(2008/04) April 2008

Jenny.. in this case, maybe you would like to look at public cordblood bank.
cos' your bb's cordblood can save lives.. This is probably my main motivation for storing it.
i had join as a bone narrow donor since teenage. So far no news.

Just sign up with the public cordblood bank.
they will do the rest for you. And let your gynea knows when you deliver.

Quite simple. I check with my gynea already

btw hor.. if bb is pre-mature, it not advisable to donate cordblood. So maybe you want to make the decision later .. in the 30 wks.. when you are sure bb would be a premies. I will probably sign up with the public one at 36wks.

anyone knw where i get find huge range of Gracco Playpen? manage to c some nice one online..but isetan, metro, JL, taka all don have...have oso not those i saw..

Hi everyone...

Am on MC today after catching a cold over the weekend. Regarding the cord blood donation - it is true that the banking of cord blood really costs a lot!! Might be exploring donating to the public cord bank this time round.. but you never know with the advances in new medical technology, what they might be able to do with the cord blood in future, even if there is a genetic disorder in it to start off with.

i also think storing of bb bloodcotd alot of $$$. guess will talk to hubby to donate to the public. can save lives~

Step: takecare... weather very bad. hot then rain so heavily

Stephanie - tik there is hospital tour for gleneagles, i rember that my cousin went to one. Tik must ask the nurse during my detailed scan.

Kea - saw 1-2 Gracco playpens on sale at Taka last few weeks, selling only $99, quite nice color. But that time haven decide if getting one so din buy.

Steph - must take care, drink more water so can recover faster.

Jgal - after donating to public bank, can we still take out our own bb cord blood if we need to? Will we be informed if others need our bb's cord blood?

MTB: wat kind of shoes u all wearing? im wearing those covered/ peep toes trendy low heel shoes. but very slippery one... almost fell down just now haiz coz outside raining floor wet~

koori

i went Taka ystrdae.....saw one selling at 279..robinson selling at 339....didnt get that coz i don like the color...hmmm..wondering where still have more graco design...

Cheesycake - must be extra careful. Must buy shoes with good rubber soles. I got mine from DMK, not very trendy but soft. The base seem quite 'waterproof'. But there's no heel support so i must buy heel cushion cos my legs very aching after standing too long.

Kea - wow $279 for playpen is quite ex! maybe heavy duty one isist. Don intend to spend too much on playpen.

Anyone here experienced pressure on their heels after standing too long. Now i stand for 1-2hrs, legs still to feel the pressure and pain.

Koori: few times like tat liao. very scary loh... those trendy types nice but not lasting/ good support. i will! sure super painful & aching if stand/ walk to long... must rest, i notice if i climb too much staircase. i will immediately feel breathless. u have ma?

Cheesycake
don't take chances with slippery soles, esp now during rainy season, the risk is higher!
I buy low heels from URS, make sure the soles are rubberised / has strips , or else i will bring to cobbler to add rubber soles.

cheesycake, be careful ah! Me wearing covered shoe but from Geox. You might want to buy shoes with better soles.

jgal, me and hubby will oso donate to public bank. We feel that with the medical and sciences improvement, cord blood may not be necessary in future. However, we also note that cord blood is not able to cure everything. It is quite limited in fact. So we choose not to place our money and trust in the cord blood bank. Also, there is no guarantee that the cord blood is usable. There are instances where the parents store the cord blood only later to realise the cord blood is not usable as it is contaminated. And the cord blood bank will not pay you the money back for their mistakes. Its all food for thought but do consider carefully bet u and hubby what you want...

Cheesycake - too much staircase, YES! Now less energetic like tat day i pack my storeroom sitting down, cant take it! Ended up puking cos like stomach bloated after sitting too long in same position.

joelle: the shoes im wearing not rubberised one... scare one day i will fall down

haiz, guess i need a good support pair of shoe but yet trendy... keke~ guess charles & keith nv sell those rubberised shoes hoh?

gervynne

my gynae will be doing the circumcision for my boy. usually its done on the 2nd day after birth. afterwhich we can discharge together.

kea

i'm delivering in GlenE again for my #2. going for the 2bedder which the nurse hv already bk for me. u can get the maternity package list from your gynae, the list will also state how much u can claim fr medisave.
actually which do u prefer after taking the hospital tour? most impt u must feel comfortable & like their service.

gals.. better to invest on a good pair of shoes from scholl or hush puppies.. It will prevent to your leg to swollen so fast.. and provide support for your back. My friend's feet grew frm 6->9 during pregnancy. I just bought a pair of ugly hushpuppies for work.

and abt playpen... 1 point to note.. sarong will let the bb have prettier head shape.. my friend's bb was flat on one-side.. so after a mth , she got no choice but to put bb in sarong to make it round before its too late.

Cheesycake - better get new pair soon!
C&K shoes very lousy base, always must add rubber at cobbler. My colleague showed me one pair of shoes from Robinson, SO COMFORTABLE! Cost abt $70 during Sale but i went to see not selling liao (limited stock).

cheesycake- pls be careful! i wearin the crocs covered shoes. v gd esp for wet weather. n yes i also feel breathless easily nw. last time climb up 3 storeys to my flat, no prob. nw halfway thru, i alrdy pantin like wat!

ant1712.... NO CROCS ! my hubby's original cros kena bit off at the toe part by the escalator. Lucky, he didnt strap-on at the back, so his toe is not hurt. My hubby is a very careful person, I dun dare to wear mine now.

Cheesycake...yup pls be careful n invest in a gd pair of shoes...i wear mine from Aerosoles very gd n comfy...thk C&K shoes quality is very lousy.....no support if u tend to stand...

steph...take care n rest well....

thanks gals... will invest in one good pair of shoe

btw, wat kind of clothing u gals letting ur newborn to wear when discharging from hospital?

koori: if the cordblood is not used, you still can retrieve for your bb if needed later for a hefty amt of $$. But, you probably have insurance to cover the expenses then. I am not sure if they will inform you if there is a match for other patient. To be frank, the chances is very low for a match.. Also, i will be having another bb soon after.. so probably they can use each others' cord blood also.

BTW , once you put into a pte bank, you cannot transfer to public bank.. So you have to continue paying yrly for as long as your bb lives ?

cheesycake

i will let my newborn wear those normal cotton top with tie strings infront, if u know what i mean. anyway we will still wrap them up with receiving blanket when we discharge from hospital.

jgal- reali!!! i tot it's gd n so comfy sm more esp in wet weather. lidat i beta dun wear on wkends liao. go ofce stil ok cos no escalator.

cheesycake- i hvnt tink of tat yet! keke... only tot of buyin 1 suit of nice clothin for bb's full mth. hehe

Cheesycake - the newborn clothing at discharge, i also wondering! I tiking of getting those front open tops and a pants for bb to wear together with mitten and booties.

yeah lor .. so be careful when you wear your cros ...
kao_angry.gif
.. at first i tot the newspaper report is for the fake cros until it happens to my hubby.
wasted

cheesycake, hb took bot me hushpuppies shoes when he knew im preggy... not slippery..

Crocs after sometime also pretty slippery de.. do be careful..

Cheesycake
if for whatever reason you cannot buy a new pair of non-slip shoes now, pls bring your current shoes to a cobbler & get them to fit non-slip soles. For roadside cobbler it can be as cheap as $3-5 a pair, takes a few min only. Then you can slowly shop for a pair of shoes you like.

Are hushpuppies shoes comfy? I always cant fit into their smallest size! maybe now feet expanding can fit in.

Anyone knows of good Anesthesia specialist in MT A ? I probably going for epidural,so now sourcing for good anesthesia dr.

joelle: i will be getting one pair of scholl after work... must buy liao coz recently raining somemore. very dangerous.

koori, jamie & ant: i will giving bb to wear long sleeves and pant with mitten & bootie when discharge ba... 2 pieces tat kind. hospital will provide receiving blanket ya?

cheesycake, i think hospital will provide a blanket for baby and baby mittens and top for baby.

Heard scholl is gd! Maybe i will look into getting one soon when I cant wear my GEOX liao. Now it seems tighter. Think my feet started to expand. Not sure is it water retention on my feet.

Cheesycake.. i think have to bring your own receiving blanket cos' need to wash first before wrapping the bb. :| and for hygienic purpose you need to bring your own lor.

gals.. i was told bb like to wriggle. So dun buy buttons romper/clothes for bring home bb , cos' very difficult to wear for bb.. buy the tie string in front ones.

jgal, my mil say button romper easier then tie string one leh??? She say string wanna tie takes more time. Infant still ok but when bigger ard 4mths onwards more difficult cos baby knows how to turn and flip and cant keep still liao. Kekeke... button just nid to press and done liao.

did u gals read the report on the top PSLE gal? the mum said when she's preg w her, everynite read fairy tales to her! i told my hb maybe we can start doin tat too! hehe

jaspire- is geox comfy? i recently bot a pair of sneakers but hvnt wear yet. bot it durin the warehse sale, got 50%. too bad cldnt find any nice wrkg shoes.

Cheesycake.. i think have to bring your own receiving blanket cos' need to wash first before wrapping the bb. :| and for hygienic purpose you need to bring your own lor.

gals.. i was told bb like to wriggle. So dun buy buttons romper/clothes for bring home bb , cos' very difficult to wear for bb.. buy the tie string in front ones.

Re: clothes for bringing baby home
I never think so far LOL.. clothes is clothes lor hehehe. :D

Maybe 2 piece, top and pants, with a cap, and wrap in blanket will do. Mittens and booties optional. Dont think he can do much with hands & legs swaddled tightly anyway.