(2008/04) April 2008

tks jamie, i will go check out. I seen some at robinson but din really like it wor.

Have any of your naval button pop out already? When will it pop out ah?

cutiebb: U can check how much the calcium pills give u, should be 500mg per pill, if u take 2 then 1 & half cup is fine
. I can't take 2 cups of Anmum daily, 2 heating for me, so aside fr calcium pills, I take cheese, yoghurt heehee...

Joelle: No worries! Shall wait for u. Cya! Slurp

Jaspire: Hahaha.. mine is almost there... I hope not, I prefer an Innie then outie.. hahaha

For milk - i still don dare to drink the formula ones, taste bit weird so still sticking to fresh milk. Btw, i put on abt 7kg at 25weeks, trying to refrain from putting more. I hope not more than 15kg by delivery cos very hard for me to loose after that.

Cheesycake - u are so petite, no wonder ur gynae encourage u to put on more. After ur 14kgs u are still so much lighter than me, keke.

I have tried EnfaMama (can't dissolve, very thick & clotty :S) , Mamil Mama (too sweet) and Anmum. Favourite is still Anmum. most impt the milk powder dissolves properly, no clots! (hate milk clots bleah )

Cheesycake - even if don lose all the weight, at least u be average weight after birth. Are u underweight before preg?

Cheesycake - am sure u can, tik u are the petite type. I have 1 colleague everytime she preggy will put on 20kg++, but after that can go back to abt 40+kg...amazing.

Joelle - i still find annum cannot dissolve properly, tik i got phobia of milk since young, so far only meiji milk suits me, just stick to it, hehee.

koori: i hope so hehe... for anmum milk, my fren told its best to dissolve with room temperature water 1st then mix with hot water. i find it easier to dissolve in this way...

cutiebb: me like you dun like to drink milk... I guess thats y my baby also small... Worse still, last time during my first tri i will dilligently drink chocolate milk coz thats the only thing i can stomach to increase my calcuim intake... tried to eat yogurt and cheese just dun like the taste...

Then hor, my mil say aiyo ur baby next time sure black black one coz u always drink choc milk... then hor i stop drinking liao... so now i only take my calcuim tablets lor, haven't tried anmum b4, heard that there is chocolate flavour also but scared i will not like the taste...

abt the formula milk, any mtb here drinking mamil gold..its very difficult to find at normal supermarket leh, especially the big thin (900g), i always buy the small one (400), but within a week i can finish the whole thin liao, coz 3 cups a day..

Koori: Actually i also think bb fair or black is dependent on genes mah, i fair my hubby dark so if bbtake after daddy also bo pian right but she like that say then how i can continue to drink lei? somemore now i know its a princess, later she say coz i drink choc milk thats y bb balck black how? Anyway, i think i dun care liao, bb healthy most impt. Today going to buy choc milk home to drink...

BTW, when u all say 3 cups meaning using what kind of cups or roughly how many ml? coz if we use mugs at home like quite big capacity right?

Girls! I'm from the March Thread and also a first time mummy... I doing a survey to decide on the items i need to purchase for BB... can pls help?

Survey on Breast Pumps / Milk Bottles and Diaper Rash Cream!!

Which is Better?

Breast Pumps
------------
Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast pump
or
Medela PIS Breast Pump
OR
Avent

Milk Bottles
------------
Pigeon Brand
or
Dr Brown
or
NUK

Diaper Rash Cream
------------------
Desitin Original Diaper Rash Ointment
or
Drapolene cream

I would need the experienced mummy to get mi soem input..
thanks alot

Amy
Why don't you try mixing any mummy milk (Anmum etc) with milo?

Else go the soy bean way - take more soy bean drink, tau huay, bean curd skin dessert, tofu!

When we drink mummy milk, 1 cup is as per the serving size stated on the tin - usually 8 spoonfulls of powder mix with water. Water can be more or less , but powder is std quantity.

hmm, anyone know if i can get samples of choclate flavour anmum to try?

Joelle: ya, maybe i should try add it to milo and see if i can take the taste... i have been drinking soyabean milk and eating tau huay but dun dare to eat too much tau huay coz scared cooling... but i dun quite like the chilled soyabean drink at supermarkets that were calcuim fortified, i prefer those we can buy from breakfast stalls in the morning type...

sorry amy, I only have samples of Dumex Mamil Mama and EnfaMama (both vanilla flavour). Anyone wants those, let me know!

koori: no lei, my gynae never give me samples to try but she gave me diaper samples and i saw some other mummies take FM samples but didn't c any mummy milk sample being given away in the clinic though

Chewy: Hey thanks

Joelle: yup, i bought a CD from mothercare to listen but only consistently listen for about 1 wk only, now i sing to baby... Hubby say must sing the same song for 1 week for baby to recognise then can change song...LOL...

Ladies, anyone know whats the number to call if i want to donate baby's cord blood away?

Amy: am not sure if anmum club is giving out samples. u can try joining the club. btw, tau huay is very liang de. i avoid it since im preggie, love it alot but cant take.

Amy quek, I have call the cordblood bank.
they told me only need to register a/f 33wks. They arrange a interview with the mummie before registering at our convenience. I will be meeting the staff in my gynea's clinic during my next visit to the gynea.

Do give them a call at 6394 5011

koori: dont think soya bean milk is cooling. tau huay is cooling becoz got add in something (cant remem the name) to make it soild...

koori: btw, wat have u bought for ur bb? regarding the diaper cream i just got it from guardian destin brand... my fren recom me, say its good...

cheesycake - bought alot of stuff liao, mainly clothes, cloth diapers, bedding set, etc.
For the diaper cream - i got Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) also but from US spree, how much u paid? I paid US$4.69 + shipping cost shld be around S$8+

koori: i got quite alot of things liao. i got the cream for $11, din know abt the spree after i got it. somemore its original de... read its harder to clean off. haiz...

Cheesycake - look out for drugstore spree, this item is avail, all of mothers ordering for their bb. I just got 1 sent to me. I heard US one is bigger, 4oz, is Spore one the same?

Hi Joelle,
i heard from my fren who is oso a mummy oredi told me that dun play classical music for the bb for too long a duration everytime like 10-15mins is ok if 2 too long bb will find irritable, nt sure if is true or nt......

can i ask is it ok 2 take fruits like honeydew, rockmelon or papaya everyday? I seem to like this fruits these days

Juniorrain: i take rockmelon & papaya. but not always. i love apples, kiwis & grava now... apple is a must for me everyday... i believe everything is good in moderation...

Cheesycake, ya that time for a period of time i always take kiwi everyday cos i heard is very rich in vit C & has folic acid oso then after that i stop. Then i change 2 guavas then a colleague of mine tell me nt 2 take with the sourplum powder cos no good for bb, then i was thinking huh eat guava w/o the powder then i stop again....hehe. So nw my graving is the papaya, honeydew or rockmelon. dun know take 2 much will cos bb 2 b yellowish or nt? so nw try 2 cut down oso.

i heard from my colleague tat eating too much fruits will cause phelgm in bb, not sure how true but most pple telling me fruits good for pregnancy, so confusing.

JuniorRain
Oooh that's interesting. one thing's for sure about playing classical music too long - if bb not irritated, mummy will be ! LOL

koori: i take guava w/o powder de... coz i know the powder is not good for us & bb. i heard too much papaya can cause bb to have jaundice. trying switching diff fruits everyday. how abt dragon which is rich in vit c? wondering izzit ok for us to take. i have boring selection of fruits everyday: kiwi, apples, guava, sometimes rockmelon/ dragon fruits. wondering wat other fruits we can eat...

koori: oic din know order from spree cheaper..

koori, then i hv 2 think of other fruits 2 take to alternate them cos nw everyday will try 2 take some fruits cos scared constipation as oso taking iron tablets.

joelle, haha ya quite true. sometimes u can alternate 2 play other songs like children songs or like Amy sing songs for ur bb is good. My fren tell me that if u always sing the same songs for the bb next time when the bb crys, u sing the same songs for him/her, it will calm the bb