(2008/04) April 2008

Jules' Mum,

I had a smelly pillow when I was young :p
I still remember exactly what it looked like and it was so darn soft! I would finger and finger it constantly, guess it was my taggies equivalent back then!

JuniorRain,

Ethan sometimes struggles when I carry him. Exactly as you said; sleepy but frustrated.
For Ethan, it usually means that he wants to lie down in his crib. Coz the minute I put him down, he'll flip onto his tummy, close his eyes and sleep.

Jules' mum: I will wake him up during his evening nap, between 15-30 mins. He will cry abit but entertain him if he does. Cannot let him nap for too long, else he would not want to sleep by 10pm.

yup, they do not understand. That is why I have decided to rent a place until my flat is ready. I guess this is the best way out. Luckily I have supportive parents and sisters, who are always ready to open their doors for us.

Prawnie,

We try not to wake Ethan up when he naps, but sometimes we have no choice especially when he threatens to take a 2-3 hour at 6pm!
We will turn on the light and talk softly, nothing too loud or sudden as we don't want to jolt him awake. Gotta do it slowly as we believe that baby should rouse on his own.

Sorry to hear about your plight with your ILs, hubby must be in a tight spot. There is nothing like family, you know you can always count on them. I'm glad yours are there for you

Prawnie,
Read tat u successfully trained Xavier to sleep on his own...for the 1st few night when he cry, did yr hubby pacify him? My girl still wake up to latch for comfort at least 2 to 3 times every night, I hope can stop her fr latching for comfort too.

Latching for Comfort:
Will they be able to outgrown it themselves? Hope I can harden my heart to leave her to cry.

Baby Yoplait:
I have been to NTUC like AMK Hub but always unable to get Baby Yoplait, may I know where can i find it?

mummies who tried the cry-it-out method, can check if you did the same for afternoon naps?

i'm intending to start sleep training so i dun have to cuddle her to sleep. she actually could fall asleep on her own when she's abt 2 months old, and it lasted until she could flip very successfully. then she became harder to settle into sleep. now she's creeping but seems easier to get her to sleep, about 10mins of cuddles will do but i'm still hoping she can sleep entirely on her own like she used to.

i wan to try the cry-it-out method but dunno if my mum is game for it for her afternoon naps. can i do it just for the nights first or do i have to start the same approach for all her naps as well?

So far Adel sleep through the night most times, in fact, she's like never hungry, her last solid feed can be at 6pm and when she's asleep for the night she seldom takes milk, even though she only drinks milk while asleep. so worried keep offering her milk but even close to midnight (6 hours from her last meal) she also reject the ebm. so no choice let her sleep.

Just joined recently and starting to read the forums. Wondering if this thread is for mummies with babies born in April 08?

Jo

ladies, it's great to read about the babies' different sleeping habit. it encourages me and even makes me feel hopeful. hehe.

my ds cant sleep without me. even in his drowsy state when we are on the bed, and i refused to carry him, he will climb on my lap and rest his head on it to sleep! other times i have to carry and rock him. he's not tt heavy at 8.7kg but my back n leg are aching big times bcoz of him. sigh...

thanks Simp, goodbb..

RE: Sleeping
My ger is like automatic one...come to 9-10pm, she will cry abit and a little cranky telling us that she wanna sleep...
will give her the last feed and she will fall asleep on my lap when i feed her...

my ger is like lynn's ger(hope i didn't get the wrong bb) will only drink more when she going to fall asleep...

morning mummies

yeah, now that my dd refuses the bottle or EBM, i have resorted to adding her FM/ EBM to her cereals for added nutrition while i am at work..
and
juniorrain, my gal also like your boy, will only sleep after latching on unless she's really tired. i am like her sleeping pill..hehe..and she'll wake up in the middle of the nite to latch too.i just give in cos too tired and have no heart to let her cry it out..

btw calamari,
i have been sending my dd for trial classes at gymboree music and tumbletots.will be going for trial class at TLG on one of the sat..hope to see you then..

Diva,
Ethan so guai, Eshin nt like him. He will struggled until my hands is going 2 break, then sometimes me so frustrated I will smack him on his butt, haiz....... if I put him in the crib he will cry very loud. I think mayb i shld use the crying method oso. :p

Shah
yaya, same my boy oso wakes up at least once for comfort latch. Me oso give in cos dun wan 2 disturb my hubby's slp.

My sis just told me my ger fell from my bed @ my mom's house, her head landed on the floor...ouch...she cried a bit, tik my mom damn scared now. I ask her monitor her if any abnormalites call me immediately, now i cant really concentrate on work, sian.

Koori,
Aiyo, sayang kaylen... If needed do send her to the PD first. If you bought child accident policy it should be covered, can claim for the PD visit.

Koori, ya, do moniter coz her head hit the floor.
I guess if you go PD, they might just ask you to moniter first.
Poor Kaylen. *Hugz*

Koori,
Hugs to Kaylen. Oh dear, understand how u feel. Cos that time when my boy fell from high chair when i working oso same cannot concentrate. We oso brought him 2 see PD. If u really feel unsafe, u can do that. Mayb the PD will do x-ray for her. Yes, pd will ask u to monitor oso
Hope Kaylen is ok.

Thanks to all for the well wishes! My mom say kaylen got a red small bump on her forehead...she say so far she's behaving normal, we will cont to monitor....hopefully she be ok.

Princess: I started him on the first nap in the day. First time cried for an hour. We din attend to him, same applies for day and night. If you attend to him, he will cry harder.

Re:Comfort latch
It takes three days to wean off the bad habit for Xavier. first two nights, hubby patted him back to sleep. Third night, I ignored him. He made some noise and fell back to sleep.

Koori: Hugs to Kaylen. No worries, she will be fine

koori : sayang kaylen. hope e bump is not too painful.

princess : I started with night only. cos my maid doesn't follow my routine. since she could manage him I left it to her. but night time, he will look for me or my hubby cos he's familiar with our night time routine. for my son, slowly he got into e same sleeping pattern for day time after some time. so now my maid will feed him a milk then leave him on e mattress and he will sleep.

Koori,
Can understanding your feeling now. Last time when my boy fell from bed, we so worry that we brought him to see PD. Was told to monitor for vomit, fever, etc, for 1st 24hrs.

New actions:

In an animated moment yesterday, I smacked the side of my head coz I forgot something. Ethan was watching me and hubby thinks that he's copying my action coz he's been 'smacking' his head too.

And we just noticed that he pats his legs when watching Little Einsteins. There's a part during the show where they ask you to pat your legs. It's so entertaining coz it's amazing to see how quickly he's picking up new actions!
Assuming we're right about all this of course :p

Diva: Hahhahaha...thats what Kayla does as well. She will clap her hands when the boy says 'clap tap clap tap'. There's a part where Annie says 'AHHHHHHHH.....' her voice going higher and higher so that the plane will go higher and higher? Kayla will follow the 'AHHHH' back. Its so funny to watch.

Shah: Your bb is so smart! Know how to automatically put 2 fingers in her mouth and shove 2 fingers into your mouth, indicating that she wants to nurse. Thats interesting
For me,she'll just touch me & cry.

Junior Rain: My bb is also like yours. Need to latch on then only can sleep. Otherwise she really can tahan her eyes man!!Die die don't want to sleep.Will cry only.Bringing her out is really a diffiult task.. Don't have the heart to let her cry for so long leh..

Yesterday just brought my dd to my hubby's granny house.Once enter the house nia & with so many people around, dd cry non stop. Took me quite a while to calm her down. Once hubby's relatives started playing with her, she start crying again. This time scream even louder!!

Mummies, how to overcome this? I got another family gathering this coming sat. Worried that she'll cry & scream again.

deby,
heh..my family members have been calling it the sarah reflex..my sis said that it's her sign for wanting to "connect" with me..heh.

and like your baby, she doesn't like to sleep either. esp when outside, she'll never sleep when out unless she's really knocked out tired..want to look around and take in the sights..
at home,she'll roll and crawl, climb, stand and do the routine a few times before she'll do the sarah reflex and nurse to sleep.

and another thing,she doesn't want to sleep in her own cot!! has been sleeping between hubby and me for the past 2 mths! everytime we carry her back to the cot, she'll wake up and cry. so i give up, just let her sleep with us.

guess i am also a lazy mummy..that's why she's never sleep-trained..heh

Diva - Ethan so cute 'copy' ur actions, tik now they like to copy us, so we must be extra careful on our unglam actions hehee. My hb once tap my legs and my ger followed after him, but her tap is very soft, so nice like patting me like tat.

Koori, sayang bb Kaylen. Dana also has fallen from bed several times, I fear these frequent knocks will damage her brain
but hubby says they are hardy creatures and the skull will protect the brain so not to worry so much...

hi deby82
the way to overcome fear of strangers is to keep exposing bb to them! keep bringing her out, bear with her crying. while at the party, take frequent time-outs for her to be alone with u & calm down, then go back again to play with relatives. to warm up, u can perhaps limit a few people at a time to play with her first, n avoid those "in your face/loud noises" kind of playing. it took my boy about 3 big family gatherings for him to overcome this hahaha. last time he met them, he was quiet and calm, happy to be passed around. persistance (in my case, of the determined relatives :p) paid off.

deby,
my bb had stranger anxiety since 3 mths. it was tough cos she would cry whenever she goes to other people's house or when strangers go near her. she din even want my PILs whom she sees once a week.
the only way to do is for me to hold her, and let others know that she must be approached slowly i.e dun grab her and run away.she really hates that!

slowly, she'll warm up and will start smiling and be her usual self.
now after exposing her to so many people, i find that she's getting a bit too friendly..hehe

deby : I agree with joelle. u need to expose him as much as possible. for us, we allow almost everyone to carry him. even if he cry I won't take him back but will stand next to him to assure him tat everything's alright and I'm there. I just keep talking to him. julian warm up very fast with kids or when allowed crawl on e floor. so I try to let him play with kids 1st or let him roam about. julian doesn't like e feeling of being snatched away. I always tell people to clap and ask to carry. he will allow tat person to carry. if e person just snatch him away, he will cry. maybe u can tell relatives not to give her too much attention when she comes. it will scare her. I realised julian is norm cranky if he's tired or just wake up. so u might wanna avoid tat too.

diva, calamari: it's fun to watch e kids imitate us ya. julian just learnt how to raise up his hands. on monday, I was watching e dance show on channel u. when the dancers raise up their hand in their dance routine, my son raised his too. I cannot stop laughing. but my son refuse to clap hands unless I give him something to hold.

Calamari,
I'll try to get the Baby Yoplait fr those pl

Prawnie, Jules'Mum,
Thanks for the tips
Haa my dh sure heartpain to see her cry n cry but then if dun do it, she prob can wean off.

Koori,
My bb also fell twice fr bed within a wk, feel bad to make her fall. Dun worry too much just monitor her, hope she'll b fine.

Re: Play Gym
Was told by Gymboree tat it will be better to bring bb there when they know how to crawl. Mine still creeping, once she can crawl, i wanna bring her for trial class too!

prawnie

saw that you were looking for a place.... am not sure if this is still avaliable but this was where i use to stay.... bt purmei... rental is 1k per month (not sure if can get it cheaper) you can email or call me for the no. :p actually i no longer contact the uncle but can still pass you the no. for you to call them.

cloudme

heheh congrats! yaps think that you are the first actual April mummy that is having no.2.... enjoy the process and remember to rest alot more and not to tire yourself out with your gal.... heheh that way you can still enjoy her the next day!

Calamari and Koori,

I don't know how long Ethan has been picking up new actions for, it was really a fluke that hubby happened to see Ethan pat his legs just as Leo was patting his legs and saying 'pat pat pat pat'! Haha

Ethan 'talks' a lot more these days, all sorts of sounds are coming out of his mouth. I'll have to pay more attention and see if he tries to mimic the sounds that cartoon characters make on TV, like Kayla does hehe

Kaylen is a clever girl! Ethan sometimes pats my shoulder when I carry him and it's so cute coz he also pats very gently.. haha I really like it :p

Yah cannot do unglam things anymore, don't want him to pick up any gross actions haha.. Really have to do it in private now :p

hmmm,

am thinking to get some stuff from online stores in the states for my boy's 1st birthday but i got to order before the end of the month (my boy will be having the party on the 28th of feb). anyone wants to start?

I just booked this party organiser for Kayla's 1st birthday party. She does decor, provides mascot, balloons, party packs, bouncer etc etc. If u are planning an exaggerated party like me (hahahaha, just want to do one big party for Kayla for just this time, next one will be 12 yo), must book early hor. Cos most are booked till March liao, believe it or not!

Calamari,

May I ask which party organiser you engaged?
I plan to look for one as well. Might throw a big do coz my ILs are coming down for the big 1 :p

<font color="0077aa">wow so most mummies started planning fer bb first birthdae hehe my hubby kept saying im KS.. duhz..

my boy still wanna latch on before he goes to sleep.. if not he will get very cranky.. </font>

Hi calamari,

pls pm / email me the party organizer's no? ThkS!

Hi elijah's mummy,

I'm interested to join the bday supplies spree. I've been looking at birthdaydirect.com. If u r organising, pls email me. Thks!

I juz booked the chalet for my son's 1st bday n wondering how to make the party memorable. Any ideas to share???