(2008/04) April 2008

Calamari - i saw some playpen not so deep, think there's a layer raised up higher almost like cot. But i not sure if all playpens have this raised section.

calamari,
Like what Babydust said, playpen will come with a bassinet so when you attach it, it won't be so deep. My friend recommended latex mattress which is more cooling. So far I have only heard of Babysafe brand. If you get a cot, take note of the 'gate', cos some can be pushed down quite easily so when bb gets older he may push it down himself and that's quite worrying.

Don't think the valet smoked in the car, but the car had a cigarette smell when we got in, had to full blast the aircon to drive out the smell. If you parked in the basement, I think it could be a bit more ex, cos it takes forever to collect your car.

Stephanie,
I saw the website but it says $5 for local shipping, how did you get $320? If you have colleagues to lombang the loot, it'll be so good! I don't have such lobang.

tsukushi, BabyDust: Thanks for the playpen tip! Will take note...

I will be off to Taipei with my hubby tomorrow. I am going on a biz trip, he is accompanying me. But we are going there early for our own little vacation first.

Take care girls!

I'm also having some problems on whether to get a maid or to send my baby to Infant Care!

Currently my first kid is in the infant care/ child care. i still can cope with one kid and housework when i got home from work...but now with number 2 coming along, i am not sure whether i can cope with looking after them and doing the housework and other things...stress now!

hi Geryl,

currently i am not working, staying at home, so most of the time i will go out to market, or playground in the evening time to exercise. I have observed that many maid just ignore children and let them play at the playground. They are always chit chatting with their friends or using mobile phone. Unless u are thinking hired a maid to do housework but u are the one who will taking care of ur children..this is my personal view la..

Hi Piggy Mummy,

i am a working mother and i'm afraid that i can't cope with looking after two kids after taking them back from the care centre and i got to see to all the housework...my hubby is that kind who will AUTOMATIC will help one. i must ask and call him to do one! sometimes i rather do it myself then keep asking him to do it! very tiring!

i've seen it myself too...they never pay full attention to the kids. if i hired one maid she will be alone at home with my baby...not sure what kind of maid i will get if i got one! so scared after hearing all those stories from friends and Media!

re: Maid

Geryl, piggy_mummy.. I've an elder boy age: 2yrs+ and I've let a nanny residing the same block as mine to take care of him (since he was 2mths old) while i'm working, gotten a part-time domestic helper during weekends for 4hrs to help out with the chores. With the 2nd child on the way, my husband and i still think infant care & maid is not our choice afterall, besides... we've let our nanny know and she's willing to take care of our 2nd child.

re: Nanny

my personal opinion, i wld not vouch the integrity of all nannies but to get one reliable one is also hard to find. Besides, our current nanny has gone thru series of 'tests' and proven she's reliable and truly loves kids.

burpy_babe: im fine
went fer the appt, bb is alrite.. me oso dun noe the bb gender cuz went to follow up in kkh instead of the amk clinic.. gynae very funny ask how come never go to amk clinic if not can c bb liaoz as the kkh consultation tat he in dun have scan haiz.. so i gotta wait another 3 weeks fer me to c bb.. tat is a detailed scan i tink..

jenny: i din enrol to any antenatal programme in kkh. . cuz im working in shift work.. so din enrol...

tsukushi...

the USD320 is inclusive of shipping to SG....which is abt USD70 i thk....veli ex hor...tt's y i say if i got colleagues travelling to US will get them to buy hee hee hee...

Hi steph / stephanie Lim / calamari
Thanks for the feedback on maids.

Today I spoke to a friend who is a recent first-time mom - she has engaged a Myanmar maid! She says much better than Indonesians and Filipinas LOL So maybe that's another option!

calamari
have a good time in taipei

cheesycake
Re: Babysafe latex mattress - do they have different sizes to fit different cots? This is new to me, any websites to check out?

thanks gals...i'll go think about it again with those choices that i have and weight the cost too!!!

Enjoy your weekends!

Jenny Hoo: my fren help me order de... $120 but cant remem the measurement. i saw taka, kiddy palace selling also...

joelle: yes got diff sizes. for me, i intend not to buy babycot so i got a larger size that can last longer when baby grow bigger. i got the mattress mainly i can put it on my bed or on the floor while changing cloth/ diaper for my baby~ if ure using clot u can check out the size of ur clot to fit in the mattress

cheesycake, harlow... I havent been here for a long time. Hee... do you know bb's gender already?

Can help me update my gynae name as Dr AL Lim and hospital TMC?

Me excited cos doing Triple test on 14 Nov, hopefully can know baby gender on that day, will be 16wks+ liao. Kekeke...

I am in my 16th week. Just had a scan and my gynae said all clear so should be having a girl. But was hoping for a boy though...

Anyone of you heard of the Chinese Gender Prediction chart? Heard that it's really accurate.

i have a Avent manual pump and only used for 1week. I'd like to let go as my milk ss is very low and given up for BF due to some personal reason. The UP is $99 , pls kindly PM me for those who is interested, price is negotiable.
1064113.jpg

Hi..

More on the topic of maids.. Its true that Myanmar maids are quite good. Was talking to one of my colleagues who use to work in MOM - she said that they are cleaner than the Indonesians but not as havoc as the Filippina. I went to my aunty's place today to speak to her about maids and stuff.. realised that all is quite a matter of luck. Still undecided over the indonesian or filippina question leh! but i guess i shall keep my options open and decide then??

Joelle - yah, i guess if ur MIL is going to be the one supervising the maid, their opinions would count
learning how to speak Bahasa would help a great deal but i do know of some maids, especially those ex-singaporean ones who can speak quite okie english.

I am also keen on getting the Medala PIS.. my aunty is going to the States at the end of the year so might get her to help me get it. But do u all know where can find? i.e. general departmental stores?

cheesycake,
That's fast of you! My bro wants to buy the playpen, so I don't know if it will come along with the mattress. If not, don't know what's the size too.

Stephanie,
Saw the listed price on the site is already 320USD. Are you looking at the Medela PIS Advanced pump? If it's 320USD incl shipping, it's cheap! Calamari got it for S$650 or around there.

Stephanie,
Oh I think you're referring to PIS, but I was looking at PIS Advanced. So far the good comments I read was on the advanced model... maybe the other ladies can share what's the diff between the original and the advanced models?

jaspire: hihi im fine just that my baby is kicking me more times and harder now, i enjoy the kicks
tmr into my 20weeks liao... still haven know bb gender as position not gd. shld be able to know as tmr going for my detail scan..
i got feeling is gal for

which hospital u delivering? i will stick to MT A after visiting my mum at TMC pass few days...

tsukushi: oic i bought sometime back liao... since can very durable so i got the bigger size that last longer... u mean playpen from babysafe also?

april mtb,

i am from May thread, 14 weeks preg now,when can i take tonic soup (black chicken, reddate, wolberrry,longan, dangshen)? currently i feel very weak, like lack of stamina. i am thinking taking it once a week. havent start drink birdnest..thanx.

cheesycake,
No no I meant the mattress only. Saw your blog, seems like a boy leh!

piggy,
I started taking black chicken with wolfberry and pao sheng when I was in my first trim. Recently just added codyceps and birdnest.

piggy,

My mom bought from Hock Hua as she knows one of the salespersons there, thus feels more assured. Think pao sheng is liang, but you can double confirm with the medical hall before you buy.

Piggymummy - yes codyceps very EX, saw it at least $500 at EYS, so i din buy.
My mum asked me buy "Gao Li" Ren sheng, she brew with porridge soup everyweek for me to drink, i tik i felt more energetic slowly, at least got energy to keep me awake to go shoppping.

Ladies - i went shopping on Fri, surprising in really good condition that day. Went for facial, thereafter shop from 12+ till 7+, of cos in between got lunch and tea break to rest..hehe.

Good Morning....

Back from my weekend cruise yesterday .. later going for my check up ... hope bb co-operate and let me know the gender ... :p

cheesycake, wat is your impression of TMC when u visit your mom? I prefer TMC cos its newer, Mt A seems intimidating and "cold"?

gals, do you gals think its necessary to buy disposable breast milk storage bags? I am thinking of buying and using it for storage of expressed breast milk esp if i start working. What are your thots? Any mummies can share more? If yes, how many should I buy?

Hi Hi!

Good Morning!

Can i join this thread? My bb is also due in Apr 2008.... this is my 3rd... i have a 5 yr old boy, a 17mth old girl ....but not sure whether mine is a boy or girl until my detailed scan on 24th Nov.

piggy mummy, pao sheng is bu de... not liang
yang sheng is liang de...

u can have a few slice of pao sheng + hot warm to drink every morning.

<font color="0000ff">morning ladies,
how is the super super long holiday for some of u.... i had not been working since wed.... not becoz i can rest.... but my boy is down with serious cough... till now still now recover.... haiz... last night he nearly fall off the bed..... don know how he sleep can end up sleeping at my leg.... since he is born i had become very light sleeper especially when he is around.... haha luckily i realise and ask my hubby faster go n catch him..... as i can't move.... but as normally he is a mummy boy.... he was really angry... ended crawl his way back to his own place... he is sleeping between us...

Friday went for my detail scan... everything is normal....</font>

gd morning mummies

I am back from BKK.. bought quite a few of baby clothes and stuffs plus some maternity wear.

During my flights, I felt some knocking at my tummy area. Not sure if it's my baby that's kicking.. Do you have the similar experience?

hi poshies

happy to hear that your detailed scan is good. It's a Boy or Girl?

Btw, did u opt for the 3d or 4d scan?

tsukushi: oic... u intend to get the mattress als? oh, u mean my tummy look like having boy? some said gal... i dunno also. today will know liao.

jaspire: yes the hospital is newer than MT A. the food there my mum said nice but service so so. during my mum 2nd day stay there, she was forced to remove her hospital attire and change back to her own clothing. i feel like making a feedback to the hospital today when im going there for detail scan today.

i was there 2days with my mum, i observe the nurses there. they very rude to each other in front of the customer which i think not so nice. they were complaining ' i was bz lah how come patient press bell no one help". they were not prompt in asking the bell, take their own sweet time. they were also talking very loudly in front of us... i also heard from my mum, during midnight, there this lady who pressed the bell for several times no one attended her. she tot her bell spoiled. then my mum tried hers also no one response. so my mum went out to the counter to ask for help loh. How can make patient walk here and there. Somemore that lady is bleeding non stop loh. Today i might drop by MT A to see the rooms there. Will observe the service also

cheesycake: OMG.. I am thinking of delivering in TMC-1bed. I will observe the service level when I popped by for the hospital tour at Mt A and TMC this saturday.

Thanks for highlighting.

Xiang: its very important to choose the right hospital to deliver. but i must say the 1 beded room there is new and nice. with LCD tv and coffee lounge. i haven visit MT A 1 beded, so cant compare the rooms. i read the reviews MT A service is better. do consider...

cheesycake, gosh... dat is not gd leh! Its horrible in fact! Please do feedback to the hospital wor. Cos I am definitely using TMC but lidat hor... i am getting worried.