of conception leh... i not sure too~ but i see my sil conceived age and conception mth in lunar she got boy. but she gave birth to gal. so i guess not 100% correct. btw, u prefer gal/boy?

burpy_babe: keke i ate so much just now nv feel bloated at all. but nite, eat abit can explode liao. me last week constipated until can cry
now daily can poo or alternate day~remem to drink more water, eat more fruits.

Cath, i think it's most prob the same, they also have a series for babies right? Sounds good, perhaps i'll get it next time when i drop by united square, it was going for $23.90.

Burpy_babe, dont ever ever buy pineapples ! My gynae always say, can eat anything except PINEAPPLES. abortion effect.

Chessy, i'm totally addicted to guava but i read that guava also contains vit A. I asked my gynae, he says ok to take guava as the vitA contents is very low. Vit A is only harmful when taken very excessively. Now i try to cut down. I used to take everyday after lunch.

Jenny, you may want to try this webby: http://www.motherhood.com.sg/tools/gender.asp

Sherin: i just asked my colleague to help me buy guava ... is it okie to take????

Source from 1 of the website:

Guava contains key nutrients like vitamin C, carotenoids, folate, potassium, fiber, calcium and iron are one of the best fruits available.
Low in cholesterol, saturated and sodium free, plus low in fat and calories. high in fiber

Cheesycake, no preference of sex for bb as long as bb comes out pink and healthy

Actually alot of fd drink say is high in vit A, guess very hard to avoid...maybe drink and eat moderately.

Jenny, i guess so, I'm eating it now! haha. i love the prune powder also le. If i dont take, i'll have problems at the toilet for the day. But since gynae says ok, it shld be ok.

Sherin: this 2 days i also start to have constipation .. maybe not enought fruit intake .. tats y asked my colleague to help me buy ...

Jgal: Noted, with thanks ... :p

Cutiebb: tats wat i think also ...

Sherin: i heard guava can be very heaty also. tat time before constipation i use to take once without (sour plum powder) almost everyday, as i heard its high in fibre. in the end, i had hard time in the loo... can take but not too much. this applies to all food~

cutiebb: same thinking... as long bb healthy and guai can le. i heard from 97.2 radio, every eat fish also not good. its true that eating moderately and drinking more water is more important.

hi ladies - thanks for the kind words..will just hang on and see how it goes this fri. but have kinda informed my boss so that there will be 2 other colleagues i can rope in to cover my work if i need to get away for a while coz i got a few critical dateline coming up for my portfolio. lucky she's very understanding.

Thanks sherin. Yep.. trying to keep away from pineapples.

When I see you gals discussing about guavas.. feel like eating guavas now. But too bad my office here dun really sell guavas.

schnauzie: tats good.. at least ur boss is very understanding. like this u can be more fangxin and go ahead for ur appt. no worries, hang in on and will be fine. remem ask for v scan for more detailed result ok? takecare and await ur good news

Jgal,

Nope. Can't go anywhere. Hubby dun allow, parents dun allow and PILs also dun allow. sigh. So I am stranded in Singapore. Actually we had the intention to go to Bangkok for a short holiday to celebrate our first anniversary in December but gotta scrape that plan for now. Can only celebrate in Singapore.

You planning to go somewhere?

No mood to work today leh....looking forward to knocking off time. haha...

thinking of hk or taiwan .. somewhere near and familiar.. i have friends/relatives there

shld try to go somewhere easy lor..like bintan if parents dun allow you to fly.. this probably the last time alone with our hubby liao...

yup
after last day of 12 wk .. its consider safe in general. ;)

cutiebb.. how's your cryst? still growing or stopped. Really need to cut out in the 2nd tri? what is the risk like.

sputnik: I had small blood clot around the sac when I went for v/s scan at 7 weeks. Dr Cheng put me on Duphaston for 2 weeks. Just went for my 2nd appointment, and the blood clot is gone. So don't worry.

schnauzie: I hope everything will be well for u. for me, I also see the sac only at 5 weeks plus. Mine cycle is long, 35-43 days, maybe urs also long cycle? have to minus 1 or 2 weeks from normal counting. Think positive and things will go positive

Jgal: my edd is 16 April. gynae is Dr lawrence Ang. Hospital is TMC. Child number 2. Res: yishun.
Thanks for updating

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> GYNAE</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD><TD>CHILD #</TD><TD> Res </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Dr Lim T.B.</TD><TD> Mount A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tratties</TD><TD>8th</TD><TD>Dr Sng </TD><TD>GlenE </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kea </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Chong</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alexia</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp *</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>KL/Tiong Bahru </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail </TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Leong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sock Ling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chew Yuan </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini05 </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL77 </TD><TD>12th</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan</TD><TD> GlenE </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Old Airport Rd</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pucca </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutiebb * </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Dr Sito </TD><TD> Glene H. </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bun </TD><TD></TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloudluv </TD><TD>8th </TD><TD>Dr WK Kee </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> Jurong W. </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheesycake 82</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> CH Koh </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>schnauzie* </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherin </TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom </TD><TD>7th</TD><TD>Drh k ho</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dolphin </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sputnik </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>AMK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>SK / Pasir Ris</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celine </TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD> Yishun</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD>Redhill</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Doobie Doo </TD><TD>14th</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Christine</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>honeybunn</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Wee</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>calamari</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lee </TD><TD>9th</TD><TD> Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>eSthericiious </TD><TD>21th</TD><TD> Dr. Devandra </TD><TD> sgh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>burpy_babe </TD><TD>16th</TD><TD>Dr Benjamin Tham </TD><TD>KKH </TD><TD>1</TD><TD>SK</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>scubababe</TD><TD>15th</TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Pasir Ris </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>tsukushi </TD><TD>15th</TD><TD></TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>XiaoZhu </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Tiong Bahru</td></tr></table>

jgal, it has been the same size. yup the op is cfmed...tts next mth...scared but no choice coz if too heavy my uterius may collapse
so just got to leave w faith to protect my fetus
we wanna save both but if no more mummy next time cannot try again

Calamari thanks so much for replying! I could not find much info on blood clots in the womb in the internet, so was a bit worried. Did you have any spotting reaulting from this? Need bed rest? Seeing gynae in 2 weeks time, hope everything will be ok.

I just came back from gynae. Now baby is at 24.8 mm and heartbeat is at 177 bpm! Heartbeat sounded like a train hehehe. And I could see his/her hands already
So exciting!

Calamari, i understand the excitement in u...same here i was brimming w smile when i heard my fetus...how many weeks is ur fetus? mine is 34mm.

sputnik: Yes, had slight dark brown spotting and that's when gynae checked and saw some dark dark spots around the sac which is actually blood clots. He told me there is nothing to be alarmed of. The moment I started taking Duphaston, the spotting stopped. And today he did not see any blood clots anymore. He did not prescribed me bed rest when he found out I am doing office work, just told my husband to send me to and from work and not carry heavy things. Avoid intercourse and walking too long. Hope that helps! Don't worry, the blood clot should clear.

Btw, are you see Dr Cheng as well?

yesterday.. i hear from one of my auntie on the reason why cannot eat mutton during preggy.. they say.. eat mutton may cause fit to the bb.. not sure if it is true..

anway.. i dun think sotong is bad lah .. just eat abit once in while shld be okay.

avoid long walks? I just completed my 5km walk from the shape run last sunday... felt so shiok.. but stomach felt cramped in the evening.

Calamari I not seeing LC Cheng anymore, decided to change to Adrian Tan. Feel much better now after you replied, was quite worried for a while even tho my doc said 9 out of 10 cases will be ok. I dont have any spotting so far (at least I don't think so cos sometimes a bit hard to tell cos my dischange is yellowish)

Btw, just now gynae said towards the end of the 1st trimester, it is a good sign if you see more whitish discharge.

And I did ask whether I can exercise or not. He looked reluctant and said "No, except slow swimming, otherwise its better to wait till 2nd trimester".

Jgal,

U mean cannot eat mutton, what abt the malays and indians eat keke? I ate mutton satay and thgt yummy.

Xiang,

I give it to u to complete 5km, u must be an active person to begin with

sputnik, did u tell ur gynea abt your yellowish discharge? i had it over the weekend was frighten by it, but gynea say just try to maintain it clean.