(2008/04) April 2008

do u all knw how much weight we shld gain during 1st trim, 2nd trim and 3rd trim? or it depends on individual? ...

Hi Kea & Calamari,

getting my gp to recommend gynaes, he should be recommending gynae from nuh since his wife gave birth to his kids there & it's near my hse. hehe.

any comments on nuh? am considering mt. a as well.

jellyfield

myself, i prefer private hospital coz heard not v gd attitude fr govn. hospital..i prefer TMC though..coz is specialise on preggie women....

kea.. good and bad abt private hospital.. tmc dun have facilities if bb has complication. kkh and sgh is the most well-equiped hospital ard.
Follow the doc.. not the hospital.. it's only 1-2 stay only. impt is to get a good gynea to attend to you for the next 8 mths.

Jellyfield.. i heard there is this prof mary *smthg* .. suppose to be very good.. So good that she turn away patients when her hands are full..

Jgal

oso coz i heard fr two, one is my fren, the other is my aunty...both in govn hospital...the nurse n doc scold them when they shouted too loud ..so i tink 1st mtb will to frighten to death ...but is up to individual though..

kea

triple test is just take blood test. so as usual draw blood from our hand loh...

oscar test is scan plus blood test, (i have done this) bcos my scan fail... so have to do blood test...

actually for ur age, u dun need to do... or maybe just do NT scan, but it is not very accurate...

yeah .. my cousin also warn me not to go kkh.. which i wont be lor .. cos' inconvenience.. now i only take 10min travelling time to see my gynea. 1 mrt stop away.. i assume i save all the taxi fare if i visit dr elsewhere.. ha haha :p

Cheryl

oh....v chim leh......tink will ask doc explain to me more when i c him in a mth time...so longggg.........thx =)

but if u have no family history for down syndrown, plus if u r still very young (if i not wrong, u r younger den me rite? 1983? or 1984?)

if i had knw, i wont wan to do the test.. haha. hb was complaining say, do the test n make us so worry when is result is not very accurate.

Cheryl

i tot the test is a must de? will gynae let us chose to do or don do?? anyway wad does the test test for?? only for dw syndrome??

me is 1985 de..keke....

kea
the test is only optional. not a must.... of cos ur gynae cant force u to do lah... my gynae nvr say it a must, just ask if i wan to take this test anot....

unless u r over 30 den advise u to do.

jgal & kea,

yeah.. heard dat govt hosp may not haf good svc. datz y having doubts abt it. but govt institutions is equipped for complications. *touchwood!!*

oooOOooo.. the prof mary xxx is really popular.. prob wld get my gp wife's gynae. hehe...

Hello Mummies-to-be

Sorry for intruding.

Just want to share with you, if you are looking for any good Confinement Lady, I can recommend mine to you.

This aunty (Mdm Low) is from Kuantan, Malaysia and she charge me $1800.

She cooks very well and look after me and my baby gal very well too.

Kindly pm me and I will forward her details to you as I dont always log into this thread.

Best regards

all of u so young! how envious!

i'm 32 this year and i really regret not trying for a kid earlier...i'm married for 7 years already :p

Hi Calamari, thanks for your advise on the spotting. Did you go and see your gynae abt it? Hehe, me the same age as you, hv been married for 5 years. Was actually not planning to have children, but changed my mind last year so started trying this year.

ladies - went to see gynae yesterdae supporsed to be 6.5 wks but only can see water bag n yolk sac..no heartbeat ;(

gynae says it could be becoz my cycle is irregular so counted the ovulation late so bb could be younger than 6.5wks

anyone who din see a heartbeat at 5 to 6 weeks? feelin v worried..hubby cant sleep last night..we r goin for another scan in a wk..if we still don see anything then maybe we have to hope for the worse ;_(

morning schnazie, dun be 2 worried, it is true tt smtimes bb could be younger coz of irregular cycle. When i 1st saw bb's heart beat in week 6, the size of my bb is smaller than the norm.Gynea also gave me the same reason as urs. Cheer up, it shd be fine in a wk time.

Hi Schnauzie,

I have the same scenario as you. However, my cycle is very accurate. So i'm not sure what went wrong.

I was sick for more than a week (2 weeks ago). Not sure if this affects the growth of the baby. Can anyone advise?

Hi Schnauzie,

Not to worry. I can only see a sac during my 5 weeks plus scan. But at 7 weeks, I can see and hear the heartbeat. My cycle is 35-43 days. So my doc count as 1 week later than normal. other pple now 9 weeks, but i only coming 8 weeks.

One more week you should be able to see the heartbeat.

Just to share, yesterday evening went to see Dr Adrian. Now 9.5 weeks already. EDD moved earlier to 04/04/08. Can see bb's development. THe previous round at 7 weeks can only see a round bump with the heartbeat, yesterday, could see the legs and the backbone. So exciting. Cant wait to go back to see him soon!!! bb is now 27mm.

But the thing is that, i've not gained any weight at all frm before pregnancy until now. I read a book that says first trimester shld gain 1 to 2kg and after that 1 to 2 kg for every month in the second trimester. Counting down to the end of first trimester. Anyone also no weight gain?

mi is underweight all alone..then aft preggie, i gain 2.7kg till now...am in 8wks now....is this normal? doc keep asking me to eat more ,eat more..

Than ystrdae i v guilty, actualli wan go eat sushi then raining ended up eat maggie prorigde at hm......then today lunch me gg eat sushi...can we eat the crab meat sushi? tuna sushi?.......haiz...so scare bb not enoguh vits....didnt reali eat fruits oso..ystrdae ate 4 strawberries nia...

sherin

how come nvr gain weight? Didn't really eat alot? At week 9.5, is ur tummy obvious already? Mine will be 9.5 this weekend when i c gynea and tummy is quite obvious now.

Sherin: i gained 2kg... into my 10wks today. u might want to ask ur gynae? i can see my bb head and body too. so cute and amazing right? my bb ard 3.02cm... when is ur next appt? mine in 3wks time. got to do bloodtest for down syndrome when next visit with him.

hmmm

cutiebb n sherin

y u all c gynae at 9.5wks de?? coz my gynae say must c at 8wk, 12wk ....like 1mth interval in the beginning to predict the acturate EDD.....me have to wait till end of Sep to c him.......so lonngggggg

Sherin.. it really depends on individual. Not neccessary to gain alot of weight during the first trimester.. some ppl vomit until lose weight also have...your gynea will make ensure that the bb is grow well thru the scan.. So no need to give yourself scares. In the 2nd tri, you muz make sure you providing enuff nutrients for the bb lor.

Kea... it's okay to eat tuna and crab meat occasionally. Tuna is recomm. that no more than 1 serving per wk because of possiblity of mercury contamination.
.. and under-weight gals suppose to gain more..i not sure how under-weight you are.. but since your gynea advise you to eat more.. then you shld lor..

kea

my gynea read fm the Vscan machine...last i saw him was 6.5weeks so i just add 3 to get 9.5wks when i c him again soon

Anyone tried controlling bladder b4 and feel pain at tummy? I was lazy to get up fm bed for a couple of hrs to release bladder and not long later i feel slight pain in tummy

cutiebb, shld not control urine especially during pregnancy as we are more prone to urine infection.. i'm told never to control anymore even in the middle of the nite urgent will also get up to go toilet..

cutiebb.. yesterday was talki to my in-law.. she was telling me.. our bb will be very smart!
hee hee .. cos' ppl believe that bb that is "conceived" during the wedding night..is very "fated"

another one of my cousin also had a "lin men xi" baby.. the bb is very smart and cute

Kea: yesterday gynae gave me the hormones pills called U something. 2 to be taken at nite only. can take either orally/ insert into V. i dont dare to insert... u leh?

Cutiebb, yes, quite obvious, every single old pants, jeans and skirt all cannot wear already. today, 9 weeks 4 days. I eat lesser than what i used to eat le. Always feel like super hungry, then the moment the food is here, only eat little bit then super full already, the tummy area super tight, can feel the stretch.

I need to wake up and pee twice in a night! Cant believe it. I feel that my bladder is so full and heavy until i have to literally lift my stomach area and walk to the toilet

chessycake, he just mentioned that there is no need for concern le, so long as no spotting, no pain, means bb is growing well.

Kea, I first visited my gynae at 7.5 weeks so he gave appt at 2 weeks interval. That's why saw him at 9.5 weeks. And my next appt with him is two weeks later, that would be close to the end of the first trimester! cant wait! I think different gynae different methods. For mine, i think he wants to make sure that the first trimester is smooth and safe so that explains the shorter interval prob because first trimester is usually more critical?? I think EDD may still change now, everytime when u go and scan, and will only have a confirm date in the later period. Actually EDD as it says, it's an Estimated delivery date, how accurate how an estimate be?

jgal

thank..but i eat more hor, don seem to eat healthy coz i don stay with parents and they don cook oso..eat outside food de....

do u all still drink those chinese herb soup selling at hawker one? like eg. Black chicken soup..me miss it leh..but gynae say don tk chinese herb for 1st 3mths ...u all leh??

Cutiebb

me too will feel crampy tummy when bladder is full..pls try to go toilet asap when u wan to pee to prevent infection , ya....

Cheesycake

me taking that one now..but twice aday...i didnt insert, i take it orally coz morning no time to insert mah...if insert, must insert all the way for both times...i taking it till end of my 3mths..u leh? coz i read the leaflet, like will have side effect, i v scare leh....

okie cheesycake and tratties, won't do tt again keke but u noe the bed was so cosy I tot of just laze around longer....point noted keke

Jgal, wat is "lin men xi" baby? Mine not conceived on wedding night, keke on wedding night too tired to ML...mine is a honeymoon baby. Conceived 1 day after wedding coz I flew off the very day after wedding
But I hope baby is still fated to stay by w us

kea

drink it after 1st trimester.... i avoid this durng 1st trimester. nw 2nd tri, my mil has been making soup give me drink since week 14...

cheryl

coz i miss the People's park herbal soup so much..use to eat it like twice a wk.....=(......cant tahan liao........haha....