(2008/04) April 2008

Diva:
i bought this during the last isetan bb fair... brand is lucky-baby..

My girl is also flipping in her bouncer since 4 mths. So that's like another white elephant in the house.
Diva, I have that walker cum bouncer. Two of that. One yellow (kidsmall), one pink (isetan). Isetan sale, they were selling S$59.90. My parents bought for my girl e yellow one. It's at my mom's place. She uses it daily. She is able to move about quite well in e walker.
The pink one is bought by my in-laws. My girl is pretty active cant sit still or lie down when she goes over on e weekends, so that bought that to occupy her.
I use jumperoo n i got bounce bounce baby (an exersaucer) at home.
There are much issues about walkers.
The danger involved as babies will end up pulling things off and get injured and some researches proved that it will delay walking. In fact it is totally banned in Canada. It's illegal to even sell second hand in Canada.
However, since my parents n my in laws bought it and my girl stays at my mom's place most of the time, I dont have much of a choice.
I think safety wise, we always have someone watching over her, so it's not so dangerous. Delayed walking part, it still depends on individual babies. My girl will make an attempt to move or "walk" when she hold her in a standing position on the floor.

Sherin - how are u ?
I don dare to use walkers lei cos of the safety issue, now i let her use Jumperoo and bounce bounce to keep her entertained. She can stand in the bouncebounce for 45mins to 1 hr, hehe.

i also don dare to used walker.. plus my boy never sit one.... anyway my boy had an excesaucer... don know whether is the correct spell... but hor my gal very bad... must have some one to sit beside her when she play... u walk away... she cry..

Summer's Mama,

Thanks for the info!
Where is Kids Mall?

As with everything, there are always two sides to looking at things.
Those who use walkers without a hitch will say it does no harm, others who have issues with them will cry bloody murder at the mention of the word.

I figure that if baby is to use a walker, then keep him within safe confines. Don't let him wander near a cabinet with fragile figurines and vases and keep him away from any staircase. Having a baby is a lot about common sense, I'm learning this everyday.

In the same way that some PDs advise against jumperoos, sitting baby up before they can do it on their own for fear it will do something to their spine, standing baby up hence causing bow-leggedness, sometimes we parents need to do what we feel is best and not follow the majority just because.

There's no real right or wrong, just what we think is. And very often, that's the only right and wrong we need

koori, havent had a good chat with u ever since u started work!!!
Summer has been naughty and cranky. I suppose third tooth is coming out.

Summer started on the bounce bounce as well as walker at 3 mths old.
She used to be able to sit/stand in the bounce bounce baby for 1 to 2 hours.

cloudme,
wanting to buy the same walker cum rocker during the Isetan baby fair but he does not like it, cry continously and so drop the idea. now buying the jumperoo, keeping my fingers crossed that he'll like it

ya the thread move so fast i cannot catch up
Been sick the past 2 days, Byron is sick too. Runny nose and cough. PD says to watch for cough coz it will cause tremors? Anyway my cheeky boy has learnt how to spit out his medicine after I feed him that i have to give him double dosage.

I am not sure if I am go for the Isetan private sale tomoro already since still sick, any of you saw the Activa High chair that is on offer for $199, any comments on that? Dunno to spend so much on a chair or not

Diva,
The highchair is neat ya? It's selling at $126 here but I paid with my credit card vouchers hehe. My galfren got the B-free mug from Takashimaya, you can check it out. Wow, Ethan has 3rd tooth already? Hope he gets over the teething pain soon! Jayden hasn't even got one hahaha. Btw the B-free mug is suitable to ease teething due to it's soft spout

The Avent magic mug looks similar to the one in the website here but in purple http://www.amazon.com/Philips-Avent-Magic-Trainer-Twin/dp/B00005QBW7/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=baby-products&qid=1222243811&sr=1-1

Re: Preschoolian
I will be ordering a pair of preschoolians shoes for Jayden, any mamas interested to share shipping can email me yr orders at [email protected]
This is my 1st time order from them, so will keep it to a few pairs, not too many

Re: HT cereals
NTUC just called me & said stock for brown rice cereal will be on their shelves in the 2nd week of Oct.

i mummies, i ave e above milk powder will 400g will like to excange to enfapro stage 2 400g.i av mail gold,nan2.similac.can msg mi 81632599 tk

Earth_baby,

Yes the high chair looks snazzy, nice price too!

We'll definitely go check it out when we're back this weekend.

I'll have a look at Preschoolians again and see which one I'll succumb to.. hehe

Do you feed Jayden HT, by the way?

When should we start letting baby use training cups? Have already bought the BPA-free BFree training cup 2 months back but still lying in the cabinet.

Calamari, now is a good time to start her on her training mug. At the beginning, baby may not be able to lift e mug to tilt to drinking position, just let her grab the mug and support e mug.

sherin: at 5 months 1 week ok to use cup? I scared the milk spill all over haha...unless i put water...but so far she only drinks 20ml of water everyday as on BM lah..

the thing about those non-spill valves on training mugs is that bb does not know how to suck on spout. so end up just gumming at the spout, no drinking, no flow/intake of water. guess some mess & spill is unavoidable on route to learning.

cloudme,
my walker at hm almost the same as urs. when baby inside the walker, he tends to drag and move and i'm abit worry that the walker will roller over his little feet -.-'''
its had happen few times already that even when the walker is on rocker mode, he can drag it to a distance like 30cm to go near my #1 and hubby. hmm..somehow, i feel that put him inside walker with the feet mat provided is safer. wat do u think?

princess j
what do u mean "safe" ? safe from worm or safe from melamine?
the stomp report only mentioned Heinz , no other detail about product.
i think the rare defective packaging happens in any brand, best is to check before consuming.

scubababe
Hope Byron recovers fast from running nose & cough. Seems to hear bbs falling sick these days. I've been bringing my son out for outings lately hehe keeping my fingers crossed so far.

Diva
I'm waiting to get my hands on HT as its OOS now
but I bought Bellamy to stand-by just in case. Jayden's milk intake went back up to his usual volume(it dipped for a while & we're not sure as to why & he isn't teething) So we're not in the hurry to feed him cereals yet

Need some advise.

Other than Frisocrem, what other rice cereals do you think is good? Intend to start my girl with cereal this weekend.

Another thing is any mummies here intend to change another brand of formula milk during 6mths?

Hi all, I am back! Today super busy

Oh for the Bellamy Food, here's the price:

<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD> BP Price </TD><TD> Retail Price </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Porridge</TD><TD> $5.30 </TD><TD> $6.20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby Rice</TD><TD> $5.30 </TD><TD> $6.20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Toothie Pegs</TD><TD> $5.70 </TD><TD> $6.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Milk Powder (Stage 1 or 2)</TD><TD> $45.00 </TD><TD> $52.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pasta Star</TD><TD> $6.90 </TD><TD> $8.20 </td></tr></table>

And I open a spree at mum center http://www.mumcentre.com/community/showthread.php?t=7135

Luann_Mummy, today just brought dd for the third jab, was thinking of waiting a month before giving the flu jab. Aiya, forgot to ask polyclinic whether they provide the jab or not. Your bb took the prenvar jab already? I'm thinking to postpone it till 1 yr old leh coz like giving too many jab le. What do you think?

princess-j, I'm putting my gal in walker with the feets mat before my jumperoo comes. Provide mobility for the caretaker but immobility for the bb.

Joelle,
Thanks for heads up about worms and all other creepy crawlies in cereal or milk powder for that matter!

Earth_baby,
I've PMed you

Marshmallow79,
Ethan is on Healthy Times Organic Brown Rice and Barley cereal. He likes it very much and I like that he does

Start off with a single grain cereal whether it be organic or not.
It's recommended by PDs for being easier on baby's digestive system.

Other organic cereal brands include Happybellies, Bellamy's and Organix. Other mummies might know of more.

Ethan is on NanHA1 now and I plan to start him on NanHA2 when he reaches 6 months.
I'm particular about changing FM brands and will not do so since Ethan doesn't have a problem with it.

What brand of FM is your daughter on now?
I wouldn't change brands unless you're having problems with it.

With so many brands in the market, they all claim to do the same thing, so what could the difference really be?
Finding one that suits your daughter is the most important thing.
Once you've found it, there's no need to switch around anymore in my opinion

joelle, Mon there were post abt all Friso products being safe, forgot who called the company to check liao.. i remember cos i only started my girl on frisocrem after reading that it's safe

HT is not produced in China right? And the cereals do not have milk content so dun think there's any risk.. But think I'll email them to ask, just in case

BTW, still waiting for brown rice cereal to be in stock leh..

diva, i tot HT barley is for 6 months and older?

Baby Kayla keeps licking her toes non-stop, when she is lying on the playmat/cot and in the bouncer. She licks 2 feet at one time! Any babies oso like that?

jamie,
just came back from parkway, hv dinner and jalan jalan with my boy :p

Re: Thermal cooker
Checked at Isetan, think the 2.5l is better cos can at least cook soup for 3-4 ppl, 1.8l too small but ideal for just cooking baby porridge like cloudme using.

anyway, the promo now is on 2.5l, cost $33, 1.8l $39 (strange smaller but more ex :p). tml private sale another 10% disc, that's y did not get today.

Let me know who need my help to buy, I'll be going to Parkway again tml after work.
<font color="aa00aa">1. JuniorRain?
2. Angel?

Pls confirm!

calamari,
my boy does the same.. he likes to play with his feet, now worse like to lick his toes. so keep on cleaning with water to keep them clean for him to lick.. heehee..

oh, remember the booster seat that sherin post previously. saw one at Isetan just now, cost $39.90 with free gift of 3 spoons.. remember some mummy interested but no more stock previously. if anyone interested, I can help to get tml provided still available.

Lynn,
Yes it does state that it's for 6 months and above on the box. But since I didn't stock up, Brown Rice was OOS islandwide and I didn't want to try another brand, I decided to give Barley a try.
It's supposed to be good for easing constipation too

Ethan loves it and I plan to alternate between Barley and Brown Rice for variety.

Calamari,
Kayla is a very flexible little comic it seems!
I can only imagine what licking both feet at the same time looks like

Ethan doesn't do that but I've seen other babies who do, I suppose it's just a phase like sucking finger and fists!

All mummies,
Would anyone like me to get HT Brown Rice Cereal for them?
I've got mine from KL, I'll try to buy for whoever is interested

DIVA'S KL HT BROWN RICE SPREE - expiry Nov 2009
(Since HT Brown Rice will only be back in stock by the 2nd week of Oct, I will try to get it from KL)

**All orders MUST be in by this Saturday the 27th as I'm returning to SG on the 28th**

DIVA'S KL HT BROWN RICE SPREE - expiry Nov 2009
(Since HT Brown Rice will only be back in stock by the 2nd week of Oct, I will try to get it from KL)
1. calamari x 3

**All orders MUST be in by this Saturday the 27th as I'm returning to SG on the 28th**

Calamari,
Kayla's adorable! How old is she?
She's still a beauty even if she's licking her feet!

Ethan's whole fist somehow finds a way to fit into his mouth! Ok, maybe almost his whole fist.. hehe

With the way they're sucking, you'd think we dipped their hands and feet in honey!

koori: haha, kayla stick out her tongue last time but stopped liao...her latest craze is her toes..keke

diva: hehe thanks. Kayla is 5 months and 1 week exactly.

calamari...my little luann is the same...sucking non stop so long as she can get her hands on her feet...ha ha ha...

koori..luann sticks out her tongue all the time as well...