(2008/04) April 2008

Think my bb is the lightest! My girl has just reached 7mths n her wt is only 6.4kg n her length is 64cm. Kinda concerned but PD said shd be alright cos she still looks chubby, was advised to just continue to feed her semi-solid n BM. Today she is able to finish her cereals and I'm quite glad, hopefully will be able to gain more wt.

Jules' Mum,

Hehe I usually devote myself to family time when hubby is back
But tonight I've got a few moments to log in cuz hubby is also doing some work.

I'm so glad to hear that you're alright and of course that Julian was safe at home. This thing about Julian not being himself when the accident occurred is really uncanny. They say the same thing about pets whose owners are involved in accidents, etc.
Where did the accident occur? I can understand the emotion when it hits you awhile later.
I was involved in an accident while overseas and the car didn't have airbags. Thankfully I was unharmed and I too bawled in hubby's arms later.

It's great to hear that Julian is drinking better! Finishing 180ml at once is such a big improvement!

If it's the probiotics that's making the difference, then I'm really excited cuz I just got probiotics for Ethan too. He's teething again and his intake has dropped yet again.

If I don't attempt to feed him, I doubt he'll call for milk. So today, we gave him 60ml + cereal + puree for lunch and dinner to ensure that he eats something. At least he quite enjoyed it. I just can't let him go without any food the whole day, even if he's fine with it.

Napping:
Ethan can take a 3 hour nap on a good day and only nap for 30 mins on a bad one. He's a real cat napper cuz he's energized after such a short nap and ready to drive mommy nuts again!
He only naps twice a day and his interval between naps is also 3-4 hours.
Like Julian, his nap is sometimes at 6pm. I'm always very scared when that happens cuz he wakes up at about 8-9pm and then he'll keep us awake till 12 or 1am! Haha.. it's so tiring to do this all day everyday..

Whereabouts in Bukit Timah do you live?

Diva,

No wonder I don't see u online. Usually you are so active in the forum.

I haven't drove for few days. Suppose to bring Julian out tomorrow. Don't know if I dare to drive him out or not...

Not sure if the probiotics works la. But it worked for my friends kids so i associate his cry for hunger with the probiotics now. Which probiotics you bought?

Ethan's not eating well lately? I remember he eats very well right. Initially I really dunno wat's he crying for. I actually gave him an empty bottle to see wat he does with it. He was sucking it so we know he is hungry. Now, we still do that if we are unsure or if the cry is too close to mealtime.

Julian's sleeping pattern is very cute. Since birth, he will feel sleepy once the sky is dark. He will sleep uninterupted from 8 to at least 3am, no matter how loud ur TV or talking is. He will take a feed and go back to sleep. Even if he wakes up at 12 or 2am, he will not play. He will just go back to sleep or I'll give him his pacifier and he will go back to sleep. I will not play with him if not he will try to wake up at the same time every night to play. If he does sleep at 6, I will wake him up la.

My sis had her wedding on sunday. I was so worried that he will not behave himself. To my surprise, he slept by 8. The big band was playing and singing right in front of him and the yum seng was so loud but it didn't bother him. He slept all the way.

I stay at the nexus. Near maplewood.

Please note that $22.55 for your Childlife Cod Liver Oil Strawberry

1. scubababe
2. goodbb
3. burpy_babe
4. jaspire
6. simp
7. ribenagr9s
8. Maddysmum
12. dino mum

Jules' Mum,

About driving, it may be best to wait till you're comfortable and confident with driving again. I fancy that being nervous on the road is not a good thing at all. Don't want anything to happen especially with Julian in the car.

I bought Childlife Colostrum and multivitamins, some supplements will be good for him since his intake has been like a roller coaster.

Yup, Ethan used to be a very hearty eater and he suddenly became disinterested for awhile. I guess babies have moods and sometimes eating isn't at the top of their list. Recently he started eating very well again but that declined yesterday, and hubby poked around in his mouth and found another lil sharp spike coming through. So we figure his appetite is down due to teething yet again.

Amazing that you can wake Julian up and he's ok with it? If Ethan is woken up before he's ready, he won't be in a very good mood as he's still sleepy. In the past, we tried to keep him awake till 8 or 9 so he'll sleep through the night and it used to work. But now, he'll be so cranky that it's become impossible so we just let him catnap.

We bathed him at 7.30pm tonight knowing that he was already quite sleepy by then. After changing him, we let roll around on our bed for a bit and he fell asleep. Seriously deep sleep cuz hubby and I were talking in loud voices, kinda oblivious that Ethan was sleeping and he didn't even stir!
But he woke up in an hour to have dinner and he's now trying to sleep again haha

Julian must have been very tired at your sister's wedding to sleep amidst all the ruckus. Ethan can only do that when he's really really beat, dead to the world kind

Funny thing I've realized is that he'll be extremely well behaved when people come to visit or when we're around other people. He'll stay in his jumperoo for extra long or he'll be in a fabulous mood despite having interrupted sleep when we're out. Haha.. the joke is that he's trying to impress and work up nice, fat angpows for CNY next year

many of you mention giving your babies probiotics. May i know what is that for? if my baby has no constipation but just don't wan to drink milk, can i give her that? cos it seems like your babies drink a lot after taking probiotics..

Also, i realise there are some babies here who eat/drink less than my baby but weighs more. any good idea how to increase my baby's weight? she drinks about 600ml of milk, eats 6 scoops of cereal, 1 small bowl of porridge and 1/2 bowl of potato/porridge/pumpkin a day. But at 6 months she weights only 7.17kg at 70cm. PD says should increase her weight but i really did all i can....

Diva,

Julian's ok when I wake him up. I actually do it gently and allow him to take his time to wake up. In fact, he will wake up smiling.
Julian has never slept past 830pm. In fact, he will sleep by 8.10.

Julian's quite a good sleeper. I'll prepare him for bedtime at about 7pm, just clean up and change to pj. Take his milk then he will watch tv with me. WHen he is tired, he will just turn his head away from the tv and sleep.

I don't think he is very tired on sunday. He had his usual 3 naps in the afternoon. More likely he is used to sounds when sleeping.

For Julian, he love to impress people. He will do things he don't normally do when he see strangers or people he don't get to meet often. Haha.

Jules' Mum,

I agree with letting him take his time to wake up and I do that too. The problem is when he gets woken up prematurely by dogs barking or gardeners cutting grass, those are the usual suspects.

I let Ethan lie in bed with me and flip till he dozes off. It works but I don't do it as often as I'd like as the timing isn't always right, especially if he drinks milk and gets tired right after. He'll definitely spit up if I let him roll on the bed and I try to minimize that as much as I can.
So no choice, I read to him, cuddle him and talk and sing to him for as long as I can. It's tiring but very rewarding to have him sleep in my arms

He's been rather good about sleeping on his own, so I'm not worried about spoiling him if I carry him to sleep occasionally.

araid22, your PD advised you to let Julian self-regulate? My PD was so concerned about her low weight gain in her 4th and 5th month she said just try to feed as much as we can, even if it means to feed while sleeping. Another PD we consulted also said the same, even though she looks so chubby now and all.

Wondering if I should try neobiotics, but it's powder right? How to give? Adel really loves her Reutefene drops leh, she's smile and open her mouth wide when she sees the bottle although it's tasteless to me.. *weird*

I also feel babies should be able to self-regulate and I dun wan to feel like i'm force-feeding her all the time, worried I'll cause her to be overweight when she grows up. But i dunno if i have the heart to let her go without milk the entire day. When your PD says to let Julian self-regulate, do you still feed cereals? Or whole day only milk, and only when he cries for it? And what are his guidelines on the minimum amount of milk intake? And if the dip in intake continues for how many days is considered normal?

Cos when Adel started her milk refusal, she was taking 300+ml for 2 weeks no improvement

it is Friday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Shelyn,

I feed Charis probotics because pd prescrip to her last round when she have diahorrae. So I just continue from there.
ur girl is eating well, when bb eat more, the milk intake tend to drop. plus her wt is good at 6mth. Charis wt 7.4kg at 7mth old.

When to give baby probiotics? Kayla's PD never prescribe to her leh? Is it really gd for them? Where can i buy it?

Jgal, the Cod liver oil paid already? I BBB till i forgot if i hv paid anot... Hee... so paiseh.

Prawnie, I am going Bedok tmr morning? Can I collect the Physiogel AI from you in the morning and pay you cash?

Morningz Mummies,
It's TGIF!!!!

Talking abt letting bb cry for milk & whether 2 feed or letting them cry until they tired 2 stop. I hv read some books & from the net oso that is no good 2 let them cry until they tired 2 stop cos bb will create withdraw character, which means next time when they grow up, they will keep things 2 themselves as they know that even if they say nobody will b there 2 help them.

jaspire, i think it's worth giving probiotics a try since Kayla has eczema right? It is supposed to help with eczema and Adel's skin did improve after that..

neobiotics is available off the shelf at Guardian, and Reutefene is available at PDs' clinics

Morning Mummies,

Shelyn & Jaspire,

Actually I was the one who ask the pd to give me probiotics. To my understanding, it's just some good bacteria in the tummy just like in Yakult. My friends told me their kid's ezcema and nose bleed improved after taking. Most of them also got hungry easily after taking so I tried. My PD gave me reutefene but I was lazy to go back to the clinic to get and found Neobiotics by chance and has been using it since. My friends kids are taking Udo's choice. It's not available in Singapore though. Gotta buy online.

Lynn,

Ya. My PD told me to let him regulate. At that time, he was about 5.5 months. He was only drinking milk. Haven't started on cereal. His weight gain is slow but constant so PD say nothing to worry about. Honestly, I was worried too. I kept asking him "are you sure? are you sure? What if he dun cry?" He assured me that everything will be fine and in fact his intake will be more. He told me he's not drinking cos he is not hungry. As long as he take min 1/2 of his usual intake, it's ok. So the 1st few days was really about 400ml. I only managed to give him 120ml per feed at that time and he will still leave some behind. Soon, he started to cry for milk and I was able to increase his bottle. Now, he is taking 160ml. Feed before bedtime is 200ml. I don't know if it's the Neobiotics or letting him regulate or he just decided he wanted more milk or he is crawling alot now and that uses alot of energy.

Neobiotics is powder form. What I do is I'll add into his cereal. To make sure he finish his probiotics, I feed him with 1/2 the cereal 1st then follow by the other 1/2 in case he don't finish his cereal.

Which milk are you giving Adel now?

Diva,

I like to read stories to Julian but he don't like to listen to my story. Haha. Actually I like to cradle Julian to sleep but he hates it.
So, we watch tv together lor.

araid22, so did the PD says minimum amount of fluid intake? Cos I think if I try that my girl's intake will dip drastically. Should I give water then?

Adel is still on ebm. dunno if it's cos she doesn't like the sweet taste of ebm, when i use ebm to make her cereals she'll refuse it totally. but when i use plain water she's fine even though it's super bland. previously tried Frisocrem which is also sweet and she refused it too..

sigh had a real bad nite. suddenly got very bad block ducts. still trying to clear it by massaging. then when my boy suckle, he couldnt wait to try his new teeth on me
double pain...

can i juz ask if any one's baby poos maybe once or twice a week only? my boy like poos oni after 4 days. not pebble like though still pastey kind. is tat considered constipation?

does any mummy know where i can buy Manhattan Toys locally? want to join spree for these interesting take-along toys but dun wan to wait for a month or more..

Tks Jules mum and Lynn, later I will go Guardian to check out. My hubby say i eat yoghurt oso can leh? For the neobiotics... its liquid form? How much to give? and how to give? Add in milk or cereal or give alone?

jaspire, neobiotics is powder sachets. i've not tried that but araid22 suggested adding to cereal. i give Adel reutefene which is liquid from, like 5 tiny drops a day which she loves..

Good morning mommies!

Probiotics:
I'm going to add it to Ethan's bottle/cereal depending on what he has for breakfast. From what I've read, adding it to either is fine as it's gonna end up in baby's tummy anyway.

Mushloom,
Ethan poops everyday, used to be once a day but now twice a day. I don't remember his poop ever being pebble-like, in fact I think it's almost always kinda thick and pastey. Sorta like thick batter

It doesn't hurt him though cuz he doesn't cry or wince while pooping, though he grunts and gets red from pushing

Hi Diva, saw u ordered the Childlife Colostrum with probiotics. Have u tried tat on Ethan?
This is the 3rd week i am giving....there was a day last week Kaleb pooed for 4x till buttocks red...i stop and try alt days, it looks ok for him. This week i tried everyday, he pooed 3x a day. For the last 2 days, he pooed after i got him ready for bed, poo leaked onto his pyjamas and have to clean him up again....

Any mummies giving probiotics have the similar problem?

Vonn,

The colostrum just arrived from the spree but I haven't collected it so I haven't tried it on Ethan yet.

Is Kaleb having diarrhea? Sounds like it's very runny if it leaked onto his jammies.
How often and what was his poo like before you started him on colostrum?

vonn,

my son don't poo that much leh. He gek lesser after taking probiotics too. maybe depends on individuals too.

Jaspire,

The instructions say to take with or after food. After food, my son will be too full to drink anything so i add into cereal.

hi, anyone using Nestle Nan2 Pro? I have 8 tins (900g) of it and my daughter has outgrown it. Willing to let go at $25 each.
Pls PM me if interested. Thanks!

Anyone letting go of extra BN Childlife Colostrum with probiotics at purchase cost?

Jgal, will you be organising another spree on Childlife Colostrum soon?

Hi Diva, jus went to GNC...the sales person mentioned might be due to teething too...i checked whether can give on alt days...she says no pro..it will oni slow down the process but will not defeat the purpose.

I think Kaleb is teething bah...he has 2 lower teeth already and recently keep finding things to bite...he tried to bite my nose, necklace and hair last nite!!! Argh..........

Re : Baby Poo-ing
My boy used to b constipated, poo once every few days. Then the poo is so hard. There was once he pooed till cry. So now dilligently feeding him vege and pear puree every meal. He poo 2 to 4 times a day now. It is seedy.

Me too! If anyone has extra BN Childlife Colostrum with probiotics at purchase cost, please let me know? Or jgal organising another spree?

childlife colostrum is ard SGD22 -$26 per bottle if i get from us.. :p

If you gals want.. could someone help to consolidate the order.

1. get the names and
2. collect deposit for $23 for each bottle.
3. Pass the list and money to me.
.. I can help you order.. it will reach here in 2 wks time..

jaspire.. i habe extra 1 can.. havent open yet.. you want can sell you first, but i need to check the price again. :p

Vonn,

Yes I've heard that teething can cause diarrhea or loose stools though it's never happened to Ethan before. In the beginning, he would get really really cranky from teething pain. But now, the only teething symptom is a decreased appetite and of course the sharp bud itself.

Ethan likes to bite too, everything we give him goes straight into his mouth. He's bitten hubby's shoulder and nose very hard before. And he likes playing with and biting my necklace too! Especially when I'm carrying him to sleep. It distracts him from sleep so much that his eyes flip open and he looks wide awake again! Haha
I try to turn it to the back of my neck cuz I'm so worried he'll yank hard and break it :p

Any babies like mine? Find so stress being a sahm, want to go and work but ...

1) Sweat and sweat. drink milk sweat , crawl also sweat. sleep with aircon on sometime also sweat.
2) any mummies still latch on?
3) babies keep waking up at night sometimes crying sometimes want to play.
4)skin around/under the neck always red sometimes even the body sometimes also red.

Winter,

Haha Ethan too.. he'll move towards my laptop and bite that too!
I've asked hubby if his tiny teeth might chip, he just laughs :p But seriously with the way he bites, I wouldn't be surprised!

Lovemum,

Ethan doesn't sweat a lot cuz he's usually in an air-conditioned room or at least with the fan on. The back of his head/neck sweats when he's in his car seat though.

But he has woken up in the middle of the night crying cuz of a bad dream. Not to play.

I notice that Ethan gets red spots when he's hot, particularly his face and chest. Though it's less common now. After cooling down in an aircon room or taking a bath, the red spots are gone.

Let's c how's our bb's development:

Nine Teeth
1. Ethan (champion )

Six Teeth
1.Issac

Five Teeth
1. Zhiyan

Four Teeth
1. Calamari's Kayla
2. Raphael (Choc)
3. Valerie (littleprincesses)
4. Tristan

Three Teeth
1. Li Wen

Two Teeth
1. Ernest
2. Charis
3. Dominic
4. Vonn
5. Noah
6. Ivan
7. Tiffany
8. Eshin
9. Elijah Jerome (jasminechenx)
10. Kayden
11. Xavier

One Tooth
1. Matty

Wating for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Alaric
2. Kaylen
3. Dana
4. Davien
5. Bryan
6. Adel
7. Jaspire's Kayla
8. Julian
9. Charmaine
10. Ashton
11. EnEn (Cloudme)
12. Desiree ( vyn_leen)
13. Javier(Hoon)
14. Chevelle (cheesycake)
15. Byron (scubababe)

lovemum: i am experiencing all the above too. I really hope the waking up at nite will pass too coz its really affecting mine and my hubby sleep!

Lovemum,
4) Ernest does have very red skin under the neck, think he too fat and got short neck, so the folds are always red.

1) Ernest will sweat, if there is no fan or wind esp while drinking milk.

Jgal, I want the childlife colostrum first... cos kayla's eczema is still quite bad.

Can i collect both colostrum + cod liver oil together? Tmr u at home bo? I going leng Kee... can pop by yr place to pick up and pay you?

Paiseh...My boy upsize liao... now 6teeths

Nine Teeth
1. Ethan (champion )

Six Teeth
1.Issac
2. Raphael (Choc)

Five Teeth
1. Zhiyan

Four Teeth
1. Calamari's Kayla
2. Valerie (littleprincesses)
3. Tristan

Three Teeth
1. Li Wen

Two Teeth
1. Ernest
2. Charis
3. Dominic
4. Vonn
5. Noah
6. Ivan
7. Tiffany
8. Eshin
10. Kayden
11. Xavier

One Tooth
1. Matty

1. Alaric
2. Kaylen
3. Dana
4. Davien
5. Bryan
6. Adel
7. Jaspire's Kayla
8. Julian
9. Charmaine
10. Ashton
11. EnEn (Cloudme)
12. Desiree ( vyn_leen)
13. Javier(Hoon)
15. Byron (scubababe)

may i ask whether it's ok to give my girl probiotics even if she has no ezcema or constipation or any other problem except low milk intake. issit really like us drinking yakult everyday? not due to visit PD til 2 mths later not very convenient to ask her now....

Charismama,
how tall is your charis at 7 month? I think my girl's weight at 6 mths is ok also... but PD says on the low side cos she's very tall... 70cm at 6 months which puts her in the top 97 percentile for height but weight is at 50 percentile. she say it wont be healthy if she's tall but skinny.... that's when i start to get kan jiong haha... initially i still think it's ok...

Jgal, pian xin! ;( But I know la.. jaspire need it urgently... =p

I shall volunteer to consolidate..

By Esther on Jgal's behalf:-

Childlife colostrum is ard SGD22 -$26 per bottle. Pls deposit $23 to my POSB account no. 057785608 and update the trans no. beside your name. Thanks!

1. Esther x 2

Thanks to araid22 for recommending neobotics. My gal was suffering from constipation since last week but poo alot on the 2nd consumption of neobotics.

Think it cost about $10.50 in Guardian for 10 1g sachets.

My bb Tristan officially have 7 teeth now, just popped out 3 today. =D

Nine Teeth
1. Ethan (champion )

Seven Teeth
1. Tristan

Six Teeth
1.Issac
2. Raphael (Choc)

Five Teeth
1. Zhiyan

Four Teeth
1. Calamari's Kayla
2. Valerie (littleprincesses)

Three Teeth
1. Li Wen

Two Teeth
1. Ernest
2. Charis
3. Dominic
4. Vonn
5. Noah
6. Ivan
7. Tiffany
8. Eshin
10. Kayden
11. Xavier

One Tooth
1. Matty

1. Alaric
2. Kaylen
3. Dana
4. Davien
5. Bryan
6. Adel
7. Jaspire's Kayla
8. Julian
9. Charmaine
10. Ashton
11. EnEn (Cloudme)
12. Desiree ( vyn_leen)
13. Javier(Hoon)
15. Byron (scubababe)

esther,

happy to know tat your gal managed to poo after taking e neobiotics.. she must be feeling so happy and relieved now.