(2008/04) April 2008

Congrats to all those who have popped....looks like almost half of the list are already mommies.
I am still waiting.... only about 1cm dialated and gynae does not want to induce till my due date next week....15th April.
All the best to everyone!

Hi Sherin,

Don't give up on the bf-ing.. even if u can pump out a bit, can still give baby to drink k? A little is better than nothing. So even if it is giving baby as a snack, it still helps

ya sherin, juz pump or latch on regularly... even it it is juz a little bit, it will still help in the long run. don get too stress over it.

sherin,

yes... dun give up. bf is very tiring but it's worth it. It a rare chance for u to do it.... "Jia You"

I'll be going to be MIA for a while coz my boy is down with Jaundice. Level quite high so... must be super onz to nurse him and do the treatment for him. Started doing phototheraphy for him today at hm. So... will be nursing him every 2 hrs then put him back to do the theraphy.

All the best to those who are popping soon.....

bfg mummies, keep it up & drink lots of fluids. sure have milk. remember, it's demand and supply logic

Sherin - don be too hard on urself. My SS is also pathetic but i try not to be too tough on myself, taking as much rest as possible and let bb latch on whenever possible only.

cheesycake,
I normally latch for at least 30mins. After a whlie he will detach himself then start to wriggle around. Then open his mouth for more... I try to latch back on but he will start to detach again after a while and continue the vicious cycle. Think cannot satisfy his demands. Got a few times, bb was not cranky but cl just stuff the milk bottle in cos she already prepared. Then bb will sleep for hours, and I end up pumping. Sometimes I try not to interact too much with her, let hb talk to her. A bit buey tahan when she makes a comment about my low ss, every single day.

Today, I start to have pain on the breasts that feel like needles poking. Only a bit hard. Is that how engorgement feels like? Or is it due to excessive pumping?

Kea,
My cramps only lasted for 1-2 days, after that didn't feel anything. Went for postnatal checkup and gynae says my uterus shrinking.

Simp,
I drank black bean soup but still slow to build ss. Everyday increase a bit only. Dunno when can catch up with you girls.

cherish,
Welcome back. The clear liquid is colostrum. Try to feed every drop of that to your bb. It's very precious.

calamari,
Only advise that I can give now is to prepare your nipples now! When I first tried to latch on, it was very painful. Heard that it takes time to toughen the skin there.

Sherin,

Can understand how you feel. At times I also want to give up. But keep telling myself to persevere a bit more. Even if ss is low, at least I gave my bb the best that I could provide.

BF very tiring and painful.
I still have no milk for bb, but breast start to harden, nipples very painful... although no milk, still let bb latch on to stimulate the flow.. she is quite co-operate, hopefully can see results soon...

Kea, i still have cramps.. tummy still big big..

tsukushi: i nurse my bb for 5mins and she will detach her mouth after she's full. u will know whether if bb is sucking correctly by hearing the swallowing sound and after tat ur breasts will become soft. every 2-3hrs remem to wake ur bb up to BF. as every 2-3hrs ur breast will provide milk and when u sense engorgement is coming. u can start BF alrd. yes, when ur breast is hard, pain or feel heavy tats engorgement
dont give up, im telling myself no matter how hard to wakeup middle of the night i want to BF her... aiyo y ur CL like tat? y not tell her u wanna BF ur bb? if not enough then ask her to give FM? i guess u have to talk to her. if not u keep pumping out, very wasted. at least when he hungry u can feed him with EBM is ur CL nv feed him with FM. or u might want to tell her that u will do the feeding urself?

here a very good link for BF. do take alook...

http://www.kellymom.com/bf/concerns/mom/index.html

any idea how much should a newborn drink?
my girl drink 60ml FM last night at 2am and din drink untill 8am.. is she taking too much?
do we need to feed bb plain water if we feed FM?

cherish

my boy drink 80 ML for FM and 90ML for BM as BM is more watery.....the FM bottle states that 0-1wk is 60ml.....1-2wk is 90ml...my boy fed on every 3hrly......if BM, he will fed on 2.5hrly

hi cherish, my newborn currently drinks a mixture of BM and FM. For FM, he drinks 60ML. For BM, i let him suckle 15 mins on each breasts. Usually, i give FM at nite. Trial and error. BM is more digestible than FM so bb gets hungry faster. There's no right milk formulae for bb. As every bb is different, you will have to trial and error. Hopefully this helps.

jgal, only day 4 now.. she suddenly drink 60ml, cos in hospital she only drink 30ml to 45ml... suddenly jump to 60ml... and she can sleep for 6hr after that, i find it scary, seems not very good...

joelle, i let my girl drink similac.. nt bad, i find it..

cherish.. congrats that you just pop.. :p
You may want to check with the doc. normally jaundice baby is very sleepy and does not wake up for food. 6hrs w/o feed is abit long.

Cherish - oh yes my bb first few days drank like 60ml, then she slept for 5-6hrs don wan wake up (maybe becos she got jaundice). But tik must feed them every 4hrs at least. Now she wakes up like 3hr for each feed.

now i noticed that my bb don wan drink EMB, tik she used to FM liao....jialatz. Just now she wasted my EBM lor, i let her suck then she spilt out like playing with her tongue, so naughty. wasteful man.

Can i check if i give ebm to girl, how long can it last in fridge and out of fridge? Is putting the ebm constantly on bottle warmer ok, how long can we put before the milk is considered spoiled?

Think i thawed ebm yesterday, put on warmer since last night. Then i poured away the ebm as i scared it is spoiled alreadi. Can anyone advise?

Yo,
U take care ok. My girl still a bit jaundice at D13. Sign. Hope it will go.

Sherin,
If u decide not to bf, it is ok. U must be relaxed so that u can bond better with bb and take better care of bb and yourself. At least u tried. Dun worry and be depressed abt it, ok.

Tsukushi,
I realised that when i din take red date longan tea or soupy stuff or veg, milk ss dropped. Yesterday i tried pumping, it was a miserable. Then i think my mum starting to put me on tonic/bu stuff like ginger, alcohol stuff after my 12 days of light food becoz of csec case. Then i told her if she cook those, cook a little only and balanced with milk ss boosting stuff like red date tea / black bean soup/papaya soup etc if not no milk for my girl and i think will faint.

Tratties has just delivered through Induced Normal delivery with epi. Baby weigh: 2.92kg.

Congrats Tratties...finally ur princess is out upon reaching full term

koori/cherish

i remember mrs wong say..in the day no matter wat must wake up bb max every 4 hrs for feed

then at nite let her sleep n wake up herself....

Stefy - Oh every 4 hrs must wake her up. heee. i din attend the parentcraft lessons so must rely on u all to give advice. Later i gg latch her on so i don waste my milk, already so little.

Simp - i also wan know how long EMB can keep on warmer. How abt FM? Maybe the others can help to advise.

koori...yup....wake her up in the day so she will know how to differenciate btw day n nite...

can also help train her to sleep longer hrs at nite...

cheesycake
my hb talked to her le. now I insist on feeding bm 1st, if not enough then she can make fm but only a bit or else bb will sleep for very long. now i'm only worried that he's not drinking enough cos we don't even give him 60ml of fm. btw 60ml is for each feed or for the whole day?

congratulations to tratties!

simp
then I cham le...the vege cooked by cl can make me feel nauseous ...eating lesser n leser everyday.

stefylim, she dun want to drink, she closed her mouth tight...

I dun hold FM for long, if she touch the milk, but dun want to drink, i will throw away le..

hello everyone

seems like mummies who have popped are all concern about bf, ss and jaundice now. wonder how long more for me le...

Anyone experience increase in translucent discharge for few days after mucus plug came out? Is it normal? Supppose it's not the amniotic fluid right?

Zishumo - don worry too much abt when bb coming, bb will come soon. Meanwhile cont to enjoy ur preg. U will miss ur big tummy once bb is out. hee.

just back from gynae visit.

my boy boy now weighing 3kg @ week 37!! last tuesday was oni 2.565kg. hehehee.... =)

but but but... my weight gain 21kg. =(

confirm next tuesday csection at 2pm. Fasting from 8am onwards. 11am must reach TMC. *scare*.....

Does anyone of you have recommendation for doing baby's hand and feet moulding?

Can't seem to find others except best impression.

koori,

My baby is at breech position so have to csection, but b4 that my MIL already choose that date liao.. so bor pian... now cannot blame MIL.

muzicgal, all the best!

joellez, i am using S26. but it is very heaty, must must force bb to drink water before and after feed. my bb cant take similac cos too curdy. we change to S26 but only FM in the night time - 2 feeds. Day time - all EBM.

Jgal, same here, my bb cant use Nepia too. it leaks. so, i am only using fitti and pampers. My CL feels that too wasteful if dont use the nepia, so she use it lightly in the day. my bb Jay change diapers about 4 times/ day so not so costly yet. most of the diapers are presents from friends and relatives, so have yet to feel the pinch.

Cath - i also got diapers from frenz so haven feel the pinch but the FM is ex!
Wow Nepia will leak, i haven open my pack of S size nepia diapers.
My CL using cloth diapers in the day for bb. She say bb girl tends to get rashes than bb boys, say bb boys can use disposable no prob.

oops sorry din realised the picture is so huge. This was taken when he is still in the labor ward, hb captured his first smile

Anyway for those mummies thinking of doing it natural, I will strongly encourage epidural. Did not feel a thing throughout the whole process

Congrats to all those who have popped and those waiting, it will come soon too!!

Today I tried to latch on and he wakes up every hr for a feed. But seems like ss not keeping up with dd. In the end, hb suggested giving him 1 feed of FM so we gave him 60ml. BB is already a week old, wonder if we're under-feeding him?

scubababe,
So cute! We have not managed to capture my boy's smile yet. Always a flashing smile, camera not fast enough.

cheesycake,
Btw, thanks for the link! Will check it out. Think if I have postnatal depression, will be because of my CL.

btw, does engorgement pain feel like needles poking?