(2008/04) April 2008

kea don get too stress. how about getting ur mom to stay at ur place and take care of baby together with you for a week or two then u take over it when you are more confident? nx wk will be my turn to get stress cos cl going away this sun. luckily hubby took 1 wk leave to help me to adapt. hopefully i can manage the baby.

fm / bm
actually i thought it was ok to supplement with fm during the initial part or when our ss is not there. don feel bad cos you have to give fm. when your ss is higher then you can try to give more bm and slowly reduce fm. eventually you will succeed in tbf. juz don get too stress over it.

<font color="0077aa">jenny - icic. . ok will tk into consideration

Steph - woah.. fenugreesk works for u ah? make me so tempted to try it... mebe ask hubby go help me buy... hehe... the nurse at my hospital also say that its safe to eat... hehe....

jenny - u're welcome

cherish - i asked my confinement nanny. she say that for 90ml, take 1 and 1/2 scoops of milk powder.

me now at my mom place....day time will come c bb, nite time bb will stay with ah ma...me no confident in bringin bb back hm at all..and ystrdae when i jus bring bb hm for 2hrs, i v stress arady...my ah ma keep coming to instruct me wad to do making me more stress and panic...like becareful bb, burp bb aft fed etc etc...haiz...

kea, ask ur mom to let u take care of bb alone when u r at her place.. slowly u can handle eden alone, it is not easy but rememeber dun panic, slowly do, ignore ur ah ma saying..

Re: Fenugreek pills

Mummies keen in buying the fenugreek pills might 1 2 get it from overseas drugstore spree if you can wait coz i heard from my friend its about 50% cheaper to get it from spree...

Kea - oic. You don't be so stressed. Take things easy. agree with cherish... ask your mom to let to take care of bb alone... to try to learn how to cope.. most imptly is that even if baby cry.. dun panic....

Zishumo - when my bb have hiccups i let her drink some water... after a while.. her hiccup will go away...

Calamari,
i think if u wnt to take all e jabs, $1.6k excluding pd is ok at tmc.

Zishumo,
My girl also hiccups everyday, last time in tummy, also like dat. She always slp while latching, dream talk/cry n choke often while drinking. Think my girl lazy. Hiccup is a result of drinking too fast n much or when we move her too fast, she will hiccup.

Kea,
Just learn n try w bb since we 1st time mummy. Dun get too .tense ok. i also feel e pressure to take care of her by myself when i go kl

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, u confirm wif the lactation consultant re: fenugreek already??</font>

<font color="0077aa">kea, agreed wif cherish.. is not easy but dun give up.. when ur mum around, ask her to let u handle the bb alone, then u can oso try to cope wif ur bb..</font>

burpy babe &amp; Simp:

hiccups
thanks for sharing. Ya my boy is very impatient kind, always drink very fast or may be the amt we give him is too little to last him long, I'm still trying to figure how much is enough for him..

Kea &amp; strawberries,

dun b scared. dun get too stressed up too. u r 1st time mummy and it'll take some time to manae the bb on ur own. never feel lousy... all mummies r GREAT MUM. Never belittle urself.

Re: hiccups.
t's actually a sign to show tt bb is very full. coz their stomache is full and it's near to the diaphgm(hope i got the spelling correct)so bb will hv hiccups. it'll be lesser when they r older.

Strawberries: Regarding Fenugreek .. i remember dr tham telling me during my follow up last week tat it helps increase breastmilk ... u might wan to check with him during ur follow up ..

<font color="0077aa">jenny - my next appt wif dr tham is in june.. tink he wanna c me in 6 weeks time but cant get.. so week 7 lo.. will check wif him when i c him then..btw u got take Fenugreek??</font>

Strawberries - nope... have not checked with the lactation consultant on fenugreek yet....

ask u gals, do u let ur baby slpn aircon room the whole day? i m worried that baby will be too pampered leh... next time no aircon cannot slp... sigh...And also her skin seems very dry. i m worried dunno whether it is because she has been slping in air con room that's why skin is so dry..

<font color="0077aa">burpy_babe, wow ur appt so near?? ok can.. thanx
, most likely i will nurse him in the aircon room.. cuz im in the room.. so he rooming wif me. . but the degree of the aircon will be increase ahz.. scared he cold.. btw u got any msn??</font>

burpy_babe

my bb only sleep in aircon room at nite, &amp; i adjusted the aircon vent so it wont blow directly at him. day time i use fan.

oic... thanks jamie and koori....

think after the confinement nanny goes back, will need to adjust baby to fan... but its very warm in the day leh.. scared that she cannot take it leh...

Burpy_Babe: Dr tham only remove the side of the stitches .. the centre part is dissolved ..

Strawberries: me not taking Fenugreek ... cos i be feeding bb breastmilk for abt 2 mths only after tat when i go back work will stop liaoz .. cos be quite inconvenient to pump in office .. can i add u in msn too? my email is [email protected] I be seeing Dr Tham again on 12th June for Pap smear test and to check the womb etc ..

Jenny - OIC... hehe... coz i can feel the knots at the sides of the wound. hehe...

Now I am also thinking how I can go about pumping milk in office. abit inconvenient to always go to the meeting room to pump... hmmm.... and I also dun want to pump at my workstation. abit too exposed. haha.although can get the privacy cover to cover.. but I shy leh. hehe

<font color="0077aa">jenny - icic.. hmm..my workplace have staff room. .but then im not sue whether i got the time to go do pumping either.. cuz dunnoe i sway or wat.. my shift tends to get very busy.. pengsan .. so still tinking bout tat.. btw added u in msn liaoz..</font>

hi mummies....

how is every1 doing???

congrates to those who have delivered in the last 2weeks....

i've been so buzy wif my ger that i got no chance to log in at all....motherhood is really tough...no wonder pple always say mothers r veli weida....

i am back finally...missing for a while as i can't leave in-law house easily and no internet access too (sneak back to my house to use internet)...

will be able to use internet on next sat....

congrats to those mummies who popped...

Re-bf
my supply is also low leh...like only 60ml on one breast and 40ml on the other...

Chessycake: cheer up...i am also eating the same food everyday(sick and tired of it but no choice)...and also MIL been taking care of the SIL bb during the day...now better as finally get hold of bb temper and her timing in makan...

Congrats greyl...

calamari : thanks for the contact

re : sleeping in aircon
can put a glass of water near bb's cot. This will prevent dryness. i only turn on the aircon in the evening because i thin she got heat rash.

burpy_babe....my ger also always haf hiccups....i just leave her be lor...nothing much we can do...chk wif Mrs Wong abt it and she said its normal.....

if u r on tbf, no need water at all till bb starts semi solid at 6mths old.

but, heard fr my gf, if bb on FM, need to gv some water juz to make sure fm is not too heaty and cause bb to constipate.

hope the info helps

seems like a whole new life and world now with baby around. can't hardly remember how life was before i got preggers.

Tan Zheng Long Dominic arrived on 18 April 2008, 2312 hrs, induced natural birth with vacum assist. birth story seems irrelevant now so will reminisce on my own when i hv the time LOL

haven't been able to come online because too busy, too overwhelmed with baby &amp; everything. luckily my CL is such a gift, she keeps everything running smoothly.

motherhood is really a time of blood, sweat, tears, and milk. the worst thing abt it is the aching episiotomy wound and the occassional moodswings. the best thing is my CL's cooking LOL

baby is adorable, and a considerate sleeper - sleeps rather too well, we hv to wake him for feedings at night else my poor boobs will ache in engorgement. breastfeeding factory is running somewhat smoothly, thanks to lots of hard work n perseverange fm day 1.

it's truly been such an experience, im sure every mommy here has her own unique one to treasure. here's wishing all cool breezes &amp; less of the april heat!

hi mummies, pls advise me!

i breastfed my BB for 5 days and got sore and cracked nipples, plus during our stay @ tmc, nurses also fed him with FM due to not enough milk ss. when my BB suck my nipples, he will alawys kind of reject it and refuse to suck, and even he sucks, it's only 5-10mins and he fall off to sleep. Thus, he wokes up in less than an hr for more milk.

Then we decided to supplement BB with FM and i'll express my milk out and fed him thru bottles, coz i think my BB have nipple confusion already. =( he doesn't keen in sucking my nipples.

Right now, i'll pump my milk in every 3hrs and store in fridge. The schedule of feedings is like 2 or 3 EBM first and next feeding will be FM. BB doing well on bottle feeding and getting enough milk, wakes up about 2-3hrs for feeding, only 1-2 times wakes up 1hr.

So mummies, am i doing the right thing? coz he doesn't want to suck my nipples, and the only think i can do is to express my milk out and let him drink as often as i can, hoping to minimize FM soon. my BB is now day 8, and my milk ss on average is 70ml per pump, is that enough for him? By expressing milk, will ss still increase as time goes by??

PLS ADVISE ME!!!!!! =(

Puffish...i have the same problem as u...so i went to tmc parentcraft to see Ling/Mrs Wong...they help me latch bb on and see if there is any problem with the latching...

at first my milk ss was not est yet so bb din get enuff milk hence refuse to latch and they told me to get medela lactation aid to bluff bb tt there is milk...of coz in the aid put in ebm...this really helps alot and nw i can latch bb with no problem but i dun do that 100% of time...is during alt feed and i'll feed her ebm when i dun latch...

u might wan to go back tmc parentcraft to see if they can help u...coz ur bb is onli 8days old can solve prob if its nipple confusion...

puffish, i would think it would be better for you to latch him on ur breasts first. after he refuses to latch on after 5 or 10 min then you bottle feed ba. baby suckling will stimulate your breasts better than the pump. i have colleagues who did exclusive pumping and their supply ended quite fast... around 1 mth plus... so try to latch him, even if its only for 5 min. you can alternate between pumping n latching to let your nipple rest. also just squeeze out a bit of bm then apply it around your nipple and air dry it. this may help the sore n cracked nipples.

Puffish,

Try tickling the BB's ear when he falls asleep that will wake him up. Initially I tried to BF my BB too but she's too impatient b4 I can latch her on properly she will end up chewing my nipples causing me to hv sore nipples. Now I pump out my milk every 3-4hrs. My SS now after 1 week is abt 60ml.. today was lucky manged to pump 120ml after hving engorged breast yesterday.
Normally I will feed my BB with 60ml BM and 30ml FM alternate with 1 feeding of 90ml FM.
Realise that if I gv my BB too many feedings of FM she will get constipated thus best to alternate btw FM and BM if SS is not enuff. Hope that helps.

hi mummies, thanks for the advices. right now i dare not let BB latch on coz my nipples are very sore, the whole area is cracked actually, can see the redness in between. HB also suggest me to see lactation consultant after i recover, but i guess it may take very long to recover. =( Currently giving my BB EBM for 2-3 feeds and next feed FM. Don't know if like this BB will get enough nutrients or not.

Stef, how do i make appt with mrs wong?

Okiedockie, stroking, patting or tickling my BB won't help, he will not wake up =/

I popped on 22 Apr, my little princess was 2.9kg upon birth, natural with epi.

Now trying to increase my milk supply, have been taking fenugreek, green papaya fish soup and lots of fish, but supply still seems quite low. Trying to latch on baby as often as possible, but having some difficulty as I am in quite a bit of pain due to piles, so not very mobile. :-( Anyone has any tips to increase supply? Would really appreciate the advice.....