(2008/04) April 2008

Cheesycake,

U r considered fortunate that bb sleep by 11pm. Mine sleep only between 12am and 3am almost everyday. It is really a challenge to get her to sleep and she drinks so often at note that my dd cannt meet her expectation. I have to supplement fm to appease her.

I really hope she will get over all these routine soon if not i think i may have phobia of having a 2nd bb in the near future.

re: breastpads

I'm using NUK breastpads (washable). Tried Tollyjoy - No good. NUK is softer, more comfortable. Tolly is too thick and doesn't absorb that well. Need to change within an hour or 2.

Simp, how do you know your ss is not enuf to meet your gal's dd? My gal doesnt really hv a fixed sleeping schedule. It depends on when her last feeding is loh. I oso a little lost whenever she cries in the nite and we are so tired and need to sleep and nothing seems to appease her except my breast but i can't be feeding her all the time and it seems she is oso taking my nipples as "nee too" wor... any suggestions what to do?

Hi Cheesycake, Cath thanks for the reply... Am a bit lost coz this is my 1st kid. For the past few days, he has been waking up at 6+ in the morning and sleeps really really lightly throughout the day to evening and only if someone is carrying him. The moment we put him down, he wakes up and only can be pacified with the breast and after his feed, the cycle repeats itself. Because of this he seems to be feeding all day long.

My mom is against getting the yaolun and since I am staying at my parent's place, I basically have not much of a voice here.
I also am on total breastfeeding am trying to resist the urge to supplement him with FM and using the pacifier, though I am super tempted. But it really breaks my heart when I see him scream as sometimes he turns a shade of purple as he seems to not take a breath when he screams.

Before this kid came along, I always thought young babies would tend to sleep a lot but doesn't seem to be, in my case.

BTW, anyone can advise on the following :

- When can we start exercising after giving birth naturally? Thinking of going jogging, cos need to build up my stamina which has really disappeared while i was pregnant.

- When do we hv to swaddle baby until? My mom say no need to swaddle after abt 3 wks, but the confinement lady say better to swaddle till maybe 2 mths.

- When can start using newborn pillow for baby? Currently baby who is 3 wks old uses the nappy as pillow.

anyone can advise on what to do with baby when she's wide awake in the daytime? cos she'll look around like so boring and nothing to do, and she'll want me to sit near her, if walk away or leave her alone she'll cry..

but i have no CL, need to do houseowrk, pump milk etc.. hiaz...

hey mummies...good morning..

was at Mrs Wong's BB Massage class yesterday quite fun...

my BB also have the same prob as all ur bb, refuse to be put down to sleep in the day until abt 11+ at nite...very tiring to be carring her all day, sometimes she will wan to sleep for 30mins on the bouncer but tt's all...

she is also feeding all the time and its always 1 breast at a time. I asked mrs wong abt this yesterday and she told me that its a bad habit bb is using our breast as pacifier, must force bb to drink from both breast at each feeding so mummy can haf some rest. my bb is 33days old so she told me she shld be feeding every 2-3 hrs on both breast n not at 1hr interval...and shld drink abt 120ml if EBM/FM..thk i must start training my bb liow..

re: swaddling bb
Mrs Wong suggested 3mths....but i haven been swaddling my bb...thk must start doing so liow hee hee hee, seems like she can sleep better when she's swaddled leh...

re: bb cranky...

i spoke to quite a few mums with older bb yesterday, all told me that they encounter the same prob as us for the 1st 3mths of bb's arrival and everything goes away after the 3rd mth...

Koori,
Mrs wong say the gripe water dun mix with water then more effective leh...just feed the 5ml direct to bb..

Hi Emma, Welcome. =P Sometimes my girl also like that. For my girl its mainly because she does not feel full. So when we feed her enough milk, she is able to fall aslp. When she is not that full, it is quite difficult for her to slp. Although sometimes I know that when she wants milk, she is not really hungry but just want to suckle. I am also trying to resist the temptation to let her have the pacifier. My hubby is super against giving her the pacifier.

Koori – could it be because she is used to the carrying in the past few weeks, so put her down, she would continue to want to be carried? Or could it be because the cot mattress is too warm for her? Sometimes my girl also like that. Have to carry her until she fall deeply asleep then can put her down.

Actually I have the same question as Piggy mummy. What is the difference between latching on and feeding bb with EBM? For both, baby is still consuming breastmilk.

Re: Breastpad
So far I have not used any breastpad as my breast are not leaking yet. Is it normal?

Jaspire – Would you want to consider bottle feeding her with EBM at nite as we have control over the amount she consume and when she feels full, she will be able to fall aslp better? That’s what I do to my girl.

Lynn – Do you have a mobile attached to her cot? Or you might wish to get a baby gym for her to exercise in.

Lochio or menses
My lochio stopped 1 week ago and now i got fresh red blood discharge, is tat still lochio or menses, am confused, tot menses wont come so fast but lochio seem of a darker red tone. Anyone knows?

Re: target spree update

<font color="0000ff">Cath &amp; Jo</font>

Funds transferred. Received with Thanks.

<font color="ff0000">Scubababe, Amy, Coconut_k</font>

Hope to receive ur fund transfer by tomorrow. I want to place the order by Wednesday - 14 May 08.

emma
welcome!! u may want to consider getting a yao lan. bb really sleep well &amp; longer. i didnt use it on my #1 but am currently using it for my #2. my bb also dont really sleep well in the day esp when my #1 is ard &amp; awake. he will only fall asleep in the early evening due to overtired.

koori
my #1 has the same problem as u. always want to be carried, &amp; her nap time is only 30 mins! but like wat sherin said, they will outgrow it when they are older.

Jamie - hopefully they will outgrow when older, hee...if nt i have to take out my carrier liao, carry her whenever i go.

have been waking up at least 3x at nite &amp; sometimes bb is realy active..from 2am till 5 am...wide awake..
try feeding her with EBM on top of latching on...but always have problem w the bottle...she will cry &amp; try to vomit when i feed the bottle...when my MIL did it in the day, she's ok. Anyone has the same problem?

Jaspire,
Before my girl turned 1 month old, she feed so frequently like every hour and each time i unlatched her, she will be cranky. My parents deduced that i did not have enough milk. This has caused much stress for me and bb. I also realised that if my breast during the first few weeks were soft, it meant that they were empty. However her latching help to stimulate my body and prepared for more milk ss. Now that i have passed 6 weeks / 1 month, i realised that my body' milk ss has stabilised meeting bb' needs during daytime at every 2 hr or nite time from 12am till 6am at every 3 to 4 hr. Only during nite feed between 7pm and 11pm, she seems to want to feed every hr, so i presumed she is hungry and my milk is not ready at every hr for her feed. Thin soon she will feed more as grwoth spurt is going to take place. If that is the case i need to latch and pump to stimulate more milk for the growing bb. I realised when i latch and pump, it often caused milk ducts being blocked and engorged and i really need the bb to unblock the ducts. Pump wont be able to unblock esp if breasts are hard like rocks. Hope this info will help u understand. Is ur girl turning 1 mth soon.

Sputnik,
Can use newborn pillow liao if it is those small ones. However if u buy bb safe newborn pillow like me, it will be too high for them to use now as asian bb are smaller. I use the kiddopotamus neck support and those smaller newborn like disney type. It can help to shape their head esp if ur bb is like mine, like to sleep on her side until her face like flat flat.

Dear mummies, Im from the Mar Mummies forum. I am selling my medela Mini Electric Plus breast pump. Used oni for a few times. Selling bcos I haf decided not to breastfeed. Interested pls contact me at 96939779. Thanks.

hi stefylim
how does ur baby respond to the baby massage?

Hi burpy_babe, Jamie... thanks for the reply... for the past week I thought I was going mad... luckily my breasts r not as sore as before and can let him suckle more frequently... think he's a bit too used to using them as his pacifier coz he will tend to doze off when he's on the breast. Even then, the slightest noise will make him jump. Haven't been able to put him down today... arms are starting to ache... Will probably try and get the yao lan when I go back to my own place...

Simp, my parent are also saying the same thing and it's also causing me a great amount of stress as it took a lot of patience and quite a bit of pain to get to the 2 1/2 week mark and I really do not like people telling me that I can't achieve something. I really hope i am making the right decision not to supplement coz I really don't want to stave baby.

Thanks for all the replies guys coz really no one else to talk to that will understand what I'm going through...

hi emma rae
no worries, baby will get better as he grows older. it is a passing phase! keep latching, it'll keep your supply in tandem with baby's demand. in meantime do u hv a rocker or bouncer? maybe can get one to see if baby will be comfortable in it

Simp, icic... yes my gal is turning 1 mth soon. This sunday on the 18th May we are holding her full mth celebration. But she has very bad heat rash all over her face.

have the the following item to Sell, condition is 10/10. All BN set, only open up the box to see, Plastic covering and warranty card all intact. Realise that I'm not breast feeding, so don't need it. Kindly PM me or sms me at 96960155. Collection at Clementi or West Mall.(Willing to Exchange for NTUC,TAKA etc Voucher,Baby Wipes Diaper-S Size.)

- BN Pigeon Breast Pump and Feeding Set ( Auto) $50
- BN Pigeon Breastmilk Storage Bottles 3pcs Set $15

**If getting Both item together, Willing to Let go at $60/=**

1416748.jpg
1416749.jpg
1416750.jpg
1416751.jpg

Jaspire,
Heat rash like very common among all bb.My girl still has some. Think due to the weather, our food or just their growing up phase

Hi Joelle, my dad just ran out to get a swing for him. Managed to get him to sleep for about an hour till his diaper was wet then he started screaming again. Could only calm him down by feeding again. My baby cries even he is the slightest bit wet. Just from this morning, he has changed 11 diapers.

jaspire, can i ask you where you got the DIY kit for the baby foot imprint? I'm also looking for one, before my gal turns one month..

latching vs ebm
i guess if ebm is fresh, there is no diff ba juz diff mode of presentation. but if ebm is a few days/month old, the difference is in taste and also nutritional values.

jaspire
my son used to have alot on his face too. my friend recommended to use jin yin hua (can get from those chinese medicinal shop) and soak in hot water. when the water cools, use a cotton wool to wipe the face. after a while use cool boiled water to clean his face.

Luann_Mummy
how to force baby to drink when he is not willing to? so far my son only drinks abt 10 mins on one breast and can last for around 2 hrs (day time) or 3 hrs (nite time)

Lynn,

I think you can try mum and babes they have an outlet at united square and AMK hub. They are the distributor for Medela stuff.

Stefy,
Did Mrs Wong say whats the guideline for feeding on each breast? like how long for each side?

lynn....I bought the tiny tots from Rob but hor its very very difficult to do leh...tried doing it for my ger yesterday afternoon...not successful...its abt $45

joelle...we did the leg massage during lesson n she loves it but i need to latch her when Mrs Wong was doing the hands n back so miss that but luckily my HB tok short video clips of the demo...will try on bb when she is not cranky n let u know...hee hee hee...

mushloom...got to wake bb up by burping the bb or putting her dwn on the bed...usually tt does the trick...tried it on my ger today n seems to work...at least now i can get her to feed on both breast n last almost 2hrs....

amy...guideline for feeding is abt 10-15mins each breast....but impt for bb to unlatch herself

Hi mummies sorry to interrupt...

Postnatal by Experience Indo massage lady is here..

Package 10sessions(one n half hr/session)$500 inclusive:
whole body massage
jamu tummy wrapping
free one time whole body scrub

To try: $50 for one hr include jamu wrap or $50 for one n half hr without wrap. sms 98572771 ur address and name

Xiang,
Have done the transfer via IB for the amt $29.57 Transaction ref is 1705472088. Thanks for organising.

Stefy,
i tried to latch her on both sides for 10mins each side but if she fall asleep n unlatch after about 6-7mins so have to wake her yp n cont on the same side or wake her up n cont on the other side? then if she goes on n on n never unlatch after 15mins do we unlatch her n let her cont on the other side?

hi amy, thanks! have you decided if you're bring your gal to PD or GP for immunization?

i vaguely remember the nurse at the PD telling me if taking the 6-in-1 jab then the next time we go is at 2 months right?

Happy Belated Mummy's day to all !! Baby Xavier has been discharged from hospital and will be going back 2 weeks later for a blood test to see if the plalettes count maintained. Cause of low plalettes unknown. The doc said its either virus infection oe he is unsuitable to my antibodies when it actually got in direct contact with him when he was in my womb. Strange enuf was, he din have any fever and was drinking well and yet demanding more at the same time !!

Regarding latching of baby. I normally latch baby one side 20 mins. He will end to fall alseep so constantly have to keep waking him. One way to wake is after one side, I will burp him and he will definately be awake.. hee

mummies, regarding freezing of EBM.. do you freeze the 'older' milk in the refridgerator, or the fresh ones and let the baby gradually finish the 'older' milk..

lynn,

is ur PD dr low? my bb appt will b end of this month..iam nt sure abt the 6 in 1 , 5 in 1, very confuse.u know where got gd PD ard woodland, sem or admiralty?