(2008/04) April 2008

maddy mum
I totally understand how u feel, cos my bb just fell from his yesterday. My heart stopped when I saw him on the floor. But he didn't cry after I picked him up. But when I recall the scene, I just feel bad.

I think it happened cos he bent forward. Nowadays he likes to bend forward to look down at the floor.

Thanks mommies, your comments made me feel better. I will continue to observe her. But She seems to be alright. I am not sure also how she slides from her bouncer. Luckily this is low not like the FB bouncer. I might not buckle correctly too.

Like tsukushi, I also feel bad when I recall the scene....

Stretch:
Alien is the one who manage:
http://lgmat.blogspot.com right? if so, yes she will start BP on monday. But I'll just order from the blog.

**stress**.. took me 1.5hrs to add in order for batch 3.
*crazy*

stretch. the gals are ordering thru me.

<font color="0077aa">Re: breastfeeding

m still doing too.. though is partial but still deligently do it.. though is tiring but m presevering.. bring PIS to n from work, sometimes make me wanna go home striaght via cab..

Re: diapers &amp; wipes

i oso lost count on how much i use liaoz.. bascially, change diaper will sure use.. when poo oso use but if soo much will use water to wash...</font>

strawberries: me too.. i was carrying the bag to and fro from work until this wk.. cannot take it liao.. i leaving it in the office next wk and brng back during wkends
i feel bad that i cannot give my gal tbf but i really trying my best liao. :| she have 1-2 feed of FM each day because i dun have enuff.. :|

<font color="0077aa">Jgal, at first m depressed over it tat i cant TBF my boy too.. but being FTWM is not easy either.. like fer the past few daes m so busy tat i din expressed during at work.. it become so badly engorged n pain.. is tough though but muz presevere.. let's support one another!!</font>

Ya, really not easy to work and TBF. I literally have to tear off my clothes after running to the handicapped toilet cos of time constraint to express. So now have to wear clothes that are easy to take off and put on... haha..

Wonder if there will be any long term effects if we not eating sufficient nutritious food but still bfeeding, cos i thik the milk will extract the necessary nutrients from our body? Feel like i've aged a lot since i gave birth, now really become auntie.

Hey Jgal,

What a relief! Didn't mean to rush you but I was worried that you might not have gotten my PM. Stranger things have happened!

I'll just wait patiently now, no need to be kan cheong anymore.. hehe

Thanks again!

Good morning from me and my lil roof raiser in KL!

Ethan startles rather easily, so it's tough for him to sleep in any position other than on his tummy.
Nearly impossible for him to nap well in the bouncer, car seat or stroller.

Are any of your bubs the same way?

geryl: tgif...looking forward to enjoy our wkends with our bbs...

Re: east mummies outing...
can have it on wkends? cos me also FTWM...
really wish to meet up with east mummies...

Any of yr babies went to see PD and was diagnosed with sensitive skin? My in laws brought my gal to PD yesterday cos she was bitten quite badly by bed bugs while at their house. PD then said she got sensitive skin, and gave them a whole list of things I can't eat cos i bfeeding! Includes no seafood except fish, peanuts, milk pdts (no annum??), preserved food (ham??). Actually my bb looks ok to me, dunno really got sensitive skin or not also. Any advice?

Hey Simp,

KL is just a short stint for us and since the hubby works at KLCC, WM is fairly convenient. Though KL traffic finds a way to be ridiculous at any time of the day!

Hubby has said that if KL turns out to be a permanent posting, we will look into Bangsar or Ampang. Hubby's korean so close proximity to Korea Town is ideal

Have you thought of hiring a part-time maid? Before we came here last week, hubby had a maid who came in every week to clean. Very affordable rates and she's a fast, efficient worker. She's Filipino, nice girl. Let me know if you're keen, I'll give you her contact.

Sputnik,

I think that just about anybody would have a reaction if bitten by bed bugs. I itched all over when it happened to me. So it may not be that your girl has sensitive skin after all. Is the PD that your girl saw, your regular doctor?

I'd suggest seeing another PD for a 2nd opinion. I know it's tough to have to abstain from so many foods suddenly, so it might do good to seek a 2nd opinion before deciding.

Let us know how it goes

RE: TAKA BABY FAIR...

anyone went to the fair yet?

i went on wednesday during lunch time...wanted to get some stuff...but when see the Q so long...put all things back. saw the Tiny Love DVD set...wanted very much to buy. went over to the toy side...saw the I'M TOY...toy made of Wood. wanted to get for my kids.

maybe this weekend or next week will go again!

poupinette - Not really our regular doctor, my bb only seen hin twice so far, including yesterday's visit. But he is quite well known... dr ong eng keow..Just wondering if PD's diagnosis is correct, or as long as they see any baby with skin slightly red, will diagnose with sensitive skin and give expensive bath and moisturiser to apply. Just when i thot bfeeding cannot get any more difficult, now hv to abstein from so many types of food.... sigh... seems like one obstacle after another...

Sputnik: I also saw Dr. Ong EK for my son's 1st jab. Nevermind that he's more expensive but our experiences were he seems always in a hurry to rush you off due to many patients referred to him for newborns and lack personal touch which we felt is important as a PD. Since then, I later changed to another PD nearer to my house
Why not you get a 2nd opinion if you feel it's really tough?

me still tbf my boy... reaching the 6mth mark already.
another 14days to go.
hope to go on till he weans off on his own.
kampatah for all the bfing mummies.

Sputnik - from what I know there is blood investigation available to determine what yr child is allergic to esp food. But don't think it's necessary to put yr child thru it unless symptoms are really bad. Think the dr just want to be safe so ask u to avoid those food that has potential for allergy. Don't be disheartened, try n see if baby gets better without those food. Hv u tried sebamed , cetaphil or vit e? Cheer up

earth_baby - when i went to him for the 1st time, after we step into his office, he was standing and started giving us advice abt this and that even before we hv a chance to tell him why we there and hv not even examine my gal yet, and me, my hubby and him were standing around cos he did not seem to want to sit down, so me and hubby also stand!

RE: TAKA BABY FAIR...

i usually spawn such fairs due to overcrowd but this morning really tempted by the Evenflo Excersaucer at $199 when I saw the ad, so may be going today to buy it!

emma rae - heeh my girl's face quite' expressionless' at times. No she can't flip yet... Can't comment if it's easy for baby to move ard but quite sure it's not slippery so baby won't ' slip' when learning to crawl

littleprincess - hv been using sebamed/gaia since my gal was born... and i know those are recommended for sensitive skin. She was ok all along until she went to my in laws place to stay after i started working last week. That's why i dunno if really sensitive skin or not lor... cos she ok all along when she was at my house.

Good Morning, Mummies! Its Friday...Yeah!!!

Re: Breastfeeding
Me still TBF my boy...however, my supply seems not going to fulfill his demand soon

Am pondering whether to let him start solid food before he reaches 6 months old...
When you mummies intend to let your darlings start with solid?

Re: Wipes &amp; Diapers
Didn't keep track... When he pees, will use wipes. When poos, will use wipes and bring to wash wash...So lost count

hey mummies....

have u all started ur bb on semi-solids? i tried giving my ger brown rice porridge, she spit it out n then i gave her mash potatoes she onli lick abit...hee hee hee...

she is dwn wif flu again...thick mucus wonder if she can still take her jab tomolo...

hi stefylim,
how old is your gal liao? now, me is considering whether to start my boy with semi-solid b4 his 6 mths mark ...

maybe u want to call up the clinic to check with the nurses whether she can still go ahead with the jab??

Good morning mummies !!

Sputnik: Xavier also have sensitive skin and eczema. As I am still TBF. Till now I avoided raw food, seafood (take in minimal), dairy products like cheese and cow's milk (minimal intake) and peanuts. Cabbage and brocoli (prevent colic)

He has to bathe in Cetaphil and after that apply cetaphil moisturising cream. So far his skin has got better.

Mumood: Me too. Supply cannot seem to meet his demand. If I am bottle feeding at home, I will mix with frozen EBM.
PD advises to start weaning only at 6 months due to allergies reason.

Calling East mamas
Wanna to gather for a playdate in the east?
So far, I know who's interested are:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie

Hee.. the group is getting bigger !!

mumood...my ger is 4mths now...my mother is eager to let her try leh...ha ha ha...

geryl...okies will keep her off till she is 6mths nw i still TBF so far at least SS is good n i have lots of frozen EBM in the fridge....

re: semi solids

its best not to start bb on semi solids till they are at least 6mths as their stomach are not ready yet. can remember what part it is. but pd says that if bb is teething, shows a marked decrease in milk intake but yet is constantly hungry can consider semi solids but try to wait till 6mths before intro semi solids.
hope this helps

me bb is now 5 1/2 mths so will start in 2 to 3 weeks time. will keep all updated on how it goes.

Luann &amp; Mummod...

if stay when baby is not ready then u might have chock baby...so better not take the risk.
but u can still try at 4 mths or 5 mths...
Best is 6 mths cos baby is really ready...i did not feed my #1 semi-solid till he is 6mths plus.

sputnik
bed bugs???? good grief my immediate concern would be to disinfest the place, not change your diet! what are your ILs going to do, change all mattresses? better put all bb's clothes and bedsheets through boiling water and vinegar too.

my boy has eczema and sensitive skin. PD did not say i have to change my diet, but advise us to be conservative with his diet (HA FM if need be, no solids too early). the banned items in ur diet list are foods prone to cause allergies in babies. personally, to ask u to abstain from these foods is a little over-conservative. do u or hb hv history of food or skin allergies?

regarding the skin care from PD, well, no harm following his advise and use safer skincare products, n when situation stabilizes, go back to your normal range. did u see his skin immediately after the bed bug bites, or after he has had some treatment from PD?

I agree with Geryl that 6 months is probably the right age to start. I know that a good number of parents let their bubs try semi-solids from 4 months, so it's really all up to individual.

I doubt anything bad will happen unless you shove the food down their mouths and eliminate milk completely, which obviously none of us will do!

And anyway, we shouldn't be in any hurry to start them on solids, the time will come. The general guideline on infant cereals is also 6 months, I figure there must be a reason for it.

Perhaps their immature digestive systems should be reason enough to wait a while longer

I'm equally excited to start feeding my roof raiser solids. But since I don't need to buy any cereals yet, this shopaholic momma will just have to get the feeding accessories first

<font color="0000ff">REMINDER

<u>Mini PlayGym Playdate</u>

Date: <font color="ff0000">Sat, 16th Aug</font>
Time: <font color="ff0000">2pm; TRY TO BE PUNCTUAL OK? We will start at 2.30pm sharp</font>
Venue: <font color="ff0000">The Mayfair, Jurong East</font> (near Chi Gdn MRT)
(http://www.streetdirectory.com/asia_travel/travel/travel_id_5574/travel_site_111666/)

1. Sherin n Summer n hb
2. Simp n Shevon n hb (?)
3. calamari n Kayla n hb
4. Angel n Dana n hb
5. JuniorRain n Eshin
6. Jaspire n Kayla
7. Koori n Kaylen n sister
8. Jgal n Constance
9. Veronica n Ernest
10. Chewy n Elliot n hb
11. yo n Nicodemus
12. Babyliss n Owen
13. ABCmum n Reina
14. tsukushi n Ian n hb
15. puffish n bb

Thing to bring: mat, towel

CDs i/c: Sherin
Food i/c: angel, scubababe (?)
CD player i/c: babyliss
Drinks i/c: calamari

Poupinette - My baby can barely sleep anywhere unless on our arms... anywhere else he'll wake up in 20 mins max... but if he's really really drowsy... can get him to sleep on his swing for abt an hour odd...

Sputnik - my son also got quite sensitive skin but think coz he follow me... when he puts his hand into his mouth and rub his cheeks will turn very red and after a while the spot will turn rough... then the other day he kena red spots on his foot... think ... it looked like insect bites and gave us quite a scare... rushed to the doctor who said it was viral?? but I got the same spots when I went to touch the curtains so think he is sensitive to dust - like me and it went off after a day of rubbing the california baby cream on it (didn't need to use the doc's cream).
Wow...that seems like quite a lot of things you can't eat. Did your baby get these bites b4 when you eat those food he mentioned?

littleprincesses - Am considering getting the mat coz my son was trying to wriggle his way out of his playgym and almost slammed his head into the floor this morning... your babe also looks pretty comfortable on it...

Does anyone have the 15 or 18mm playmat? Does your baby have any difficulty crawling on that thickness?

east mums...i am interested...

Calling East mamas (who organising huh?)
Wanna to gather for a playdate in the east?
So far, I know who's interested are:

1)Steph
2)Jamie
3)earth bb
4)lovemum
5)tratties
6)Prawnie
7)cloudme(FTWM)

Hee.. the group is getting bigger !!