(2008/04) April 2008

jamie, you mean you cook on high heat for slow cooker or on stove?

gemini05, claypot on stove huh? or the claypot kind of slow cooker?

i'm very careless, tried cooking prooride a few times on stove top and already burnt it twice. not that i forgot about it but i set the timer and the porridge dried up before the time was up and got burnt
slow cooker much safer for me i think..

wah porridge must cook so long ah? i was thinking why i cook on slow heat on the stove for half an hour still not nuah.. guess no choice already, either way will incur high electricity or gas bills.. back to the days of confinememt electricity and gas bills *faint*

lynn.. 1/2 is not enuff.. my mother double-boil my gal's porridge..she cook once using the characoal overnight.. then bring my house and warm up again..
*hee hee* my gal good life..

re : food intake..
i think none of your bb beats my gal's intake.. whole day only 120 ml fm/ebm for the past 2 wks.. I see my maid's record of my bb's food intake.. i feel so stress..*sigh*
i adopt the "happy mealtime approach" , i wont force my gal to eat and wears a smile and keep the food when she refused to continue.. so that her memory of mealtime is always joyful.. i wonder if i am spoiling her..

jgal,

wah charcoal ah? very good life leh, the porridge must be very yummy!

120ml of fm/ebm is very little leh, why ur girl suddenly refuse to drink? is she eating solids well? hope she's getting enough fluids. you're giving water or juice?

mummies, do you keep porridge overnight and re-heat the next day? i was thinking cook porridge and she eats so little like very wasted. so thinking of maybe cooking 2-day's worth and re-heating the next day. but my mum says overnight porridge will get 'wind'. personally i love overnight porridge, got extra taste leh heehee..

Hi Jaspire
Re Car Seat:
The maxi cosi model at Tom & Stephanie is not priori XP but priori SPS. I bought a one today at $298 (UP $398) but limited colours. Only 2 sets of Bjorn Black and 2 sets of Enzo red left at the Pasir Ris Store. I was looking for the cream coloured one called Trail : (
But i am guessing its still cheaper than BabyNova and Baby Meadows offers which is about $340. Hope that helps.

Jgal - HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal

HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal
http://www.webvitamins.com/SearchResults.aspx?searchText=happybellies&x=0&y=0

Cost of Six Can = USD27.00 + 1.50(shipping)
Cost of each can = USD4.75 = SGD7.40
Est shipping :SGD3 - 4

Collection :
Self-collect : Redhill MRT , Jurong East MRT

Please transfer SGD10.40 for each can ordered.
ATM transfer, please email([email protected]) the time and date.
Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (2 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. cyl_16 (1 can)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (2 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)
6. beans (1 can)
7. cherishbebe (2can)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (2 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. beans (1 can)
9. cherishbebe (3cans)
10.jorel_mum(1 can)

lynn
i use high heat on stove. i think u didnt add more water thats y the porridge dry up? i hv to kept on stirring & gradually add more water if the porridge is drying up. personally i think slow cooker will incur high electricity bills leh.

overnight porridge
i dont keep overnight coz there's none left keke... my boy finishes whatever i cook. i agree with your mum, overnight porridge causes wind. sometimes its better to believe the old folks.

jgal
your gal really good life leh!

<font color="aa00aa">good morning

lynn,
i use the double boil method also, sometime using stove (faster), abt 1hr but must be careful on the water. use slow cooker but takes longer, at least 2-3hrs but no worry abt the fire/ water :p

piggymummy,
same as koori, 1x porridge (night), 1x cereal (morning/ noon). so far have add carrot, potato, spinach, sweet potato, pumpkin, ngo her fish. stock cook separately either using pork, pork rib or ikan bilis etc..

anyway, i checked with my mil regarding the BR cooking. she mentioned just cook per normal, not so sticky leh.. hv not cooked myself so dont know too. maybe tried to use small fire instead..

Morning mummies...

Porridge: i wash the rice then put in slow cooker then add boiling water.
Then the ingredients will go in together at the same time.
Cook for abt 2-3hrs...

I oni use pork or fish. Wondering if we can give 'frog'? Heard to strengthen up their leg muscles.

Let's c how's our bb's development:

Nine Teeth
1. Ethan (champion )

Six Teeth
1.Issac

Five Teeth
1. Zhiyan

Four Teeth
1. Calamari's Kayla
2. Raphael (Choc)
3. Valerie (littleprincesses)
4. Tristan

Three Teeth
1. Li Wen

Two Teeth
1. Ernest
2. Charis
3. Dominic
4. Vonn
5. Noah
6. Ivan
7. Tiffany
8. Eshin
9. Elijah Jerome (jasminechenx)
10. Kayden
11. Xavier
12. zayden (princess-j)

One Tooth
1. Matty

Wating for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Alaric
2. Kaylen
3. Dana
4. Davien
5. Bryan
6. Adel
7. Jaspire's Kayla
8. Julian
9. Charmaine
10. Ashton
11. EnEn (Cloudme)
12. Desiree ( vyn_leen)
13. Javier(Hoon)

Jgal - HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal

HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal
http://www.webvitamins.com/SearchResults.aspx?searchText=happybellies&amp;x=0&amp;y=0

Cost of Six Can = USD27.00 + 1.50(shipping)
Cost of each can = USD4.75 = SGD7.40
Est shipping :SGD3 - 4

Collection :
Self-collect : Redhill MRT , Jurong East MRT

Please transfer SGD10.40 for each can ordered.
ATM transfer, please email([email protected]) the time and date.
Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (2 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. cyl_16 (1 can)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (2 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)
6. beans (1 can)
7. cherishbebe (2can)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (2 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. beans (1 can)
9. cherishbebe (3cans)
10.jorel_mum(1 can)
11. choc (1 can)

Let's c how's our bb's development:

Nine Teeth
1. Ethan (champion )

Six Teeth
1.Issac

Five Teeth
1. Zhiyan

Four Teeth
1. Calamari's Kayla
2. Raphael (Choc)
3. Valerie (littleprincesses)
4. Tristan

Three Teeth
1. Li Wen

Two Teeth
1. Ernest
2. Charis
3. Dominic
4. Vonn
5. Noah
6. Ivan
7. Tiffany
8. Eshin
9. Elijah Jerome (jasminechenx)
10. Kayden
11. Xavier

One Tooth
1. Matty

Wating for Tooth Fairy to Visit (Bogeh Club)
1. Alaric
2. Kaylen
3. Dana
4. Davien
5. Bryan
6. Adel
7. Jaspire's Kayla
8. Julian
9. Charmaine
10. Ashton
11. EnEn (Cloudme)
12. Desiree ( vyn_leen)
13. Javier(Hoon)
14. Chevelle (cheesycake)

MIA for so many days... many posts to read up!!!

My girl was down with viral fever past few days. rushed her down to KK hospital last sun. thank god her fever lasted for 4 days only. although she has fully recovered but now she is still very cranky and sticky to me
i am like walking zombie at work now. haiz...

Up to 70% off! 3 Days only! FREE GIFTS for Early Birds. While Stocks Last.
Venue: The Atrium #01-10, International Business Park (Jurong East)
Time: 10am - 7pm
Payment: Cash
Date: 2nd Dec 2008 to 4th Dec 2008

RE : Cooking porridge
I use the 'xin mi' cook for 10 mins (keep stirring) then put in the thermal cooker, for around 2 to 3 hours, then feed bb.

I cook the corn, carrot and potato. Puree all together and put one big tablespoon into the porridge, the porridge is VERY sweet
Excess porridge, I will eat, tt's y I know it is very sweet. My motto is, if I like it, Ernest will like it too :p

I usually give 2x cereal (morning and night), and 1x porridge (afternoon).

Re : Cheerful Feeding
Jgal, u very good, my FIL will scold and scold Ernest when he refuse milk. Maybe tt's y he only drink a bit of milk when I feed him?

Just to share Adel's new taggies.. She loves the tags on her toys and stuff but am not so keen on the taggies I made earlier or even the original Taggies brand cloth book... So now made a new one with more textures and patterns. Hopefully she'll take to this one..

1922255.jpg

Next project: beansprout pillow!

winter,

Ernest so poor thing. I can imagine how tough it is to feed. julian's one difficult drinker as well. think I mentioned before, I gotta entertain him when drinking milk or let him use a toy to hit his milk bottle when drinking. my mil shake her head till head going to drop already when she see. keep saying I spoil him. I guess we will do anything just to make him drink milk.

re : feeding

I've been adopting happy feeding too. since he just started on solid, I'd rather not scare him and wants him to enjoy meal time. at times when he cry, I'll take him out of e high chair and try awhile later. if he really dun want then I stop. he's already got bad habit when drinking milk. I hope he don't develope some funny habits.

Cheesycake,

hope your gal is ok now. julian's quite sticky to me these few days too. maybe cos over e weekend, my sis wedding and he was passed around. since monday, he will not let me go esp when he's going to sleep.

Re: feeding

I try to adopt happy mealtimes too, but sad to say my mum is uber stubborn and her motto is 'finish the food'. At home I smile and coo and entertain her to get her to eat her cereals or try some new food, even though at the back of my mind I'm kinda stressed that that by end of 7th month baby must eat 3 meals of solids and Adel is so fussy and not into eating.

But my mum is so stubborn I dunoo what to do with her
Already on the verge of clashing with her over her feeding style. Also thinking of putting Adel in infantcare so hopefully she'll see other babies happily eating and drinking milk..

lynn,

I wanna do a taggie too but didn't have e time. was busy helping my sister's wedding.

met in an accident yesterday. sigh. I so sway. bang a stationery car tat's already in an accident. went to tp today cos there were injured passengers in e previous accident and they lump my accident together with e 1st one. heard I'll have 6 demerit points deducted. sian. luckily I'm not injured. only bruises.

araid22, hope you're ok! Was Julian in the car at that time?

my sis's ROM was just over too and I'm already the unofficial DIY-in-charge for her wedding next May!

Jules' Mum, *Sigh* I need to complain again. The problem is when the younger niece (3 months older) refuse to drink, FIL and MIL use toys to entertain her to drink. Now when Ernest refuse to drink, they declare my boy don't like milk, so they reduce his milk and mix his milk in the cereal.

Same stages, different treatment. *Sigh*

Adel badly needs a haircut.. Her fringe is irritating her eyes..

1922371.jpg

busy gumming on camera case..

Any recommended place for baby's haircut? Hubby says he wants to keep her hair from her first 'real' haircut. Any idea how best to keep that? Trimmed a little previously to make the scholar's brush..

lynn,

I'm fine. thanks. luckily julian not in e car. if not i'll be guilty for life. was a very bad crash but dunno how i escape with minor bruise. e car in front total loss. by e time I saw e stationery car I gan chiong already. dun even know where's my brake. had a few incidents where my brake didn't work. not this car la. really lucky I'm alive and e people in e car in front is not in e car! e air bag saved me.

winter,

really double standard leh. i will not like these sort of treatment. our son not 2nd class citizen leh. same as my pil lor. so fed up. my son eat pear she must say wat my other nephew, 4 months older eat. like I care wat he eats. my son so naughty. tat day we drove them back from lunch. he buay gum wan they sit in our car. scream till we reach their house. they tried to pacify him, but he cry even louder. lucky I decided not to let my pil take care of him. even their 2 grandson(brothers)got different treatment. eldest is their favourite so sleep and play in air con room. younger one, only fan. reason being dun anger e elder one.

lynn,

adel's hair nice leh. she look so cute. just trim abit la. julian still rather botak after shaving at 1st month. kinda regret shaving leh.

like adel's meaty arms. Hehe.

Lynn,

adel is chubbly

mind i ask what is her wt?
she seems more chubbly than my girl..

must a 7mth bb eat 3meals?
my girl not keen in eating, at most she will take 1 feed cereal, 1 feed fruit a day.
will she be getting enough nutrients?

yvonne,

accident happened yesterday. e car in front total loss. my car, front part gone. I'm really blessed. only 2 bruises. weird thing is my maid told me about e same time of e accident, my son was not himself. kept fidgeting.

jules' mum,
oh, air bag came out, must be serious lor.. must have a big shock right? glad that u're ok and julian was not with u..

so who is taking care of julian now?

winter, jules' mum,
my mil has been complaining that my boy is v diffuclt to feed, always cries during feeding and sometime do not wan to finish the porridge. she is so angry that scold my boy and maid.. hehee.. but ah, as if he understand lor.. but surprisingly last weekend, he is quite co-operative and finish his meal. guess patience paid off, think my mil just do not hv enuf patience.. hehe

Jules' mum, glad u are all right.

Maro - yah, I agree, must hv patience feeding them. I think they can sense it, and know who to bully

Charismama, according to the weaning guide from Enfa, the schedule goes like this:

6 - 7 mths (daily intake)
Infant cereal - 2x, 1 - 3 TBsp
Milk - 4x, 180ml - 210ml
Vegetables - 2x, 2-3 TBsp
Fruits - 2x, 2-3 TBsp
Meat - offer, 1-2 TBsp

8 - 9 mths (daily serving)
Porridge/Cereal - 2x, 3 - 5 TBsp
Milk - 3x, 210ml - 240ml
Vegetables - 2x, 3-5 TBsp
Fruits - 2x, 3 - 5 TBsp
Meat - 2x, 2 TBsp

But my boy don't follow leh....

maro,

really shocked. dunno wat to do after tat. didn't cry until my husband came. then I kept trembling.

julian's taken care by my maid. not the best choice but i don't have other alternatives. when I'm home, I'll take over from her till next morning when I go work. it's tiring but worth it la. mil's got other 2 grandsons to take care and my mum wants freedom.
nvm la. at least he's brought up e way i want him to be.

indeed, feeding needs a lot of patience. my maid and I always try to make meal time enjoyable and always tell him how nice e food is. if he really dun wan, I'll tell him last mouth and we are done. surprising he will open his month to take eat tat mouth and will not open again. I'll then praise him even if he didn't finish and he'll be happy. we also try to eat together with him but few things I dun allow is, can't move around, no toys and tv or other distractions. must sit on high chair.

Winter,
Mind me asking if you have alternative childcare arrangement? Sounds to me your in laws are playing favourites and Ernest dun seem to be in their list. In the long run it might not be good for him...

jules' mum, glad to hear you are alright! so scary, gosh.

winter, baby has to eat so much?? my mum is saying she has to feed bb so often, am i sure that he can take so much...blah blah

fruits he takes so little...milk he is still drinking 120-150ml range. he hasn't been putting on weight...

winter,
right.. baby really knows who to bully. hehe.. :p

jules' mum,
i completely understand, happen to me several yrs ago but when i pass the accident site now, i still tremble and drive esp careful..
anyway, dont think too much of it as long as u're fine.

oh, really wan to do that too cos my mil does not like my maid, but both me and hubby think she is ok, just my mil's expectation is really high for maid.. contemplate that thought b4, but hubby dont agree so no choice, anyway quite used to my mil's complaints and naggings.. hehe..

i'll stop when my boy cries, sometime will carry him out from high chair to try but will stop if he really does not wan. ah, lots of food wasted that i'm used to it. my mil does not so if my boy does not finish, i'll hv hard time when fetching him after work.. (more naggings lor, say he naughty, dont want to finish the food

Maro, I completely understand what u mean by 'hard time' when fetching him after work.

Maomi - it is jus a guide, Ernest can't eat that much too. Guess it is generally. HOw's your migraine?

cherishbebe, Adel was 7.25kg a couple of weeks ago, but she's short so maybe that's why she looks chubby? She only drinks 600+ml of ebm and 1-2 feeds of cereal daily plus one or two mouthfuls of purees (before she rejects them).

Sometimes she dun even have one full feed of cereals cos she's not interested. If it's weekends and I take care of her I dun force her. But weekdays my mum always tries to make her finish.

Adel has a difficult time with her bowel movemnets if she takes 2 feeds of cereals, and PD said it's her diet, must try to include fruits and veg but she rejects them what to do?

winter and maro,

my hubby knows tat my mil's not easy to handle. he supported e idea of not putting julian with his parents. he don't like to listen to his mum's nagging and dun want julian to deprived attention.

my mil's not comfort with me putting my son with e maid. my hubby helped to lie tat I'm quit my job to take care of my son. haha. only later I told them I'm too bored at home and my maid can handle.

Winter,

Thanks for the info.

my girl is totally behind that schedule.
btw, 5tbsp of cereal is actually very little? do we mix with alot water? I mix and it seems a few mouths only. But charis still cannot finish.

Lynn,

Adel wt about same as charis..

try giving water in the morning before she drink milk.
It help to pass motion.

jules' mum, winter &amp; maro,

as my mum says, which baby is easy to take care of?

so it's normal. all babies have their own characters.

mine...likes to "torture" me. when i am not feeling well, he chooses to be cranky!