(2008/04) April 2008

Koori: oic... but i will let bb wear till only 2mths. though i got passdown clothing from my sil i still need to get some new stuff for her.

Kea: im still wondering whether to but babycot/ let her slp salong... coz during daytime my mil will takecare of her. at night i will let her slp in my room. if BF her easier this way. if u buy playpen liao can let me know the lobang? tks~

cherish: wat's prenatal baby listener... izzit can hear bb heartbeat de?

jaspire: OOS - Out of Stock

joelle, then i dun buy better... :p

thanks Geryl, have to start shopping liao, else all are oos, i will faint... haha

cheesy, suppose to be able to hear bby heartbeat... selling at kiddy palace at $50+...

Cherish: so far i still not able to hear bb hearbeat with the prenatal bb listener .. can hear stomach growling though .. heheh

cheesycake- i also tinkin of buyin yao lan. my mum says it's gd but hor i scared bb too used to the 'yao-ing', cant slp w/o it!

cheesycake

sure..will inform u......me sure wan buy cot coz i cant let him slp with us on bed..danger..hee...then when i bath, can put him in too.....

me now headache..choosing btw TMC and GlenE..if TMC, i haven apply the card yet...=/..

cherish
LOL no lah still can buy... i read the instructions, it says by 5th month then can hear heartbeat.. I tried when I was at 4th.. so will be trying again soon :D You are getting Bebe Sounds is it? FYI Thyme Maternity is selling, but it costs 60+ if I recall correctly.

anyone keeping ur baby bloodcord in the cordbank?

ant: oic... salong very cooling for bb. i will buy 2. i for mil place & 1 for my mum's place. scare she too used to the rocking go my mum's place cant slp~

Kea: im torn between MTA/ TMC. TMC is newer & room nicer. MTA heard service better. so u taking 1 beded or? me thinking 1 beded, coz sure got lots of relatives coming~

koori....i staying at MIL hse so need to slowly start rearranging things if not wait my SIL will complain that we take up her space...haiz...

the brand is baby care. it is oos, so i dunno the full term... selling at kiddy palace..

Thyme maternity? do you have the web or branch location?

cherish
Thyme maternity can be found in Suntec and Takashimaya. FYI they are selling "bebe sounds", not "baby care", price is different too, so good to take note.

cheesecake : yeah .. going to donate my bb's cordblood to the public cordblood bank.. hope can save other ppl life
I spoken to my dr.. just need to sign up with them. The bank will arrange the rest of the stuff.

TMC vs Mt A service is subjective..Some say MT A better, some same TMC better. But in term of facilities.. MT A is a full hospital, so will be able to take care of the bb if there is any complication later, no need to transfer to KKH as pte patient in most cases.

Cheesycake - i signed up with Stemcord before preg, should be storing with them. But i have yet to sign agreement to pay for the 1st time transaction and annual fee.

cheesycake

tink me taking 2 or 4bedder..i scare being alone at nite.i wnet for tour tt day...1 bedder is wan hubby stay in oso must pay ard 75 bucks pernite for him..=/

Jaspire - we will want to get something new for bb, even though got hand down stuff. Like we can say" u see cute rite, i buy one hahah."

Joelle - u buying annum milk powder cos you drink? I scared of milk powder so i will stick to Fresh milk.

Cheesycake /Ant - let me check with my mom if she prefer Yaolan or Playpen in her house. For Yaolan - u all buying the portable type or those that has hook mounted onto the ceiling type?

Tik the prob with Yaolan is tat bb needs to be Yao! My dad had big issue Yao'g me when i was young, hands aching man. hehe.

i was at the Thyme suntec branch on Sat they still having the closing down sale thk is 20% off store wide n I saw the Bebe sound but nv chk the price...

koori: yes I drink annum. actually i have been drinking fresh milk all along. then the other night i met with the confinement agency boss to sign CL contract - she remarked "fresh milk's nutrients goes to you, pregnant mom milk nutrients goes to baby! " .... ORH ok lo since she say laidat i also KS liao so I start drinking annum -____-""

i also duno for real or not la, this kind of thing can only hear from the professionals and follow. my gynae say fresh milk is good enough!

Jgal: oic... so u will be delivering at MTA? my hubby said wanna keep bb bloodcord just in case for future use (touchwood) but have to find out the charges 1st

Koori: where can i find the details? im taking 1 beded coz hubby said he wanna company me. have to pay $80 per nite for him to stay in~

Kea: u got ask ur hubby whether wanna stay in? my hubby said he dun want the meals there... he will go out to eat keke~ if not think $45 per day for the meal...

Jgal - i heard studies that storing own clot blood is for the bb's use in future *touchwood* like buying insurance. A few of my colleagues signed up also.

Joelle - how the body system can filter fresh milk and powdered milk since its all taken into the body, keke. 2nd trimester onwards, whatever we take is shared between mom and bb.

koori: ur right also! i dont know what is accurate really. but as long as ur drinking some milk regardless fresh or powdered, it should be good enough!

Cheesycake - there is Cordblood and Stemcord, both pte cord banking. Perhaps can checkout their website? If not i pass u the agent name for u to check with her. Let me know if u need. I have yet to meet her to sign agreement, she told me the 1st yr fees is $400, tik subsequent is $200 + hehe.

Thanks joelle & jenny

kea, heard that TMC have only one 4 bedder rm, the rest opt for 4 bedder will get free upgrade to 2bedder rm.

Koori, i think playden safer, bb can easily fall from yao lan.

For the cord blood, there are 3 bank now? or 2 bank?

kea- if u choose tmc, jus opt for 4 bedder n they wil auto upgrade u to 2 bedder. i intend to do tat

koori- wil be gettin the portable one if reali buyin. stil tinkin leh. i got fren who bot thn when bring bb outside cant sleep n goten go home put in yao lan thn bb slept! but heard it's reali gd to soothe bb esp if kept cryin. i wil be takin care of bb full time so wil jus buy 1 put at home

koori...but u must remember cord blood can onli store for a no. of yrs...thk is 15yrs....so most likely me n hubby will donate it to public bank lor.....cross our fingers nothing goes wrong....

yea...my fren opt for 4bedder...auto to 2bedder oso...hee..unless so sway tt i delivers , gt 4bedder space for me...=/..then i will curse and swear...lolx....

hmmm..don tink i wan hubby stay wif me la....hee...he slp there, sure cant slp well..might as well go hm slp..then come early to c me nxt day....hee....

ant

u apply for the FBI liao?? u apply on the spot?? coz me no time go dw..if apply, i sending in cheque..then they say will mail me the receipt within 2-3wks....so long~

kea- if they reali gv u 4 bedder on tat day, tell them u change ur mind n wan 2 bedder. this is wat the nurse at my gynae's clinic told me. hehe
ya, i applied when i went for my oscar test. thn a receipt was issued to me n the card wil be mailed to u in 2 wks. or u go dwn apply lor. there r a few forms for u to fill up n a goodie bag!

cherish.. there are 2 pte cordblood bank and 1 public one..
From i know, the pte ones, you need to pay a fee to keep it and yrly fee for its storage. Retrieve anytime. As for the public one, it's a donation. So no need to pay any fee to deposit but if you retrieve frm the public one, you need to pay a hefty amt.

From what i read, if the problem with bb is genetic, then retrieve of bb's own cordblood is useless cos' it will have the same defect. So this make bb's own cordblood highly unlikely to be retrieved for his own use. Also to note, you are paying upfront for "just-in-case" bb/sibling has problems.

For public cordblood, you only need to pay when you need to retrieve .i.e. you diagnose of a illness. Also to note, when you really got diagnose, your insurance payout will probably be able to cover your retrieval fee. So it make sense to put in public cordblood bank because the chances of retrieval is low.. Only worry is that the cordblood is already retrieved to save other ppl......

this is my opinion lah .. that why i asking koori.. what her side of the story.

Jgal - i also heard that if prob is genetic, using own's cordblood might be useless. But worry is wat if its not genetic? So its like paying for insurance, buying to support the risk.

yeah. but i find the fee is high yearly.So maybe even if i put in .. maybe by the 5th yr.. i may stop. So i was thinking put in the public one then can put longer and not need to pay so much , need then pay for it. Cos' the chances is extremely low.for ( bb has to have the problem ) x (bb's problem is not genetic) x (bb's cordblood is retrieved) ... if really happened.. i think FATED.
In this case, i think i will donate our own bone-narrow for her/him liao.

ant

i gt the form when i went for tour tt day..but didnt apply coz haven decided...regret..shld have jus apply on e spot...i call the person..they say if i apply via mail, they will mail me a vocuher to redeem the goodies bag during office hr....=/..still have to go dw to collect..haha..but ok la, most important to get the card 1st....

koori...did u go for hospital tour? i wonder if they have in GlenE....hee hee hee...since we confirm need to deliver there might as well go see see look look hor...

Hi Gals.. reading abt the cordblood bank...

For me think i would prefer to buy life insurance for bb instead ... storing in cordblood bank really costs alot of $ ... think by buying insurance, in the event touchwood if bb really fell sick etc .. insurance will also pay out .. if nothing happen can take it as an investment .. 20 years down the road can still take out for bb's eduation if need be ...

just my point of view...