(2008/04) April 2008

koori
my canteen in next block LOL i hate to get my shoes wet so going to have bread and more milk for lunch :p

Re: hand-me-downs
I am still awaiting!!! but none coming my way. my hb say his aunties, family etc all tell him "sure got one" , but i wonder who is going to start the ball rolling :p

welcome porkie!

sputnik
i started Similac for my ger till 8mths then i switch to Enfapro. personally i prefer enfrapro, not so much bubble.
actually it depends on individual coz diff brands nutrition varies.

koori: i ordered online and asked to be delivered to the hotel where my pilot friend is putting up. Then he brought it back for me kekeke. So NO shipping costs! ;)

Girls, I just went to the shop called Moo-Moo-Cow at The Arcade. Spent $40+ on Baby Gap pajama pants. They were going for $6.50 per piece and buy 5, you get 1 free. Also, Carter's bibs were going for 3 for $10 and Gymboree baby white shorts for 3 for $5 hehehe....

hi gals... nv post for sometime...

calamari: im working in raffles place. will drop by moo-moo-cow to take alook there... wow which stroller did u get?

hi porkie...welcome welcome...

koori...i agreed, rather get hand me down n spend on milk powder n diapers...they r ex...

geryl....just ignore ur boss n do ur own work.....better ren so get 3mth ML....ha ha ha...

calamari....i was there on friday but nv find anything leh....sad sad....must go again sometime tis week....hee hee hee...i also work near raffles place

koori..u r so lucky, can save a lot of money

me got some maternity clothes fr my sis n sil, and i thk bb clothes too. but for those big item like stroller, cot,car seat, have to buy..really expensive leh

calamari, like your stroller.. looks very sturdy!

Wow, you mummies are fast! I have not done much shopping yet except just bought a swaddler and hankies at bulk purchase forum...
Still have not start on the bigger items like strollers, baby cot and car seat... I am one lazy mummy!

Porkie - take some time do homework then buy those items that u shortlisted.

Btw - one of my pantry cleaners say my stomach very big for 5mths, oppz. She say cannot imagine how big mine will be in few mths time.

Cheesycake: Yah lor, I bought 3 bibs only lah hehe. On bulk purchase in this forum, it costs about $5 each for Carter's bibs. Moo Cow sellin for 3 for $10. Yah I like the big basket too...

Stefy: Dunno whether last week got sale or not. Today I went, got buy 1 and get the next one at 50% off. I thought the Gymboree shorts quite worth it. To wear under babies' dresses. Like panties but fluffy kind. hehe...so cute leh *faint*

Porkie: No lah, not fast...I think I am being kiasu! I am trying to spread my expenses over 6 months, that's why every month get 1 bigger ticket item so won't feel the pinch one shot mah..;)

Calamari - for me i buy first cos i scared tummy get bigger, i be too tired like 1st trimester to go shopping. Actually its good to complete all shopping by 2nd trimester cos i heard last trimester we will get tired again easily.

Joelle - after my 3mths, i went to ask for hand-downs *Thick-skinned* but i realised that it works, if we don ask, no one will ever give.

They keep saying wait, sure have, in the end none of them give....so better to also shortlist ur favorite items, then if really don hv then can go buy quickly. (happens to one of my frenz, waiting for hand-downs but end up don have). I don like to keep waiting cos whenever got sale we can buy liao.

Calamari,

Yr stroller is so nice!! envy
Sigh, these type of strollers are so expensive in Singapore but they are like the norm overseas right?

Me spent a bit at the Mothercare sale over the weekend.. their stuff is not cheap but i like the quality. Also bought some of the cheaper 3 for $10 type for everyday wear. Shopping is always fun!

Step - agree that mothercare not cheap, so far i haven bought anything from there. Its my sis who went to shop and bought for me. heheeee.

Sputnik:
Thanks Sputnik!! U can also get free samples from the bb doctor...nestle very sweet(what most ppl says)

Sigh...ya i too realise that it is not worth it...to be angry or upset...but is not worth the time spend in a place like that...as these time u can spend with ur kids...like being a SAHM...i also don't care, just do my work and go home.

i also have doggie...but they are not staying with me liaos...they are staying with my parents...do miss them!

kooriiii....
u really understand my dilemma for "hand-me-downs" T____T
i really wish those aunties and family that keep telling my hb "sure have one", will be more responsible and commit to item + handover date...
bcos of what they tell my hb, he keep putting off shopping, keep telling me "sure have one", he want to wait & see what he receive, then go shopping... but he nv think last minute/last trimester want me to go & source for items, is v difficult...
i tell him if dec got sale, must strike while iron is hot... i also HATE last minute shopping, when u want things urgently, it's v hard to find at good price!
i duno how to tell his relatives, cos i don't chat with them or anything... mebe see what the MIL and see if she can pass msg... :S

The worst thing is, his family all the children/cousins already primary sch age... where got items to hand down to baby?? aiyooo...

Joelle,

it is better to start abit at a time...everytime u go out...just do some shopping...last minute shopping is a madness plus our tummy is so big and very tiring walking around with that BIG tummy! When you are tired...then u will not feel like shopping anymore!

Geryl
no, at least not with 1 child.
we need the money. also i do enjoy working, even though working life has its ups and downs.

Ya.. I tried to shop around and explore the various shops .. problem is, they all look so nice and cute.. so dun dare to buy, in case the next one I see is better or cuter.. LOL

geryl
yah agree with your view on shopping. i like to plan my purchases, hit the sales, spread them out over the weeks/months. men just don't understand that lah, he thinks go one trip shoping all done. mebe cos he hasn't seen the shopping list yet!!

Joelle:
Understand that cos my hubby also like that...hate shopping...so i just shop as and when i see something that is nice and i really need it then i will buy! hee hee!

Jamie:
i told my Hubby that i will try and see when i am in my 2nd month and 3rd month of my maternity leave...decide when i am on the job of being a SAHM. plus this is my second child and i hope that i can cope with 2 kids at home ... at the same time doing all my housework!

Joelle - stuff like Steriliser, pump u can start to look around, i believe ur DH relatives might not have such items liao.
There's 1 time i brought out the shopping list, my DH saw it and shocked! say i very exaggerating but its really tat amount of things we need to buy. All the miscl small ones make up quite alot of $ also.
Guys don understand our shopping mentality, we need to go around few places, compare the variety and prices before deciding which one to buy.

i cant afford to be SAHM, maybe after 2nd one...but grandparents does spoil the kids. Cos their interest is to make the kids happy but ours is to discipline and educate them, different agenda.

good morning mummies....wat a wet morning again......

i also cant afford to be a SAHM....nd to pay for the house ha ha ha.....

Koori...which steriliser is gd? thk i might be starting my shopping once i get my bonus liow...hee hee hee...counting dwn another 4 mths till bb arrive....cant wait...

Stephanie - i heard pigeon is good, seem like the sterlising time is shorter than avent. Its also quite wide enough to put in more bottles.

geryl
i intend to send my #1 to some playgroup 1st before settling her down to half day childcare. lucky for me i stay very near my mum so she will probably take care of my #2 while i send my #1 to playgroup/ childcare.
as for housework, will let those part time maid to do it lor.

Jamie,
i am not so lucky...i stay abit far from my mum...taxi ride is about 20mins. haiya.
if i decided to be a SAHM...my hubby wants me to look after my kids and also doing housework...plus cook lunch and dinner too! so stress right?

Good morning, i cant wake up today, tot its weekend! daydreaming, hehee.
Now taxi prices are terrible, CBD peak hours charges increase from $1 to $3 and hours from 5pm to MN!!!!!!! So at night cannt take taxi man.

saw today's newspaper cabs fares going up .... have to cut down on taking cabs liao !! Cos going to cost at least double to take a cab starting from next monday

Koori: besides tat .. meter going by 20cents instead of the normal 10cents ar .. (Double) ...

Dun even c our salary doubling up .. :p

Jenny - the prices are increasing too much! Means after increase i cant take cab back from orchard to my house, used to take after my facial at 8pm where the peak hours charges stop. Now a cab free of $7 to my house will cost at least $12, : (
How come our salary never increase?

koori, stephanie, jenny: i bought the Pigeon Steriliser too. Yes, can put wide neck bottles like Avent's. My pigeon steriliser is called the Multi-Function Sterilizer, Bottle and Food Warmer all combined into one unit. Can sterilise in 9 min.

jenny - yes should be able to put the avent bottles...quite big space. But must buy the one at $119 one. not the smaller type.

Ladies - u all getting wat milk bottles? isit the standard or wide neck type? I tot of getting Dr Brown's wide neck type when Sherin call for the BP.

Koori: they assume tat economy good our salary will increase lor ... Think its going to affect alot of ppl .. maybe singaporeans shld boycott taking cab and c wat the cab companies will do .. always passing down the expenses to commuters its not fair at all!

The extra $5 per trip can really means alot lor ... And now peak hours increase till midnight abit ridiculous liao! Still yet to include in the ERP Charges siah...

Calamari: how much u bought it for ar?

Korri: wah tats ex wor .. me still thinking of whether wanna buy steriliser anot .. cos be only bring bb back on weekends .. during weekdays bb be staying at my mum's place and she prefer the traditional way of boiling & sterilising in pot ..