(2008/04) April 2008

Another thing to note for New Mummies:

Posted this few months ago and think some of you may forget abt it.

Re: FOC NTUC Baby Plus Bag

Within 2 mths of Baby's Birth Date
Where: NTUC HQ (680 Upper Thomson Road)
Time: Mon-Fri Only, 9-11am and 2-4pm
What to Bring: Birth Cert & Either Parent's NRIC

What's inside the Bag:
1. The Bag
2. Some baby products
3. 400g of Mamil Gold Step 2 (From 6mth onwards)
4. Baby Wash
5. Diaper (NB) Huggies/Pampers
6. Rice Cereal
7. Handwash
8. Colgate

tsushuki,

my boy has a bit of Peranakan blood. My HB great grandmother is a "baba"... In fact, my boy looks exactly like his sister... My girl has big eyes too

1346476.jpg

here's a pic of my girl carrying her brother for the 1st time on 1st April 2008

Tsukshi - my Cl dunno how to use washing machine, heee. Maybe also something good. Basically i got not much complaints abt her as she take care of bb and me quite ok, except after cooking her cleaning is not so thorough, kitchen bit oily but now its getting slightly better. I close 1 eye.

hi Xiang

thanks for info re: goon !
if u don't mind, referral from u wld be great although i wont be buying now -alrdy have diapers at home. I'll drop u an email! thanks once again

babybliss - thanks for URL :D

Sherin - i also haven done up my bb's BC, DH only free to collect the names from master this Sat as he wking on wkdays. So after tat most likely next sat then can go ICA do BC. I still have no idea if the names given will be good cos the one i wanted he say no good....sian!

Update for Stefy
Dr has put medication to induce birth, doing CTG now. Will be admitted tonight if after no symptoms. JIAYOU GO GO!

xiang,

r u referring to the Pooh Bear Mat? I got it from small small world during my #1's time. Not sure where it's from.

Koori,
thanks for the compliment. My #1 & #2 got their big round eyes from Daddy

Went Poly clinic to check fro jaundice again..

Last wed (7 days old) is 232.
Today (14 days old) is 231.

Need to go back to check again on friday to see if the level is going down...

congrats chewy!

cherish: jiayou! if you nips are painful, you may want to reduce the suction of the pump (electric) abit otherwise when bb latch on you it may get painful too.

yo: your children are so good looking!

rain: my bb had jaundice too and if the level is above 250, he has to undergo phototherapy but phototherapy brings the level down very fast within one day so dun worry too much.

btw mummies, how do you monitor bb's weight? My bb is 2 wks old already and maybe its becoz i see him everyday so altho his features have changed abit, i dun find that he puts on alot of weight. wondering if he's drinking enough milk!

Bb Xavier looks so cute and handsome! Bb Charis is so spontaneous sticking out her tongue hee. Yo, ur bb very peranakan hee
Simply love bb's pics!

Wow.. Chewy had delivered!!! just chatted with her last night and told her that we may meet next week. Who knows she POPPED this morning!!!!

Chewy: Congrats!!!

Stefy also admitted!!! Also chatted with her last night.

hi good afternoon mummies,

today is my 2nd day of c-section. tml will be discharged ...

This is my bb javier when he just born yesterday ..

1346944.jpg

Hi all Mummies and MTB,

My EDD is on 28th April 2008. For 1st born, will it comes earlier or later than 40wks? Im getting anxious as the due date drew closer! How is contraction likes?

gervynne, one of my nip is clogged.. going to see gynae tomorrow, see what be done, now cannot pump, breast very painful...

lucky bb din reject my milk after drinking some many days of FM..

Do u increase bb milk intake daily? my hb say 1st mth let bb drink 40ml only, the rest feed water... but bb can feed 50-60ml now. to me, 50ml not too much for nb bb.

Hi All!

I've just given birth on the 6th Apr... edd was supposed to be on the 22th! So unprepared... hospital bag half packed, work yet proper handover and bb things yet complete purchase when water bag burst at 1am...

Supposed plan for that day was to purchase breast pump from another mummy and to shop at Expo JL sale but...

1 am - Was preparing to sleep when saw clear water tickling down my legs.. Told mummy, she asked me to put a pad and monitor first. I was like ??? Then told my hubi, his response was "So what you want to do?" sleepily.. I was also not sure myself coz the gestation was only 37 weeks and I'm not in pain so thought I should just get bathe first then see how... After bathing more water tickled down, call my gynae and was asked to be admitted immediately. Dumped some tolietries into the half packed hospital bag and got my fil to drove me to the hospital..

2.15pm - Reached hospital. Recep took forever to ans to the bell call. Felt abit of menses cramp like pain.

2.45pm - Went into the delivery suit and cleared bowel. Nurse found that I'm 3cm dilated and put me on drip to induce bigger contraction.. She told me that it should be a fast delivery.. That's why I thought to skip epidural. (Even though, I have already decided that epidural will be the first thing I would asked for when admitted, heard too many scary stories) Contraction pain got more intense everytime. Tried to ask for epidural but nurse responded with "Why not try the jab on thigh and laughing gas first?" I relented.

5.15am - Gynae came in, found 7cm dilated and said labour when only start at 7am. I felt like dying.

7.15am - Gynae came in and said "There's some serious work to do now". Gynae sat down there shouting at me to push, two nurses by my sides pushing down my tummy while holding on to each leg on the stands and hubi holding on to my head bending towards the gynae. Was asked to hold on to both my thighs but this instruction did not register with me. Legs cramp. Pushed a few times, gynae said bb too big so need to vaccum. Bb's shoulders got stucked and her heart rate is slowing down. Pushed somemore. The pain was ridiculous, really regret not taking epidural at that point of time!

7.45am - Splash! Relieve finally! Bb Princess Li Wen was born! Weigh 3.59kg.

Now, we are back home but bb abit down with jaundice so need to go back for checkup on sat. Hopefully she will be fine by then.

here go my birth story:

04-04-08, 9am: went for my check up, told doc that bb seems to move lesser,
did a check and found the water level is low average, will need to induce these 2 days, so i choose to induce later in that afternoon

04-04-08, 5pm: went to induce in the clinic, doc forced cervix to open 1cm

04-04-08, 11.30pm: admit to TMC, doc checked, 2cm dilated only, and water bag burst..
Put on CTG, having contraction, din feel it though

05-04-08, 1am: contraction start strongly but irregular, try out the laughing gas, it work on me, decide to use it.

05-04-08, 2.40am: woke up by sudden sharp pain on my back, wanted to go poo poo..
Walked to the toilet myself, pushed 3 times, no pass motion, but did feel that i push something out.. din know that it is baby charis that I pushed out.. went back to the delivery suite thinking that I still have to bear such pain till morning, decided to try epidual instead.. meanwhile use laughing gas and feel giddy

05-04-08, 3.30am: doc came to insert epi

05-04-08, 3.45am: while waiting for the epi to take effect, nurse came to check for dilation and saw bb hair.. told me i can start to push bb out, asked me where is my hb.. and said that i can actually go without epi, and since i on epi now, dun waste the epi, ask my hb to come back slowly.. so he took his own sweet time and came back one hr later! Fall asleep while waiting for him to come back, whole body is shivering badly!

05-04-08, 5am: finally my hb is back, started to push bb out..

05-04-08, 5.30am: doc came and 3 pushes, baby is out!

gd news... my boy's jaundice level has came down fr 17.3 to 11.7

wow after 2 limited nights of sleeps and can see tt his jaundice level has dropped made me feel tt it's worth it.

we actually rented the phototherapy bed hm to do the therapy on our own. hahahaha......... mummy now has "black" eye. every 2 hrs, i'll pick him out & nurse him then put him back to do another 2hrs ... 1 more night to go and they are collecting the bed back tmr... so... today muz b even more onz to do as often.

congrats to those who have popped.... WHAT A JOY SEEING OUR BABY....

jo: sigh i still super sian man. My baby is so cheeky, yest went for gynae check-up, but her head is still not engaged! Yes, my EDD is 15 Apr, same as chewy, but looks like she's not going to be here anytime this week. I have been taking 45 mins walk everyday lor, hoping that she will be engaged soon. My next appt with gynae is on 14th (1 day before EDD), then we'll decide what to do: to wait, or induce the next day. But i scared induction fail cos her head still mobile, in the end got to c-sect
And I got no signs at all, no show, no loss of mucous plug, no contractions...hehe. How r u doing?

thanks Xiang for the info on NTUSC bag. Will be getting it..

Congrats all mummies who have popped! Congrats to esther on your fast delivery... *admire* no epi... brave mummy.

calamari, talk to ur bb... she can hear... last time, my bb jay also swim up again and disengaged himself, after talking to him, he engaged in a short 1 - 2 days' time. Don't worr, mummy must relax then bb can feel safe to come out.

cath: my hubby and I have been speaking to her since 1 Apr, hahaha! But she stubborn leh hehe. Now as I speak about her, she starts to squirm inside me again.