(2008/04) April 2008

Koori, my CL dont like to use nappies... haha u know why la...

But at first, my bb jay also has rashes, but after using Desitin, ok liao. Now after every poo and bottom wash, we will apply desitin to protect the skin. So far so good.

i was surprised that nepia leaks too... i guess the absorbency is not as good. But my friends swear by it.

Scubababe, your bb Byron is so so cute.

Scubababe - I also took epidural, however still felt the last contractions pain, tik the dosage still low, after the nurse increased the dosage, don feel a thing but cant feel the urge to push.

oh yes, anyone here using Nepia? I have a pack of NB Nepia which I used only 4 pieces to give away. Have to collect in pasir ris tho, think my son is not suitable for it, developed rashes after i tried it. So heartpain.

I noticed that mummies with CL or older folks tends to get very stressed with BF. Dun be okies, and be firm if you want to TBF, the benefits are really good for the baby.

Scubababe - ya they keep wondering if bb is full. I decided to latch her for every feed starting now....only feel FM at night.

scubababe: ur bb is sooo cute!

sherin: To go off from BF is your personal decision. As long as it is ok for you and baby, I think it is good that you do not fall into depression as well. Dun worry so much about it ok?

koori: I felt so tired everyday as i let bb latch on day and night so now in the day i get mom to bottle feed him with EBM and in the night i will let him latch on. dun worry, once baby detached his mouth auto from you, he has enough. if he's hungry he will wake up for more.

Scuba, my bb also has rashes after using pampers NB. But need to apply nappy rash cream no matter what brand of diapers.

I have used Nepia NB and it leaks. So I am just using for light usage in the day. Night time still stick to Fitti NB.

tsukushi, engorgement is when ur breasts felt like bombshell, very hard, very painful. You wont be able to sleep sideways. I had it on my 4th day after delivery. You will need to faithfully pump out ur milk every 2 hours to reduce the engorgement. I will apply very hot towel on the engorged breast before expressing. Some will use chilled cabbage leaves, but that will reduce ur milk flow. So must keep pumping regularly to avoid hvg engorgement.

koori:I know I will miss my beauty sleep the most when BB is borned ha ha.
BTW I tried the cakes from this cake shop during the babycare fair at expo (next door, another food fair) and find their variety of cakes including chocolate truffle, cheese, toffee, mango etc not bad, not too sweet. They do full month cakes too. Not suremthe prices though,check it out : royalcakes.com 64442262

koori,
Mine even better, use washing machine to wash only a few pcs of clothings! Only handwashing bb's clothes. I think initially she used the machine to wash her own clothes everyday - only 1-2 pcs! Waste water and electricity leh, until my hb hinted to her.

i having engorgement now.. today still have only colostrum,haiz.. have to keep pumping.

my bb have rashes too, the desitin really work?
i tried drypers, not good.. now use back pampers.. is huggies good?

I m back from TMC tis noon. Thanks for yr well-wishes. I will update u all with my birth story & my boy's pic soon.

Hi geryl,
pls update for me, I had natural birth with epidural. Thanks

Hi chewy
thanks for coming 2 visit me yesterday. Jia you hope urs will b soon 2. All the best.

had just given birth to my little prince at 1412 hrs today via epi c section. Bb weigh 3.42kg at birth.

hubby decide on bb name as javier instead of lucas now waiting 4 fengshui master to revert back on the chinese name

<font color="0077aa">To all mummies who have *popped*

Congratulation to you! Finally this little miracle has arrived ^^

Do rest well babes and have a pleasant confinement ^^</font>

cherish, how old is baby? Initially my baby took about 70 to 80ml and will sleep like from 1pm to 6pm although she doesnt have jaundice. Now she's almost 2 weeks old, she still takes about 80ml to 100ml but only sleep for about 3 hours.

joelle, my bb is on friso. my friends' babies also on friso. So far so good. But heard it runs out of stock fast and frequent. It's about $28 for the normal sized tin.

simp, EBM can only last 48 hours in the fridge. I'm not sure about contantly putting the milk on the warmer. For me, Once i warm up the EBM and she doesnt finish it, i'll throw it away. Yes, very precious to me but i scared re-warming it will cause diarrhea.

I'm really half-hearted about BF-ing. Last night went to bed feeling v upset and disappointed with myself. So this morning, woke up and pump again. SS is double of what it used to be. Although i took about 45 mins to pump. I pump, massage then pump again and kept repeating. Seems to help. Feels very encouraged.

Koori, if i'm not wrong, you cant re-warm or re-heat FM. It's the same as water. Once boiled, cannot re-boil. If not, high chance of getting diarrhea. FM have to throw if bb never finish.
Re:catering , i'll getting frm Fourseasons, tried and tested. Cakes, i'll be getting frm ecreative.com

RE: epi
I agree with scubababe on epi. Was having contractions and was so painful until i took epi much later. Although in the end my baby didnt manage to come out through natural delivery, the epi was a big relief to my pain when i was trying. If you are worried about not being able to feel the push, you can request for the dosage to be lowered when you are fully dilated.

RE:naming.
My in laws went to Huaxia and i'm not very pleased with the names given to us.
Up till now, about 2 weeks already, i've not done the birth cert for my girl coz they want to use the name suggested by the "master" and I want something else.

Re: Barrier Cream
I've used "Dropolene" in TMC. Very smooth and nice, easy to apply.
Back home i use Mustela barrier cream. Very very thick.
So far so good, she doesnt have any rashes.
I've been using goon, and we quite like it. Not too pricy as well. Have not tried nepia as i bought S size.

Hi all, how many times does your baby poo? mine seems to poo a lot. so much tat the anus area is red. my cl suggests letting baby take some fm so that he doesnt poo that much. am in a dilemma now whether to let him take fm or not.

cherish: huggies is not bad but my boy outgrown the NEWBORN size already coz it has a smaller cutting and can accomodate baby of 4kg only! He is currently using Pampers (leftovers from the hospital)and Huggies size S. I have alot of diapers as gifts so thankfully will last me for the whole of one month.

Sherin: I thought for BF in fridge, can put 2-3 days? freezer can put as long as 3 mths max i think.

RE BF-ing, try to take a hot shower before pumping as it helps. Otherwise get a warm/hot towel massage your breasts and increase blood circulation.

Re nappy cream, i'm using desitin. so far so good but how often do you all put cream on baby? Is it on his butt and genital area too? my baby has got some peeled off skin at his genital area. not sure if this is the beginning of nappy rash.

Thanks for all your well wishes
I am finally back home with my baby liao
So here's my birth story...

1st apr: Went out with hb to check out infant care centres. Had mucus discharge called gynae and was told to admit to Mt. A for observation. (coz gynae did not do any cerivx examination during check up) Went to Mt. A, put on CTG realised got contractions, and was dilated by 1cm
cannot go home must stay for observation

2nd Apr: More contractions but no further dilation and more mucus discharge. Gynae say stay for more observation

3rd Apr: status quo, still cannot go home but got transferred to normal ward... Damm malu...

4th Apr: start to get regular contractions at 3.30am. Pushed into labour ward at 8plus in the morning. Gyane came at 9 plus, rapture the water bag... cannot tahan the contractions after that so asked for epi... gynae called at 4 plus to check, was already 8cm dilated. delivered baby at 6pm.

1345145.jpg

mushloom, the poo will decrease as baby grows older. Since ur baby is on TBF, it means that poo will be quite runny and soft. FM will cause harder poo. So my advice is to continue with BM. Just apply the nappy cream to relieve the redness.
Gervynne, according to the lactation consultant at TMC, can only keep in fridge for 48 hours.
I apply the cream at every diaper change.

Scubababe: Byron's so cute! Congrats babe!

Amy: Ur gal is so sweet! Think got the dad's eyes.. kekeke

JrRain: Hey babe, no worries, happy to pop by! Enjoy ur motherhood ;)

babybliss: I am also looking for geomancer to name BB, Prawnie gave me a contact but my parents prefer Master Tong Noong Chin (Dong Nong Zheng), now I am searching his contact too. Heard he's in serangoon. We went You long zi for wedding but we find him very arrogant &amp; on some forums there's indications that he's not so professional.

sherin: i tot so too... but she keeps saying cos he poo too much. to stop the pain must make him poo less and that is to feed fm. am tempted to bring him to the pd to find out if really he poo too much tat caused the redness. donno why my cl like pro fm like tat. tat time when i told her i intend to tbf, she was like ok wif it. but juz yesterday she told me must once in a while feed fm if not nx time when i wanna wean i will have prob and most likely baby will reject the fm.

sherin, my bb is in day 4 now. she took about 30ml-40ml in tmc.. now increase to 50ml-60ml.. but her sleeping time is longer..
i observing her, no yelloish so far...
i oso keep pumping for more milk, dun give up, jiayou!

Amy,
Ur bb has so much hair and so adorable!

Mushloom,
It is good that bb poo and pee alot as bm is easily digested and indicate whether they are dehydrated anot. So it is good thing.

Sherin,
Hope u r getting better. My milk ss dropped so much today after i ate soup with rice wine and ginger, really cut down my milk. I told mum i need black bean soup for dinner and keep drinking fluid, if not no milk for bb. I really see a difference in eating normal healthy food versus confinement food. Confinement food can be so heaty and so good for mummy till milk ss can be compromised, faintz. I ask Hb to buy breastfeeding milk for mummy to drink, hopefully, it will balance the milk supply with intake of confinement food.
Do u all feel hungry esp in the middle of the nite when bf bb? I have been feeling so hungry in the middle of the nite and morning till i ask HB to make milo for me or i eat some biscuits or bread to fill my tummy.

sherin,

Are you using manual pump? I just discovered something new today. I used manual pump for the past few days and got only 50ml in total for pumping 1 hr. But today I start trying out my electric ameda pump and surprisingly, I got 100ml in total for each pump using only less than 30mins.

You might want to try out electric pump.

i agree bfeeding is really not easy..had a hard time for my first one but i perservere for 6 mths..

tsukushi (makino)
u probably have some blues at this juncture, thus support from hubby v impt. Tell yr CL to cook more fish soup w papaya &amp; insist on bm first before supplementing w fm...i can understand how u feel when comments like that is given..i underwent that when my MIL did my confinement.

milk supply will take some weeks to build up so just perservere &amp; feed as much as possible. have enough rest also.

my updates:
baby: 37 weeks, wt is 3.1kg
my weight gain: 11.3kg

starling
thx for ur encouragement. feeling very sore now...2nd week n still sore..bb was v cranky juz now cos couldn't satisfy after feeding.. feel sort of discouraged. think I dun have engorgement..is it normal?

Thanks for the compliments on baby's hair, i was surprised to see so much hair on her too...

Re: confinement food

My confinment lady is quite good, she knows that i total breastfeed so she made cooked food that helps with producing breastmilk. She mentioned that beans help with the production of milk so when she made soup with soyabeans, she specifically made me eat the beans and the effect is quite good for me. My milk came in yesterday (day 3 after delivery) and breast are engored.

Re: breastfeeding

Haiz... When i came home on the second day night, baby was fussing alot. SO as usual CL asked if i had FM at home on standby. I didn't so she suggested that maybe baby hungry but in anycase, i didn;t go buy lah and survived... Then on day 3 my mum came back she also mentioned the same thing then later when my breast started to get engorged, and start to pump milk, she say that my milk too thin thats y baby gets hungry but lucky thing is they r pro breastfeeding so though negative comments but they didn't try to influence me. So luckily, now i have enough for baby, baby is a small eater. only drinks 20-30ml yesterday and today for each feed. So to relief my engorged breast, i pump after each feed still manage to collect about 50ml from both sides. So fellow mummies do continue to press on!

Re: gauging how much baby has drank during latch on.

My CL said that how much baby drink from one side of the breast the other side will leak the same amount so i have been collecting milk from the other breast using the milk collection shell so based on how much i collect in the shell i gauge how much my baby drink

hi tsukushi,

i dun have engorgement also. So i suppose not all will get engorgement. I think if supply alot, maybe will engorge very fast. For my 1st baby, I had very bad engorgement, and alot of supply.
But this time round, no engorgement, but I still continue to express every 4hrs. Hopefully supply can increase soon.

Re; Brestfeeding
Do not give up. It's indeed tiring and stressful. Cos I am also facing problems with slow and low milk supply. I have cried too myself for feeling so guilty as in not able to provide sufficient milk for baby. My mum and mil even made some remarks which made mem felt worse But preserve and continnue to latch!!
I went to the lactation consultants at TMC. To assess how much baby can suck from both breasts and they will advise you on how much to top up for baby after latching on.

Rest is important in making ur milk supply comes. I tried to rest for 5 hours without latching on baby and I manage to pump out 100 ml in 30 mins. I dun do more than 30 mins as nipples will be in pain.

Till now, after latching baby on for 20 mins on each side, baby still not satisfied. But I will top up with another 40 ml of EBM.

Breast will leak whenever i heard baby's cries or when its near baby feeding time. So I assume every three hours now gotta either latch or pump out the milk which is only about 50-60 ml.

Whatever it is, do not give up !!

This is a pic of baby Xavier to share with all. Still updating birth story.. hee ..
1345629.jpg

Hi prawnie,

I'm contemplating to call the LC too. How did they help you?

For other mummies, is it true that the amount you leak on the other side is the amount that bb is sucking?

Now both sides are super painful after my attempt to latch on and cut down on fm. Have been doing latching almost every hr. Finally, end up feeling sore and gave in to fm cos bb was cranky after feeding.

yo,
Is your baby mixed blood? Such big charming eyes!

prawnie,
Your bb is very cute too! Hehe.. Must be a joy to hold him in your arms.

today is my 5th day trying BF, I managed to pump 50ml from both side this morning.. my breast is still painful, and i think i pumped too long on my right breast, now nipple has blood cot..

my baby charis at day 4
1346308.jpg

Cherish, so cute wor... still stick out tongue... LOL!

Congrats to all new mummies!!! Cant wait to see my little darling too after seeing all your cute baby pixs! Kekeke...

LOVE all the baby pictures - keep them coming! and jia you to all the hardworking mummies!

A question -
Goo.n diapers - where to buy? :S

gervynne
apply diaper cream on groin area, bum, but not ON genitals . AROUND genitals is OK.

joelle

Goo.n diapers can only be purchased from http://www.diapers.com.sg/home.php.

I can refer you to sign up and you will be entitled to a $5 off on your first purchase.

I will need to key in your name and email address so that you will receive the sign-up link which entitles you to the $5 discount.