(2008/04) April 2008

ib messages ? dun need to apply, if you future dated transaction, it will pop into your ib msgbox. If you do immed transaction, there wil not be any message.

blocked nose

mummies, how do u clean your BB's nose? These few weeks i have been clean my bb nose with cotton bud and always got 1 lump of big nose shit that caused him to have blocked nose. any solution to clear blocked nose?

puffish:
my boy has blocked nse too. seen PD and given nasal drop and phlegm syrul. after med finish, his nose still make funny phlegmy noise, doc say he could have sensitive nose like his dad...just leave it wor.

hmm..i tried using nose sucker too, but no matter how hard i tried to suck, nothing come out.. PD also gave me the nasal drop, but only temp solve the prob, very fast block again..

Puffish,
Usually we let bb cry like 1 to 2 min before bathing and when she sneeze, the muscous will come out by itself. ver big piece i must say. When she was a few days old, she breathes so heavily and sound so poor things but when we tried the nose sucker, she cried even louder. So we let her help herself.

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>NICK </TD><TD>Learning System</TD><TD>Pooh book</TD><TD>Rainbow Fish</TD><TD>Dora</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>1,2</TD><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Self </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Stefylim</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid $59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid. $44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Puffish</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>cyl_16</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Sputnik</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Koori</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Esther Zhang</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$30.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Serena</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Burpy babe</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$44.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Porkie</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Swirl</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>BabyBliss</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Cutiebb</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>XiaoZhu</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid. $44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Cherish</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Bmbm</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Ting</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Prawnie</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>BeBe</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Christine</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>ABCmum</TD><TD>LS-Pink </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>-- </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Beh Jolene</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Scubababe</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid. </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Geryl</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>--- </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Lynn</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid. $10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Raynsky</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>yo</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Angel</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/order</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>Voilet</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Trattie</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Pending. </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Cass</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>jellyfield</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Yvonne</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

My acct no. is DBS saving plus 001-1-053838

Books queue

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Pooh Loves You!</font>
ORDERED (9) STEFYLIM,Burpy Babe,Cutiebb,Strawberries,Strawberries,Xiaozhu,Cherish,Esther Zhang,Puffish
ORDERED (9) Koori,swirl,Christine,Serena,Geryl,Jolene,Sputink,Raynsky,bebe
ORDERED (9) Porkie,angel, joelle,angel,yo,scubabe, prawnie,violet,Trattie
ORDERED(9) Cass,jo,jellyfish,yvonne--------------------- 7 available ----------------

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Rainbow Fish!</font>
ORDERED (9) Strawberries,Strawberries,Jgal,Esther Zhang,Kea,Chewy,Puffish,Koori,swirl
ORDERED (9) cutiebb,Christine,STEFYLIM,Serena,Geryl,Jolene,Sputink,Raynsky,bebe
ORDERED (9) Porkie, yo, angel, joelle, Scubabe, Prawnie, violet, Trattie, Cass
1. jo
2.jellyfish
3.yvonne

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Dora the Explorer A Gift from Big Sister Dora</font>
ORDERED (9) Prawine,Lynn,Jgal,Geryl,Esther Zhang,Koori,yo,chewy,puffish
1 violet
2 Trattie
3.Cass
4.jellyfish
5.yvonne

<font color="0000ff">deposit $30 for LS</font>
ABCmum

<font color="0000ff">deposit $29 for additional 1 books</font>
Jo

<font color="0000ff">deposit $14.50 for additional 1 books</font>
Prawnie

<font color="0000ff">deposit $59 for LS + 3 books</font>
Trattie
jellyfield
yvonne

simp, i replied to your WTB nuk teat thread, let me know if you want. I can give u mine, didnt use at all, as i'm using avent teats. =)

Koori: How to remove the mucus? Sometimes I see it liao, he suck it back in when he breathe. Can onli remove the dried up ones, even then, he'll cry so hard whenever i touch his nose.

simp, yup, mine is NUK Latex Vented Teat 0-6 months, medium hole (pink box). Err, i duno how much is this... Where do u live? or i mail it to you?

Tsukushi,
M so tempted to get 1 more. Very pretty sling. I like the video, really help me to understand how to maneuver bb better in my pouch. Now thinking whether to sell the pouch and get sling. Hmm i buy so many things, pikkolo carrier, pouch and now this faints

tsukushi, how much is the sling actually after converting to sgd? if not too ex, would like to get one too. my hb just bought a Maclaren stroller which cost $400 after discount. so ex! but this stroller very stable and gd i must say. =)

Simp
hehe.. i too lazy to carry baby, now thinking of getting a second lighter stroller to push baby around.. 1 is never enuf @_@

joelle
i got the Maclaren Techno XT. It's rather heavy, but it's very stable and easy to wheel. Alot of my friends are using this, all sweared that it's very gd and last them for 2yrs++, till baby is big enough and cant fit in. Got it at the harbourfront mothercare when they are having 20% disc. if not this cost $500++, heart pain but not my $$. haha!

Tsukushi,
If the sling is not too exp, can consider. My pouch also exp like 100 bucks. I think sling got more room for bb and easier to adjust for parents. MIM slings r cheap and nice also.

i'm thinking whether to get MIM sling or not too, cost $40++ from kiddy palace, plus now got 20% disc. if i'm going out alone, the stroller + baby + diaper bag, the weight will kill me!!

puffish
that price for a 2008 maclaren xt is a very good deal. it was top of my wishlist when i was looking for stroller, but settled for a capella instead. how i regret! now heart still itchy for a maclaren. the capella is big n stable but heavy and difficult to carry. xt may be heavy but is designed to be easy to carry with the strap.

now i m itching for a lighter stroller. r u familiar with Maclaren Quest? which wld u get, a Quest or a combi? do u think the front barrier bar is impt? Maclaren strollers do not have the barrier bar.

joelle

Quest - lightweight and baby seat area are more narrow, the tilt degree on baby seat is lesser, for 3mths baby onward.

XT - abit heavier than quest, the seat are more wider, spacious, tilt degree can go much lower than quest, suitable for newborn.

Other than that, all functions are similar. maclaren doesn't come with barrier bar, but it has safety belts which i feel is gd enough. =)

When my bb was ard 3 weeks old, she had block nose which I think was infected by me. My CL suggested I suck out for her with my mouth and I did just that! Disgusting but effective! Chunks of muscus came out! Not sure anything goes into my mouth though, didn't taste anything but saw mucus on her upper lips after my effort. Haiz.. anything for my gal...

lynn - remember u told me that u use avent cups to store EBM in the fridge? Do u know if they are airtight or can be microwaved? Read from somewhere that these cups are meant to be disposable cups for EBM storage. Some people said that the caps are difficult to screw on and the cups tend to warp after sterilising a few times. Did u experience this?

Puffish,
If i am out alone, either carrier or sling, easier on us unless the stroller is light then ok.

Thanks for teats

Esther,
Initially when my mum told me to suck out the mucus, i was quite disgusted. Then again i think, bb r very clean. They drink our milk so mucus also ok hee

sputnik, it says that to dispose after seeing wear. so far it's ok, no warpping for me. need to be careful when screwing it on to make sure the screw threads fit. if not might leak. otherwise if screwed on properly won't leak lor..

but i'm only using the 160ml one, haven't used the bigger ones so dunno if those would have problems.

Prawnie- top up the difference, transfer yesterday after 9pm $13.60 (forget the reference #) today another $3.20 ref 1762886310. please update list. to paid and pick up at city hall

Hi Puffish

Re : removing mucus

can try using cotton ball or any cotton wool, wet it &amp; then pull abit out of the ball &amp; roll it &amp; make into strands .. i felt is safer then cotton buds...&amp; is easy to remove mucus...

simp/puffish,

Want to order together and split up the shipping cost?

Conversion rate is around 1.4-1.42, I think. I checked out the local prices before and the cheapest is well over $100, so it makes sense to me to buy direct from usa.

Btw, Zolowear carries a solarveil range as well. It's supposed to have UV protection.

Normal cotton slings range from USD$59-89, solarveil is $69. The very pretty silk range is most expensive among all. Can check the website for the designs and prices.

I cannot manage with a stroller when I go out alone. Must use either a wrap or a sling. For easy popping in and out, I will use a sling. I keep 1 for home use because my baby likes to be carried around the house too. It saves my sanity. I have a MIM sling now and feel like getting/trying another one. So that I can rotate and wash.

And even when I go out with hb, sometimes I'll use a wrap/sling because it's hard to push a stroller around in a crowded place.

GD program--

what is the diff btw GD flash card and those selling at popular?(number flash card, english flash card)??

where can i know more abt GD program? really want to flash card to my bb, but i don know anything leh..

frozen EBM--

aiyo, i think have to throw away frozen milk, coz heard that those frozen one will lost some nutrients during freezing, now i only give my bb drink EBM 2 days ago or fresh one..heard that frash milk can sore in the fridge for 7 dayz, but usually i will clear it by 2 days..

strawberries,

Sometimes mine will fuss for a while when I put him in, but after a short while he'll fall asleep. I have tried cradle and upright positions. Most babies like to be snugged and held close to our bodies. Maybe you try a few more times? Some people take some tries to get slings to work. Even now, I still need to use a hand to support baby cos his neck is not strong enough. I'm still a newbie.

Strawberries - me too. my girl fusses when I tried to put her in the sling. She does not like her vision to be obstructed. When we bring her out, she likes to be carried in the upright position... she likes to look around. Think she is very curious about the surrounding.

But must try to let her get used to the sling.. else buy the sling never use, waste money leh.

Piggy mummy - fresh ebm stored in the fridge can only be stored for 48 hours. Any longer period will have to be stored in the freezer...

Re: Nose Drop

my baby is having blocked nose too.. think she genna infected by her daddy... How should I administer the nose drop on her? will babies cry very loudly when we administer the nose drop on them?

Re: sucking out mucus

How do you guys suck the mucus out? Will the babies kick up a big fuss? I remember my grandma doing that to my cousins too last time when they were very young... hehe...

<font color="119911">hi mommies, how long can a warmed up EBM last in room temp b4 BM quality deteroriate? Take for eg, I usually warmed up the EBM (took ard 10min in food warmer) for my boy 3hrly feed. Then, he slp thru at times (last 30min- 1hr) n I din want to wake him up too so I left it in the warmer till he woke up. Isit ok? pls advise... tqs</font>

Leapfrog 1st batch spreeist :some good news to let know.
the first batch of LS purchase incurred <$180 in shipping. That's is to say. the total cost of the LS purchase is <$43 each.

strawberries
my #1 also dont like to be put in the sling tats y i sold my MIM sling away. rather she likes the carrier type coz she can see more things. same for my #2.

Burpy_babe &amp; Jamie,
Sling
Initially i thgt my ger also dun like sling/pouch as she likes to have her limbs and hands free to move. When i use cradle position, she looks as if she is so uncomfortable and xin ku and would cry to get out. Then i think i am not gd also in using the pouch. Now she is bigger coming to 3 mths this coming fri, i tried again on her using hip carry with her legs out, hands out at times, only make sure the sling/pouch cloth tucked in below their buttock then feel secure. Maybe give it another go when they r approaching 3 mth and use hip carry. Now she enjoy the view of the world and can sleep in it when i walk ard or take her to Giant supermkt kekeke. I agree waste $ if never use the sling, heartpain. So keep until the bb is 6 mths old then sell also ok if bb realli cannt stay inside the sling. Now i am contemplating whether to get an additional MIM sling in cotton or silk material.

Ladies, maybe u can see the video from zolo website that Tsukushi recommend. Personally i find them very comprehensive and very good, boost my confidence on using the pouch as i try on my ger esp the putting and taking her out now seems better after each practice. The videos are in fact better than the dvd of the pouch i bgt from maternalove.

Tsukushi,
Hmm i calculated the cost of the sling from zolo on the design i like, using 1.42. Think before shipping already costing $120, so i think a bit too pricey for my budget since i am getting a spare piece. I must agree the designs are really nice. If i have not bgt my pouch, i would have joined u to get this one. I find sling more versatile for mummies to use than pouch, as it is roomy and can adjust better. Pouch i think daddies would like compared to sling.Pls go ahead. Think u can do a BP for this in the thread and share the shipping cost. Think preggy mummies that have yet to deliver or just delivered may be keen to get it if they havnt buy.

simp
infact i kept my MIM sling for 1year before selling away leh. my girl just doesnt like lor. actually i was tempted to try the pikkolo sling but i dare nt buy, incase my boy also doesnt like. will use the carrier instead.

burpy_babe,

Did you sling your baby in an upright position? They can see the world easily and you will be hands free.

Hmm Jamie,
Haiz ya i can understand, all bb are diff and want diff things. Which carrier r u using now that ur children like

Simp,
i am v tempted to buy the sling from maternalove. are they easy to use? i find the excess cloth from MIM very le-cheh (troublesome) plus the ring is tough to adjust too.

i must agree that my bb also don like to be carried in cradle position in the sling initially. he will yell his heart out cos he cant see the outside world.

now i did the same as you... legs out and facing towards me , he will like it and can sleep while i shop.. for a short while. but i think that is good enuf an improvement for me.