(2008/04) April 2008

Just visited the gynae..
My boy @ week 37
BB weight's 2,9kg
Mum's weight gain 15kg (sob sob)

Cant wait for baby to pop , his head is 60-70% engaged so I guess I gotta hang ard for a wk or two! Feel so happy for the mummies who can get to see their lovely babes and hold them in their arms!!!

Btw, did any1 engage any postnatal massage lady? I read fr other threads tt some of them regain prepreg figure after 7 days! Does any1 ve any good recommendations or those mummies who have alr given birth can testify to it? Heehee

I am from the Mar 08 MTB thread. Have already delivered my boy on 13 Mar. Just in case anyone is interested to get a Malay lady for post-natal massage, I would like to recommend the lady who is currently doing my post natal massage.

Reason for recommending her is because I had severe breast engorgement where even cold cabbage leaves were useless. Even had a house visit by a lactation consultant but her method of relieving the engorgement wasn't helpful either. I couldn't latch on either coz I had sore nipples. Was very depressed and am very grateful to this Malay woman for helping me get my breast milk moving.

In one session with this Malay massage lady, she managed to masssage my breasts and relieve the engorgement. Followed her instructions to use tamarind (assam) to apply on the breasts - did this once a day, 3hrs each time, and noticed that milk was slowly leaking from the breasts and engorgement was reduced significantly.

My wt before pregnancy is 60kg. Was 77kg before I delivered. Lost 8kg after giving birth (69kg), After 4 massage sessions with her, my wt was reduced from 69kg to 66kg. Her massage is very useful and also helped to get rid of water retention in my feet and thighs.

Not too sure if her charges are on the high side, but she charges $70 a session, abt 1 to 1.5hr each time, for post natal massage & wrap. Her name is Mdm Aisah and her mobile no. is 81778092.

Btw I don't normally log in to this thread so if anyone needs more info, do PM me.

All the best & wishing you a smooth delivery!

<font color="0000ff">Koori</font>

I bought the Babysafe mattress protector as well.

Size: 27" x 36"
No. of pieces: 2 in a pack
Cost (@ Fair) = $23
Cost (@ Robinson) = $33.90

It's really worthwhile to go down to the Baby Fair if you are buying Babysafe products.

It's really a good deal. But need to go early so that the crowd is manageable. Fair opens at 11am.

<font color="0000ff">Steph</font>

I bought the flat pillow as well. But not from the fair. Can use it when our baby is older. I also bought milk bottles with a "stupid" tube inside (as claimed by Mrs Wong).. Sign... just use lor.

But I like NUK bottles.. they have designs on the milk bottles.. very cute.

<font color="0000ff">Scubababe</font>
Will let u know if Chewy decided not to take the cases. Tsukushi and I bought the same Pooh Bear design pillowcase. She has the pic in her blog.

BTW, if you planned to sign up for the Cordlife, it's not necessary to go down to Fair if you have the FBI card. FBI savings is better then Fair's savings.

hi Tsukushi.. just saw your question.. err.. mine is waterbag burst and show. After waterbag burst, with 24hr mux deliver liao, even if no contraction.

My gynea guideline is 1. show 2. leaking or burst water 3. pain(contraction). For contraction only, need to monitor for 2 hrs before rushing to the hospital because it may be false alarm.

sorry to interrupt...

Post natal massage by experience indo lady
10x for $500 only. one n half hr per session
10X for $400 for one hr sessions

all the package include the jamu wraps. no need deposit.

sms me or pm me ur contact,address n edd.

calamari..i thk my massage lady will do the wrap n provide the material so shld be ok....u may wanna chk wif urs to see wat u need to prepare...

mine just told me prepare 1 mattress/yoga mat n 2 large towels but my colleague told me, if got unwanted bedsheet, will be gd to line it on the mattress n also the area surrounding it coz if not will be quite oily after tt n the towel is use to cover us during massage better use those that u dun wan then can throw away after the massage too oily to wash...

the desitin creamy rash ointment that i ordered shd be here next week. and have got 1 xtra first teeth enzyme bb toothpaste. anyone keen, pls contact me =)

cloudme: my bb has been doing lots of stretching which is quite uncomfortable at times. can feel she been kicking very low, hope she stay all the way till she wanna come out. yup me too now adays dont dare to go crowded plcs without my hubby. some plp just push ard even they see pregnant woman. so must be careful. just now i have terrible tummyache then go loo but nothing come out tot wanna give birth liao. another false alarm haiz... seriously i hope she dont choose apr fool day to pop~

cheesycake....we are all waiting for our bb's arrival...

me too been feeling uncomfortable when bb is stretching these days especially ard the belly button area n bladder....

i also feel bb movements super strong these two wks, think he's trying to push himself lower and lower , getting ready for poping out, hehe

Tsukushi, kaylen:
think no need pillow, cos when they are NB, pillow might be too high/ big for them, jus fold one disper cloths to support the head will do(more comfy). i scare if the pillow too high, bb will sprain the neck lei. my #1 nv use pillow till his neck was more stable and strong. SOmemore can wash and change daily. New pillow other then those oral types are high for NB.

jo thanx for the info....will let my bb use the bbsafe rectangle pillow later then...

its raining heavily again....good day to nua at home....hee hee heee

stefy : enjoying motherhood and ML lor.. ha haha .. quite relax.
i guess cos' my bb is quite guai.. she only cry softly for milk. and after feed, she will sleep quietly. So quite easy to take care.

jgal, gald to hear that u hv got a v guai bb girl.
my son that time will cry as if the roof will fell when he's hungry and always make mi and CL v gan chong.

Xiang - the bbsafe cot mattress protector is so cheap @ the Fair! but too fair for me to go leh. My DH say petrol ex cannot cover unless i bought alot. heee.

Btw, the JL sale 20% + 20% does not cover bb &amp; nursery items, i called to ask so don bother going down.

hi Jgal
Glad to know that u have settled well into motherhood. take care!!
I still have a mth to go before delivery...

Re: Babyfair
went yesterday. Agree its disppointing &amp; when i see the queue at some booth, i wanna faint. In the end, just manage to get some organic olive oil, baby oil &amp; baby soap. Didnt manage to find mumsfairy booth though.

i just finished packing all my bb's clothes into the drawer cabinet....finally settle another impt task, next is to clean bb's room a bit and get ready some confinement groceries.

I am back from the gathering!!! we enjoyed ourselves very much. Took some photos as well. Glad to meet some of the mummies.

<font color="0000ff">Chewy</font>, pls send us the photos when u had downloaded it.

<font color="0000ff">Serene</font>, thanks for food and place.

Koori,

the cot protector is cheap.. but the parking and petrol to expo is not!!!! So you are not getting the protector?

starling.. ha haha ... you can never predict when bb want to come :p
hahaha .. koori.. kaylen will.. i heard gals are generally more "gentle"

RE: Apr's mum gathering = Great food &amp; laughter!!

Serene123, thanks for being the host &amp; I really enjoyed myself ..kekeke &amp; the food! Thanks so much for the trouble, too bad raining, otherwise maybe can hv pool party... I always like tat but too bad can't sip martinis now... :p OMG, you still look thin babe, so envious.. kekeke

Prawnie, Xiang, Jaspire, Cherish &amp; Yvonne: Mummies thanks got making the effort to meet, hope u all enjoy urselves! So fun to know who I am chatting with now.. no need to imagine.. hahaha Ahh.. next gathering, gonna be w our cuties after their 1st month.. can't wait! Shall send u babes the pix soon

Jaspire: Tks for the bumper!!! Love it, kekeke HB &amp; I love teddies. *hugs*

Xiang: Wow, u reached hm so soon! Thks for the pillow cases! Now dun hv to nag at HB wat gd bargains we had missed out due to his impatience.. kekeke

Yvonne: Thks for the ride! Babe, dun worry, u r doing fine, keep eating!

tsukushi: Heehee I agree that my heart sank too when Mrs Wong said no need to buy the NB pillow. Aiya, I thot nvm lah, luckily we started buying only 1 NB.. hehehe, imagine we got the different pillows for all stages... oh for the nursing bras, I bought 1st also coz my HB might be on course so he might not be free. Standby 1st *phew*

Chewy:

Cherish and me should reached home in abt the same timing as she got on the bus earlier. No worry abt the pillowcases. Glad that u like them.

Jaspire: Thanks for the ride too.

Geryl,
Pls update my details, thks!

BB @ Week 36
BB Weight 2.7kg
Mummy Weight gain: 9kg

Yoohoo! This morn, gynae said Lil' Chewy is engaged! No wonder I feel alot of his downward nudging &amp; feel comfortable wearing pants hanging low there...kekeke

chewy- can email me at [email protected]

me too 1st thing after confinement is to go party and get high.. miss all the alcohol.

great to hear that u enjoy the food.. sorry didn't invite u all upstairs cos v dusty from today bed installation and my PT maid not here for 3 weeks. so a bit messy.

Jgal &amp; xiaopig

how many pcs of Maternity pad u bring to hospital? does TMC charges for maternity pad? i don wan bring whole pk of pureen to hospital, v bulky..intend to bring 8pcs, is it enough?

Re the JL sale,
Nursery dept not on sale, but saw some strollers on sale. The toys are on 20+20% sale.. really good buy! But wonder where many of the fisherprice stuff have disappeared to! Only saw a few FP items on the shelves, but managed to get what we wanted. And if you're intending to get hot water flask, Zojiroshi is on 20+20% sale too.

Re cordlife
If you're a fbi cardmember, don't use the $300 discount cos the fbi discount is $450.

koori,
Some will fold diapers to use as pillow but many people said that it's not nec to use a pillow for babies. But must let them sleep on the side of their head to prevent flat head. The main reason why newborns don't use pillow is to prevent suffocation.

Xiang,
I got the dr brown bottles, and mrs wong also said the vent is bad hygiene.
What to do, buy already.

jo,
You mean the oval pillow is also too high for NB to use??

Jgal,
Glad to hear that you're enjoying your motherhood! Heard so many horror stories too often. Hopefully my kid will be guai too!

Pooshies: All the best for your C-section on Monday.

Congrats Venus.

Yah.. Agree that the bb fair is very disappointing. Nothing much to buy. I only subscribed to the mother &amp; baby magazine. had a very bad experience at the booth. the staff there provided wrong information. I am not interested to buy 1 copy of the magazine but only interested to subscribe for the magazine. I was asked to queue up when I told her that I would like to subscribe the magazine. Only after I reached the counter was I informed by another person that I did not have to queue up if I had only wanted to subscribe. The queue is only for those who wanted to buy 1 single issue of the magazine. Can you imagine me having to queue up for almost 1 hour for nothing? I was quite angry when I learnt about that.

Bought a thermometer from the fair, the nursing cream from mustela and the baby sling from MIM.

Sigh.. sad that I missed the gathering today. Have got work to do.. sigh.

Jenny: How are you? When will your C-section be? how often are your appts with dr tham nowadays? I have not started on my weekly appts yet.

geryl,

my updates!
bb weighs 2.8kg @ 36wks
my gain is 11kg

Now really scared that bb will be a 3+ kg during delivery. He gained 500g in 2 weeks.

burpy babe,
You mean the super long queue is to buy that 1 issue of magazine?! I saw the long queue too but didn't know what they were queuing for. I have an offer from FBI card to subscribe the mag at $50 for 1 year, but it doesn't come with the freebies you get at the fair. But hb decided that the freebies were not very useful so we didn't subscribe at the fair.

tsukushi - there are actually 2 super long queues. One is before u enter the exibition hall, that one is for the goodie bag. When u enter, if u wanna buy the mother &amp; baby mag and get the goodie bag, gotta queue again. I queued for both, cos i was there quite early, both queues moved quite fast. The mother &amp; baby mag goodie bag quite good. If u buy above $10, will get a small tin of milk, but the milk expiring in May 08, so i did not get as the milk is only for babies 6 mths up.

goodbaby - i thik the handsfree kit is $29+.