(2008/04) April 2008

angel - i hv a beco carrier n it's givng me shoulder ache. Trying to figure out if it's bcos i didn't put the carrier on properly...
i had ergo n used it when val was much lighter n i had no shoulder ache.
anyone can enlighten?

diva - from my observation, most korean like to use ergo
true?

mushloom
at least you know yr son is in gd hands for the first few months so dun regret lah
Gd luck in your quest. btw If you do decide to stay home, let us know so we can rejoice one more SAHM to share laments with...haha

T@urus2008 (taurus2008)

as per your previous post

---------------------
Am April mummy as well.. My boy Started his 1st weaning wif Happybellies Brown rice today.. He love it and had 2~3 mouth as told by my MIL..
Had just order 2 more tin..! Thanks Jgal...!!

But am confuse among the varies type between HappBellies Oatmeal, brown rice & Multigain..
a) When should we start & end wif each type? At different stage?
<font color="0000ff"> should start with rice cereal, then oatmeal, then multigrain coz grains should be introd 1 by 1</font>
b) Will the above item heaty? This was ask by my MIL.. keke..
<font color="0000ff"> hmmm that is a question i am asking too... coz my boy is constipated</font>
c) when should we stop feeding cereal and proceed to porriage??
<font color="0000ff"> porridge can be given to baby at around 8mths (i asked my pd) if he has been taking the cereal well. but start the same way that you start the cereal. full conversation to porridge is at around 2 yrs of age </font>

this info is in part given by my dad and my pd as well as a friend who has a 1 yrs old baby

Thanks to cloudme &amp; jasmine advise...

i post up the last Q b'cos my MIL intend to intro porridge to my boy when he reach 7mth.. Currently he is 5th mth+. I felt abit early and soemmore my PD advsie to intro cereal to him when reach 6mth. However, i started early as he teething now!! ;p

jasmine:
brown rice is heaty(especially the instant ones)...
so feed lots of water to ur bb after the feed...or feed barley water to ease constipation for ur bb...
when on barley water try not to do it often as some bbs will tend to rely on it and it's too "liang"

Taurus2008:
no problem...i started my ger on rice base cereal and porridge when her pd give ok to it when she is 5mths...

Jgal,

If they have such a big problem with me, then they should tell me directly.
You've since become the spokesperson.

Yes it's a very good thing that Amy wasn't with Zhiyan.
As far as I know, we only planned to meet at Shaw as Amy had also planned to be in town to shop. There was no mention of Novena.
Ethan decided to take a most unexpected 4 hour nap so I could not get away.
Royal Plaza is right next to Shaw, so I didn't think it would be a huge problem for Amy to drop my things off at the hotel.
Amy, you could have told me if this was unreasonable. I did not mean to inconvenience you in any way.
Things are blown wide open now and safe to say, not pleasant at all.

I am sorry to hear that Elliot is unwell. Is it because he had to wait around in town that day?
Likewise Prawnie, my sincere apologies again that you had to wait for me.
I had no idea that my schedule was going to be turned upside down, sorry for any inconvenience.
Did I not apologise?

Jgal, we waited for Ethan to wake up so we could all leave together to meet my MIL in town.
There was no time for making multiple trips.

You feel that someone could have met them when it was simply not possible that day.

Until you are in my shoes and live by my schedule, let's not make any assumptions.

cloudme

now i have just switched my boy to the ht oatmeal and barley cereal. *sob sob* after seeing him force till there was a tear.

will update on how is the constipation after that.

my mom say intant cereal has preservatives, wanted to feed porridge instead.
how true is it?

cloudme, do u pound the rice grain before u cook?

Calamari,
4 hours. Ethan napped for 4 hours.
Sometimes he shocks us with long naps like that, other times he barely naps 2 hours for the whole day!

Cloudme,
Smart mama.. sneak into their food whatever you can!
Thanks for your PM, you're very kind

Littleprincesses,
You observe more than I do evidently!
I guess Ergo is the 'follow on' carrier, we've got one so I guess that adds one more to the Korean-user list

Earth Bb
Hahahi luv that post of urs w the schedule for mummies

I also ignorant ab the fact that salt can only intro when bb reach 24m. I tgt after 12m can intro salt n sugar. Thanks for the info.

mushloom
I can imagine. Women r always the more detailed and like to do things our own ways. Im sure even if my mil is so nice im sure i will have differing views and conflicts. Alreadi had that when my mum did my confinement and it's my mum that i alreadi cannt tahan at times, needless to say mil. Hahah thin i also like to do things my way. Stubbornness i guess run in my family hahahah

Jasmine
Dat' interesting that we can fully convert to porridge when bb turns 2. Is it becoz by then they no longer need milk like now? I am just thinking aloud that maybe by 1 can let bb take more porridge than milk hee.

Porridge
I think can start by testing w 1 ts. In fact my mum did it 2x, once b4 Shevon turns 6m. One is plain porridge, the other w potato but i am glad as bb seems to be able to take more solidly porridge hahah. I tgt bb very fragile de hahah then i am wrong. When it comes to porridge they can amaze u w their swallowing hahaha.

Wd want to start soon. Getting excited yet apprehensive abt solid food. So stresssssssss

cherish:
no i don't pound the rice grains b4 cooking...
i just cook normal and till soft texture and scoop a few spoon to a sieve and sieve it thru and make the porridge finer...
this way i can eat whatever is left in the pot for my meal...haha

<font color="0000ff">i usually cook both bb and my share of porridge...bb and mummy eat the same porridge</font>

simp

at 2 still need 2 milk feeds (early morning and night feeds)
but during the day the baby should be able to last on the cereal and porridge.

I am new to this forum..but have been reading your posts regularly..
Am an April mummy too..my dd sarah was born on 16 April..

Just wanna check..

Sarah had been having stranger anxiety since abt 3 mths plus..
She only wants her mummy, daddy, maternal grandma and grandpa who looks after her..everyone else, she'll start whimpering in a "complaining" manner or she'll burst out crying..she doesn't even want her paternal grandparents whom we visit every weekend.
Anyone else facing a similar situation?
We bring her out very often, but she doesn't want to be touched or held by strangers.But she won't mind playing with them from far..
She likes babies though, will get excited when she sees other babies..and will want to touch them

屁股头, the opening where the stool come out..

cos usually is the 1st part that is hard, so squeeze abit around that area, bb more easy to poop..

Constipation
Think i have my fair share of shevon's constipation. Now only once in 3 or 4 days and semi solid or solid form. And it smells stronger now. Hahaha

Now i panaroid, feed water every now and then and do potty 2x or 3x to get her used to potty training. Not very successful though

Sesame oil works wonder the 1st time then i use another time, poo on the 2nd day. Guess need to feed more liquid but shevon alreadi dun wan to take in too much plain water r even fruit liquid like. I shall continue to persevere on

I think like wat Sherin says, apple after steamed may taste sour. I realised the apple i bgt in kl is roya gala hahahah so i think still sour after steam compared to original form.

Wow, two days never log on, so many posts

Mushloom - I can understand the situation u are in. Me too disagree with MIL on a lot of things, but no choice, once I have said let them take care, very diffcult to stop unless they initiate.

Ergo Carrier - not sure of the other brands, but this one def didn't add on to my shoulder ache. Am glad of this carrier which didn't put bb's wt on my shoulders, if not, HOW TO GO SHOPPING? :p

Jasmine - Try giving pear puree with a bit of pear juice. It works like wonder for Ernest. An hour after that, poo poo. And oh... Ernest will 'Hmmmm Hmmm' while poo poo, so no mistake about it.

Porridge - Have tried to feed Ernest, but he didn't like it. Mix with EBM, he still didn't like it. Will try again next week.

Re: Fruit puree
I will try fruit puree with Kayla next week, after her 1st week of brown rice cereal. THinking of apples, bananas and pears, individually, not mixed together :p. What kind of apples, bananas and pears should I get? e.g. Del Monte kind etc?

scubababe
yes I held back my cereals to Jayden again although last time my pedi said we could start if we wanted but I thought again no hurry as he's still very happy with his milk. Another 10 days to 6 mos &amp; counting down! You can either PM or sms me when you like to pick it up okies?

Shah

Welcome to the forum. i dun have the problem now but sometime my gal will just cry for nothing but when see my dog then she will laugh liao.

shah:
my ger is like urs...she is the slow heat type...must play play abit ...wait till all "heated up" then she will let other ppl carry...

winter

haahha. same my boy too will give the sour face. only my dad can feed him porridge. must be very fierce the he will take that 2-3 spoonsful

pear
hmmm ok will let the maid know

sesame oil
oh so its supposed to help the poo poo come the next day and not instant?
:p hahah i thought instant. then i was telling hubby that it did not work. but hor if its for the next day then poo poo. then i must say that its very effective. also the poo poo is well formed and alot!!! but not too hard after the sesame oil

Hi Jasmine and Simp,

What about Sesame Oil? It helps constipation? Julian's stools has been hard due to soy milk. if it can help I don't mind trying. Hehe.

beans,
understand, we took abt half an hr to take my boy pic for passport application, standing, sitting and lying.. :p in the end, chose the lying with a white blanket.
his head a bit 'senget'/ slanted and does not smile at all -> look v fierce lor.. see below

1775555.jpg

but ICA still accept.. understand from some mummies here they are quite lenient. so just apply, v fast, 3 days then if it's ok they'll send u an email to collect. also better make an appointment.
we did last sat and was at SIR less than 1/2hr, very efficient. oh, hv to bring the baby down when collecting..

winter:
ur porridge is the soft type can't see grain or can see grain? too thick or watery?

sometime my ger also fuss on porrige cos not the texture she want...haiz...cos bbs also have their likings...

re: sesame oil

can't remember which mummy posted it but the rubbing method is to rub on the stomach in clockwise motion. i use about 5drops.

cloudme

it for baby who cant poo poo. seems its an old wife's tale that works or rather my mum's maid remembered me tell it to her and so she tried it on my boy when i was at work the day before yesterday when his poo was super hard and raisin like.

cloudme,
think previously posted by simp, to use sesame oil to massage the tummy near naval area in circular motion. I try it b4, works for my boy sometimes.

simp, pls correct me if the method is salah :p

Simp
My pleasure
Feeling excited thinking about solids &amp; all the neat bibs can finally be used hehe...

hi sarah's mom
welcome
Hmm...stranger anxiety, heard it probably gets more distinct when progress towards 1 year of age. I dun see it with Jayden now, he kinda like 'staring' at strangers esp. in the lift, fine with them carrying him too, often giggles with stranger who talks to him
But he will cry everytime my pedi removes his shorts or pants. Hmm...we laughed about it though, maybe he feels his 'modesty' is violated :p haha

maro,

he was looking at the rattle, the auntie put under the camera to distract him coz he cant stop moving :p

and yes, still no hair lor....he is one "botak" boy hahaaa :p

Jasmine
At 2 onli need 2x milk /day. Ok if i dun have another bb then i hope i can still bf if not fm hee

Sesame oil
Helps to relieve constipation. Put a few drops of the oil onto ur palm and rub on the bb' tummy clockwise for a few time like the way we do w ru yi you. Then either the poo will come that day or next day hee. It will be a lot if u do it correctly, like volcano eruption
. But hor i have been depending on that for shevon and i think need more efficient method hahaha

sharing on constipation,

tat time my boy never poo for 7 days one of the trick the PD teach me is use feather to tickle baby back side.

I did it twice and baby finally poo (not sure if it is due to the tickle I did or he finally decided he wants to poo :p) but this is before he FART real hard on my face!!

na_na
feather to tickle? This is the 1st time i heard of it, interesting
Curious is yr boy on formula &amp; cereals, which brand (s) ? My boy poos every alternate day now instead of everyday when he was younger.

maro and na_na...
handsome boys! heheee
maro..ur boy look abit fierce! heheheee his hair look stylo leh.. middle part standin? or i see wrongly..

nana..urs also sooo cute... i hope can meet up with u all..make more baby frenz!

mummies:
is it normal if menses come for 4 days and stop for a wk and come again?
now having the 2nd menses just after a wk the 1st menses stop...

anyone want to get the Glen Doman English and maths kits?

me thinking to get for my boy.... seems that there is free coaching on how to use it as well as a $100 off if there is 3 or more mummies who buy together.

will be meeting with the guy this sat at 11am anyone want to go together?

earth_baby,

Alaric is on mummy's milk hahaa...so PD said nothing to worry he is not constipated. True enough, he finally pooped on the 7 days and the stool was soft as usual

Another thing he suggested is to massage tummy as mentioned by some other mummies here