(2008/04) April 2008

hi cloudme, hehe, my gynae chk for dilation, bb still inside comfortably leh... but he did tell me that it may trigger labor within the next few days! Also, I read fr the net that there r various ways to make baby come out faster aka natural induction... i.e. walking, standing, intercourse, scraping of membranes, swinging on a swing (lol)

congrats scubababe!! so many mummies popped already! cant wait when all of us finished popping! jiayou!!

for mummies who have popped, does your bb regurgitate (spit out milk after drinking) after each feed? mine does recently even after i burped him. so worried wonder if anything is wrong.

Gervynne,
My girl also spit out milk w or w/o burping. It is normal, maybe the movement we hold them is too fast or strong resulting in the spitting or they have an overdose of milk.Last night my girl choked while bf, scared me. She always sleeps when she's on bf. Now she has been trained to feed on both sides with regular timing like 10 to 15mins and let go of my breast naturally most of the time and sleep.

Check with the mummies who have popped, do ur bb have birthmarks on the head/scalp? Mine has and i am thinking of removing it for her when she is 4 to 6 months old. Need to find a plastic surgery place to do this. Heard there is 1 in Mt A. Those who delivered in Mt A, could help me check with your PD who is good surgeon and their charges? If anyone has other recommendations, do let me know in this forum or PM or email me.

Initially i thought it is just the shaving of hair that will do the trick, then PD told me it is common that bb has similar skin colour birthmark on their head.Faint.

scubababe...congrates...wow ur bb is huge...3.91kg....u haf done really well

mummies who have yet to buy the breastpump, my friend is keen to sell her brand new medela mini electric plus with cooler carrier bag set with warranty unfilled. If you are keen pls email me at [email protected] and i'll get her to liase with you. She cant breastfeed due to medical problems so selling it away and has never used it before.

Simps: my boy has got birthmark/bruises (like blue-black) at his butt area! Initially i thought someone pinched him haha but it slowly goes away though.

i'm back from the check up, will be going to induce this evening.. cos water level too low..
cervix still tight, doc managed to stretch 1cm dilated only.. hopefully everything will be ok..

geryl, can you update for me
nick: cherish
BB's week: 38 weeks
BB's weight: 3.0kg
mummy's weight gain: 16.7kg

Stefy - back pain is also a symptom of delivery. One of my frenz din get contractions, instead she got back pain. Just be careful and alert, look out for symptoms. Since ur last day in office, ask for early release go home to rest better if pain persists. Tmr u might be in labour liao , ; )

My delivery story
29 Mar 08 (1.30pm) - go for normal weekly checkup. Doc detected high bp and high protein in urine, not happy with results, ask me to be admitted for observation.

29 Mar 08 (2.30pm) - admitted to ward, observation started, put on 24hrs urine test. Regular taking of bp throughout 29 & 30 Mar.

30 Mar 08 (1130am) - doc came to check, not happy with bp results, still high. Recommended induce or csection on 31 Mar 08 if condition did not get better.

31 Mar 08 (9.00am) - doc came with some good news, if urine test is ok, can be discharge to rest at home then wait for natural delivery.

31 Mar 08 (3.45pm) - nightmare came true, results no good, need to induce. Nurse started me on tablet to insert to loosen cervix.

31 Mar 08 (10.00pm) - doc came to inspect cervix condition, dilated abt 1cm. Doc say can try for natural, since cervix has loosen bit. Asked DH to go home to rest, tmr will start me on drip. Doc asked me rest well over the night to 'fight' battle next day.

1 Apr 08 (845am) - doc checked cervix 2cm dilated. Asked to get ready to go delivery ward. I washed up, did my last bath before birth and nurse came to 'clear' my bowels.

1 Apr 08 (1030am) - transferred to delivery ward. Doc recommended Epidural as she foresee process is going to be long.

1 Apr 08 (11.15pm) - anthestist came to inject epidural.

1 Apr 08 (11.30pm) - doc came to break waterbag, put on drip and start process. Checked cervix abt 3cm dilated, she is glad at least its processing.

1 Apr 08 (noon) - felt sleepy, slept for abt 1-2hrs. Cant feel much contractions yet.

1 Apr 08 (2pm onwards) - felt contractions more intense, quite unmanageable. Nurse increased bit dosage but can still feel the pain. Ater 30mins, pain gone, asked to push cos contractions more intense. Pushed for 1-2hrs, felt drowsy, sleepy, tired, no energy. DH say i dose off for a while. Cant push much cos cant feel the contractions pain, tik dosage too high, opps. Whole body was shaking uncontrollably (effects of epidural).

1 Apr 08 (5.10pm) - doc finally came, bb's head still high, midwife say i must still try to push if not cannot get bb out, I was scared doc suggesting csection, lucky she din. She offered assisted delivery by forceps, agreed to using. Bb out at 5.39pm....finally, phew!!!!!!!!!

1 Apr 08 (5.39pm onwards) - bb cord cut, nurse passed bb to me, so precious the moment.

1 Apr 08 (6.30pm) - bb pushed to nursery. Mom stayed in delivery ward. Got side effects of epidural, felt super giddy and nausea, vomitted quite a bit.

1 Apr 08 (10.00pm) - rested and pushed back to normal ward.

Koori,
Not easy labour but u did it!

Scubababe,
Yeap, bigger babies easier to take care.

Gervynne,
If my ger's birthmark is elsewhere, then it is ok. But her birthmark is located at the portion where we have our parting, the left parting. Can imagine her hair to cover the mark but maybe her friends may mistaken it as balding. How? Faintz, she need to do surgery at such an early age.

i have given birth on 01 April 2008 @ 0443hrs. Discharged ytd.

natural delv w/o epi
bb wt @ 3.205kg
bb ht @ 51cm
bb head circumf @ 33cm

my delv was a super fast one. Like gg 7-eleven

@140am 1/4/08

- awaken by my gal coz she wetted her bed. HB attended to her but she wanted mummy. So, I went in to her rm n set her back to bed. stood up n felt contraction.

@2am 1/4/08
- told HB bb might b coming. started to time contraction.
- contraction very freq. every 5 mins n lasted for 55-60 secs

@3.15am 1/4/08
-called my sister and she sent my BIL to come n pick my gal to their hse.

@3.45am 1/4/08
-HB n I set off to Mt A

@4am 1/4/08
- Reached Mt A
- Got to delv suite
- Changed into e Kimono

@4.22am 1/4/08
- Cervix hk by nurse
- was told i was already fully dilated. Can give birth anytime.

@4.35am 1/4/08
- Gynae came
- Burst my water bag

@4.40am 1/4/08
- Gynae said start pushing

@4.43am 1/4/08
- BB Nicodemus arrived

Yo...congrates....wow ur delivery really fast n ur gynea was fast too already at the ward when u go...maybe coz its ur 2nd child...

simp...u got chk wif ur pd is the mark will go away as ur girl grows?

wanted to get leapfrog stuff, wondering if any of u interested? will be opening a mini spree to capped at 10 sets and is left with 7 slots now. worth to get the little touch leappad cos is having promo currently.

1)Item Name: LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Learning System (blue colour/ Pink color)
URL:http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/littletouch_leappad/ltlp_/ltleappad.html
unit price : $19.99

2) Item Name: Read & Write LeapPad®
URL:http://www.leapfrog.com/en/families/leappad/leappad_learning_system/leappad_readwrite.html
Unit Price: $24.99

Yo,
U make delivery sounds so easy n fast

Stefylim,
PD says will grow with bb, wont go away de. Sob. My sis last time birth mark is blue grey in colour at the hand wrist n disappear as she grows.My ger' mark is skin colour but 1 patch no hair growing out from her left side head. So can be obvious if she has short hair.

Blessed: My bleeding has turned to slight stain now,feel more sore and uncomfortable at the V area than before...also wondering if it will really help to induce the baby. Any idea can go swimming since there is slight bleeding due to the scraping? Want to make sure my natural delivery can be a smooth one le.

cherish: doc also stretch yr cervix to dilate it and induce tonight? I'm sure all will go smooth, don't worry and take care.

ChelChel: cont to stay positive for yr bb and do take care too!

blessed,

mine was just contraction.

ya... when my gfs heard my experience, they said it made delv sounds so easy...

maybe bcoz, i hv a very super high threshold of pain and oso it's my 2nd birth.

all the best to mummies who are popping soon. Go with a +ve mindset so it'll make ur lbr less scary....

Congrats Yo!

By the way, can someone describe to me how do contractions feel? Esp the initial contractions. Sometimes I dunno whether I am imagining contractions. :p

calamari,
Contractions are often described as a cramping or tightening sensation that starts in the back and moves around to the front in a wave-like manner. Others say the contraction feels like pressure in the back. During a contraction, the abdomen becomes hard to the touch. In the childbirth process, the work of labor is done through a series of contractions. These contractions cause the upper part of the uterus (fundus) to tighten and thicken while the cervix and lower portion of the uterus stretch and relax, helping the baby pass from inside the uterus and into the birth canal for delivery.

basically is something like menstruation cramps but is more painful.

halo ladies

i just went to washroom and discover my "mucus plug" is out...does that means i will be going to labour soon?

jo: thanks

cloudme: i read somewhere that it might take up to 2 weeks after your mucous plug is out, before u give birth. But your EDD is soon, so should be soon lah
Hehe

cloudme,
mi also blur blur at times, now looking fwd to receiving my bb faster lei.
contractions will getting more intense and painful eventually and bb movements normally is a while only. contractions last for few hours depending on individual b4 u go into labour.

koori, i'm using the dual medela mini electric. So far so good. I dont use the highest suction but still manage to suck out whatever i have.

xiaozhu, try to relax and be more optimistic, rest more and you'll feel better. I'm also looking after baby myself. But I rest when she's sleeping. Must remember to stay happy for baby!

xiaozhu. altho my mom helped with the confinement, i am doing mostof the work myself, running around the house, waking up in the wee hours of the morn when bb cries etc. i know how you feel.

rem to rest when bb sleeps. sometimes u can get really power nap from that. or you can surf the internet to destress. dun be too hard on yourself. talk to your hubby to get emotional support if you cannot manage it alone. its not easy but we'll get thru this together.

gervynne & simp: now my gal like to slp while BF. i always have to tickle her to wake her up. she drinking 1 side 10mins only. scare not enough for her. so i have to wake her up every 2hrs to BF her. how abt ur bb? how do u all train ur bb?

cheesycake: my baby also falls asleep easily while BF-ing! but my bb regurgitates alot so each time he fell asleep, i'll burp him and he'll wake up, then i BF him again on the other side.

Dun worry so much. sometimes baby knows exactly how much milk they need. so if she falls asleep and refused to wake up, then let her be.

how abt mummies who have bb who sleeps more than 4 hours after each feed? how do u wake bb up for 3 hourly BF?? My PD said 3 hourly feed is the schedule but my boy always oversleep and sometimes no matter wat, i just cant wake him up unless i open up his diapers! LOL

Xiaozhu,
It is not easy to take care of bb by yourself esp now that u r weak physically. However whatever housework just dun do if cannt manage and get HB to involved to help u. Eg, ask him to change diaper, burp bb, bring bb to u during night. HB to help wash clothes at night, dishes, mop, sleep floor whatever. To give you strength and energy to look after bb and bf him, boli one big pot of red date longan tea, hot/warm or normal room temperature, put them in your room/bedside, drink in the morning and daytime, it will boost energy for u to wake up and bf bb, quench your thirst etc. During this time, ur priority is energy to bond and bf bb only. Other than that the rest is secondary and HB support is very impt.

Cheesycake,
My ger has choked like 3 times alreadi these 2 days while bf and slp. So scary, i have to quickly sit her up and pat her on the back. The choking sound really make me scared but my ger like not bothered. Faint. I have been tickling her until i give up but after the choking incident, i make sure i tickle her esp during night feed. Nite feed is really a challenge, even my HB also tired and having headache and backache from the chaninging of bb diaper and burping her as his main role. HB support realli impt but he is returning to kl for work soon. Hopefully by then my csec wound is more or less ok and i am more mobile hee.

I realised my girl has growth spurt on day 5 and 6 and drinks like every 2 hours, per side 10-15 mins so in all min 25 mins to 30 mins max. Yesterday D8 n today, she seems to slp more, wake up every 3 to 5 hours to drink and only drink abt 10mins per side making it in all 20 mins to 25 mins max. She seems to have form the habit to wake up by herself and auto bf per side by her own, she will let go of breast once 10 mins is up. Havnt decide how to train her but let me see how she and i are doing before i decide how to train.