(2008/04) April 2008

Sherin...I saw 1 at Bugis its abt $399 like quite gd....

if u ordering Dr Brown do let me know also okies...I will like to join in....thanx...

strawberries: Hope you are ok.

Steph: thanks, I will go and have a look.

Jenny: I have just received the class update from KKH last nite. woah.. abit sian leh.. on 24 Nov we have got class from 9am to 2pm leh.. zzzz.. 2 sessions... my goodness....

strawberries: me okie. so far have not felt anything from bb yet. in my 18 weeks liao...

also cannot see bb's gender... bb too active according to gynae.he cannot catch bb i good angle hehe....

hw are u feeling so far? must take care leh...

Hello everyone!
Can I check if anyone has heard if stingray is good or bad for consumption by MTBs , and if bad, why? :S

joelle .. thanks
i'm quite concern abt storing and warming the milk.. cos' only bb get to taste the milk.. :|

jgal

i agree with joelle, as long as we do not bring the milk to boiling temperature, there's no losing of any nutrients. & never to use microwave to heat up the milk.
always test the temperature on your hand 1st before feeding.

Take leave stay home sleep?
No mummy movie fan ah? Stardust movie quite nice. Those who likes fantasy movie can go and watch.

Xiaozhu
Interesting, thanks! Didn't know about this at all, only found out when reading on forum.

Deepavali Holiday - going to be spent doing laundry T____T

Kekeke...i also dunno 1. 1st time mtb also. So just listen to elderly lo. This forum not bad, mummies here also helpful. We all will bring up queries and discuss. Sometimes u boring like me now, can flood forum also. kekeke....

Recently raining wor, clothings hard to dry. Dun wash those jeans material. Else got misty smell.

XiaoZhu - heard that Tops detergent can prevent the misty smell, duno how true but my colleagues say proven.

Joelle: Old folks was saying during pregnant time cannot take stingray .. cos think poison ba ... so its best to avoid lor ..

Forum abit quiet issit? hehehe me just finished busying ...

Kea shld be on the cruise rite now .. and be back on Friday .. hehehe

Me looking forward for my cruise on friday evening too ...

xiaozhu and jennyhoo
The irony is my MIL has not heard of the stingray thing and she cooks stingray for dinner LOL I don't know to eat or not, so I just take a little. :p

Joelle: oic ... hehehe maybe u can tell her?

Tat time we have a family bbq gathering .. my mums and aunties were like keep repeating and reminding me .. dun go eat the stingray and sotongs ar .. dun stand too near the pit ar .. blah blah blah .. heheheh

Is anyone getting a maid to help when the baby arrives?

I was wondering, when/how early to engage one? February? March? :S I would like her to have some time to learn the ropes, and buffer some time in case I have to change maids.

But what to do when husband and I go to work in the day those few weeks/months before baby arrives? Can't leave her at home alone leh. Was thinking of dropping maid off at PIL's ... but labour law says maid can't work in 2 addresses, right? So that means the maid will idle in the PIL's house during the day? :S

Any feedback is appreciated!

xiaozhu
yeah just have to do light laundry.

babydust & luck
my washing machine is front load so I need low-suds detergent - does Tops have low-suds version?

jennyhoo
waaahaha then my MIL is indeed "out of the loop", sotong is also another common dish of hers LOL

Hi joelle,

Am having the exact same questions about maids! I am thinking of getting the maid in at the begining of April cos can't leave her alone at home also. THen asking my mother to help train her for 2 weeks and it should be in time for baby's arrival. Hoping to get a experienced maid so maybe less time teaching?

Have u tot of whether u want to get an Indonesian or Filipino? I am thinking of leaving her at my mother's place for 2 weeks.. just 2 weeks should be okie lah.as long as the maid is not actually working for 2 households.

I did not hear abt stingray, only heard jellyfish cannot take cos it will coil the placenta, something like tat.

Hi steph

I still can't decide on many matters -___-

RE: Indo vs Fili - I have been strongly encouraged by the MIL to get an Indonesian because they are supposedly easier to control. However SO and I can't speak Malay - MIL has volunteered to translate. I have my doubts whether this arrangement can work out -___-"" I am seriously considering learning Bahasa. The worst outcome would be not being able to communicate with the maid PERSONALLY, I'd hate to leave things to the MIL and risk having any miscommuniation or conflict of authority.

Are you getting Indonesian or Filipina?

The PILs have suggested to engage maid at least a month before baby arrives i.e. engage in March; they are saying safer to engage earlier in case need to change maids. But have no idea how to arrange things... technically even if she goes over to PIL's to "learn", she is still working, right? "Learning to work" ? :p Maybe I should speak to an agent about this.

In case you're wondering why my PIL seem to be very involved, it's because we will bring maid and baby to ILs for my MIL to supervise when I return to work.

Joelle....i thk its a gd idea to engage the maid at least 1 mth before ur EDD or you might even consider 1.5mth...just in case ur BB arrives earlier...

tt gives the maid time to learn before the bb arrive and you will get a chance to train the maid...

i heard from many frens tt Phil maids are better with BB but you got to take note that they r more ex and most take sunday off at least on alt wks.....hope this helps...

me not on cruise yet..hee ..jus woke up fr nap...checking in at nite....=)..

xiaozhu

the TOP detergent for in door drying is good..i alway dry indoor coz wk no time in e day...mine no smell

BabyDust & LUCK
OK will keep an eye out for Top!

Stephanie Lim
In those cases when maid arrives 1-1.5 month before baby, have you heard of what kind of living/working arrangement is done, when husband & wife are out working in the daytime? If leave maid with P/PIL, do they work there? Any conflict with the labour law?

Cheesycake
Haha OK tonight I tell MIL ... hate to trouble her but bo bian hurhur

Kea
Have a good short holiday. I've never been on cruise before!

Kea: Enjoy your cruise!

BabyDust: Yes, Top has the front-load series (purple packaging) with low suds.

Joellez: I am engaging my MIL's maid's sis for myself. She is Indon and will be coming to Sg at end Jan, about 2 months before I am due at beginning April. I hope to get her accustomed to my place first as well as get my MIL to train her esp in cooking. Also want her to undergo my confinement lady's training to take care of my baby. When I go back to work, my plan is to leave my baby with the maid at my MIL's house. My objective of the maid is to first take care of the baby, secondly to clean the house and lastly to cook. So when she goes to my MIL's house, I won't expect her to be helping in my MIL's household chores, lest she complains she is working 2 households.

calamari,
my next appt is on 3 dec. Yours will be earlier than me this time round. Did you get any report for the oscar scan?

My bro told us to use the playpen as a bed as cot is a bit redundant if you have a playpen.

Btw, during the last visit we were forced to use valet parking, cos someone just jumped queue and took an empty slot when my hb had waited quite some time for it. So irritating! When we collected the car, it smelt of cigarette cos I think the valet smoked.

Kea,
Wow so envious of you! Enjoy yourself!

Thanks for sharing about Dr Brown's bottles. Have heard of the brand before but forgotten about it until you brought it up again.

Talking about online shopping, I wonder whether it's more worth it to buy the Medela PIS pump from online shop? Seems to be about $500+ after conversion and plus gst. But I'm not sure how much shipping will cost.

Tsukushi - must check out shipping cost before u decide to buy cos the shipping can cost up till quite a lot, esp if the box is heavy.

tsukushi: the Medela Advanced PIS is not light leh hahaha, dunno whether shipping costs will be very ex or not. You can try buying from the Cheong Choon Store I posted earlier? Cost $650

Yes, I got a report of the Oscar scan with 6 pics of the baby hehehe.

I heard from some friends that playpen can be quite warm and too deep for us to put our baby down to sleep. I also confused. Feel like buying a playpen to put in my MIL's house for baby to sleep then buy cot for my own place for baby to sleep in at night. Thinking of saving money buy buying those cot which can be converted to a junior bed, can sleep up to 6 years old or so.

Aiyo, how can the valet smoke in the car! He probably smoked already then go into the car, so inconsiderate! :\ Btw, my hubby said valet and parking yourself at TMC is no difference one leh. At the end, money is deducted from cash card one. TMC got a serious parking problem, and almost everytime I need the valet, so far only deduct from cash card leh...

Gd Morning gals...

Happy Deepavali.....so glad tt its a public holiday today...hee hee hee no work onli stay hm n nua ha ha ha...counting down to my holidays in 3 days cant wait...

joelle...

i thk shld not be a problem with putting your maid in your MIL hse...so long as ur family dun over work her n its for training...

just chk wif ur agent when in doubt...hee hee hee...

Steph - me also on leave on Fri & Mon, super long weekend. Today nua at home also, DH sick so we both din go work. Its good for us to rest more.