(2008/04) April 2008

blessed - u tried the pump does it stimulate more milk? i renting it for 1 week to try. Saw the pump retail at US, very cheap rite but if we managed to get it shipped to spore, shipping cost will be quite high rite since its heavy.

xiang...thanx for consolidating the orders...

koori
it is more tiring than electric. however in the early morning when i'm too sleepy to hook up the wires of the PIS, i just use the Isis to quickly express a little on each side to relief engorgement, then go back to sleep. 5 min work.

Hi Cherish & Chewy

Mine bb is 6th week old, fully on formula. Only notice his poo is green last week and he poop once in two or three days. His stool is not watery or like paste.

Mine sleep only abt 1hr will wake up and cry dont know izit becoz the weather is hot or the sister scream too loud scare him?

xiang,
hubby not interested in the Reusable On-the-Go Bottle Warmer, so my order will only be milk bag-2 boxes. sorry for inconvenience caused..

cuttie & jamie, same here, now my bb oso poop once every 2-3 day..

mine last 2 days oso sleep very light, will cry from her sleep too.. but i think that is due to no poop poop.. yesterday and today ok..

i taking fenugreek but supply goes down, any one have the same problem?

I am in my 3rd week supply goes down every week very worried.

have prob on bf..

my bb sleep at day time, and active at nite (bb 2 weeeks old now)..i try to latch him at day, but he sleep tru till 12 plus or 1pm..then i worried my supply will drop, but at night i too tired to latch bb, so i pump out. my question is:

1. if we latch bb, how do we know hw much he drink, coz accroding to PD, he suppose to drink 70 ml this week (per nursing)

2. if i pump out, when to give bb EBM?coz most of the time will try to latch..if give EBM, using teats n bottle? will bb confuse during latch on? i called those BF helpline, they ask me to give EBM tru spoon, but i fd it ma fan.

3.at night, my hb want to give fm, anyone also supplement with FM?

piggy mummy, my ss is low, so i give bb FM. usually i latch on my bb for 10min each side then top up with FM cos she is drinking 100ml-120ml now, and i oso pump 3times everyday and give her ebm. so far, my bb is ok. Not confuse at all, she still will auto turn to my side when she is hungry.

piggy mummy:

1. Normally, bbs stops when they r full, unless they fall aslp while latching on, so wake bb up. I try to wake Elliot up by burping him. He always wakes up when he's not filled up. After feed, I try to pump out to c if there's unfinished supply. U may wanna try to pump out for 1 or 2 feed daily to gauge ur supply.

2. I give EBM thru bottle, both from avent. Luckily for my bb, he's not confused. if bb is, can try nuk teats, quite similar to our nipple. At first, I pump out every after feed (2.5 -3hrs interval), it may not be much but every drop counts! TIll u get a bottle of the amt u need then u can skip the latch on & feed EBM. Tt feed u can pump out & keep 4 nite.

3. Nite time I give FM as BM is quickly digested so he can't slp long in time. & he pees more often after drinking BM which disturbs him. We tried FM & bb can slp up to 5hr sometimes. So I juz hv to wake up 2x a nite to feed & pump milk.

cutie yeo: bb fully on FM may hv poo bit more greenish. Tt's the calcium I heard. If bb really got scared, he will hv nitemares & cries easily & for long time.

Hi XIang, That's correct. Do update us on payment details.

Green stool: I am on TBF and my baby had green stool a few times the last few days. I asked my PD and he said its normal, so i guess no cause for concern.

blessed: that's alot of milk? Do you express before you feed bb or after? I notice that if i express after i feed bb, there's hardly any milk at all. But if i express before latching on, i am worried bb got nothing to drink ha

Hi, all

the target spree is closed. I will send the email to all for payment soon.

Thanks for participating.

<font color="0000ff">jo</font>: had noted ur order changes.

hi mummies, i just noticed something. Does your EBM like curdle after putting in the fridge? Is it spoilt? It can last 3 days in the frige and up to 3 months in the freezer rite?

piggy - yes at nite i feed FM... actually my Ss is not enough for the day time also so i alternate FM &amp; EBM.
Most of the time i express out, cos bb latch only 5mins don tik she drank much.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Target Spree Update</font>

I had sent out emails to all who had placed their orders with me.

Please let me know if you have not received the emails.

i felt very guilty by din latching my bb, coz by latching, i an not sure bb drink how much..my supply at nite more than day time, so diff for mr to gauge hw much bb drink..

so, if i still want to latch my bb, meaning i have to latch first, then pump out, but when have to top up with EBM? wait till he cry or straight after latching?

Its a relief to know that there are quite a few of us supplementing with FM. Whenever you read the breastfeeding guides or talk to people, they will tell you to latch bb, ss = demand, don't give FM etc. Have been feeling really guilty whenever I express or give bb FM. I think it would be great if all of us can TBF, but I guess there are some of us out there who just do not have as much milk as others...

koori

Actually i dunno if PIS can faster empty the boobs anot cos everytime i pump, i dun even know if its empty. I use the guideline given by my hospital, pump b/w 15 - 20 mins and whether it feels light a not. Sometimes if ss not v gd, i may take up to half h. Can someone enlighten on how to know if boob is completely empty?

Sputnik
I totally agree!!! DD = SS, i guess it all v idealistic! I was so stressed initially when my SS is lower than DD. So guilty when in the first few wk have to supplement my bb with FM. Praise the Lord that now everything is ok, no need supplement, just a little tiring, havin 2 b v diligent, but this is the best gift tt i can give to my bb, a gd immune system.

Sputnik,

Yes I agree with you. Whenever I speak to my friends who advocates TBF, they will always tell us not to supplement with FM at all. And would always advice us to latch bb on and try to reduce the feeding with EBM. When I supplement bb with FM in the earlier days when my ss have not been established, I keep feeling guilty. Coz they will make us feel like we have done the wrong thing to supplement with FM. Sigh... Stressful...

<font color="0077aa">mummies, ask ur ahz.. the AP fer the mil when to give..? to give at the end of confinement or anytime??</font>

<font color="0077aa">spuntik, i agree wif u.. baby onli came back to me onli a week plus.. so i presume my ss not set in.. and without support it really tough too..cuz mil will keep asking u to supp wif FM.. and whereas i onli give in becuz my ss not there yet.. if there liaoz will remove FM.. it can be real stressful n at time can be depressing too..</font>

hi mummies, i don't think we need to feel guilty about supplementing fm to our bb. There's no harm in fm actually. It's all in our mindset and thinking.

I'm also feeding my bb with ebm and 3 fm everyday. My bb doesn't want to latch on at all. Initially, i was feeling guilty too, but hb doesn't mind supplement with fm and i just take it easy day by day. Felt alot better but still very tired everyday because i'm taking care bb alone.

I just felt that as long as bb is healthy, is gd enough already. Try to take things easy ok?

puffish

i agree with u, we dont hv to feel guilty abt supplementing our little ones, its all in our mindset. all mums naturally want to provide the best for our bb. as long as bb is healthy, that's all we ask for. dont stress &amp; get depress as it will affect ss.
i'm now fully on FM &amp; bb is growing well too.

blessed: No leh, I am not staying at Sembawang. Are you staying in Bedok or CCK? Cos Sadiah also mentioned she got clients now at these locations hehe ;)

i am glad i not the only one supplementing with FM &amp; not latching as much....guess all it counts is healthy bb. We just try our best if there's BM to let bb drink.

Any of your babies vomitted after a feed? My baby vomitted yesterday...so sad
Think its either overfeeding or wind.

Also, I super sian. My hubby had the flu and cough and passed it to CL, maid and me. Yesterday my baby girl kenna and we brought her to the PD. PD sucked out her mucus but not much. Today we went to Eu Yan Sang bought this monkey stones thingie called "hou zi san" and she is better after taking it. But so ex! $61 for a teeny weeny bit. But it reaaly helps. Her phlegm is lesser liao. So poor thing, past 2 days keep seeing her cough and sneeze

Re: BM
For working adults, we can only latch on for 3 months, after that baby has got to take EBM from bottle liao. So don't think too much about not letting baby latch on. When I go back to work, think will probably let baby take EBM from bottle only. Latching on maybe only once at night.

hi strawberries
what is the AP for MIL for? if she has been doing your confinement, then just give on last day of confinement.

piggy mummy

1. i think quite impossible to know accurately how many ML is baby drinking. however if u pump, u can roughly gauge how much he is drinking during a feed, by how much u pump for a normal feed; pump till your breasts are as empty as after a latch-on feed. it could be an estimate but i doubt will be 100% accurate measurement. Common way of gauging if baby has enough to drink would be by counting number of pee and poops a day.

2. you can give ebm as a top up, e.g. after latching and baby still seems hungry, top up with ebm. or substitute ebm for a night latch-on. i latch and bottle ebm, my baby does not have nipple confusion (was also worried about this), we use nuk.

3. i don't supplement with FM. i bottle feed ebm pumped during that day.

calamari - my baby vomitted after a feed that day. when I saw her merlion that day, my heart pain. I think vomitting is due to wind in the stomach. So I will try to stop her after a while while she is latched on to burp her before letting her continuing to latch on..

My nanny also suggested a way to remove wind from baby's stomach. she suggested getting betel nut leaves, heat about 3 leaves using candle to the temperature that is acceptable by baby's tender skin and put the leaves onto baby's stomach but avoiding her umbilical cord area. and wrap it up using a tummy wrap. Leave the leaves on for the whole day until we clean baby at night and remove. I tried that out yesterday and today my baby kept farting and stomach not so much wind liao.

joelle - i was also initially worried that baby would get nipple confusion. But luckily baby is not confused. I top up with ebm. I will let baby latch on. but if bb is still hungry after latch on, I will top it up with ebm.

So far, other than the first 2 nights after we brought baby that we fed her with FM, we have not fed her with FM yet. So far have relied on EBM...

Anyone have trouble burping baby? My hubby and I cannot seem to burp baby successfully! Everytime CL and mother always manage to do it! Grrr

Calamari - isit the position or way of burping different from your CL &amp; mom? See hw they do it and do the same hopefully can burp. For mine, i make her sit up then she will burp, if not carry her over my shoulder and burp.