(2008/04) April 2008

piggy mummy, yes my PD is dr low. his charges for the immunization quite reasonable, but i dunno if wanna go back to him or not cos paragon so far and inconvenient..

me can't latch my bb cos of my short nipples, so pump every 3 hourly and feed EBM with bottle. initally very depressed becos of this, and sometimes now if i think abt it still quite sad but there's nothing much i can do, my best is to offer EBM to my baby lor

i pump every 3 hourly in the day, and feed EBM. in the middle of the night i feed FM cos easier to prepare (cold EBM takes so long to warm up and baby is impatient at night) and then pump out. sometimes too tired will skip one pump, but then the next day will feel very guilty dunno supply will drop or not. BFing is so tough!

confinement fd,

mummy, i have nt started to take any confinement fd since give birth till now, (2weeks liao), coz lastime bb jaundice so avoid those fd. bt what kind of fd shd we avoid if BF? can cook rice wine n ginger? how abt those "hui ji bu yao jing"?

amy...let ur bb unlatch herself...n if she is still not full then you put her back to the 1st breast...tis is wat mrs wong say in her antenatal class...

Simp: Hi there, curious to know why U think " when U latch and pump, it often caused milk ducts being blocked and engorged" cos I do that too and wonder if it affect SS also?

My baby also has lots of raches on face,it looks like adult's acne, with white dot at the tip. A friend mention baby on BM tend to be like that due to the heaty food mother consume during confinement...wonder how true.

strawberries: sorry, didn't see your msg ea\rlier, I check with KKH and private clinic, the vacinnation cost is about the same for 6 in 1 package,(450+) most likely won't jab at KKH as too far, furthermore they assign a Snr Consultant to my son which consultation cost $58 for subsequent visit, ex leh.

zishumo, those milla kind of rashes my girl has a few too. the PD says it's normal and will go away on its own.. dun think it has to do with confinement food cos my baby has them a couple of days after birth..

piggy_mummy...dun worry you are not the onli 1...me too latch bb on during the day and at nite feed bb EBM...wat i usually do is take out a bottle of EBM to cool at room temp to standby. when bb wakes up, i'll use the pigon baby food warmer to heat up the milk while we change bb...

i onli feed her 1 FM b4 she sleeps

hope this helps

zishumo...my bb also have the rashes on the face, some of my fren tell me it may be milk rash coz when we latch bb will tend to have milk all over her face when she struggle...but this is ok will go away 1 and she has a lot of eye shit, Mrs Wong told me BB is heaty coz of the confinement food that I eat...so dun worry

Zishumo,
I think when i latch and pump, breasts become over stimulated and keep producing even though it has not been emptied. That time i pump once in the morning, afternoon and early/late evening. It is like 2 to 3 pumps a day after direct latch. That was 2 weeks ago, now i do exclusive latching 80% as i scared of blocked duct, can be quite uncomfortable. Think i will restart pumping once the growth spurt comes. Think it is coming now that she is just coming 7 weeks by this thursday. I do supplement 1 feed a day at times when breasts are really empty. Now my girl only latch abt 10 min on 1 breast only. So i save the other breast for the next feed. Think it is quite ok. 2 days ago, my mum fed her fm as i was just 5 mins late home from mall and bb is crying for milk. So i kinda sian then went to pump and realise can pump 90ml on my rt after 3 / 4 hours break from latching. So i think latch and pump will help to stimulate more and increase the vol for growing bb. aybe that's explains why she now feed only 1 side per time every 2 or 1 hr.

Din know that 6-in-1 in kkh is so exp excluding $58 consultation. Then i think taking up package in raffles hospital is so much more cheaper. Their $470 / $420 package is really ok including $65 PD consultation. I used Dr Toh, he is quite detailed. Mummies can consider taking the package for raffles hospital if u only want 6-in-1. If u want the full vaccination like rotavirus, pneumococcal, chicken pox, hep A, then take the $1440 package form tmc, much cheaper.

I wonder if bb latch every 1 to 2 hr really get their milk as i feel that my milk is only full if there is a break of 3 to 4 hrs. I have only that kind of break at nite when she sleep. Daytime she wants to feed every 2 or 1 hr and i think milk production not fast enough. Then end up feed fm esp nite time form 6pm to 10pm. Very xiong! But come nite time like past 12am, i am ok as she feed at 4am / 3am so my milk can really come in.

RE: controlwear

Maidenform has already shipped out the controlwears to VpostUSA already.
Hopefully we can get it within 2 weeks.

Please let me know whether you would like to self-collect frm me @ my place (CCK) or you would like me to post it out.
Postage will be $1 for normal mail and additional $2.24 for registered mail.

Serene123,
Paediatic Clinic in TMC, take the escalator up just next to the information counter. They have 2 packages: 1 is $660 excluding $40 PD consultation. Includes 6-in-1, hep 1, chicken pox, mmr, booster. The $1440 package includes everything on top of those mentioned, pneumococcal, rotavirus excludes PD consultation at $40.I dun need hep A and chicken pox so i din take their $660 package. I just need 6-in-1 excluding booster, mmr so i go raffles hospital. Think i would go normal GP once bb is bigger for mmr and booster or take another package from raffles hospital for the 13-18mth bb. This includes, mmr, booster and chicken pox.

sherin

i opt for normal postage coz CCK is too far for me. will transfer $1 postage together with the shipping charges when goods arrived.

i have question here:

i pump after latch, but usually only abt 5ml leh..then after i latch, bb sleep, then i pump, after finish pumping, he wake up liao, but i don have milk for him to latch, so in this situation, what shd i do, supp with EBM?

piggy_mummy...usually for me i dun pump after bb latch especially if u feel that ur breast is soft....coz nw our bb feeding is quite irregular i afraid cannot meet her demand in the day...

i also feel that at nite when i pump milk is a lot more than day time....usually can get abt 220ml after 4-5hrs break...

Simp: KKH's charges is $450+ including 3 consultation with PD, I was referring to charges for subsequent visits when other needs arises.Wow Me didn't know other jab can cost so much le, are they all compulsory? Have not take a look at them yet..

Luann_mummy: I see, guess just let it be then. hehe just that full month celebration coming then Baby's face not so nice leh.

Simp: so you hope to increase ss by combining pumping and latch on is it?

Actually I am kind of confuse whether to latch baby anymore as he doesn't seem to stay long at each breast b4 he scream and cry as if there's no milk after less than 10 mins. THese few days trying out to just pumping and hope ss can stabilise and increase if I pump more regularly...(sometimes at night I too sleepy and drag for 4 to 5 hours then wake up to pump)My baby has prob latching on since day one, half the time he will end up crying fiercely.

Piggymummy,

How long u pump after latch? U feed bb at every hr? Maybe just pump at the same time on both sides for 10mins max to stimulate. How long do u latch each time? If u latch like 10-15mins then pump another 5 to 10 mins max shd be v good alreadi. That time i latch and pump, can only pump like 5 to 20ml max also. I believe it is to stimulate the breasts for a few times before body start to ss more.

Zishumo,
6-in-1/5-in-1 with Hep B 2nd dose + MMR + booster are compulsory. Hep A, chicken pox, rotavirus and pneumococcal are optional. If u are sending bb to infant/child care, then i suppose it would be really good to take rotavirus and pneumococcal. Hep A and chicken pox can take maybe when they are older?

I am taking care of bb full-time at the moment. Maybe when she starts school then i would take the optional jabs.

Actually i am not very keen to take MMR as there are reports that it can cause autism. But it is mandatory in spore, so i am a bit sian.

SImp: thanks for the info. I also remember reading about MMR and autism. When I attend KKH's briefing on vaccination, the guest speaker who is KKH's doc said it's not true..

Zishumo,
Actually i find latching more effectively to increase ss than pumping. But if ur bb does not latch very well after then offer him EBM. It is just as good, still better than offer fm unless no choice. Do u use one hand to hold his head+neck and the other hand to hold your breast to fit bb's mouth to your breast? Must quickly let bb latch when they open mouth deep to latch deeper.

zishumo, koori, simp, i din know the heat rash on bb face is so common. Think its really the bad weather in april and maybe plus the heaty confinement food we taking now. I took my bb to see PD yesterday cos she having rashes, phelgm in throat and mucous in nose. Spent alot wor... nearly $130 liao. PD gave cream to put on baby face, nasal drop and antibiotics. Feel so sad that bb so young got to take so many medication.

any1 wanna share order with me for nan 1???
it is really very cheap. but minimun have to buy $200 which is abt 9 can. but i only wan 4-5 cans. so who wanna share with me???? collection at cck but also can other location at west or north west.. PM me

Jaspire,
Rashes r very common, my gir also has it a lot on neck, behind ears, face, forehead before she is 1 mth. After 1 mth ok liao. Then mucous also common. She has it on the 2nd and 3rd week, she sounds serious when she breathe heavily but when she sneeze hard enough, they will come off by itself. If she can feed and sleep properly, it is not serious. If she cries a lot due to mucous during sleep, drink then need to see PD. I also asked around for rashes and mucous then and realised they r all common. I find that if i on aircon too cold, she will have blocked nose, so i maintain temp of 26 and 27 degrees only. Regards to phlegm, did u take a lot of cold drinks more than 50% of time? I took a little when i really cannt take it and my cousin told me that bb will have phlegm if mum drinks too much and often cold drinks. My church sis also said that too on her 2nd girl. Her first boi was ok.

I can imagine, PD fees r really not cheap more exp than adults see GP.

Vernon,
Option open for nan 1 ha at 400g? How much is it? Where is the collection pt in west? i stay in jurong west area. Am looking for nan 1 ha as many places are oos for 400g.

Simp, tks for the reassurance. I thot my baby dunno wats wrong wor... all the outbreak is breaking my heart and her daddy's heart each time we look at her face, ear and head. My MIL cooks quite heaty food wor. So think the confinement food plays a huge part. Each meal sure have sesame oil and ginger. Even i eat liao oso scared. I din drink any cold drinks leh. Think the phelgm and mucous is due to infection from my young nephew of 1yr old who is also sick. My MIL looks after him and they come into contact many times loh. Now i keep them apart so see if condition will improve anot.

kea, the medical hall near my place sells Friso 1 for $26.50. Most other places sells for $28.00. So it's a savings of $1.50 per tin. Quite substantial for me.

Jaspire,
R u bf? If u r, wd ginger and sesame oil affect ur ss? Mine did so i din have any bu food durig confinement food.

Sherin,
I'll probably opt for normal postage, will email u my addy when the items arrive.

thanks for organising.

anyone gg to Isetan private sale? me v tempted to go even though still in confinement. Wonder whether theres any gud bargains to get.
V tempted to get Medela PIS although I already have Ameda .

Mummies, alternatively, we could arrange for a meetup sessions after everyone's confinement! With our little ones ... prob for coffee or tea session ...

Koori: thks

Simp: I did use one hand to hold the breast as what KKh lactation consultant showed me and tried to put it into baby's mouth but he wd still cry and cry for a while then sometimes take it, sometimes totally refuse and cry at the top of his voice!Think he is very impatient to wait for the flow.

PIS pump
anyone using the hands free thingy with their PIS? thought of getting it if it really work, my wrists are aching badly don't know due to carrying baby or what. Do your hands feel tiring after 15 mins or more pumping?

Hi to all,

Have given birth to a baby girl end of April.

1st wk was hell to me and my husband. My girl wake up every hr to suckle (i m total breastfeeding her). And she will poo immediately after feed.
By the time finishes cleaning her, abt to get ready for next feed.

In the end I pump out milk and feed her thru bottles. Now she will still cry and suckle me for comfort only.

Beginning I am having lots of milk but suddenly the supply just dropped.
Anyone encountered this?

Zishumo,
Yes i like the handsfree kit and ti bgt the supershield funnel as well. For the handsfree to work at its best, must pump both sides at the same time. Initially i only pump 1 side using the handsfree, still work but i find it easier if i use both sides;

Simp, yes me still bfeeding wor... wat do you mean if sesame oil and ginger will affect milk ss? Increase it or decrease it?

wat is that handsfree kit? how does it work and with which brand?

Jaspire,
Wow like dat u hv v gd ss leh, sesame oil and ginger do decrease milk ss. I cannt take, once i take, breasts super soft, empty and my girl will keep wanting to latch but no milk. Then unlatch her she will cry. Very stressful then.

I bgt the handsfree kit and supershield from mumsfairy. Website: www.mumsfairy.com, It works well with medela pis pump, the rest of the pump must check with the seller. It release the hands of mummies to do things she want while pumping milk at the same time. Think i am the lazy person hee

sherin: I opt for normal mail for my controlwear. I noted that I have an OOS item. You can transfer the OOS item money to me less the normal mail postage - $35 - $1 = $34. Will PM you my address and account number. Thanks!

jaspire...i take a lot of ginger n sesame oil but dun haf the problem that Simp encounter leh...milk ss is ok....thk depends on individual lah....

i also got the handsfree kit n supershield...but lazy to use coz everytime pump onli 10mins lazy to sterilize the supershield ha ha ha...