(2008/04) April 2008

scubababe
Must have missed the actions here too much.. didn't know you have become a SAHM.
I'm considering too, but it's a tough decision. :\ Being a temp SAHM was one of the happiest days of my life.

re falling babies
I agree with chewy that it's part and parcel of growing up. My son has fallen twice just this week. Once, he made his way out of his seatbelt in the rocker and landed on the floor. Luckily it was quite low. Now, we have learnt that even being BELTED on a seat is not safe. The jumperoo is a much safer place now. If I leave him on the rocker while I have to walk away, I will use all the pillows in the house and surround him.

Jgal - HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal

HappyBellies Brown Rice/Multi-grain/Oatmeal Cereal
http://www.webvitamins.com/SearchResults.aspx?searchText=happybellies&x=0&y=0

Cost of Six Can = USD27.00 + 1.50(shipping)
Cost of each can = USD4.75 = SGD7.40
Est shipping :SGD3 - 4

Collection :
Self-collect : Redhill MRT , Jurong East MRT

Please transfer SGD10.40 for each can ordered.
ATM transfer, please email([email protected]) the time and date.
Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (2 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (2 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (2 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)

swirl: u can try take fotos at FotoU...i took it there and quite satisfied

angel: Britax is good and renowed for safety. The Australian version is called Safe n Sound. Kayla has a Safe n Sound Premier - a convertible car seat. However, their Britax/Safe n Sound seats are mostly made of cushiony material and can tend to be a bit hot for baby in the car. Hb bought a mat which has holes for ventilation so that Kayla does not feel hot. We realise she tends to perspire in her Britax when our car ride is a bit long in the afternoon (maybe because she got a lot of hair :p). The mat works wonders and can be found at Mothercare for $40+. A bit steep but worth it. Intending to get a 2nd one for her stroller too.

Re: Knocks
Kayla also has her fair share of knocks today. She knocked her head against her new FP toy Animal Parade. She just look stunned at first, then cried, but managed to soothe her in 1 min hehe.

By the way, just got my bro to buy this FP walker from Australia. Very cute, love it!!

1907329.jpg

Diva/Jasmine - Thanks! Left her in the cot while i went to brush my teeth, when i came out she was standing and smiling at me. Shouted for my hubby who grabbed the camera and started clicking away..Ya, am keeping a close eye on her cos worried that she would fall backwards and hit her head.

sputnik: Yes, I think so. Now Target in Australia has FP and Playskool sale. Buy 1 get the other 1 at half price. And prices are generally cheaper, plus the favourable exchange rate now. Their FP range is also wider than Singapore. Bro bought the FP Animal Parade at A$30, Playskool Poppin' Pals at A$15 after discount. Would have cost S$45+ and $30 repectively in Singapore. Above walker is at A$39.90, same price as the cheapest walker you can find in Singapore but Sing dont have this model.

Collection :

Account to transfer to DBS Saving plus 001-1-053838 (Shenton Way) . Please specify your nick during transfer. :)

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (2 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (2 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (2 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)

tsukushi - tik rocker not so safe now lei, cos hor kaylen can sit up and bend down from her rocker, we stopped putting her in...instead we let her sit in her high chair.

tsukushi: I have cold storaged the bouncer/rocker in mine and my mom's house liao. Kayla nearly flipped out of her bouncer as she was trying to do a sit-up :p

koori/calamari,

Mine started off with bending forward to take things on the floor, then recently learnt how to lift his legs out of the seatbelt. In the past, he could bend forward or sideways but the seatbelt always kept him in check. I have tightened the seatbelt until it fits just nice, but I think he feels very uncomfortable in it because it's doesn't give him any space to move his butts now.

Actually, high chair is also not safe without supervision. We let him sit in the restaurant high chair today, and he also could get his legs out of the seatbelt.

I think now the safest place is the lowest level of the playpen.

speaking of push walkers, has anyone seen this around?

http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Fun-Food-Shopping-Cart/dp/B001EW2EVG/ref=pd_sbs_t_2

dun think it's exactly a push walker but hoping to find a push walker which converts to a shoping cart.. the only one i saw is the other FP one which has a tiny basket which is half taken up by a shape sorter and stuff..
http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-Laugh-Learn-Shop-Walker/dp/B0015KSPDS/ref=pd_bbs_sr_4?ie=UTF8&s=toys-and-games&qid=1227305493&sr=8-4

Collection :

Brown Rice
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (3 cans)
3. Puffish (4 cans)
4. Serene123 (2 can)
5. sputnik (2 cans)
6. choc (2 cans)
7. dolly23 (1 can)
8. cyl_16 (1 can)

Multi-grain
1. jasminechenx (2cans)
2. cheesycake (1 cans)
3. Serene (2 can)
4. sputnik (1 can)
5. zentan (2 cans)

Oatmeal Cereal
1. jasminechenx (6cans)
2. cheesycake (2 cans)
3. Serene123 (2 can)
4. sputnik (2 cans)
5. Lynn_ (2 cans)
6. zentan(2cans)

tsukushi, agreed, I usually "trap" charis in the playpen in the daytime.

at this period, babies are very active and like to explore. Mine almost fall out from her stroller the last round, now we dun dare to put her on high chair, she will turn around, using the back of the chair as support and try to climb out..

i think we have to be very alert now!

Wow ur bb all can try to climb & stand by themselves, mine stil haven reach that stage, so i put her on highchair.

Tuskushi - not all highchair are safe for bb now, some restuarants one really meant for bigger kids.

I had a playpen haven take out, but bad thing my mom no space to even put a playpen.

hv been quite buz these days with work so no time 2 log in pluz my boss warned us not 2 b lag in these days of economy down period cos if retrenchment happens, poor performers hv 2 go.......
haizzzzz.

RE:bbs falling
seem like alot bbs fell down this week. Hugz & kisses to all of them.
My boy oso fell 2nd time, tis time from high chair. My heart stopped when my mum told me cos my parents r the 1 looking after him during daytime when we working. My boy's action is really fast less than 1min my dad walk into the bedroom 2 put his bb cousin to sleep, my boy fell oredi. Like wat cherish has say nw is the period they like 2 explore, really cannot hv our eyes off them even 1sec.

mummies, any one knows where to find a good range of Little Tikes toys? Went Toys R Us just now but didn't see a good range

Diva, thanks! Shall pop down soon to check things out.. Robinsons centrepoint doesn't strike me as having a large section of baby toys (after I unsuccessfully attempted to find the FP cot mobile there)..

HT cereals are again pretty much OOS for the most part (can't find Barley and Oatmeal). This is really annoying! -_-*

Anyone still seeing Barley and Oatmeal at the supermarkets pls alert me okie?

my boi now 7 mths, he just started eating porridge for 4 days liao, but i want to give him brown rice porridge, but how to cook the brown rice? must i grind it first? if grind it into powder form, it become cereal rite? do i need to wash , dry, then grind?

Just out of curiosity

Mommies who add cereal to the milk bottle:
1. How much cereal to how much milk?
2. Which cereal do you add?
3. How many feeds per day do you do this for?

Diva:
1. 2tbsp cereal to 180/210ml milk
2. HT Brown Rice/Barley and Nestle Mixed Fruit
3. All = 3 feeds

Diva: why do u add cereal to the milk bottle? it is actually not advisable to do that. First, it confuses baby. Baby should associate bottle with milk and spoon with solids. Also, baby will tend to suck harder on the teats as cereal might get stuck. This introduces the possibility of wind.

Just my 2 cents' worth.

Calamari,

This is not what my PD said.
I do understand your concern but Ethan doesn't seem to be confused at all, he drinks well and he eats equally well from a spoon.
In fact, he probably doesn't even know he's drinking cereal and I add it for more nutrition.
2tbsp cereal in 180/210ml is not thick at all, it's very liquidy actually.
And as for cereal getting stuck, we use L teats and they pass through just fine. We also burp him often.

Ethan has only 3 meals a day so our PD actually suggested we add cereal to his bottle so as to better maximize his feeds.
Sounds reasonable to me and every baby is different, so this is what works for us.

Calamari,

I agree with your concerns though.
But since our PD advised us to do so, I'm going along with it. If Ethan ate more meals a day, I wouldn't have to do this. Oh well.

Is Kayla well?

hey chewy: me ok! cannot log on regularly now coz haven got a PC at home, need to wait for hubby to get home then can use his lappie so very crippled in the day, itching to surf net! ha. must catch up soon! i miss elliot's shy smile

tsukushi: eh not by choice one, me part of my company's restructuring exercise *sob* *sob*. Actually being a SAHM does has it joys, but sometimes being alone with Byron esp when he is cranky can drive me crazy!!

calamari: the mat you talking abt is it very thick? i notice byron's back is always very sweaty after sitting in his car seat. But if its too thick then difficult to strap him in with the mat and the car seat padding.

Car seat: we got The First Years car seat from robinsons some time back, pretty happy with it coz its blue ha, and comes with isofix which is what my hubby wants. so far once i put byron in he will sleep in it once we start driving

weight and appetite: I noticed that byron seems to be eating & drinking less (ave 500ml milk daily) but whenever we weight him for the past 3 weeks he has been gaining weight. He is now 9.4kg. I asked the PD if he is not taking enuf milk and my PD is so funny, he says milk is actually a western diet, like coffee, so its ok to give him other stuff to make up his diet, like cereal, porridge etc. guess i will let him try porridge soon... juz that he doesn't have any teeth!

Diva: Kayla is very well, thanks. Having 3 meals a day with 750 ml of EBM. She's learnt to go from crawling position to sitting and vice versa although she still can't crawl nor creep. Think she might be skipping the creeping stage and she keeps going on all 4s and scooting while sitting down. Gym instructor says she is doing yoga hahahaha. She also just had her 3rd n 4th teeth!

Scubie: no, its not thick at all. You can find the mat at Harbourfront Mothercare. Not all branches carry it. Went to the MC at Plaza Sing today and they don't sell it.

fyi- tollyjoy warehouse sale till tomorrow (if i din remember wrongly) at 29 changi south lane 1.

got assorted clothes, all sorts of tolly joy products. I was only going for the wipes which were going for $14 (2 packs of the 3x70 sheets pack)

thanks calamari! harbourfront only ah, hmmm, there's a nestle baby event there on 6 Dec so maybe will go check it out. Or else its so far!

forgot to add, kidsloft at tagore lane is having storewide 30% off, some items are up to 50% and some are special buys. Got tonnes of cheeky bon bon items. I manage to get rash guard with bottom for byron for $9.90 only. Wanted the Konfidence but think too ex lah hee. So make do with this.

Calamari,

Kayla has a good appetite! And congrats on her teeth!

Ethan can't sit up on his own yet, he's bends so far forward that he's touching his toes! Haha
He's made very slight crawling/creeping progress, it doesn't look like he's getting anywhere until we see that he actually moved a lil bit across the mat.
One funny thing he does on the bed/mat is lift all 4 limbs so only his belly touches the ground. I think that's a yoga pose too? Hehe
Ethan's 9th tooth is coming in and he tries to bite flesh a lot more now. Sometimes very sneakily cuz he makes like he's nuzzling and then he chomps! Haha hubby got a really bad bite on his shoulder.. Ah the only downside to having teeth. We're all wary and quite afraid now!

On average, Ethan consumes 600ml milk + 6 tbsp cereal daily.
His appetite used to be more unpredictable but it's been pretty regular for the last 1 week or so. Thankfully. I hope it's stabilizing cuz I can't take anymore feeding stress. My backache is worsening as it is.

Calamari and Diva,

Both your babies have good appetite. Ernest now is only drinking less than 400ml of milk a day. In fact he hates the bottle now. He prefer to eat. Eating 3 meals a day, hopefully can make up the lost nutrients.

Calamari - so u were at Plaza Sing? I thought my eyes playing tricks on me when I saw u entering MC... hahaaaahaha I was on the opposite side.

scubababe

I see.. I know what you mean. Sometimes, I wanted to cry for help too when my boy was cranky and I had no helper. But I think it's still such a joy to be witnessing your boy's growth day by day.

Wow! Diva... 9 teeths are alot leh! mine so far got 4 and i feel alot liao.. wow... small house built on big house..

LOL

winter, both vtech toys are available at Metro, so maybe you an wait for their 20% off sale?

koori, thanks for the heads up. will go vivo supermarket soon, but so out of the wy

Diva: yah! 9 teeth is a lot! How was Ethan's teething process generally? Kayla had a bad 3 days when her top 2 teeth were cutting through, and it had to coincide with the days hb and I took leave to spend time with her. She was practically fasting haha! On the flip side, glad we were there for her. So relieved this period is over but cannot imagine so many more teeth are on the way! :p. Btw, thought 6tbsp of cereal is quite a good appetite leh. My princess takes about 5 to 6 tbsp of cereal/bowl of porridge and fruit puree daily. His milk intake also good leh.

Winter: nice to see u at Little Gym today since the last we met at my place on National Day
. Then after that u caught me at Plaza Sing hahaha! Long time did not see Ernest. Hugs to him
btw, your christmas present to Ernest very ex leh haha!

Good morning mommies!

Calamari, Koori, Choc, Cath, Nana,

Heh yes, 9 teeth IS a lot! The running joke is that he probably wants a steak so he can use all his teeth, hence his milk drop!
He started teething when he was about 3+ months and they pretty much came one after the other, hence his lil collection now hehe.

About teething, I'd say the first 4 teeth was the worst. He was so cranky and he fasted too. He would scream and cry like someone was torturing him, it was awful. I cried along with him. It was hard for him to sleep too cuz the pain kept him awake. And all this had to happen when we were alone in KL, so no help from my parents. Sigh, great timing. But it showed me that we can get through anything.
I think it's safe to say that the worst of it is over. There was no indication when the other 5 came in, we checked and they were there.

His appetite is good now, but not so long ago it was quite bad. He would drink less than 400ml a day. It really upset me cuz he was such a hearty eater, then suddenly became disinterested, and now hearty eater again. Sigh, what a roller coaster.
I ordered vitamins so should his intake drop again, at least he's getting supplements.

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning all</font>

Hvae not log in for few days, so much post liao.. just manage to read all..

piggy_mummy,
my mil has gave my boy brown rice on and off as and when she is cooking for herself, she'll leave a separate portion for him. So far i know is, the brown rice does not need grinding, just per normal rice porridge but cooking time slightly longer.. also get those organice brown rice then can cook faster, also taste nicer. normal one need to soak before cooking, else wil take long time. hope this helps!

Re: Teeth
Oh, same as alaric, my boy still 'boh geh' too. haiz, ytd my auntie just commented why my boy's development so slow. sad..

Calamari,

Then again some mommies say that their baby's teething pain isn't so bad from the start. So perhaps for Kayla, the worst may be over too

But I agree that the top 2 teeth are the worst, probably cuz they're the biggest and they're not quite used to the pain yet.

A few nights ago, Ethan woke up screaming from a bad dream. Really screaming. Nothing could pacify him. Took forever and it reminded me of his teething pain.
We had to turn on all the lights, talk to him, play with his toys, anything to try and snap him out of that state.

My mom has since brought up the old wives tale of not playing with kids at night cuz they'll get nightmares. And the night Ethan had the bad dream, he was indeed playing.
I guess over-stimulation has its effects. Lesson learned! Though he hasn't had a bad dream everytime he played at night..

teeth
my boy is in for the "boh geh" club keke ...

maro
my mum &amp; myself also feel my boy's development is so much slower compare to his sis, hubby said usually its slower for guys. but i compare to the rest of the boys here, bryan is on the slow side leh.