(2008/04) April 2008

cheesycake, true lah... not all nurses bad but I am still worried. Cos for mummies doing c-section, they are less mobile initially rite? So its like we got to pray hard to get gd nurses on duty? Aiyoh, headache ah...

Hi Mommies to be
I just received the Metro Christmas Catalogue where the Medela MINI Electric Breast Pump set is going for $239 ( usual price is $346) It includes the cooler bag, nipple cream and disposable breast pads. Can anyone tell me if this is a good deal? And what is the diiference between the normal one and this "Mini" one? Is this goodenough or do i need a bigger one? thanks

Regarding the Medala PIS Advanced Pump... the price includes shipping. Is the shipping to any location in the US? Can someone pls let me have the website? I went to the Medala website and got a bit lost.

bye bye... going for my detail scanning now... will update u mtb

cheesycake, i dun really want to opt for c-sect but i have slipped disc. So my gynae say i may not have much choice. I still hoping to try natural birth.

koori.. i also think that it's bb kicking.. since Sat's evening but recent chkup (before Sat's evening), doc mentioned that i will not be feeling bb kicking as it's still early..

i am in my 16 weeks now..

Xiang, wait for another few weeks and u should be able to feel bb's movment. I felt mine last nite after several minutes when i put both hands on tummy. MIne now is week 18.

Hi gail,

I bought my medela at Taka, it was a bundle. Mini electric pump plus cooler bag and nipple cream for 214. so i think the price is almost there. I think the mini electric pump is the most basic one coz there is another model, mini electric plus that is dual pump one, i think it has 2 pump/collection bottles. I think for conveniece of bringing around, mini elcetric plus is enough.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Xiang,
Had check and conform with the Sonograph, the detail scan is an 2D scan, 3D or 4D is only need if there is any abnormality.
If not you can also opt for the fun to see the face..

Re - TMC Service
hmm.... actually my stay at TMC for my boy was quite a good one... they come and check regularly and offer the help to see how to latch on my boy directly... and ask about whether i want to Bf my boy... but the Cleaner was pretty nasty... and I wrote in the feedback form when i discharge.... surprising they call and apologise on the spot.... haha

Thereafter I had stay another 3 day there due to my boy admit for bronchiolitis.... it was near christmas.... they will as usual very busy... but I think my boy and I was well taken by especially compare to KKH, stay a couple of time there due to my boy too.... haha....

I find out different level nurse service is different... I had stay at level 4 and 5 before very nice... when i went up to level 6... the nurse also not bad... my boy was very noisy... so have to bring him to walk around..... haha... level 6 got nicer christmas tree...

not too sure about delivery room... haha coz mine was a plan c-section...

but the other day when i pop by MTE, the midwife there who show my the delivery suite was very very nice... too bad forget to ask for her name....</font>

jaspire,
U can buy a box of breast milk storage first, and start storing if u have oversupply flow during the first few months, no need to wait till back to work.

Personnaly i prefer mt A, cos most of my fren delivered there and the ambient is warm, not cold.

Tinklebell,
Welcome ya
!

mumbly,
for medela mini electric, u need to know that the breast shield which in contact wth our breast is hard one, so it does not hav massage function compared to medela swing and PIS. Some pple find it painful when used.

wah...the noise level from renovation near my hse almost drive me crazy liao...now headache already.

Anyone know Dr. Joycelene Wong deliver in other hospital other than TMC not.

QooSan - my house also, started in Early Oct, today they are still drilling, dunno wat heck. Renvoation by right should 'calm' down after 1mth.

yurii,
that could be baby kicking
my friend mentioned she can felt baby kicking as early as 14weeks, dun know how true, but maybe she is petite so can feel it earlier.

qoosan, i am also a petite gal...
one of my colleague who i disclose my pregancy is surprised that i am in my 4th mth now.. while I dun look like a 4th mth mother.. ha ha

Here's a interesting article abt 3d/4d scans.

http://www.askquestions.org/articles/ultrasound/

I read similar article in old copies of "young parents" frm the library. It's seem that 3d/4d scan is discouraged and the effect of 3/4d ultrascan is not confirmed to be harmless like 2d scan which emits less radiation. You may want to consider this before signing up for more expensive 4D scan.

April 2008 MTB Outing
Venue : Redhill MRT ( waiting next to Mr. Bean)
Date : Saturday 24 Nov **date changed **
Timing : 1.30 pm...

Agenda :
- baby scan photo sharing or other bb related.
- magazine information sharing
- hospital expenditure sharing. I will bring along the pricelist frm my gynea.

Attendee
========
ABCMum
XiaoZhu
JGal
Simp

u all enjoy urself... my last paper is on 27 nov.. .will be at home for the last paper preparation.. .thereafter should be able to join u gals...

hi jgal: can help me update the table... im expecting a princess
tks~

jaspire: oic... i just went to MT A to check out the rooms. i find the hospital indeed is older than TMC but it gives me more cosy, quiet and spacious environment. very nice feeling as i walk into the main hall~

xiang: i felt movement during 16wks+... now the kicks are more intense...
im petite though...

koori: thanks
everything is fine all features and organs are normal. all these are more than enough. having a healthy baby very important. but my baby is very naughty... thru out the scan not cooperative... hehe... but am glad baby growing well and fine. the lady said my baby face abit cubby. her weight is ard 331g...

cheesecake,
Congrats on knowing the gender!

Wow, fr the way you described the hospital service really sux! Hope more people can feedback!

I don't know the weight and length of my baby from the last scan.

Hi jaspire,

wow.. so fast pop over to april liao ah? hahaha...

at first my gynae told me my edd is may, then i join may forum, now confirm is 27 april liao. so pop by and say hieee.... =)

cheesecake congrats on ur little princess.... so cute.. able to see bb's face... me looking forward to my detailed scan in 2 weeks time....

Hi Cheesecake, congrats on ur Princess...

hope i get to know my baby gender on the next scan too...2 weeks ago gynae scan and baby is in sitting position and blocking so can't see. hope to get a princess too!

On the Hospital issue!
i think TMC is better...nurses are good!

CHEESYCAKE! CONGRATS!!!!

I hope to know my baby gender too leh!

muzicgal, both you me and ant all scan EDD is either 27 or 28th April now... so dats why i chatting between the 2 threads. Also, get to learn from other MTBs too... kekeke...

Geryl, u also with Dr AL Lim??? How do you find him? I like him alot as he is patient and entertains all my questions and except that the waiting time a little long. But he is generous with MC. Thank goodness! Hee...

Jaspire,
i have been seeing Dr Lim for abt 4yrs plus now...he is a very nice doctor...i also like him alot. yup waiting time is v long...u must call up in the morning to get ur Q number...usually pregnant ladies got shorter Q.

He delivered my first baby...very experience and very fast...he will clear all the blood and other stuff from ur womb after u given birth!

When is ur next check up? maybe we can meet each other...hee!

thanks all
in this case my feeling is accurate. yes got lots of things to shop for my princess hehe~ now alrd start to think of my princess's name...

tsukushi: maybe other levels at TMC service not the same? not all nurses are like tat, just giving my feedback here only. i went to MT A yesterday, saw the 1 beded room. find it quite old & smaller than TMC, so still thinking to take TMC 1 beded or MT A. shao nan jin loh~ very contradicting...

Geryl: thanks... ur 1st baby is a boy?

jaspire: good luck to ur scan... must ask ur baby to cooperate hehe~

Geryl, my next checkup is tomorrow! So excited to be able to see bb again wor! When is yours?

Cheesycake, ya... i will talk to baby tonite and ask baby to be guai guai and not shy. Hee...

Jaspire, my checkup is on the 28th Nov...plus going for Detailed Scan too! so hope by then i will get to know the Gender of the baby...so excited too! everyday counting down.

Jaspire,
feeling is a gal but i got a mix feeling u know...not sure y...it is so different from my first baby! just keeping finger cross loh. =)

I am doing a bulk purchase order for Lansinoh Disposable Milk bags for the May thread, if you are keen to tap on... please let me know your order.

Lansinoh Disposable Milk bags Order (each packs has 25 milk bags):
Jaspire - 2 packs
Lynn (May MTB)- 2 packs
poky (May MTB)- 2 packs

Let me know if anyone wants to add on. I will accept order till end of this month then I will consolidate, confirm the orders, collect the monies and do the purchase.

See this link for product info:
http://www.amazon.com/Lansinoh-20435-Breastmilk-Storage-25-Count/dp/B000FKHMGU/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/105-2767835-3980406?ie=UTF8&s=hpc&qid=1192530308&sr=8-1

Price = USD20.99 = SGD 32.54 (based on 1.55 exchange rate for 4 packs of 25milkbags) Therefore each 25 packs of milk bag is costing ard SGD$8.20 excluding shipping charges)