(2008/04) April 2008

I have 1 can of opened Similac Infant Formula stage 1 (age 0-6mo). I am willing to give it away for free as I have enough BM now. Please e-mail me if you are interested. Pick up only at CCK. Thanks.

e-mail: [email protected]

Bebe - I would say hot water is good enough. I had bought the avent food warmer. But have yet to use it. My EBM are stored and forzen in milk bags. Sometimes, the frozen EBM have not fully defrost yet so I would use hot water to thaw it and heat up at the same time. Hence, have not used the food warmer yet.. so not able to really answer your question. Was telling hubby that we had bought the warmer too early. But will use the warmer to heat up puree next time. hehe

Bebe...i use the pigeon food warmer at home...takes abt 17mins to warm up cold ebm to 40degrees or abt 10mins if the ebm is rm temp

Thanks Lynn & littleprincesses on the FTG feedback.

Lynn,
your previous insulated bags is it also belong to Avent?

littleprincesses,
wow, can keep frozen milk remain in frozen, that great

but how u warm the milk when you outdoor?
kao_confused.gif

bebe,
for milk warmer, me using morris but find it quite slow cause need to wait for water to warm up...so i end up using boiled hot water mixed with some cool water to warm the milk which i find is faster...

re bumper mats

The SSW BP has started. Anyone going to get from SSW or Alien? I don't know what's the difference between the mats they are selling but one is cheaper than the other.

jellyfish, yvonne.. i will update your order into the spree.

mumood : I went back to work for 1 mth already. Everyday, i got to lug my PIS to the office. abit mafan.

re : store milk in the office.
i have the FTG but i didnt use cos' it does not fit into the pis bag. I just use the medela cooler, didnt put in the fridge also.So far so good. Baby never complain or get sick. I suppose that means the milk are of okay condition. But i always let the baby drink the milk the next day, I dun put into milk bag for freezing. I only freeze milk that i pump at home when everything is cleaner.
Cos' i think put into the ziplog. Ziplog also may contamine the parts, worst also cannot sterlize ziplog.

re : Sterlize in the office.
I just use hot drink water to wash the parts after use. I didnt want to microwave because the microwave not very clean. Dun think my colleagues really clean it.

Let's do a poll.. how long are you going to keep breastfeeding:-
1. Until ML ends
2. 3-6 mth
3. 6-12 mth
4. > 1 yr.
5. Wait and see

<table border=1><tr><td> Nick </TD><TD> 1</TD><TD> 2</TD><TD> 3</TD><TD> 4</TD><TD> 5</TD><TD> Remarks </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jgal</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>Planing for no.2.
</TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD>In fact its as long as I can ..heeheehee </TD></TR><TR><TD>yo</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD> at least 2 yrs. I was on tbf for my #1 for 20mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> gg back to work after 5mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>babybliss</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>if can hit at 2 that'll b great ^^ </TD></TR><TR><TD>bebe</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>as long as i can </TD></TR><TR><TD>prawnie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> If still got milk after half a year or so wun mind bf longer. </TD></TR><TR><TD>burpy babe</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> targetting to bf at least 6 months... </TD></TR><TR><TD>cherish</TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jaspire:</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>dun mind longer too! </TD></TR><TR><TD>mushloom</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD>as long as i can </TD></TR><TR><TD>esther:</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>at least 6mths but love to aim for 2yrs! </TD></TR><TR><TD>simp</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD>Either 6-8mth / 2-3yrs depending on family planning </TD></TR><TR><TD>stefylim</TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> hopefully 6mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD>*cross fingers* hopefully and even longer </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joellez</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> minimum 6 months </TD></TR><TR><TD>Porkie</TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> hopefully 6 months </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yudiana</TD><TD></TD><TD>x</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> hope can reach 6 mo </td></tr></table>

<font color="0077aa">mummies got a silly question to ask.. how to do internet transfer?? cuz sometimes i cant go out and when joining BP is so difficult fer me to go to atm as i do not have a near one near me..</font>

<font color="0077aa">Let's do a poll.. how long are you going to keep breastfeeding:-
1. Until ML ends
2. 3-6 mth
3. 6-12 mth
4. > 1 yr.
5. Wait and see

i choose no. 5 (as long as i still have supply and will give as EBM
)</font>

strawberries : are you using dbs/posb ? if yes, here's the steps.
1) setup payee.
- click on the sidebar that say fund transfer
- Click Add a payee, can be a DBS/POSB acct or other bank acct, chose accordingly.
- Key in 1) your name 2) designated account type 3) acct no. 4) the payee name you want to remember as.
- Submit
2) get OTP to authenicate the new payee added
- you will get a sms on your phone that you specified as part of your contact information
- key in the "no." on your phone
3) Fund transfer
- click on fund transfer to another bank acct ( either DBS/POSB or other bank)
- select the acct you want to withdraw frm
- select the payee you want to pay to
- put in the amt.
- submit
--> confirm in the next page.

Let's do a poll.. how long are you going to keep breastfeeding:-
1. Until ML ends
2. 3-6 mth
3. 6-12 mth
4. > 1 yr.
5. Wait and see
Jgal : (4)
Chewy: (5) In fact its as long as I can ..heeheehee
yo: (5) at least 2 yrs. I was on tbf for my #1 for 20mths
Koori : (2) gg back to work after 5mths
babybliss: (4) if can hit at 2, that'll b great ^^
bebe: (4) as long as i can
prawnie: (3) If still got milk after half a year or so, wun mind bf longer.
burpy babe: (3)targetting to bf at least 6 months...
cherish: (2)
jaspire: (4) dun mind longer too!
mushloom: (5)as long as i can
esther: (4) at least 6mths but love to aim for 2yrs!
simp: (5) Either 6-8mth / 2-3yrs depending on family planning
stefylim: (2) hopefully 6mths
Amy: (4) *cross fingers* hopefully and even longer
Joellez: (3) minimum 6 months
Porkie : (2) hopefully 6 months
Yudiana: (2) hope can reach 6 mo
littleprincess: (4)
strawberry :i choose no. 5 (as long as i still have supply and will give as EBM :))

mumood - the last time i was at a wedding, i asked the waitor for a pot of hot water and an empty cup. Run the bag under running water to thaw the milk before transferring to milk bottle.

Re: warming up ebm outside the house

I just bring along a flask of hot water in a thermos flask and a tupperware cup. pour hot water from the thermos into tupperware cup, and then put the bottle of chilled ebm into the cup. very much like how i do it at home but then it's outside the house, so have to replenish the supply of hot water somehow.

yesterday brought down a pack of frozen ebm to thaw, just to see if it's gone sour. verdict: not sour but the fishy smell is damn strong. i was very disgusted by it, and the taste also changed becos of the smell. it has a somewhat metallic taste, very very gross.

very upsetting, dunno freeze so much for what.

lynn - don't be upset...what i did for my no1 n 2 was, i kept the frozen milk and use it to puree food when baby is ready for weaning. or like what other mummies did, soak their hands in the milk - natural moisturiser

littleprincesses,

you ordering the mats already? hahaha.. yeah i think unless ssw reduces price, i'm going with alien. Don't know whether there's any diff between the mats but seems the same leh. Only thing is one is cheaper.

Tsukushi, Jaspire and I have also ordered with Alien, read that her service is better than SSW.

Lynn, dun be upset ya? Perhaps smell from other items inside the fridge permeated the milk bag?

angel,

you ordered the float? I think i saw ur name in one of the BP threads that i'm looking at.

Which mats have u ordered? i can't decide whether it's justifiable to go for LG prime or just settle with parklon. $100 diff for the 15mm one.

Lynn, my frozen ebm oso lidat... very fishy smell and taste metallic. Hence now i dun give frozen ebm liao. I give fresh ebm that i pump daily. So now i oso dunno why i freeze so much for what too! End July i must start to use the frozen ebm or else will have to throw it away as its from May. I told myself to oni keep frozen ebm for 2mths wor. Cos worried abt contamination as well as the freshness of the ebm loh.

tsukushi, I have ordered with alien already. It seems alien gives $5 off for bulk purchases at the Jan thread. However, on her thread when i asked she is not giving any discount liao. Anyway, i have already decided to go ahead with it as I think it is really useful and gd to have especially when baby needs more tummy time and learning to crawl and when we introduce puree as i dun wan to stain my floor. Haha...

tsukushi, for me i dun think its worth buying the LG Prime leh for that sum of money. The Parklon yellow bear that I am buying is oso 15mm. So i find no difference to the LG Prime loh.

Buffy/ Serene123/ Strawberries/ BBgoh : I have placed your orders for the Desitin Creamy.

I have attached the list for you reference.

Pls refer to you name, PINK indicates the amount outstanding.

If collection preferred to be by post, pls email me your address. [email protected]

Outstanding payment pls transfer to POSB savings 032-29853-2

Thank you !!

mime_msexcel.gif
Desitin Creamy
desitin Creamy.xls (16.4 k)</td></tr></table></center>

i also bought the LG mats from alien. no problems and she's very friendly..

when i bought my LG prime 15mm, the yellow bear design, the Parklon yellow bear (same design except back is different) was still not available. i liked yellow bear so had to buy LG. if Parlon YB was available i would have bought that instead, cheaper by almost 100 leh, for the same thickness.

the feel of the 15mm is really good. i can lie my girl on the mat and she feels comfortable.. can have her tummy time right on the mat, dun need extra cushioning too

tsukushi - think depending on the size u are looking at. SSW has a smaller version than alien's in one of it's design - yellow bear. hmm..now i'm wondering if i shld get from ssw (the width for alien's is 2100mm and ssw's 1850mm)...price diff by $59

jaspire,

I'm eyeing on that piece too.. for 15mm it's really value for money. But I have my doubts cos the price difference between Parklon and LG is really too much. Why? Don't know.. Yeah, I saw the post by the jan mummy and alien replied her via pm. Then, we both asked the same qn but she said no more discount. Happened that the Jan mummy posted the email reply on the Jan thread. The $5 discount is only worthwhile if we can collect from a centralised location and the cost is lesser than $5. It's a bit hard cos the savings isn't a big deal.

to add on hor... you top up another $88 can buy another bumper mat liao... kekeke...

Re: GD baby
The trainer Lawrence taught us how to use Visual Stimulation cards to improve our baby's visual first. He oso taught us some "visual workout" for our babies such as in a dim room, turn on the lights so that baby's eyes will be exposed to light and turn it off again and redo the actions. We did not go straight into using the word cards as our babies are all less than 3months old so we started off with visual stimulation cards loh. We are going to go back in 5wks time with our babies for an assessment and at the same time to do the training on how to use the words flashcards and dots cards. BTW, all 3 of us bought the english and maths set. Hee...

Other april mummies using GD... we are thinking maybe we can form a "support group". If you are using GD, do email me your email, mobile, msn etc... and we can encourage and help each other out. Cos today is my first day doing the visual stimulation card and i realised its really requires commitment to do this. Hee... let's all jia you ok!

any mummies successfully implemented a bedtime routine? i'm getting desparate. my girl from a few days ago start to have pattern, at night dun wan to sleep, her usual bath and milk doesn't make her go to sleep guai guai anymore. and worse still, after her in-the-middle-of-the-night feed at around 3am she dun wan to sleep! Eyes big big and will make noise every 3 mins or so, have to go to her to either pop back her pacifier (i think she spits it out purposely) or to pat her a bit to settle her. this running to and from her cot is tiring us out!

even the way she wants to be carried has changed somewhat. she now prefers to 'sit' against the chest, facing in. i joked with hubby that she knows we've bought the pikkolo carrier, so she's practising how to sit in the carrier already! her changing 'patterns' really keeps us on our toes :p

Hi Prawnie,

Thanks. Pls PM me once the items are here 'cos I do not come to this thread often (since I belong to Oct thread... :p )

Do you know when the expected arrival date is? Thanks so much for coordinating!

tsukushi, ya loh... savings isn't alot considering the transportation or delivery cost. Dat is one of the reason why i chose to go ahead and order from her liao regardless of no discount. hee... dun wanna wait too long too as its pre-order wor. If miss the July one may have to wait till august... :p

littleprincesses, i feel alien's one really seems better. A bigger mat for $59 is much worth it wor.

Lynn, we ended up putting our baby in-between us after the 2am feed (sleep with us) so that I do not have to run to and fro to her cot! Just reach next to her and put her pacifier back.

Yes any mummies using GD cards, please join Lynn, Jaspire and I in the support group!
We can have flashcard sessions together!

Tsukushi, yes, i ordered the neck float too. Want to bring my baby Dana for a swim once it arrives
As for the mat, I ordered Parklon Yellow Bear - $178 from Alien.

littleprincess, SSW's yellow bear mat that's smaller is it 12mm, not 15mm leh. the bigger mat is a good size i feel, and 15mm thickness feels very very good!

jaspire,

Wow all 3 of u are very brave! We didn't go for the maths kit cos want to see if how the Eng kit turns out. Will the price for the maths kit increase in future? Lawrance came to our house that day to teach us the visual cards but didn't teach us the light thingy.. He was rushing off that day.
Can share what other things he taught?

Hey you going to tabulate the chart for apr mummies GD users? Count me in.. can get our details from geryl's spreadsheet for apr mummies.

Today is my 4th day of doing it. Sometimes it's hard to get baby's attn.

jaspire / tsukushi-i just measure against my carpet...it makes more sense to get the 2100mm, 1850mm look rather small. ok cannot ding dong here n there anymore..must act on it..hehe

jaspire, u bought the parklon yellow bear as well?

littleprincesses,

I only saw pics before. The small mat is about the size of a single mattress, like a bit small when baby grows up and like to crawl around.

angel,

I have an account but when I got to the page, the link "Join this group" does not show up. That's why I can't join this group. No problem with other groups.. don't know why. Wonder if someone from the group can send an invite to me?