(2008/04) April 2008

cheesy, same here, physically tired but yet cant sleep at night. For me, it's heartburn every night. Then come to work, feels like a walking zombie. Will be going on ML after good friday on 24th March. Hopefully havent pop then, if not lugi one public holiday. My EDD is abt 31st march to 4 april.

Amy, i'm practically a pig before preggy, can just sleep 20 hours a day kind. My hubby says now it's retribution time coz i dont even sleep 3 to 4 hours a day. Cant wait to get her out. Though i'm abit jittery still. Last night still wondering if i'm ready for a baby in my life.

anyone have an idea when will dr check for dilation?

Kea,

Is you gynae giving u MC to rest at home during this period of time? But its quite common that gynae give MC/HL b4 the EDD coz by that time baby is quite big liao then may be very tedious for mummies to go around as usual...

Jamie,

We dun 1 lor, coz we hope baby choose her own BD herself... My anniversary is 12 days before my EDD
So quite high chance right?

amy

my doc say i wan, he will sure give..but hor i don wan MC....MC only 14days per yr.......HL leave is diff from MC rite? but y i read the MOM webby, HL like sick leave (MC) leh??hmmmmmm..then if i tk HL, my co. deduct my MC, no pt mah....then if nxt time reali sick, is no pay liao...i super blur leh

kea

i dont think they are so mean, afterall our govt supports childbearing wor. not as if u taking the whole mth HL, maybe u test water 1st?

Kea,

Ya lor, i agree with Jamie. When the time comes just take and see how lor sometimes its also about ur immediate supervisor, if he is nice then maybenot a big prob.

For me i try not to take MC coz if i take MC it will affect my collegues alot as in they have to stand in for me. So i try to rest as much as i can during holidays...

sherin

at 1st i also paiseh to take leh but the nurse very nice, told me our health & BB is more important & they are very flexible so just tell them how many days i want, be it MC or HL.

Sherin,

I also, i dun sleep so much lah but i am that type that can sleep anywhere even with lights on and TV on... I now excited and scared at the same time... Can't wait to hold my precious and kiss her yet at the same time dunno if i can cope during the confinement period and later on going back to work...

thanks jamie, any idea when will dr check for dilation? at which week? Since u are more experienced. wanna wear dress instead of my usual pants and top when i go for checkups.

amy

i jus call MOM...they mention co. has no rite to deduct HL fr ML if we take..but can have the rites not to pay us HL if we are earning more than 1.6K......then if tk HL continous by ML, ML will start only when day of delivery

amy, i'm not sure if i can cope after my hubby goes back to work after his two weeks leave. With a crying baby and two dogs at home and tonnes of housework. Intend to get a maid to help but kinda waste money to do so when i'm still on ML. With a baby, wanna save as much as we can for rainy days already. cant spend the way we used to.
Also considering if i want to extend my ML coz i want to breastfeed for at least 6 mths. Saw the mummies in my office quite poor thing, all have to lug this big bag containing pumps, bottles and the "fridge-to-go" to "preserve" the breastmilk. Plus they have to go and hide in e toilet to pump. Not exactly a toilet cubicle, it's a cubicle with shower and no toilet bowls. alot of sacrifices on mummy's part hor. didnt realise that mummies are so "wei da" until we are one ...

Contractions

Labor contractions are the periodic tightening and relaxing of the uterine muscle, the largest muscle in a woman's body. Something triggers the pituitary gland to release a hormone called oxytocin that stimulates the uterine tightening. It is difficult to predict when true labor contractions will begin.

Contractions are often described as a cramping or tightening sensation that starts in the back and moves around to the front in a wave-like manner. Others say the contraction feels like pressure in the back. During a contraction, the abdomen becomes hard to the touch. In the childbirth process, the work of labor is done through a series of contractions. These contractions cause the upper part of the uterus (fundus) to tighten and thicken while the cervix and lower portion of the uterus stretch and relax, helping the baby pass from inside the uterus and into the birth canal for delivery.

sherin

for me, during my weekly visit abt 2 or 3 weeks before EDD. esp when u start to hv contractions on & off. coz actually once your bb engaged & reach 37 weeks, bb anytime can come out liao

Sherin,

I intend to hire a part time maid to help with the major chores, simple daily stuff i m going to do it myself... Dun 1 2 stress myself, would rather spend quality time and enjoy the company of my baby.

My office so far has got no mummies that continue to breastfeed after the ML, think i m going to be the first one and there is also no lactation room and you bet those kaypo are going to examine the EBM that i m going to put in the fridge...

I find that i sayang my mummy more ever since i became preggy...

Kea,

Then like that how? do you know if your co. pays for HL?

Amy, exactly, i cant imagine those kpo examining the bottles of milk in the fridge. I bought pigeon's fridge to go and will use that. But dont like the idea of pumping in the toilet le! my office has a super open concept, so cant pump anywhere else. Thinking of doing it in the car, gonna ask hubby to install those car curtains. haha.
I tried part-time maid. Dont like. perhaps coz i'm those quite fussy type. So i still prefer doing things myself. See how after i pop lo. if cannot manage then get those immediate maids from agency. Should be quite fast right?

Sherin: now adays im taking 4-5 hrs of slp each night only. one thing im a very light sleeper. with the bb kicks & niece crying. how to catch enough slp? im longing for deep slp each night. am not too sure when will gynae check if we have dilated onot. but am sure gynae will do it when its time...

same here, am still worried if im ready to be mummy onot. but i believe when bb arrives we will soon be ready to adjust to the new lifestyle with our litte one
anyone helping u to look after bb ur hb goes back to work? mil, mum or CL?

sherin

maybe u can try using 1 of the meeting rooms to express the milk?
i'm also like u, tried those part time maid but really lousy so i still prefer to do it myself.

i think two weeks is enough for me to adjust. Not getting CL, not used to another person in the house and heard some CL quite naggy, contributing to post natal blues or depression. Mum will be coming over occassionally to help. Though i hope she doesnt. less nagging.
When my girl arrives, everyday will be different from now. Every weekend will be her day. Every NIGHT will be different, waking up for feeds or change. It's a lifetime commitment.

chessycake, just wanna know when he'll check, so that i can be prepared by wearing a dress mah. if not have to take out pants, quite embarassing although i know he's a doc afterall.

jamie, those part time maids i got are always china ladies, erm, i would say their brain a bit simple on lo. After they iron, they place the hot iron on the floor when i got dogs running ard!! You know simple things like that, just makes me feel that i'm wasting my money on them.
Meeting rooms here are always fully booked. With the IR and all, it's impossible to catch any rooms at all. So sian. Good thing abt ML is that i dont have to come back to this polluted island for 12 weeks!

sherin

ic, no wonder they make u BOIL!! keke.. cool down lah, so the best is if can do everything ourselves!
anyway dont tik too much, just enjoy your ML with your little one

sherin: i agree sometimes its better to be on our own to take care of bb. less nagging & conflicts with mil/ mum. as they practice diff ways of handling bb. i wld prefer if mil leave bb to me after my confinement period. let me ownself takecare...

hope everyone has had / is having a good lunch

i'm terrified of being lost and clueless with a baby! have just selected a maid who will be arriving in early March. also employed a CL. soon there'll be strangers in the house, but sometimes it's easier to work with strangers - can never be too forward with relatives :p fingers crossed that it all works out!

Cheesycake
Definitely agree with you.... I can't handle bb plus the sensitive feelings of MIL (sometimes even mom :p) ... rather they just come and visit when we're good and ready LOL

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jamie,
Oh... urs is due date is earlier.... how come must go for c-section??? Don worry me too.... haha

Hi Venus...
are u getting on???? getting closer to the Due Date already...

Hi Cheesycake
I think u din update my info
pregnancy week: 34
bb gender: Baby Pink
bb weight: 2.4kg
ur weight gain: 8kg

Sherin,

You can try to find a local auntie who does cleaning for your area. I not going to get those china cleaning auntie also... will vomit blood ah...

No one is helping me after CL leave. Hubby also not making plans on taking leave for my delivery yet besides the 3 days paternity leave. He is supposed to go on a trip after my confinement... Haiz... still dunno what to do yet...

Actually i hired a CL more to help me than to take care of my baby lor, mayb for the first wk or 2 i might need her to take care of baby but after that i definately 1 2 look after baby on my own if not after she leave i karang kabo...

amy

guess me not taking HL lo....coz mine is small co...v easily notice me not ard then u know la...human tend to gossip and say shit stuff....will try to endure till end of mar lo....then if reali infection or wad, then will apply for a wk HL....don tink i wan to tk long HL coz i will feel unease oso....like not capable at wk....

chewy

i give the BP a miss..i go try liao...don seem to suitable me..my foot long and skinny..wear le v ugly...=(

Kea,

Think you take the HL when u r near ur EDD lor... For me i cannot imagine the drama at my workplace if i work till the very last day...

Tsukushi,

I only know about the fridge to go bag, its a good buy... The other day promo at BHG after the pigeon seminar, the fridge to go bag was selling at $49

<table border=1><tr><td>S/n</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Week</TD><TD>Baby weight</TD><TD>Mummy Wt Gain</TD><TD>Gender </TD></TR><TR><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>Cheesycake</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>2.226kg @ 33 wks</TD><TD>16kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>juniorrain </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.578kg @ wk 30 </TD><TD>8.8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>cloudme </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1156g @ 29 wks</TD><TD>6-7kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Cherish </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.586kg @ wk 29 </TD><TD>11kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Zishumo </TD><TD>27</TD><TD>870g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>6.5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Jenny Hoo </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.372kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>8.5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>sputnik </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.3kg @ 29 wks </TD><TD>5.5kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.1kg @ 27 wks </TD><TD>7kg </TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Simp </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.428kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>14.8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Xiang </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.132kg @ 29 wks </TD><TD>7kg </TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>XiaoZhu </TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1725g @ 32 wks</TD><TD>11kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>jaspire</TD><TD>27</TD><TD>1190g @ 27 wks</TD><TD>10.3kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Cath</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>1.5kg @ 31 wks</TD><TD>17kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>koori</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.2kg @ wk 29 </TD><TD>7.5kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Prawnie </TD><TD>31</TD><TD>2kg @ 31 wks 5 days</TD><TD>16.5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Tsukushi </TD><TD>26</TD><TD>680g @ 24 wks</TD><TD>5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>babybliss </TD><TD>25</TD><TD>809g @ 25wks </TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>gervynne</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2.17kg @ 32 wks</TD><TD>10kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>Mumbly </TD><TD>26</TD><TD>982g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>BBRoYcE</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.2kg @ 28 wks </TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Sherin </TD><TD>32</TD><TD>2.2kg @ 32 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>scubababe</TD><TD>31</TD><TD>2.001kg @ 27 wks</TD><TD>17kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>cloudluv</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.22kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Rain</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.4kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>6kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Starling</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>600g @ 26 wks</TD><TD></TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Porkie</TD><TD>26</TD><TD>990g @ 26 wks</TD><TD>7-8kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1200g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>10kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>jo </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.2kg @ 30 wks</TD><TD>11kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>celine</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1 kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>chewy </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1277g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>5kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>calamari</TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.4kg @ 28 wks</TD><TD>14kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Esther Zhang </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1.3kg @ 26 wks </TD><TD>6-7kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>strawberries </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1168g at 28 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>yo</TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1282g @ 29wks </TD><TD>7.4kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>blessed </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.5kg @ 30 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Amy Quek </TD><TD>28</TD><TD>1278g @ 28 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Geryl </TD><TD>29</TD><TD>1.03kg @ 29 wks</TD><TD>6kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>cutiebb</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.42kg @ 30 wks</TD><TD>12kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Stephanie</TD><TD>32</TD><TD>1.627kg @ 32 wks</TD><TD>11kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>kang</TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.1kg @ 30 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>Okiedockie </TD><TD>30</TD><TD>1.5kg @ 30 wks</TD><TD>10kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>poshies </TD><TD>34</TD><TD>2.4kg @ 34 wks</TD><TD>8kg</TD><TD><font color="ff0000">Baby pink</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>venus</TD><TD>33</TD><TD>1.8kg @ 33 wks</TD><TD>9kg</TD><TD><font color="0000ff">Baby blue</font> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

joelle: problem is im staying with my IL so bobian. even if i disagree the way she takecare of my bb i must endure with it. like i dont wish to give my bb pacifier. coz afraid will affect the shape of my bb mouth &amp; teeth. coz i see the way she keep putting it on my niece i sian half loh.

tsukushi: its good buy for the pureen pads. one pk comes in 20s right? dont think we need so many if u buying 2 packs will be 40s. coz after tat we can use normal pads. giant selling $7 per pack for 20s.

cheesycake, dont worry abt the pacifier. In fact pacifiers are good for babise. Wont affect the shape of mouth or teeth as long as you dont give too often. It soothes them and the sucking reflex gives them a sense of security.

Thanks for your opinions! If anyone is interested to get, bag is at kkh pharmacy. pureen pads at the pureen store a few walk away.

cheesycake,
wonder if i should buy pureen pads or sofy pads. you know which is better?

cheesycake

actualli i don wan bb to use pacificer oso...but aft my mum say must and tell me y, i ok with it.....it wont affect their mouth etc....and is much beta compared to sucking thumb as thumb gt bacteria...i went PS tt day, saw a maid putting her thumb into tt bb's mouth and bb suck it!!! gosh....wonder y the mum nv scold.....

Sherin &amp; Kea: but i see my mil always put on pacifier for my niece no matter she cry/ dont cry. haiz~ in this case, if got benefits then its ok...

tsukushi: erm u mean sofy night pads? am not too sure which is better. i got 2 types: kotex &amp; pureen maternity pads (both stick on type) i find bringing the pureen pads to hospital is too bulky. so i will leave them at home 1st after discharge then use.

kea, some mothers nowadays just give birth and throw the baby to the maid. That's why im very hesistant to get a maid. But no choice, if not when i go back to work scared my mum cant manage alone.

I'm gonna have my photoshoot this weekend. So excited. have not decided what to wear for the shoots. Decided to bring forward since i've been having this hardening of tummy feeling very frequently over the past few days. So i betta get things done before anything happens.

Also havent bought bathtub. I need to buy the bathtub stand. Anyone seen it or knows where to get it from? Having bought crib sheets too !!! didnt accomplish much over last weekend. sighz.
Anyone ordering confinement food?

Kea,

EEKS... what is the mother thinking???

I know some babies dun like to use pacifiers but i dunno is it my own perception but i do find that children's lips shape change when they suck the pacifier too much... But i also have to agree, if they get addicted to their tumbs, it going to be even more difficult to break that habit...

cheesycake, i know what u mean. I've seen mothers and grandmothers do that. for convenience sake ma. Somewhat the reality of bringing up a child is slowly setting in. Initially i was all excited abt having a baby, a new experience ma. and then when i knew the gender, was all excited abt shopping and more shopping. But somehow now then i realised that having a baby is not just abt shopping!

cheeseycake,

Yup the sofy night pads. Heard some recommendations for it. But not sure whether pureen is good enough since it's so cheap now.

I saw the incon pads also. Did you get the pads or the sheet type? seems funny to be wearing a pad around when there's no leakage, cos it's quite thick.

tsukushi, i saw the sample for pureen. Goods look, feels ok. Perhaps you can keep the sofy night pads for use after discharge at home when the flow is not so heavy?

I think most of us got the sheet type, just in case water bag burst and we need to use it in the car. not necessary to wear the incon pad, coz for some to us to go into labour, not necessary to have ur water bag burst or show.

tsukushi: oic heard some mtb they just get those normal night pads long &amp; wide enough as maternity pads. incon pads u saw is wat brand? i got incon sheets from guardian to put under my bedsheet nearer to EDD. as it wun wet my mattress. &amp; also 2 sheets in hubby's car just in case.

Amy

ya...and the bb was sucking till so 'song'...=/...maybe the mum didnt c....

i heard gd comments abt pureen compared to kotex....pureen absord more.....

kea: i on &amp; off kpo go into mar thread to see the bb pics &amp; who has popped. so cute.. v soon our turn..

tsukushi: im bringing 10 in my hospital bag only. will put few more in hubby's car just in case.