(2008/04) April 2008

hi beans,
my boy is exactly the same, will wake up at least 2 time a night! really tired at work, need to drink chicken essence to perk me up!

earth_baby,
is the book good? where u get it from?

Hi Veron

Re: baby cubes
will transfer the fund tonight.
Collection point: Will keep u posted once I confirm whether can meet up with Raynsky.

Raynsky: where r u staying? seem to read somewhere in the thread that u r staying in Bt Panjang? Is it convenient to collect on weekends cos I normally go to my mum's place in CCK?

Hi Lynn
Re: Pumping at work
Personally i think its best to store as much EBM as possible while u can. For me, I can afford to pump only once at work, so supply really dip although i latch on in the evening & at night.

Beans: your son is 16 weeks rite? So is about same age as mine. It depends why your son wakes up, is he hungry?
If he is, then you have no choice but to feed him. Babies this age stil needs 5 feeds a day. If he has more than 5 feeds, perhaps you need to increase his milk volume so that his feed can last longer.
If you think he is not hungry but just wakes up fussing, then you should not feed him coz it will only make it a habit for him to wake up for feeding. Try to soothe him back to sleep. Also, if babies don't nap well in the day, they tend to wake up at night too. Check that he is sleeping enough in the day (i.e at least 3 hours)

Koori,
Voted!

Angel,
Yes submit Dana' pic this week for next week contest. I am so excited. Can submit next week for week 3 contest.

Junior Rain & Yo,
Congrats to Eshin & Yo who won last week' pic! Coolz. Let's cheer one another on for our mummies' bb!

<font color="0000ff">Re: BB Photo Contest
Let's take turns to submit our bb pic and vote for them. Hopefully they get to win! It's so happy to learn that our bb can get a chance to win too Link: http://www.mumcentre.com</font>

jul 21-27 - Jenny -Done
jul 28 - aug 3 - Prawnie+ JuniorRain + Puffish + Violet + yo -Done - <font color="ff0000">Congrats to JrRain &amp; Yo</font>
aug 4 - 10 - koori http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_rsgallery2&amp;catid=1854&amp;page=vote&amp;picid=9317
aug 11 - 17 - angel
aug 18 - 24 - simp
aug 25 - 31 - calamari
sep 1 - 7 - jaspire
sep 8- 14 - stefylim
sep 15- 21 -luvlybb
sep 22 - 28 - jo
sep 29 - oct 5 - strawberries
oct 6 -oct 12 - cherishbebe

Simp: can add me in for the slot after oct 12? i wanna let my bb take part thanks

joelle, wont yr baby be hungry if u stretch the time? my son will scream the house down if he's not fed. Will try to increase his qty &amp; also time, hopefully can prolong it. Hope my babysitter 'cooperates' too. Sometimes it's hard to tell the babysitter to follow instructions.
btw, anyone has the book "Babywise"?...heard its quite helpful too?

Joelle: It was not easy for me to do CLB! You should have seen mpanda face when my son was younger
But I didn't give up and thankfully my efforts paid off. Maybe at that time you tried, your baby still too young. You can try again, I believe when babies are older, they adapt better (not compared to other babies but to themselves when they are younger).

Maro: Yes, I followed the advice in the book and it worked for my son, but it was not easy.
My hubby got the book for me, I think you can buy it from Borders. The author is Dr. Marc Weissbluth.

Re: BB Photo Contest
Let's take turns to submit our bb pic and vote for them. Hopefully they get to win! It's so happy to learn that our bb can get a chance to win too
Link: http://www.mumcentre.com
Mummies,, do rem to use this format and add on ur link for us to vote for u k

jul 21-27 - Jenny -Done
jul 28 - aug 3 - Prawnie+ JuniorRain + Puffish + Violet + yo -Done - <font color="ff0000">Congrats to JrRain &amp; Yo </font>
aug 4 - 10 - koori http://www.mumcentre.com/index.php?option=com_rsgallery2&amp;catid=1854&amp;page=vote&amp;picid=9317
aug 11 - 17 - angel
aug 18 - 24 - simp
aug 25 - 31 - calamari
sep 1 - 7 - jaspire
sep 8- 14 - stefylim
sep 15- 21 -luvlybb
sep 22 - 28 - jo
sep 29 - oct 5 - strawberries
oct 6 -oct 12 - cherishbebe
Oct 13-19 - cheesycake

Mummies, please feel free to add on the list and we will cheer u on with the link.

Good luck Babes!

earth_baby...my son can finish his 2am / 4am feeds, about 130ml. At the babysitter, he will sleep after every feed. Funny thou, with us on the weekends, he will only naps once. But the nite feeds will still be the same. Tried to soothe him with water, pacifier, songs, etc, but not successful. So i gave up 3wks back.
Terrible mummy!

Beans: Don't say that lah. I think you are gd mummy otherwise, you won't even bother to ask this question
I can think of 2 things you can try,
1.try to let him nap more in the day instead of keeping him awake. Understand if you are working then weekends becomes precious bonding time, right? But as mummy, sometimes we need to do what is best for our baby, not for us.
2. I think you can skip the 4am feed if you already fed him at 2am coz at this age, they do not need 2hourly feed anymore. Try to feed him slightly more than 130ml at 2am and see if he still wakes up at 4am.

<font color="aa00aa">Hi,

My friend’s colleague is also selling socks but Jazzytoes brand only… she mentioned if can hit 50 boxes can get 5% discount but collection point – raffles place and tanjong pagar only. If want to go by post, must add in $1.50 for 1st box and subsequent boxes @ $1.00 per additional box if registered mail another $2.25.

For standard design - $32 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $34 per box (12-24 mths)
For variety design - $34 per box (0-12mths) &amp; $36 per box (12-24mths)

check out www.jazzytoes.com for the designs

If u all want I can help to co-odinate…but must COD...</font>

earthbaby: can i borrow the book from u? usually my gal will sleep from 9.30pm - 5am. her last feed is at 9.30pm. i will wake her up at 2.30am to feed her as she drink very little before she goes to sleep. if she nap very little during the day she will sleep thru out the night without waking for milk. she rather go hungry then waking up. i know coz when i feed her at 2.30am, usually she will finish...

earth_baby,
thanks, will try to look for that book. really dont wan to look like a panda!

my boy's night feed only 60-80ml, slightly less from his usual 100ml at daytime. have tried to feed him more at night but he does NOT want so end up have to wake up at least 2 to 3 times daily. haiz!

Re: drinking milk
Over the weekend when i latch my baby to let her drink milk i realised she pattern pattern lei... when she is really hungry she will drink furiously sometime even tug n pull my nipples *ouches* but hor other times when she is not too hungry she will play, dun want to drink even pinch her lips together n dun 1 2 take in the nipple... hmm, got 2 concerns here... 1 is i dunno if she is drinking enough coz its like she drink so fast for the first 5-8mins on one side. Then later when i switch sides she not interested liao. I did self examine the side she drank from not really empty lei... The second concern is that she seems to prefer the side that has more milk... already i feel loopsided whenever i look in the mirror liao and now she got preference

beans
currently, my son seldom finishes 5oz. always stops at 3.5oz, sometimes 4oz, every 3 hourly. i'm thinking his appetite has decreased. so if i stretch to 3.5 hours, i think he won't be too hungry n hopefully will drink more per feed. actually i'm not too bothered by his drinking frequency, it is the drop in qty that bothers me, no idea why it has dropped from 5 to 3.5oz. ur right about caretaker being on same page as u, will hv to talk to my MIL.

My maid even more garang. she said "since baby drink 3 oz regardless of 2 or 3 hour interval, why don't we feed every 2 hourly so he can drink a lot?" LOL i tell her if we feed every 2 hour we don't need to do any other work liao, just feeding after feeding after feeding.

earthbb
i hv the impression that when babies are introduced to new stuff earlier they adapt better LOL because now my boy has more preferences, "temper" and more stubborn too. when he was an infant i could identify the "hungry cry" - now all his sounds sound the same :p the next step for me would be to reduce frequency and increase qty. maybe i sh start to stretch the time between feeds n see if he will drink more per feed.

earth_baby: ur PM not activated? i cant send u
i will collect from u maybe next sat can? as i stay at west area and will be going back to my mum's place only next sat...

earthbb
i think my boy sleeps too much in the day. the 7.30 - 10.30 pm CLB routine does not work for him. he drinks at 7.30pm, but sometimes can't sleep. then will play till about 8.30pm. then finally tire out and KO. last feed at 1030pm goes as per CLB. actually my hb prefers him awake 8-9pm, because that is when he can bond with baby (after work &amp; dinner).

Joelle/Earth bb, my boy schedule:

6am - 1st feed, sleep from 6.30am to 8.30am
9am - 2nd feed, sleep from 10am to 12pm
12pm - 3rd feed, sleep from 1pm to 3pm
3pm - 4th feed, sleep from 4pm to 6.30/7pm
6.30/7pm - last feed, sleep from 8pm till next morning.

Normal?

ABC mum : I only have Parklon mat so can't comment, but 12mm is thick enough and good for bb to rest on

ABC mum : so u want to collect from Bukit Panjang from raynsky?

baby_chevelle: sorry you can email me at [email protected]. Next Sat shld be fine.

Joelle:
Your hubby wants to bond with him, that's understandable, then it's up to you which is more important. My son also did not want to sleep in the past, especially when a baby is overtired already, it is more tough to make him sleep. For me, I was quite strict with his sleep training until my MIL complained that she cannot play with him
But somehow I felt it was worth it coz now my son automatically goes to sleep by himself without me trying. I just leave him in his cot at 6pm-630pm and within 10 mins, KO! And we know unless he is disturbed by noise or not feeling well, he doesn't make a sound until 6am.

hi mummies going for the playgym, anyone stays in cck / bukit panjang area can help me to collect the exploration station? will meet you at your void deck for collection.

veron
have transferred $12. please check. ref 1828639422

jgal
have top up $44.25. please check. ref 1828641966 will let you know of collection mode at later timing can. thanks

lol come to think of it it's the hubbies / MIL that mess up sleep structures huh. i recall when i was trying to do CLB, my PIL &amp; husband keep complaining how come sleep so early cannot play when they visit in evenings.

wow...i better start "training' my boy to sleep on his own too. Now he likes to be rock or cuddles to sleep. And also "train" my hubby too!
Though i'm so tired, but the +ve side is tat i manage to lose all my pre-preggie weight! hahaa, but my appetite has suddenly increase this few weeks &amp; eating more than usual!

hahaha..guess breastfeeding increases our appetite. Today i think my menses finally came..sigh...think my ss also reduced.

be@ns
ya me oso eat alot recently, especially dinner. Last time when pregnant dinner me eat very little oni, wow nw eat alot. Me 2 hv craving like ice-cream..............