(2008/04) April 2008

Sputnik : diff. doc has diff arrangement. Some doc have $550 pkg from the start of the preggy. Some like mine, pay per visit, pkg starts on the 16th wk after detail scan * confirm bb is to be kept*. Also some doc charge $80 per consulation, some charge $120 per consulation. Personally, i dun think it's good to go by price when you chose a gynea. You need to see if you are comfortable with the gynea. If you are concern abt spending too much, you can consider going to KK as a sub patient for earlier part of the preggy , then switch to pte later. I think this is good because, you will have a few gynea looking after you, cross-checking on each other.
I dun feel good abt $550 for the whole preggy, cos' it's to the doc adv. , that you miscarriage in-btw. And also they will be so busy with so many patients to look after.

Jgal Ill probably be sticking with LC Cheng as pretty comfortable with him and he is a nice and reassuring guy. Just curious to find out what is the market rate of the packages cos I have absolutely no idea. Anyway, someone from another thread told me that my gynaes package is $2200 (visits + delivery).

Sputnik
Mine is also pay per visit. $90 for the 1st time and now subsequently $60 to $70. He has 30 over years experience. Is those old old uncle but very detailed and i like him.

I have a meeting in KL/Genting from 6th Sept - 9Sept. So unwilling to attend but my boss already email and sign up for me without my knowledge. Sighz..
Moreover recently KL/genting alot bus accident. I am so worried.

this month's mag (the one with diana ser n baby) has a good article on the cost of delivery for each hospital.

sputnik have u asked abt l c cheng's package?

anyway what does package entail?

Schnauzie nope, hv not asked abt his package yet. Most likely will ask when I go see him next. Actually I already spent abt $2K+ with him already for the past few months.

BTW, Im not experiencing any tenderness in my breast, no swelling also. Is there anything wrong?

sputnik - 2k is alot..care to share why? oh and so far i am not experiencing much tenderness in my breast too..now gradually swelling though *blush*

Schnauzie and sputnik

U shd be able to feel the swell on ur 4th wk or so...I actually observed tt change then i was very sure i am preg and get tested

Schnauzie cos have been TTC since jan this year, by june still nothing, so went to see him. Have to go thru scans and blood test which are pretty costly. Turns out that my DH SA not that fantastic, and my prolactin slightly higher than normal, so I hv to take some medication and also requested to be on clomid to increase the chances. If I remember correctly, his consultation is $70, scan is $60, and if got blood test, will be abt $100.

Hmm Im 4 weeks already, still my usual small size hahalooking forward to being a bit more busty for once.

spunik

my gynae package starts on the 2nd appt at abt $500 till delivery then pay another $500. it includes all scans & supplements. for my gynae, touch wood, if miscarriage in between, the $$ will be refunded to u pro-rated. but again u cant choose gynae base on their package, the most impt is u hv to feel comfortable with him.

btw, anyone experience dark cloudy urine?

yesterday after finishing off 1/2 a duck for dinner **thanks to my hubby**, my urine turn cloudy.. so scary.

Hi Adeline, Sling & Schnauzie,

Thanks for the encouragement...

Had being doing some research thru the internet the past few days...

Hope tat the reason could be tat cos my cycle is normally 38 days instead of the normal 28 days.. therefore ovaluation shld be later than usual. As such when i key in the last menses date and my average cycle in the website.. it shows i am only 4 weeks preg instead of 5 weeks as wat the gynae had calculated tats y still not able to scan anything ...

Hope the website is accurate lor ...

But so far i keep feeling hungry and have to find something to eat every 3 hrs ... :p (wonder if its normal??) And also feeling very very tired every day .. like not enough sleep ...

Btw saw that most of u gals go for private gynae .. is it better?

Hi Jenny,

not to worry. my cycle is something like urs. 35 days average. past 2 months 43 days. now only 6 weeks. When to gyane when 5 weeks. But cannot see much. So going back next week when I'm 7 weeks. By then if nothing wrong, then can see/hear heart beat.

Hi Jenny,

Btw keep feeling hungry is normal. I also have to eat every 3 hours, if not i want to puke.
Also very tired, esp evening time. And when tired, felt like puking even more. Dun even dare to brush my teeth.

Hi cheesycake,

Not to worry about that. I have a friend who has no MS at all. Give birth to a baby boy........no problem at all. I think it depends on individual. Heard that if in family history got MS, then will have MS. Dunno true or not.

Same here...I've to eat every 3hrs or sometimes even 2hrs.

Being a blur sotong, I didn't know this till I kept puking so much tt I can't stand it and hubby analysed the situation for me....keke tts when i start bring lots of food along with me

<table border=1><tr><td>NICK</TD><TD> EDD</TD><TD> GYNAE</TD><TD> HOSPITAL </TD><TD>CHILD #</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Adeline</TD><TD> 2nd </TD><TD>Dr Lim T.B.</TD><TD> Mount A</TD><TD>2 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tratties</TD><TD> 8th</TD><TD>Dr Sng </TD><TD>GlenE </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Kea </TD><TD> </TD><TD>Dr Woo</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Alexia</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Simp *</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gail </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sock Ling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sling </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chew Yuan </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>Dr Fong </TD><TD>Mount A</TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Rain </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gemini05 </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ann </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Tan Hang Yang </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LL77 </TD><TD>12</TD><TD>Dr Fong</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD>Dr Gordon Tan</TD><TD> GlenE </TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pucca </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutiebb * </TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD>Dr Sito </TD><TD> Glene H. </TD><TD>1 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bun </TD><TD></TD><TD> Dr Esther Ng</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cloudluv </TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>cheesycake 82</TD><TD> 2nd</TD><TD> CH Koh </TD><TD>Mt A </TD><TD>1st </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>schnauzie* </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Chan</TD><TD>GlenE</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>sherin </TD><TD>6th</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom </TD><TD>5th</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dolphin </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sputnik </TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jenny </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Celine </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </td></tr></table>

dun worry abt me :p .. ha haha

i becoming a eating machine.. all my colleagues keeps looking at me .. ha ha :p i bought apples and peachs to eat in the office. They dun make you fat and help on consipation.

Hi Celine, Cutiebb & Jgal,

So glad to hear tat kekekeke... but very afraid to gain too much weight ... if not later after giving birth very difficult to lose the excess weight ar ...

BTW Jgal Thanks for updating the list

My Gynae is Dr Benjamin Tham from KKH

EDD have to wait for further confirmation .. (1st Time Preg)

Chessycake: I'm reaching 8 weeks this coming Monday and no signs yet. No MS, no nausea, no craving and prob just losing appetitte.
Previously i'm a seafood lover, now i just dont really feel like eating.But Dr Adrian says that is normal and some ppl would say that MS is genetic.

Anyone feeling extremely tired all the time? I feel like a pig. I can sleep 10 hours straight and yet feel super super sleepy. Sleep all the way frm home to office. Until now i dare not drive coz i feel sleepy all the time.

My tummy is starting to show. So i'm sure my colleages will start to notice and my mum specifically told me not to wear my old pants and jeans.

Today went paragon and bought a demin pants from 9mois, quite ex. $119. was telling my hubby that it's abt levi's price but it's not levi. But the good thing is that after delivery still can wear. Bought some tops frm esprit. Those high waist type and it's quite long so should be able to last quite long?

Spunik, my package with dr adrian starts frm first visit until delivery and it's $550. Including consultations, scans and vitamins. The nurse advised us to pay half first then the second half later into the pregnancy. I find it quite worth it coz the receipt actually shows that the consultation is $60, scan $50 and the multi-vit and folic acid costs $12.
My next appt with him is on the 3rd sept. Pretty excited to see my bb again.

I also feel like painting the room. But my hubby says no-no.

I am losing sleep and waking up very early in the morning. Isn't it weird?

Btw my edd is mid-april. Waiting to hear the heartbeat next week.

Hi tsukushi,

Hey, me seem to have the same problem as you. No problem falling asleep, usually go to bed around 12 midnight, but in the last 2 days, after i get up to go toilet in the middle of the night, i hv difficulty going back to sleep. Like today, i went to toilet abt 5am, can't sleep after that, that's why online now.

Sherin, which Dr Adrian you with? Is it Adrian Woodworth from TMC?

Oh yeah, almost forgot, can I check something with you gals? Does anyone know if :
- can take manuka honey when pregnant?
- when can start taking bird's nest?
- can take essence of chicken?

sherin , cutiebb - today i am beginning to feel nauseous..and i need to eat more freq so i don feel nauseous. so i bring more soda cracker to office etc..also ask hubby to buy me some hard candy to suck (remember no mint).

anyone can advise me on what fish i can eat? i crave eating fish alot..every meal if possible!
I am told that I cannot eat big fish like tuna, shark, seasnake, sheng yu. unagi can or not? also advise me to eat fish from the sea and not reared in farm (to prevent eating fish of high mecury content).

sputnik - so far i got take manuka honey. but will only take bird nest in 2nd tri..doc say if eat too much bird nest bb will become very big (not advisable). not sure abt essence of chicken,

Essence of chicken improve the quality and quantity of breask milk. Pls take them before and after birth.

Bird's nest prefably after 3 months. dun take bottle bird's nest as it might contain perservatives. Manuka honey in moderation.

schnauzie

I think we can't eat swordfish and try to avoid raw fish on sushi....tuna, unagi is okie....shdn't eat sheng yu coz its raw. So lucky of u to have curving for healthy food...

I've got no specific curving as for now. I seem to be avoiding fd esply during dinner time. I even can't stand the smell of food sometimes after I puke. Feel very terrible after all the puking
Hope all vomitting ends soon...

Jenny

Added u in friendster
U also just got married within less than a yr?

I am in health food industry. Anything regarding that you can ask me. hehehe..

Btw my msn is [email protected]! Can add me as well.

I have no problem sleeping. i can sleep at 8pm and wake at 7pm. But during weekends i cannot cause daughter back home. i am enjoying my meals and pregnancy now. Just bought Mac breakfast! I know it's not healthy kekekek..

After 2nd trimester, i will change my diet.

adeline

so envy u leh, can sleep. everyday mine is like your weekends, very sleep deprived! super tired these days .. btw how old is your gal? mine turning one next mth.

Sputnik, Yes, I'm with Dr adrian woodsworth frm TMC.

Schnauzie, I'm not sure about the fishes le. I ever read on the internet about certain foods to avoid. But i also ever read that Salmon and Tuna is good because they are v rich in omega 3.But as per Dr Adrian, can eat anything, including Sashimi. So perhaps you may want to double check wtih ur gynae?
Perhaps try not to take too much sweets. Pregnant ladies are v prone to diabetics and other problems which has never occur in our lives. Though i still take sweets to keep myself awake at work.

The only problem i have is that my mom and hubby refuse to let me take tea, lipton tea with just sugar. I used to take this every morning. So now really have to control with juices or yogurts. Quite miserable.

With regards to bird nest, read somewhere that it's not good for lungs development.

schnauzie

i also read fr some books tat its better to avoid eating those big fish due to mercury content. but i believe everything eat in moderation is ok.

celine: oic hoping MS wont find me...

Sherin: keke i dont really have special craving. but prefer salty and sour food more. thinkin cant eat my fav tuna subway sandwich i feel sad...

Sherin - i'm also coming to 8 weeks this coming monday. My tummy is also starting to show, was kind of miserable this morning when i put on my pants and they were all rather tight and uncomfortable, so ended up wearing a dress instead. and i've also recently ordered quite a few babydoll & empire dresses from forever21 as i dont really fancy maternity clothes.

Sputnik - its OK to take essence of chicken & bird's nest moderately in the 1st trimester according to my gynae, we shld also prepare our own body to be healthy and strong enough to carry our baby till delivery.. i'm taking it once a week basis.. but remember that dont take bird's nest straight out from the fridge, too cold not very good.

i've been craving for pasta & crab these past few days, till now havent got any of them yet coz too tired to travel downtown after work for them..

As for fishes, heard that cod fish is the best

Jamie
she is turning one is Oct

Ya lor i can sleep alot btu recently bz schedule go home quite late also.

Schnauzie
Avoid fish with high mecury. Cod fish is also one of them.

Sherin
I eat mentos hahaaa..
Drink tea, coffee, coke also. But moderately.
Bird's nest can be taken BUT not for the good of baby only for mommy. It is not proven that bird's nest is good or bad.

I am gonna take them after 3 mths and 2 weeks 1 time.

hi ladies, thanks for the inputs. now me just slapping on stretch mark cream and moisturiser religiously coz i don wanna get any ugly marks~!

Dear mummies

we have to apply stratch mark cream so fast? Any brand that is gd to recommend?

Cheesycake

I've been trying to avoid fastfood....but still can't resist coke, so I go for diet coke which has less sugar and try to drink just 1/2 a can on alternate days.

ladies - I have been avoiding fast food ever since i found tt im preggie. i dunno how long more i can endure! haha

yup..my frens all tell me must start on stretch mark cream ASAP. if wait for tummy to grow then apply abit too late *BETTER SAFE THAN SORRY*

cutiebb - currently i am tryin clarin's stretch mark cream (texture is good...absorbs well but got a coconut smell)..read some good reviews on avent's stretch mark cream so i may try it after clarins..

schnauzie: u very good leh... i ate 2 times ever since im preggie... cant resist... esp my cheese fries and zinger burger
keke

My gynae says I can eat anything, including sashimi as the health std here is quite high. Only things to avoid are caffeine drinks.

Feel nausea in the morning and very lousy at work. How do you girls cope with MS?