(2008/04) April 2008

Jasmine - maybe its the quality, like those sold in Minitoons also cheaper but quite rough. If u got chance to see a parklon or LG from alien or SSW maybe can tell if its different. BUT If its SAME, we bang our heads on the wall. Got pic to show us?

RE: introducing solids

this topic is a sore one for me. i am aware current health advisory recommends to start at 6 months. but my MIL (main caregiver) is very very keen to start asap. PD says earliest 4 months, but when we are home MIL will insist "but he's ALMOST 4 months!" (1.5 weeks away lah actually) i think the old-timers think it's a big achievement for bb to start eating that's why they're so keen to start ASAP. & back in the day babies usually start by 4 mths mostly to no detriment. probably i will try to hold her off till 4 months (some 3.5 even), then after a discussion with PD, will start if PD gives green light.

due to my bb's constipation problem, i have started giving fresh apple juice, and some mashed bits of apple have sneaked in - he's staken to it pretty well! he is now 4 days short of 4 months.

koori

ok will take a pix to show tonight k. hahah hubby just back with my xd card. haiz when he away i cant take any pix as he took the xd card with him *faints*

hmmm anyone stay near farrer park with the parklon or lg from alien or small small world so that i can see and make comparison?

joelle

my dad is the main caregiver of my boy... and when he was 4 mths plus also behind my back give oats to eat leh... i din know till he formed rashes on his face (can you imagine my shock) then after that can still ask me if i got clean my son face properly anot? then when the maid heard this she said that he has been fed oats. after that my dad tell me... oh your son got allergy leh must bring to pd. even when i have told him time and time again till he can even say me not to give my son any solids yet. haiz now thankfully only got another 14day more to 6 mths

when introducing new food to baby...must let baby have the same food for a week before giving them another new food to try...give a week just to see any allergies...if Yes then u got to take note that baby can't eat that...

Ya think all older generation people very eager to start feeding baby with solids... my parents have taken to waving the food in my baby's face... then everytime I have to say dun give to baby ah...

For me, my parents started porridge @ 3 months coz teeth came out around that time and I refused to drink any milk... Luckily no problem...

Geryl, yup. Have already made a mental note as to what solid to start off with :p

I KS lor... but hopefully got enough time to make the puree ....hahhaaaaaa...

jasmine chen

hahaha yala ... duno why they so kancheong must MUST FEED SOLID NOWNOW -- aiyo wait a few weeks also so difficult LOL... they keep saying last time all very early start one but these are different times, alot more allergies floating around now leh. can't be helped, they need to witness a nasty reaction before they realise that it is better to be conservative! (and then they will tell YOU to be conservative :p)

so how, ur boy now strictly no solids, ur dad now eagerly countdown to 6 months issit? LOL

Geryl
looking at the wooden toys, i think i m more attracted to it than my boy, hahaha. They looks so cute, especially thr fruits.

Geryl
when ur the main caregiver, you have the advantage of doing things your way :D without interference i'd wait till 6 months too

joelle

ya loh hahah, thankfully it was only very slight. now not only my dad is eagerly counting down... me to count down coz he will snatch our food now when we are eating.

Geryl
ask u, issit that we shld nt give bb sweet potatoes or carrot, i mean those natural sweet foods 1st cos bb mayb choose to eat those food rather than eating foods with bland taste like vegetables?

Emma Rae,

i usually finish the puree within 2 weeks. as long it is cool down to room temp b4 u put in the freeze it is okie!

Emma Rae, some says 2 mths & some say 6 mths...depends on what u puree...but it is better u just prepare for 1 or 2 wks food!

How to Introduce Cereal to a Baby

Look for clues. Before your baby advances from a straight milk diet to foods, ask your baby's pediatrician or dietitian for approval to start. These are clues to see if your baby is ready.

Positioning: keeping their head up and sitting with little or no support. A helpful tip is to use highchairs, including restaurant ones, and stuff blankets around the baby to help position themselves.

Mouth actions: a baby doesn't need to start teething before starting foods, but they may be pre-teething though. They may also start grabbing everything in their reach and pulling it to their mouths or constantly sucking on their fingers. A good clue is when they start to gnaw, not just suck, on things.

Food interest: they may see your table food and stare at it as if they want it and may bring their hands and arms out to reach for something.
Weight gain: doubling their birth weight is a plus in starting foods.

Prepare runny cereal. The first cereal feeding should be very runny or liquidly. Measure 1 tablespoon of cereal and mix it with 4 to 5 tablespoons of formula or breast milk. Never use cow's milk for small babies.

Let them be comfortable with it. Scoop a very small amount of cereal with a spoon and place it around their mouth & nose. Let them smell and lap the spoon with their tongues. You can also "shovel" or "scoop" up any dribble around the mouth and chin and place it back into the mouth. Make it interesting for them; distract them with the television or make sounds as you're feeding them.

Experiment proportions. When the baby accepts cereal, try to see if they'll accept their meal if you increase the cereal amount or decrease the formula/breast milk amount.
When they begin fruits and vegetables, you may scoop mashed bananas and add them to their cereal.

Stop when they stop. If the baby has no interest, seems full, or doesn't accept it, stop with the feeding. Discard any leftovers immediately.

hello everyone...

Spent the morning trying to sleep train my boy for his naps.. failed!! can the mummies out there who are following the book "Healthy Sleep habits, Happy Child", tell me how they succeeded? Ever since the teething episode about 2 weeks ago, his naps and sleep times are all haywired!

For the gathering
Am happy to open up my place for playdates, if the east mamas don't mind. But am afraid that weekends are out for me cos quite busy on sat and sundays. We can meet up for tea maybe on weekends?

As for the weekday playdate, would like to invite the east mummies as well as anyone esle who might want to join us for a play tea date on 27 Aug (Wednesday) at 3pm.

Calling East mamas
Wanna to gather for a playdate in the east?
So far, I know who's interested are:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7) scubababe
8)cloudme

Sputnik,

My son has ezcema. It was so bad that my PD referred me to dermatologist. He was given some wash and steroid cream to apply. I applied steroids on his body but didn't wanna put it on his face. I tried california Baby's Calendula cream. It's really good. Now my son's face is clear. The dermatologist advise me to introduce solid to my son after 6 months. He also suggest that I don't introduce the followings as far as possible. Eggs, cheese, Yogurt, Shelfish, nuts, berries. The PD and dermatologist advise to changed his formula to soy based formula milk. He had consipation initially as soy hardens the stool. PD told me to "cycle" his legs and do tummy massage. Now he poo everyday. Hope this is useful.

Please note that there is currently another promo for babycentre with 15% off for $150 order above.

It will be either the free US-to-US shipping discount or this one. But I will let you know if the overall will be cheaper later. Please note that there will not be any refund unless the items is OOS. Cos' for this spree the shipping is fixed price $1 for 1 pcs, $3 for 5-pcs bodysuit.

<font size="+1">Trying to order using Extra15% offer (BDL havent order and i dun know if they can make it before Monday ) </font>
babyliss
lefthander77
Qcx_amy
Mashimaro08
scubababe
PetrinaGoh
Javier's_mum(hoon)
gervynne
cutiebb
Verre
Sherin
ynby80
Sputnik
dolly23
Eilin
littleprincesses
Jasmine

<font size="+1">Ordered under the free Shipping coupon (BDL already order for you ) </font>
Angel
verre
Jolene
Superbaby's mum
Jaspire
Maddysmum
Lynn
raynsky

hi jgal,

did you receive my additional order and also if you have additional 1 more discovery ball ? Sorry for the trouble.

Re: Blank Flashcards

any mummies on GD program (or DIY flashcards) want to share 600 pieces of blank flashcards? I called Hiap Moh and the lady quoted me $53 for approx 600 pieces of cards.

Size of each card is 6" x 20" as per my measurement of the big word cards in my GD kit (but the book recommends 6" x 22"??)

Any mummies keen to split? I'm thinking of keeping 200 cards, so 400 cards will be available.. Let me know ya

wow...

long time never come in so many to read....

hmmmmm... u mummies beginning to start ur bb w cereal?
For those who does TBF, u can wait till bb is turning 6mths old. U can start introducing a wk b4 bb is 6mths old.
For start, plan cereal is gd enough... Make it more runny for bb to get use to it at the start. thicken the cereal when bb's eating habit is more established. Can try "Healthy Times" or Heinz.
As for the veg &amp; fruit, can wait.
Always intro one at a time to watch for any potential allergy. For instance, if u start "CARROT", feed bb for 2 wks to see if everything is ok. Then move on to another veg. U can start to combine when bb is older.

REMEMBR... avoid EGG, BERRIES &amp; NUTS. They are the no. 1 food tt can cause allergy to young children below 3 yrs old.

Sherin,
I heard fr Raynsky tt u mentioned the name on the chq is written wrongly. Any chance tt I can come by and pass u e $ personally? PLS PM ME coz sometimes I dun hv time to log on to the forum n chk.... Many thanks...

calamari, I can't make it for tmr's playgym as well. Think whole of august is a challenge for me as I need to clean my new place to prepare shifting in Sept and weekends is the only time I am available to clean the house.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Squirt Spoons</font>
Don't know why DHL so slow... spoons still in USA, they jus picked it up last night? Hmmmm.... 2 days to pick up shipment??? Most likely the loot will arrive next week then.

Steph: Thanks for opening yr place for the 1st playdate in the east! I shld be free on 27th if nothing comes up last minute

Calling East mamas
Wanna to gather for a playdate in the east?
So far, I know who's interested are:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7) scubababe
8)cloudme

Steph: When you put yr bb down for nap, does he appears over-tired or not tired at all?
If over-tired, then try to take the cue from him the next time and let him nap as soon as he appears tired. It took me sometime to learn my bb too
Also, experiment with the soothing method, for my bb, a bottle of milk always works
Just make sure he doesn't fall asleep while feeding.
If not tired, then try again later. When starting to nap train, it is easier to take cue from bb rather than go by the clock. Once bb is taking naps very regularly, then can try go by the clock.