(2008/04) April 2008

maro,
same here, yesterday tried cleaning/sucking out my ger's mucus and she cried the hell out...until my mil think i ill-treat her...haiz...

i also stopped her from taking solid but i still let her take the rice water from the porridge... at least rice water got some taste(to increase her fluid intake)...

i resume waking up at midnight to feed my ger, at least to get her fluid up...

lynn,
the doc at KK said best to give her over 500ml of fluid...to ensure she did not get dehydrate...

lynn...
i personally prefer the Fisher-Price Laugh and Learn Learning Table ...as i have one at home. the music and the lights are very attractive that my boy will be so excited playing with it...

I personally prefer the FP Baby Grand Piano . Doubles up as an activity table (same height). Have heard from Prawnie and Summer's Mama that the legs of the FP activity tables quite wobbly, not steady enough. The activity table flipped on both their babies.

Aquaducks has confirmed the 5 names of the 2.30pm trial.

For those who join the trial, Aquaducks will send an email to you on details soon.

As the bathroom is a standing shower, bathing your baby will be a challenge. Hee Hee.

cloudme,
how do u suck out the mucus?
for me, we try to give warm water whenever possible.. rice water, maybe can try hor.. my mum says that is v nutritious, ever ask my mil but she is not giving lor.. hiaz!

rainy,
thanks for arranging the aquaducks trial.

julian's runny nose didn't improve after 5 days of medication. tat's why e doc suggested neubilizer. we found a way of giving medication. instead of lying him down, we let him sit or stand upright and slowly get e medicine in. we realised he's ok with e taste but he's worried when we carry him. think he worried we will give him nose drop or suck out e mucus.

do we stop giving solid when they r sick? this silly mummy still giving him porridge or potato.

maro,

u can either get e suck mucus thing from pigeon or get e motorized one from robinsons. pigeon one is where u put 1 end to baby nose and e other to ur mouth and u suck gently. i can't really use tat cos julian will pull e tubes and bite e round thing. I prefer e motorise one but e sound is abit loud. julian used to be ok with e motorized one till e last flu. we used it so often tat he hates it now.

phlegm

my gal also got lots of phlegm. lately gets better, becos i had been giving her pearl powder and bo yin dan. it seems to help.

maro,
i use mouth to suck out from her nose...but not much mucus loh...more mucus when she is crying...

Jule's mum:
well the rule is simple like adult when we are sick...we tend to go for something light or bland...same goes with bbs...

Try Hou Zou San (in cantonese) from Eu Yan Sang as well. But a bit ex. It works for my baby when she had running nose during her 1st month.

Maro,
I use the pump to suck out the mucus.
Pigeon Brand.

The shape is like a small 'light bulb". and you press and press and press the pump to suck the mucus.

it works really well.. can really sucks out mucus

jules' mum,
ic.. my boy starts with cough, running nose only recent day. yeah, agree, use the sit-up method to feed medication yday nite, he seems ok.

cloudme,
think my boy will be same as julian cos wil be difficult to insert the tube, haiz! he'll likely pull it out :p

think i may need to visit Eu Yan Sang to get the medication for phlegm, seems working for most bb..

Good morning mommies!

Lynn,

I've got the FP table and Ethan enjoys it very much. The tunes are very catchy and the lights very engaging, especially for playing when the lights are dimmed.
Ethan liked it so much that I contemplated getting the Leapfrog table as well, but decided against it as it's pretty much a repetition of the FP.
As for stability, Ethan doesn't use it to stand himself up so no flipping yet. But it's definitely possible as it's not the sturdiest, but keep an eye on Adel and don't leave her alone with it if you decide to get it.
What I also do is remove 2 legs and let him play with it on the mat/bed, or remove all the legs and let him play with it while seated in his high chair.
It's very versatile, we like it

calamari, the FP table is as low as the baby grand piano? Cos I'm planning to get the piano next when there's a sale (hoping to snag ir on sale at Robinsons or Isetan or whatever), cos my sis has that and Adel likes it very much. But she sits down and taps on the keys instead of standing up.

I'm looking for another table for her to stand and play with since she loves her Leapfrog playground so much..

Hi Maro,

Initially I do not know how to use it.. I just pump out once when i put into his nostril. and try another time and so on. Worried that I will pump air into his nostril.so it doesnt really works.

Actually it works this way,
1) Insert the tip into his nostril
2) Start to pump and pump and pump and pump very quickly

And you will really see alot of muces suck out of his nostrils.
This pump actually sucks in the air but will not pump out the air.

Re: Nasal Aspirator
The most effective way to use the nasal aspirator is with saline, as advised by my PD. You can get any saline solution from the pharmacy and its safe to use on babies. Just drip a drop into the nostril, and use the nasal aspirator to pump out the wet mucus (especially good to take out pee sai which are dried up).

Lynn: the FP grand piano is exactly the same height as any FP activity tables. But the legs are thicker and thus more stable.

Re: FP learning table

Yes it has flipped on my girl and the table sorta knocked on her face.

Lynn, i saw the grand piano on sale at OG for $89.90.

I want to get e FP supermarket trolley walker. Hope there will be a sale on that item soon.

Yvonne, I have the skool walk and ride toy. I think it's not too bad. Just that it might be a little slippery. With some help, my girl can hold on to the handle bar and walk a few steps but not when it starts moving real fast.
In other words, her legs cant move as fast as the wheels.
I've seen FP one also, similar i think. It's on sale now, $39.90

======Joellez barang barang list======

BN (brand new) and little-used items for sale, deal at this Saturday’s Xmas party
Items that have been used are in good, clean condition
Items are priced to partially cover cost only, pls give them a good home!
If interested, PM me!

Mustela dermo-cleansing gel for hair and body / 500ml / left 80% / $15
Mustela baby shampoo / BN / $9
Mustela hydra bebe moisturising and softening body lotion / BN / $16
Mustela hydra bebe facial cream moisturiser / left 80% / $7
Mustela enfant ultra high protection sun lotion SPF 50+ waterproof / BN / $21
Mustela dermo-pediatrics stelatopia milky bath oil / left 90% / $17
Mustela dermo-pediatrics stelatopia emollient cream body moisturiser / BN / $22
Mustela vitamin barrier cream 100gm exp 09-2009, 2 tubes to go / BN / $7 per tube
Desitin original 4oz exp 09-2010 / BN / $5
Desitin creamy 4oz exp 08-2009 / BN / $5
Pigeon diaper liner 100pc box / BNIB (comes with free 50pcs from another opened box) / $6
Iplay swim diaper 6-8kg small blue colorful fishies pattern / BN / $8
Munchkin auto seat protector / BN / $15
Kiddopotamus snuzzler head and body support / BN / $20
Mamalove 2 in 1 head support / BN / $8

Giveaways:
Drypers wee wee dry M size 6-11kg 4 pieces / BN in sample pack
Huggies little swimmers 3 pcs loose, small size 7-12kg
Pigeon wide neck bottle with peristaltic nipple 7oz, 2 bottles to give

Yvonne,

I've got a Disney Winnie the Pooh 4 in 1 ride-on from Toys R Us.

It's got the safety railing all around which I like very much.
And it can go from rocker to ride-on to push-along toy till baby can independently ride on his own.

calamari,
my colleague just told me exactly wat yr pd says, saline solution.. but my pd nv give leh.. does this need any prescription or can just get from pharmacy?

Maro,

When my PD mentioned using saline solution, he didn't offer me any either. So I can only assume that regular saline solution used for contact lenses will do fine.

Summer's mama

so i need to follow her around when she use the walker. is taka having it too?

Diva

Do you have any pic of Disney Winnie the Pooh 4 in 1 ride-on? wat is the price like? how cm 4 in 1? thought walk and ride only?

summer mama,
u wan pigeon nappy liners?i hv..i only used 1-2 only..now lying there no use..if u ok ..how to pass to u?

Mifi, Can u pass to me when u collect the cookie jar?

Joelle, eh, i think i can collect from you.
Are u in jurong area?

Winter, I have this same one. Also as a gift.

summer's mum,

I think I saw e FP supermarket trolley at toyrus forum. it was on sale. I think is 39. I wanted to get it but not sure if it's too light weight and slippers.

I saw 1 quite sturdy one at elc but it's 130. thinking of bringing my son there to try before buying. saw a vtech one at elc . it's 200+. but according to e sales person e elc is cheaper but better as e handle bar is lower.

diva,

can baby push e pooh walker? I saw tat. there's a similar one by leapfrog too. I tot tat's for adults to push baby.

Jules' Mum,

The handle bar is for parents to push baby. Baby just sits in it and enjoys

It's not a baby walker.
There's a Leapfrog ice cream truck that is exactly the same design.

diva

ah... ya. I like e leapfrog one. so nice. I love leapfrog stuff. Hehe. wanted to buy 1 for julian but thinking if I should wait till he's older.