(2008/04) April 2008

blessed, there are babycots which can be converted to a junior bed till your child reaches 4-5 years old and it is less than S$300 at some places. try convincing your hubby that it is for long term use. u can always pass to your second child in future as well.

for those deliverin in tmc, can advise how we do admission?? as i heard that if midnite, the entrance of door is diff etc?? shld go where and which level, which lift etc?

kea, do ur doc give u admission letter?

I got it from my doc, in case of anything, i just have to show the letter to the hospital...

Btw, for delivery at TMC, all baby things will be provided (clothes, mittens, diapers, wet wipes, blanket) baby will also be given a set of clothes and wrapping blanket to go home with, so we dun need to pack anything for baby...

for mummies:
2 set of front button pjyamas,
underwear and nursing bra,
cardigan, socks
a pair to slippers
personal toiletries (hopsital do provide a basic set though)
1 large towel for bathing
small towel (for cleaning face or wiping breast before BF)
breast pump
hp, camera with charger or batteries
hospital will provide a packet of sanitary pads

Puffish: me egg machine i bought it from 1 of the mummy in the motherhood forum also .. but feel no use as most of the time bb be at my mum's place and my mum prefer to use hand wash ..

Chewy: No prob.. Will settle the outstanding when we meet at the gathering. Your shoot is at 2pm right? Amy taking the last slot I think. haha.. I was telling her, If got chance, pro we can have a photo taken together

Re: Gathering
Can I make Konnyaku Jelly for the mummies and kids? Just wondering if any daddies joining ?

Koori: Visited neighbourhood furniture shops this morning. I dun really like the drawer's interior. Saw this at IKEA and think it's very flexible in organising and had ample storage space.

1274974.jpg

- Comes with 4 adjustable shelves; adjust spacing according to need.
- Width: 60 cm, Depth: 40 cm, Height: 202 cm
- Cost $218

got a Safety 1st Funtime Froggy Bath Cradle for sale. bought at $24.90. willing to let go at $15. brand new and unopened. interested parties please pm me.

1274996.jpg

prawnie: hahaha sure maybe can take pics together. FOr gathering, shld be fine! Not sure any daddies coming, HB asking also.. hahaha. He can babysit the kids :p

Any daddies coming along?

April Hi-Tea Gathering
Saturday Time: 1pm-3pm
Venue: Chewy's Place (Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Take train to yew tee MRT & there's direct bus 302)

8 March/Food
1 Yo (with kid)/ice-cream
2 Simp/cakes, kuehs/hokkein mee
3 Chewy, finger food
4 Stefylim
5 Zishumo
6 Prawnie, Konnyaku Jelly
7 Geryl (with kid)
8 Juniorrain / honeydew or rockmelon

15 Mar/Food
3 Chewy
4 Zishumo
5 Prawnie,Konnyaku Jelly
6 Geryl (with kid)
7 Violet

Kaylen_Koori: yap think i got it at Giant Tampines or AMK Ntuc Hub ... (4got already) hehehe bought it think 2 mths back ba ... saw it and tot quite useful so just grab heheeh

Hey Mummies,

In regards of bb full mth ... I found a caterer which is nice and reasonable .. cos the day b4 my company just ordered from them .. (tea reception) quite worth it too .. if u interested can drop me a msg, i can give u the details ...

For bb full mth, me & hubby decided to book chalet @ changi ... had done the booking already .. hope my little bb dun pop out too early ... cos we only base on estimation date .. kekekke

Good morning ladies
what a rainy, sleepy Sunday morning...
went for a workshop at KKH yesterday, "A Strong Marriage to Welcome Your New Born" and find it quite good..learn some practical tips for conflict management.

Gathering:
can't confirm what I will be bringing, most likely buy some snacks from where I would end up that day ok?

Xiang:
did you go to Ikea these few days during sales? wonder if any good buys, still looking for a simple, budget single bed frame, Ikea matress pad etc.

Xiang - ya any good baby accessories to buy from Ikea?

Btw - ladies wat are the stroller brand and model u bought? We had a look at the handdowns given to us, not really suitable so sourcing for new ones.

for bb 1st mth, must we celebration exactly on the date or can be later? cant be earlier as we r in confinement rite......coz i can only cater on sunday to compromise most of the guests are free on sunday....hmmmm

Prawnie: hubby and me looking for the lightest stroller possible (eg. combi 4kg+),what are the concerns if it is too light and not as stable? is it not suitable for new born in some ways?

Kea: one confinement lady told me can celebrate earlier but I also think if still during confinement, we must be still rather weak,unsettled, coping with all the new demands, not the ideal timing for celebration hor! Thinking is it the same traditional belief just like birthday cannnot celebrate later but ok if it is earlier. Cracking my head to think if I celebrate later when things are more settled, what can I call it?
or coincide with a public holiday??!!

<font size="+1">Zishumo</font>
<font color="ff6000">that's really an enhancement course
share share here... wat're the take home note from the workshop? ^^</font>

<font size="+1">Jenny Hoo</font>
<font color="119911">im keen in the caterer, can pm me the contact as well? TQs</font>

<font size="+1">April Hi-Tea Gathering</font>
Venue: Chewy's Place (Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Take train to yew tee MRT &amp; there's direct bus 302)

8 March/Food
3 Chewy, finger food
4 Stefylim
5 Zishumo
7 Geryl (with kid)
9 Babybliss

15 Mar/Food
3 Chewy
4 Zishumo
5 Prawnie,Konnyaku Jelly
6 Geryl (with kid)
7 Violet

Thanks for organizing one b4 we POP haa^^
Will join you guys later coz working till 1pm and coming alone

zishumo

ya lo...hmmm...stresss..but oso a good way for us to escapde confinement eariler ? =X...but how u count 1st mth?? my mom say is counted like birthday..meaning eg. 2nd Mar, then is 2nd Apr lo...

Kea,

I thought first mth is usually celebrated b4 the actual day one and to accomodate to the guest usually is the weekend b4 the actual day so its your choice to have it on sat or sun lor. I think that is also y confinement lady usually still around during full mth celebration. Will you be ordering little favours to give to guest for the full mth?

amy

hee..oh ok..so will celebrate early..hee...yup, will be ordering small gifts for my guests..but haven decide yet...have to discuss with hubby oso..

Kea,

Me deciding between chocolates and cupcakes... i saw somewhere there r choclates that you can personalised the wrapper with the baby's info... Then cupcakes look very cute also... Will you get a cake for the celebration? got ppl cut cake during full mth one?

amy

hmm..maybe i more traditional type..hee..wanna get those small gifts with red eggs...so represent bb full mth...hmmm.....i not sure abt the cake cake tingy leh..if cut cake, wad song u gg to sing? =X.....maybe cupcakes will do??

Kea,

I dunno lei... For me coz i think red eggs and glutinous rice stuff will be served at the buffet spread mah so for the guest to take home i can give either chocolates or cupcakes lor.... hmmm... maybe no cake cutting bah but can give cupcakes away lor...

amy

i went before a 1st mth..they ownself make red egg and put in glass cup and wrap it up...coz if buffet serve red egg, i dont tink gt pple will go and peel and eat leh..maybe not for my guests at least....they abit lazy ...=/

I dunno also, coz i not big fan of hard boiled eggs also.... hahaha...

Anyone has any idea if diff dialects got different way of celebrating??

Zishumo: I asked the sales person before. They said so long as you dun hang too many items on the stroller without the baby in it or if the weight exceeds the weight of the baby is alright.
The stability is in terms of when going over bumpy surface etc. The shock will not be that great.

Re: Strollers/prams
I got Peg Perego Pliko Pramette, which is a basinet for newborns to first few months, then it can be converted to a stroller. Can hold up to 18kg. For light weight or heavy weight, really depends on your lifestyle. HB &amp; I prefer not so light ones as we hv seen how some can topple when baby can try standing up in it. We are driving, so not a problem to move ard. Some may consider lighter weight as it's gd for travelling &amp; taking public transport. Maclaren hv pretty light weight strollers.

RE: 1st month celebration
I shld be hving buffet at hm on 2 different days, as I yet to hv hse warming party too. There be baby favours, for relatives-cakes &amp; eggs is a must, frens-either red eggs/cupcakes.

I think I did send a list of caterers of baby 1st month juz moths ago.

April Hi-Tea Gathering
Venue: Chewy's Place (Choa Chu Kang Crescent, Take train to yew tee MRT &amp; there's direct bus 302)

8 March/Food
3 Chewy, finger food
4 Stefylim
5 Zishumo
7 Geryl (with kid)
9 Babybliss

15 Mar/Food
3 Chewy
4 Zishumo
5 Prawnie,Konnyaku Jelly
6 Geryl (with kid)
7 Violet
8 Cherish

hey chewy...

not sure if able to attend the gathering on the 8th coz hubby just reminded me that JL will be delivering our bb stuff on that day btw 2-6pm...

RE strollers/prams....
we got the Capella S601 which can hold NB to 4yrs...thk its abt 8kg very sturdy....we prefer slightly heavier one as have seen sometimes prams topple over when parents hang things at the back...so quite dangerous...

Re: full mth
I most likely have the full mth at home, tik celebrate only 1 day, sure very crowded cos got relatives and frenz but just get it done. I cant imagine having to do it on 2 days.
For cakes, will be giving out those normal cakes with glutionous rice and eggs. Relatives all very traditional dunno how to appreciate those modern cupcakes or chocolates.

I attended 2 baby full month celebrations before and they got cake cutting. The parents and godparents cut the cake.

I just finished packing my hospital LUGGAGE! With my hubby's clothes etc, don't have space to fit in my diaper bag nor any of the big bags I have! Now a bit paiseh, cos they can only fit into a small trolley luggage. Like so kiasu like that. :p

any idea on baby clothes spree going on? looking for nice clothings for bb 1st mth...hee.. saw a burberry baby suit..but too ex to buy in SG...

HI XiaoZhu: I was with the front group nearest to door, wearing a floral white top &amp; black leggings. youself? HOw you find the talk? useful?

BABYBLISS: for me, most impt is I learnt tt I shd try not to argue with Hb every time he raise an issue which I tend to do in the past. Instead, the trainer taught us to really listen then paraphrase to partner how he/she feels so tt the other party can feel better (becos you show tt you really care and understand)and may be don't even need to proceed to problem solving stage ( sometimes what we want is just to be heard and it will help to let out our frustration)He! he! there're much more la, if U interested, I can bring a copy of the workshop's handout to pass U at the gathering

Kea: actually I don't mind confinement period longer le, then can have excuse to have more help around mah...very worry will take longer than a month to recover if undergo C-section la...my gynae say I so 'Xiao Jie' when I told him I took one and a half month to fully recover from the fibroid surgery he did on me 2 yrs back!

Thanks for all yr info on the pram, will forward to Hb and let him decide as he is in charge of it.

am looking for Polo Ralph Lauren Spree. if any mummies happen to know, pls let me know...cant seem to find in forum..all closed...thx a million

sorry late reply. I bought Bebesounds from baby hyperstore at $41. it was on discount..comes with only 1 headset. Think the one with 2 headset is slightly more expensive, about $50?

calamari...dun worry u r not alone...i'm also going to the hospital with a mini trolley bag....

koori...for GlenE, the hospital will provide towels rite we dun haf to bring hor??

Hi Mummies...i can't make it on the 8th...forgotten that i got a wedding to attend...sorry sorry!

April Hi-Tea Gathering

8 March/Food
3 Chewy, finger food
4 Stefylim
5 Zishumo
7 Juniorrain / honeydew or rockmelon
8 Babybliss

15 Mar/Food
3 Chewy
4 Zishumo
5 Prawnie,Konnyaku Jelly
6 Geryl (might be with kid) not sure what to bring yet.
7 Violet
8 Cherish