(2008/04) April 2008

Prawnie: so nice of Xavier to sleep on his own. How u train him to go to sleep by himself? My boy till now still need us to carry him till he fall asleep... Do share share your technique

mumood,

My boy also sleep on his own. For him, he is used to the routine. At about 8pm, he will crawl and roll on the bed or cot to make himself tired then sleep. Sometimes he will watch tv with us then when he feel sleepy he will close his eyes or play with his blanket then sleep. He can fall asleep anywhere and in any noise condition.

We started doing that at 2 months. I will play a cd to calm him down then he will automatically sleep. For the 1st 2 weeks, I'll lie beside him. Now, he don't like to be carried to sleep. In fact, when he is tired, he wants either a flat surface or pram or carseat. Maybe you can try getting some calming or lullaby cd, letting him hold something.

Cloudme and Jules' Mum,

I haven't heard about the shoe superstition but my CL did say not to put baby in front of the mirror though, but we do that anyway. Ethan bathes in front of our large bathroom mirror and he likes looking and smiling at the 'other' baby :p

Sleep:
I agree with Jules' Mum. We let Ethan roll on our bed or his crib to tire him out too. He'll sleep pretty soon after that way.
We haven't played any calming CDs for him in quite awhile but some white noise can help.
Kids that are very used to sleeping with white noise will often knock out when on a plane, good training for future travels

Diva,

Ya. All the crawling really helps. Hehe. It's so difficult to get him to sleep now. So, the easiest way is to make him tired.

Months back, we have to play the cd every night so that he can get into the sleeping mode. Now, we can watch tv, talk, watever. he is ok. As long as he is sleepy he will just sleep.

Diva: Infact I used the cried it out method. First time, he cried for an hour before he could fall alseep by himself. second time onwards, guessed he got the message tt cry also no use, might as well I sleep. hee.. He will only wail for 3 mins then he will play and roll himself in the pen to sleep. The reason he cried was because he needs my presence. So I gotta be hard hearted a bit, ignore him.

Jules's mum: Xavier's last feed is at 8.30 pm, drinks about 220ml- 240ml. This is enough to last him till 8am since he is on 3 full solid meal a day. Initially, the trick is to make sure he takes a full feed before sleeping and ignore him when he wakes in the middle of the night.

Mumood: I used to carry and pat Xavier to sleep, I gradually stop carrying him and put him on the bed and pat as my back could not take the weight. Then gradually, I allow him to roll himself on my bed to sleep. Now putting him in the pen to sleep by himself is because I think co-sleep is unhealthy. My poor hubby sleeps on the floor for quite sometime already. We need our bed. hee.. hee

I used to play music for Xavier to sleep. It helps but things can be bad when I gotta wake in the middle of the night to search for the control just to play the music for him. I dispense off after my trainer told me tt music is kind of a sleep prop and we wouldn't want to keep waking to press the control. So best thing is don't give anything.

prawnie : I was worried he depend on music too. so we try to alternate. some nights noisy some nights quiet. it's easier for us to bring him out at night too. but it's true I had to on music in e middle of e night last time. haha. but now he's fine. pacifier is my best friend.

Prawnie,

It's great that you stuck with it and now it's paid off!
Kids should sleep in their own beds, it's a good habit to form early.
Hubby must be glad to have his bed back too :p

I used to carry Ethan to sleep and in a strange way, I actually wanted to. I love the feeling of closeness when I'm holding him and his head is on my shoulder, and he sometimes lifts his head to look at me as if to make sure it's still mommy that's carrying him :p

I do also put him in his crib and pat him to sleep, especially when my back and arms are aching and I cannot carry him anymore. Sometimes though, he's not tired enough yet so I'll bring him over to my bed and let him roll and play there till he sleeps. Then I'll move him back to his crib.
It's a pretty good arrangement for us coz I don't have to carry him or stand by his crib patting him, or hear him whine/fuss while trying to sleep.

I used to play instrumental gospel songs for Ethan, especially to set the calm mood for bedtime. It worked and we turn it off when he falls asleep, but eventually we stopped playing any music as it isn't necessary anymore.

Jules' mum: hahahha.. yeah.. so long as he is ok with the pacifier.. some knows tt it's to shut them up and wouldn't want to take !!

prawnie : julian last feed at 830 but his dinner is at 7 so he cannot drink much leh. he also take 3 meals now. I tried giving him 200ml but he still wake up at 4. maybe it's a habit. I'll try to feed him water. see if he will stop or not.

<font color="aa00aa">Morning everyone</font>

Wow.. only one day nv come in, so many posts and got good news somemore.. hehe

cloudme,
CONGRATULATIONS to you..

So excited, 2nd one coming liao, got plan to be preggy so soon?

just talk to hubby, he says plan for #2 only when my current one can sleep thru the nite.. haha..

prawnie,
so u train xavier sleeping thru the nite by ignoring his cries? haiz, quite diff for me cos when davien cries for long, he'll start to cough and choke possibly. so my #2 plan will never be realised.. hehe..

re: birds nest
thanks for all the infor, i guess i'll on hold first.

jules' mum, cloudme,
i'm hokkien too and both these myths i heard b4.. hehe.. but davien simply loves the mirror.. haha.. so far he is ok with strangers.. i hv not let him wear shoes yet, gonna to do that b4 all the shoes (6pair in total) are outgrown :p

<font color="ff0000">prawnie</font>
good job! finally u can hv your beauty sleep

bryan also sleep on his own &amp; thru the night. hubby &amp; i decided when we brought him back fr hospital that we not going to carry &amp; rock him to sleep coz gradually its going to kill our back! like my #1 did. so history not goin to repeat this time

<font color="0000ff">jules mum</font>
maybe u can bring forward julian's dinner to 6pm? then his last milk feed he will take more? dinner for bryan is at 6pm &amp; last milk feed of 210 or 240ml at 8.30pm. he will sleep thru till i wake him up at 6pm for milk &amp; then back to sleep again till 9am.

jamie : at 6pm he's not hungry yet leh. usually he's sleepy at 6. maybe I need to reschedule his feeding time. can you advise your feeding time?

Mirror,
My boy simply loves the mirror. Guess because the reflection is very responsive to his smiling, so he find it fun

Shoes,
As till now, he still learning to balance himself for his first step. So most likely will only get him one after he can walk

jules mum

i only give 2 solids to bryan now as i feel milk is still the main source of food. below is his feeding pattern

6am : milk
10am : porridge
11.45 - 12noon : nap
1.30 or 2pm : milk
3 or 3.30pm : teabreak/ snacks
4.30pm : nap
6pm : cereal
8.30pm : milk

will replace dinner cereal with porridge when he turns 1.

My boy is 8months and 2weeks old.
He dont sleep early and I find it extremely tiring as I cant get to sleep until 12plus every night.
The next day I need to wake up at 6am in the morning, preparing for work.. No matter how we try to cut short his afternoon nap time, it seems to be no use at all. Any advise?

Prawnie, me and hubby oso used the cry it out method. It works very well! Kayla now will sleep pretty easily and fast on her own. The first time we tried took her 45mins of crying before she finally slept out of exhaustion. Now its usually less then 5mins and she will sleep. However she still wakes up 1x to latch on in the nite. I am trying to stop that too. Guess I have to let her cry when she wakes up in the nite too.

Jamie,

I too feel that milk is the main source of food for now. And since Ethan is happy drinking milk, I give as much as possible.
I generally give more cereal than porridge, though I am trying to integrate more porridge into his diet now.

Re : sleeping

Kaylen sleeps on her own since her 2nd-3rdmth after her super crankiness @ 2nd mth. Now she likes to crawl around on the bed then she will asleep in one corner on her own hahahaa. But she wil be awake a while middle of nite then fall asleep again....she like to flip then make some noise , after we flip her back then she slept again so funny.

Prawnie - good that ur efforts paid off, great achievement!

Diva: yup. I pose him the qn asking if he is going to sleep on the playmat forever =p It's a choice

Maro: you might wanna try. But first time cries would be rather long, depending on individual babies and plus provided that you and hubby would want to use the cry it out method. Cough and choke it's pretty normal, the babies will get used to it. Just monitor can already.

Jules' mum: agree with Jamie, push your boy's dinner earlier. Last feed, make it purely milk only. This is Xavier's meals timing:

7.30am/ 8am: Fruit Cereal + ebm
10am: Nap
12/ 12.30 pm: porridge + ebm
2 pm: nap
4 / 4.30 pm: porridge + ebm
6pm: nap (15 mins)
8.30 / 9 pm: 220ml fm
9.30/ 10pm: Sleep till 7.30am

Hope this helps

Jaspire: yup, after I saw you that day saying that Kaylen sleeps on her own, motivates me even more to train Xav. The mid night latching part, hubby helped me by patting him back to sleep for two nights, after that he seems to have forgotten about the boobs. Following, I just ignore him when he wakes, surprisingly, there is no crying but he just make some noise and fall back to sleep.

Do not show her anymore.. hahaha.. Persists on if she wakes to find you to latch. It just takes three days to kick off.

Re : Mirror &amp; Shoes

My mom also told me abt bb cant wear shoes b4 they reach 1 yr old, but she say can wear soft cloth shoes, so long as no leather can liao, such weird logic. As for mirror, so far no one say anything, kaylen loves mirror most esp her sing along stage....she can play with it for long time cos she can see herself in the mirror, maybe she tot another bb looking @ her. keke.

wow after reading all the success stories on letting babies sleep on their own, I must try it on Byron. Its really getting quite bad that I feel its affecting hubby at work.

But the thing is, when Byron wakes up at nite for his feed say at 3am, he can finish 200ml of milk!!! So I also dunno if he is really hungry or not. His feeding pattern is similar to Xavier already.

Prawnie - i don have luxury to feed kaylen solids in the morning cos i be rushing out to work
So during wkends her timing is : -

8am - milk
10-11am - Cereals breakfast + milk
1-2pm - Porridge or cereal + milk
4pm - milk
5pm - Fruits puree
7pm - milk
9pm - milk

She seems to be drinking quite frequent hor cos her per intake is abt 120ml nia.

Koori: yup. Happy that my efforts paid off. But still Xavier is not going to be given a chance by his grandparents to learn to sleep on his own. Things are rather ugly now. Fil claimed that his cries is disturbing his sleep, even for that 3 mins or less noise.

If any mummies here get to know who is letting out a whole unit of 3 room flat for rent at a reasonable price pls let me know. Thanks .

Re: Mirror
In fact, I got Kayla mirror toys (same as koori's sing along stage and this cheap ikea mirror bug) so she can look at herself. My small living room has this huge mirror, so Kayla can't miss seeing herself hahaha. Some old people say babies will 'ham bin' (nightmare) if they keep looking at themselves in the mirror :p

Re: Sleeping
I guess I am one of the lucky ones. I will tuck Kayla into bed, off all the lights. She knows its bedtime when lights are off. She will wriggle here and there for about 10 mins and will auto fall asleep sniffing her smelly bolster. I am afraid she will be 'addicted' to her bolster and be too dependent on it to fall asleep though :p

koori: Kayla drinks 1 more time than your daughter, which makes my mom busier haha. She has 5 feeds of BM everyday (avg 150ml) next to her 3 solids.

Calamari: hee.. Lucky you !! make sure u bring her bolster when u bring her for holidays. Maybe you wanna try not giving her the bolster and see if got any adverse reaction.

Prawnie, Koori,

How much porridge and together how much milk you give per session?
Me worry porridge will be too filling, so i only give my boy 1/2 to 3/4 bowl of porridge without milk.
But his weight seems almost same when he 6th mths old. Hence, been wondering am i feeding him enough?

mumood - i din really measure how much porridge i give each time. I only know for my nestle cereals i give like 5 tablespoon per meal, make up to half a bowl.

Calamari: hahaha kayla's so cute !!

Mumood: Normally I give him 5-6 tablespoon (heap) plus 120 of ebm. Any area would do. I need to look at the rental first.

Cloudme
Congrats, u r the 1st apr mummy to be preggy w #2, yeah. I wish i could but shevon is too active n demanding for me. Think we would shelf it till she's older hahha. Meanwhile, u rest well, eat well n enjoy ok. So happy for u.

Sleeping thr the nite
I wish shevon is doing that. She is crying whenever she wants milk/wake up in the middle of nite. So stressful. Dunnoe if it is teething, comfort, mares or what.....only at times she will slp on her own w me patting her else got to rock, walk u name it. If she doesnt want to slp, n we make her slp, she will scream, cry till we get her hint n let her play till she is tired then slp hahahah.

Simp,

Me fully understand. My boy doing exactly the same stuff but your case better than mine. Till now, he had not sleep on his own yet...

Any mummies here still nursing bb to sleep? How do u break this habit?

I've to nurse my bb gal everytime so that she can get to sleep. Any advices??

Btw,i'm on TBF &amp; bb seems to be 'addicted' to me.Whenever i fetch her home from work,she always cry out loud wanting to ask for milk.I believe she just wants to suck.Thats all...

In the middle of the nite,she wakes up quite often searching for the nipple..Any mummies experiencing the same thing?Pls help!

I am new to this thread..
my dd sarah is now 8 1/2 mths old and she's on TBF still.
Reading through your threads, i can totally identify with what some of you are facing.

deby, my bb is also addicted to me too i tink..hehe.. everytime i come home from work, she'll automatically put 2 fingers in her mouth and shove 2 fingers into my mouth, indicating that she wants to nurse.
and she still wakes up abt twice at night and will not sleep again till i nurse her..
and worse still, she refuses to drink milk from the bottle. so while i am at work, my mum aka her caregiver will have to keep her full with cereals and porridge.

i intend to breastfeed her for as long as i can and now that she refuses the bottle, i find no point in expressing. so i just let her latch on at night cos i find it troublesome plus waste time to express cos she won't drink it later..

shah n deby
my son oso addicted to me. once he sees me getting to nurse, he will chuckle loudly. haha so excited to see me. he also wakes up in the middle of the nite to nurse. but i guess it is juz for comfort. he doesnt really nurse for long time. juz a short while and then sleeps again. i guess sooner or later they will drop off this habit ba.

calamari
will get hubby to call for trial classes during the wkend. prefers wkend classes. got morning classes?

mumood
At least we r not alone, hahah got some comfort here.

shah &amp; deby
yes shevon is similar to ur bb too! She needs the comfort n assurance but can really kill my energy... She is now drinking 1 feed of fm in the mid afternoon. If ur bb r ok w that, maybe can five fm w porridge water to make them fuller. For me, since m not planning for an ox bb, wd bf her for nite n morning till she is older bah.

so envy those mummies that ur bbs can slp on their own. My boy will oni slp if I latch him, he dun even wan pacifier. Sometimes, I try 2 trick him, he knows he will throw the pacifier on the floor. Oni once awhile when he is super tired then he will slp on his own. Then sometimes even though he very tired oredi keep rubbing his eyes but still dun wan 2 slp, will struggled alot like very frustrated when I carried him. Any mummies experience same thing? Haiz really hope I can wean off him soon.

jamie and prawnie : thank you so much for sharing your schedule. jules' very similar to xavier's one. maybe I should give him solid instead of milk at 4pm. see if he can sleep through or not. do you wake him up 15 min later after his 6pm sleep? he sleeps for about 30 min. if I dun wake him up, he can sleep till 2am. haha. cos then he was 2 months I made him sleep at 630 and wake up at 8am. now I delayed to 8. read tat your in laws are not supportive. kinda sad. they dun understand wat we are doing this for e benefit of e kids. my in laws are like tat too. suan me say military training. but I dun stay with them la.

koori : julian's e same as kayla. his 2nd month was terrible plus confinement nanny left and my parents and in law didn't wanna help. tat's why I hao no choice but to practice control crying. he also find a corner and sleep. wonder if all babies does tat. it's very cute. my hubby say really like rat. haha.

calamari: I used to have a smelly bolster when I was young. haha.

hahahaah think the baby girls' name mentioned today quite confusing...let me just do a clarification heheheeh:

Koori's gal = Kaylen
Calamari's gal = Kayla
Jaspire's gal = Kayla