(2008/04) April 2008

calamari : what is the type of vit A ? ( hopefully, not beta-carotene or retinol )

Also, dun think too much abt it liao.. since it done... just wait and see what happen lor.. I also quite upset abt the 2 GNC multi-vit i pop before i see my gynea.. I will never trust those salesgal anymore.. they dun know enuff to give advise. *sigh*

I think alot things are fated lor.. since it's done.. then let it be lor..

Tratties

thx...i have email my gynae on the triple test...he told me oscar test on 12wks, triple test on 16wks..only do one of it..majority of his patients chose the triple test...maybe i knw wad is oscar test? n triple test pain anot???? =/...

mine LMP is 5july....CD 30days..(v accurate oso)...keke.....maybe the length of cycle diff...u exp. MS? me having MS now..haiz...

hi all, i am 7 weeks pregnant now..

will be going to see the gynea in the afternoon.
so excited now

Jgal

thx for the info on the fish oil..went guardian n c liao , is 34plus.....is 500mg one rite?? 30capsules per bot?

calamari: my gyane also nv gives me multiv. only folic acid for now. how many weeks now? me 9wks 5days. better dont anyhow buy supplements from outside. before consuming double check with gynae. gynae supplements might be more ex than outside, but i feel more secure to buy from gyane. dont worry now, since u nv exceed the dosage. i believe ur baby fine de.

Cheesycake: yes... that's why i told everyone dun take too much prunes. Cos' it high in vit a also.. the reason for some fish oil to be unsuitable is also be of the retinol content. I also dun dare to eat too much fruits suddenly.

Jgal

huh, cant eat prunes?? but i constip, my gynae ask me eat or drink prune juice leh.....=/...

The fish oil cant tk with Calcium? then how to eat both aH? interval hrs?

Calamari

don worry, i believe u n bb will be ok...u didnt intake for long period of time rite..don worry ok.....

kea.. can eat.. just not too much ..

Gynea told me to eat fish oil + multi-vit in the morning..

BEfore bed, calicum lor

Jgal: wat kind of fruits u dont dare to take? papaya? i just took two slices of papaya, becoz i consipation last week. oic, my gyane haven give my any vit yet. i also dont dare to buy from outside, some SA nv give proper instruction. for folic acid i guess ok to buy from pharmacy right?

cheesy: i eat most fruit.. prunes include. Melons, watermelon, honeydew, i avoid only because they are cooling. Del monte banana is cooling also avoid...But i eat 2 pcs last wk cos' my stupid hubby bought 1 big brunch..
I eat if i got no choice lor.. in my case, me not bleeding etc.. so as long as not excessive.. shld be able to tahan lor

Just dun finish the whole pkt of prunes in 1 day.. it shld not be too harmful lor

Jgal
huh? cannot take all pills together? i'm taking all at 1 go - folic acid + fish oil + calcium + iron

Kea
yup.. still having ms but only at nite and i literally throw up.. until now hb very used to it..

Jgal: o dear din know honeydew is liang one. i took few times... now i shall stick to apples, grapes, strawberries, dragon fruit and kiwi. izzit ok
?

cheesy
.... if you have no spotting.. i dun think you shld be too paranoid lor... we need our dosage of fruit.. Me not a fruit person.. and normally fruits are eat cold.. i not so keen lor. Also.. hee hee.. i have asthma.. so have to be very careful with fruit for my case, CANNOT have asthma now cos' asthma medicine is harmful to fetus.

Tratties.. fish oil and calcium can mix.. but absorption not be so good lor.. so for best effect.. eat separately
dun worry..

Jgal: erm for spotting no... only at my 5wks i got brown discharge maybe due to too much walking.
u mean as long no spotting after taking liang food its ok ya? guess have to be more careful for food intake.
lots of food have to think twice and avoid before eating.

btw, been having sinful food recently. ate french fries and kway chap. but i avoid eating the intestine for kway chap... erm having hokkien mee lunchtime... cant tahan anymore, just tat i ask the auntie to take out prawns loh. like tat okie right? haha hokkien fried prawn mee without prawn. only fishcake and pork.. keke!

Jgal: yes, i stayed in the new blocks from 1st batch of balloting exercise.

schnauzie: Thanks. Felt better now. GP mentioned that this will not be my first time. Think the 20% can be used at the 1st purchase. U can ask ur friend to accompany u to the Perfect Mum for purchases. I have not received the permanent card yet.

BTW, cannot eat Kuey Chap meh? I love to eat Kuey Chap. Esp big intestines...

tratties, i am also in week 9 still having MS 2.... R u eating so much pills coz of MS? Is it tt once we hit 9weeks or more, gynea will prescride those pill?

Do u mummies have problem consuming at least 1L water aday? I can barely finish 1L a day now tt I'm preg. I used to love plain water and can finish many litres. For fruits, no problem I love them now and also before

cheesycake

if u sian of wad fruits to eat, maybe can try to drink fruit juice instead..me oso..didnt eat fruits at all......

cutiebb, nope.. gynae gave me fish oil, calcium & iron tablets just recently over my last visit as i told him that i'm badly constipated so took away those pink capsules and substitute with 2 different pills - calcium & iron separately.. fish oil he gave me the lower dosage one now as he said its good to start early.. when i go into 2nd trimester then will go onto the higher dosage fish oil.. as for folic acid, its the norm..

Cheesy : actually avoid liang food is to avoid loosing the bb. Not so much as defects etc meh.. So just avoid the super liang like coconut and eating everyday even when spotting can liao lor
Most doctor will tell you everything also can eat.. Only some of us KS meh

Prawn and seafood are to be avoided because of it's "poison" and high chl. meh. So as long as not too much can liao..I think we mux be very clear why we are avoid certain food before we act like crazy mothers.. :p

cutiebb: i used to be able to consume more than 2l of plain water in the office. but nowadays, I can only consumed 1.5l.

Jgal: oic... keke... then i shld better avoid prawns i also scare my bb will have itchy skin if i eat too much seafood. luckily so far now, i nv crave for seafood. before preggie i nv like seafood also, my DH also not a fan of seafood. now he dont allow me to eat. i abit KS too, scare this and tat. having cramps now is normal ya? i have on and off cramps yesterday

calamari: u can fangxin liao...

cutiebb.. no, food preference is something mental, it cause by homo change.. bb still dun "taste" any of the food yet.... they dun even have taste buds and sense of smell which is greatly related to taste!

okie jgal...keke coz really worry me if bb dun love water....plain water is gd but I just can't take too much now.

BTW wat's the cause of water retension?

calamari, dont think there is any truth in there as my SIL is now coming to 8 months pregnant and she is carrying a boy but so far no morning sickness at all..

Melons not all are cooling fyi.

Coconut only take them at ur last month. It helps to clear the blood in ur body.

Pls remember IRON + CALCIUM cannot be taken together but folic acid and fish oil not a problem.

Chessycake
i take alot fastfood and junk food also. =D Tibits, chocolate just eat whatever i feel like.
Maybe cause 2nd pregnancy, i any rubbish also siap already hehe

Adeline: erm i do take chocolate and chips once in awhile. esp salty food i love to eat now. i missing salty chips now... but must control cant eat alot too...

calamari: erm i also dont think its truth like for ex: got MS onot its a boy/girl. one of my colleague got MS thru out preggie its a boy. another one no symp at all gave birth to a boy. it depends on ur body... the best is no MS at all... keke~

wah had difficulty chasing all the msg .. kkekkeke

Thanks for all the feedbacks gals ... my breast today is feeling better liao .. not so sore / pain as last few days ...

Am eating mangoes and kiwis now ... Wonder if its alright to take it when preg?

I understand tat we have to avoid certain types of fish when preg ... any idea wat type ar?

I only know stingray, sharks' fins (shark's), mackeral (otah) .. is it alright to take cod fish, salmon, tuna etc?

Adeline .. alot of fastfood and junk food for anybody, preggy or non-preggy is no good.
Since there is little nutrients in the food and alot of calories...

All the useless calories will translate to unwanted weight. And non-saturated fats is bad for the heart.

adeline

me now first pregnancy, oso anyhow tk junk food..including fast food..keke...i believe eat watever u wan, u will be healthy...but in moderation la......if control this n that, u end up eating nthing much.

I think it is quite confusing what fish can or cannot take, cos have read different websites, some say this can, others say cannot, e.g. cod. Any idea what fish is used in those fish soup that we eat at hawker centers?

BTW, can someone describe how spotting is like and what colour I shld be looking out for? Hv been inspecting my panty liner everytime i go to the toilet, seems like a little brown to me, very faint, but when i wipe, there is nothing. My discharge is usually yellowish, so it may be due to the accumulated discharge causing the colour to look that way. Shld i be worried? I heard that spotting is very obvious.....pls help....

sputnik: i had spotting on my 5th and 6th week. My kind of spotting is only when i wiped, and its only at the first wipe...its brown in colour. Thankfully it has ceased.

cheesycake: anyway gynae just called me and told me that there is no need for alarm regarding my 5 days of accidental Vitamin A consumption. He said since its only 5 days, it is considered as low dosage although I have to stay away from the multivitamins first.

Thank God! hope baby is ok =)

calamari - tts a great news! can relax already ;p
actually i always drink prune jiice to help with my constipation leh..think i better ask gynae if its ok

Sputnik: dun be too worry abt the fishes.. tuna /cod/ salmon... as long as you are not large amt or eat regularly. I dun think it's a concern. Cos' it's because of contamination, only when the mercury accum is high , then it comes dangerous..

The fish soup fish is sheng yu. Not sure if it is safe or not.. but hor hawker centre only give a few slices .. i doubt it make a big diff. ha haha ...

i also eat alot of junks.. but i avoid to eat the same junk too often.. like i hate century egg porridge the other day. I dont think i will eat another bowl until next wk, even though i still can remember how nice it taste *yummy* ... i have mac breakfast for the past 2 mondays
carl's junior with my darling on Saturday.. *super sinful because of cheese etc*

schnauzie: yah, after this scare, i think i'd better be SUPER KIASU, everything also ask and don't presume and don't self-medicate! IMO, prune juice should be ok as long as not excessive. Yah, I also have constipation leh, wonder if its the hormone pills I am taking...that day i sat on the toilet bowl for 2 hours!!

Agree with Kea.. me too eat whatever i want but in moderation and only avoid things like mutton, food & fruits that are cooling and teas of all kinds..

would like to join in the conversation & to learn more from all MTBs!

have just discovered i've join all of u over the weekend. i'm now 7 weeks preg, but haf not visited gynae yet. wonder if it's abit too late to be still stewing on which gynae to choose?

jellyfield

is best to fix an appt with yr gynae now as u r approaching 2mths arady!!u will be delighted to hear n c yr bb heartbeat......=)...congrats!