(2008/04) April 2008

burpy: I same as you. Have not fed baby with FM as yet. Lucky my baby also no nipple confusion. I was a bit scared at first. Initially I cup-fed her cos scared she got nipple confusion, but she got hooked to feeding with cup! SO I quickly change to bottle. :p

calamari
hahaha it's called "chiu seh" in hokkien. roughly translates to "technique". my burping success rate also hit-and-miss. sometimes the CL just carries him up (from me) and he burps already.

calamari & burpybabe
RE: Nipple confusion
i read so mcuh about nipple confusion and nipple rejection that I prepared Pigeon bottles/teats as well as Nuk. end up he just uses Nuk, no confusion. sometimes babies are more adaptable than we give them credit for LOL.

joelle, burpy:
i read that we should give them latex teats when transiting to bottle teats as its closer to mother's nipple (esp NUK). I didn't know and gave my baby silicon teat. Lucky she ok :p

joelle: sigh, yah lor...i catch no 'chiu seh' leh

if i still want to latch my bb, let say i latch him at 1pm-1.30pm (hungry at that time).then after i latch, he feel sleepy liao, so when have to top pu with EBM? if he cry again at 2.30pm, i top up with EBM, meaning it will delay his feed and affect his daily intake?

My CL just told me that she can foresee that my ss might not be able to meet bb's demand by the time bb hits 6 weeks. Me worried leh. And it seems that after I took the fenugreek like no effect also leh. sigh.

Just now i got a scare... i found a "lump" on my breast and its a bit painful. but after bb latch on and drank milk from that breast, the "lump" disappeared liao... wonder what caused it.

piggy mummy - you can top up with ebm the next time baby cries for milk... can make some adjustments. if say normally if u feed bb with 90ml ebm.. but if u are topping up with ebm, u can offer bb with say 60ml-70ml instead so that bb will not be overfed. have to make some adjustments one.

calamari - my bb will only burp when i put her in upright position over my shoulder. sometimes she dun burp but when i hand her over to the nanny, she will just burp automatically. hehe....

Is it true that if babies latch on, it does not really matter if baby did not burp. but if baby drank from bottle directly, it is a must for baby to burp?

Hi ladies, I'm from the May thread, but ended up popping in Apr.. Hope you guys dun mind me crashing in on the Apr thread..

Can I ask you ladies, any idea where to bring baby for studio photos? wanted to go to pix n protraits, but seems like they've closed down..

Re: latching on
I've problems latching my girl on cos of my nipple shape, so mostly doing pumping, although i try to latch her on sometimes. When latching on, the other breast will leak BM, how do you gals handle this?

<font color="0077aa">todae i din latch baby one cuz nipple very sore and seems to have crack and is painful.. bottle feed her using EBM n FM.. hmm think this week he going thru growth spurt.. .. </font>

<font color="0077aa">thanx jo and koori_kaylen, ya my mil is doing the confinement fer me.. n actually my hubby wanna pass the AP to her.. then i find it awkward.. cuz i prefer to be on the last dae. .</font>

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, u started taking fenugreek already?? perhaps it waits fer awhile before the ss sets in??? fer me im not getting it yet.. cuz fergot tat my bb is g6pd.. so gotta really make sure is safe fer me to get.. hmm gonna c dr tham in 2 to 3 weeks time so shall c how. . </font>

<font color="0077aa">hi piggy_mummy, g6pd means is a lack of a certain enzmye which helps red blood cells function normally, the red linnings of red blood cells breaks down at fast rate and converts to bilirubin n when the body systems couldnt react fast to convert it to urine or motions to excrete out thus it become harmful to body n tat will cause jaundice to baby..... have u heard of some pple who have to avoid certain foods, broad beans, mothballs? these pple have G6pd, but they just have to avoid such stuff and can lead normal lives... jusy have to be careful of what they ingest.</font>

xiang

transferred the $$ to your DBS acct liow....pls find below trans reference...

Transaction Reference 1702598789

thanx again..

Burpy_babe,

The "lump" on the breast is caused by blocked ducts.. normally will lead to engorged breast and can be really painful. Lucky for you that you latch the baby on to clear the block ducts for you. I encountered that a few times and have to use cold cabbage to help me relieve.

Burpy_babe,
The 'lump' u found is actually milk in your milk ducts. If it stays there then it will cause blocked ducts.

Lynn,
I use Avent milk collection shells
http://www.aventbabyshop.com/shop/product_info.php?cPath=79&amp;products_id=918

As for studo photos, i recommend the studio loft. I did my maternity photos with them and is very happy with the photos. They will be having a booth in Jun at the motherhood fair. I am waiting for their promotion then...

okie dockie - oic.. thanks.. yah good that baby helped me clear the blocked ducts.

strawberries - yep have just started on fenugreek for 2 days liao. was prescribed with it by dr tham the last time i saw him. but only managed to buy it only this week.

hw's ur boy? think my gal also going through growth spurt. She keeps drinking and drinking.

I starting taking fenugreek today.

Piggymummy - when do u see effects of increased BM after taking fenugreek?

my bb today kept drinking after an hour, but she take very long to finish the milk cos she fall asleep, then after a while wake up to drink again. How to prevent her fr sleeping?

<font color="0077aa">okiedockie, i noe using cabbage can relieve but tat will oso decrease the milk ss rite?? cuz my fren used it .. and her supply drop..</font>

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, o u mean dr tham will prescribe ahz.. then i better wait till the follow up wif him ba..</font>

Amy, me want to take studio photos when my baby is 1 month old, so prob can't wait for the Jun promotion. But shall check out studio loft, thanks for the recommendation

Any mummies experience phlegm in your babies? Mine has some, and just now she was 'wheezing' so poor thing and can't get to sleep and was fussing, i presume because of this problem.. Anything we can do to get rid of the phlegm? This is the only problem we forgot to ask the PD about during the first check when baby was 1 week old.

Mummies, you bring your baby to the PD or GP for immunisation? Or anyone knows of any good GP in the north? The one TMC assigned to me is at Paragon, hubby complain a bit far.

Lynn - i bringing bb to PD for jabs cos at the same time PD will check bb which i tik is impt to know bb's health.

Lynn - not sure if sembawang is too far away for u? The Kidslink clinic at Sembawang Way is quite good.. The doc is a friend of mine and i brought Justin there becos he also caught a cold and have phlegm. She has a method of washing out the mucus that is really helpful. Taught me how to suck the mucus out for him as well. Thought that babies on TBF wouldn't fall sick so was quite upset when he did. Sigh.. just have to nurse him back to health.

Steph,

Where is the address of the kidslink clinic in sembawang and what's the name of your friend? I actually 1 2 bring baby to KKH for her vaccinations but if there r good PDs around sembawang will be easier for us...

Calamari
My hb and I have difficulty burping bb too! MIL can mother can do it successfully! Think bb must b upright, cannot sit on his/her tummy. Btw, I live in Bishan, not CCK leh...

Re: Burping baby.

My hubby n I were taught to burp our girl by my Mum. We will let her sit upright, hold her on her neck frm behind and chin frm infront and start to move her whole body in a clockwise or anti-clockwise movement. She will definitely burp in less than 15 secs.

Strawberries – Yep. Dr Tham will prescribe. But we can only either get it from the pharmacy at KKH or we can go buy it at GNC. He told me that the one given by KKH is the same as the GNC one.

Re: Vaccination
Strawberries – We have not decided yet. But think will most likely bring him to the PD near our place. Coz their 6-in-1 package is slightly cheaper than KKH’s. We think that its abit far to bring baby to KKH for vaccination lorh. Although our GP’s package is cheaper, we feel safer to bring bb to the PD for the vaccination as the price quoted by the PD and KKH is quite similar and the price quoted by the GP is cheaper by almost $100. We are abit worried to bring bb to the GP. Haha…

<table border=1><tr><td>Batch 1</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Control Wear</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Design</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Colour</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price (US$)</TD><TD>Price (S$) Exchange Rate 1.4</TD><TD>Total (S$)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koori</TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jo (princess_j) </TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>Pretty Sew-Free Hi-Waist Thigh Slimmer (clr) </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $24.99 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>OSS </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Black</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Starling</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jamie</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>XL</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Weightless Power slimming boy short </TD><TD>XL</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $18.00 </TD><TD> $25.20 </TD><TD> $57.40 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Amy Quek</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief </TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<table border=1><tr><td>Batch 2</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Design</TD><TD>Size</TD><TD>Colour</TD><TD>Quantity</TD><TD>Price (US$)</TD><TD>Price (S$) Exchange Rate 1.4</TD><TD>Total (S$)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cath</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jacelyn</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>L</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $70.00 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Coconut_K</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $67.20 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Koh Kelly</TD><TD>Long Torso Waistshaper.</TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed</TD><TD>Long Torso waist shaper </TD><TD>S</TD><TD>Nude</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $25.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD> $35.00 </TD><TD>Paid</TD><TD>OSS </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaspire</TD><TD>One fabulous Body® Waist Nipper Brief</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>Beige</TD><TD>1</TD><TD> $23.00 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD> $32.20 </TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Hi, I have an April baby as well and need some advice. Does anyone here have a baby that stays up for long periods of time? My baby seems to want to sleep but is unable to fall into deep sleep and is really cranky &amp; irritable the whole day. He is awake from morning and is only able to fall asleep towards the later part of the evening. Anyone can advice how to calm him down to sleep?

Re: Breastmilk Storage

The below information is stated on the Lansinoh milkbag.

<table border=1><tr><td> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Where</TD><TD> Temperature</TD><TD> Time </TD></TR><TR><TD>At room temperature</TD><TD> 19-22 degree</TD><TD> 10 hrs </TD></TR><TR><TD>In a refridgerator</TD><TD> 00-04 degree</TD><TD> 08 days </TD></TR><TR><TD>In a freezer compartment inside a fridge</TD><TD> temp varies</TD><TD> 2 weeks </TD></TR><TR><TD>In a freezer compartment with a separate door</TD><TD> temp varies</TD><TD> 3-4 mths </TD></TR><TR><TD>In a separate deep freezer</TD><TD> -19 degree</TD><TD> 6 mths or longer</td></tr></table>

hi sherin

i would like to purchase the control wear, have sent u a PM. kindly confirm &amp; advise ur bank acc .

Emma, i have the same problem as you. My bb wants to sleep in the daytime but can't sleep and always wake up... we tried all means and ways... yaolan, rock her to sleep, sing song and tell stories... but still he can't sleep.. he will stay up till 9pm. It is heartache to see his dark cirles... Anyone has any suggestions what to do?

Emma: my bb used to be like ur bb. got once she stay awake from 9am - 11pm before falling into deep slp. then my mil suggest to get yaolun. she can slp better, longer hr and less cranky... after milk i just put her into yaolun and she fall aslp after short while. if slp in babycot/ on my bed i have to rock and carry her before she fall into deep slp.