(2008/04) April 2008

kea, cath: woah.. all ur measurement quite low leh.. mine is 1.7mm... was actually quite worried about it... but doc say good.. then abit relief.

cath: yah TMC car park charges are super high. some of my friends will park their car at the HDB carpark opposite TMC and cross the overhead bridge to TMC... cheaper that way... can consider to ask ur hubby to drop u at TMC then go and park at the HDB carpark before joining you are the gynae's clinic.. then can save some money on parking fees.... = )

hi .. anyone has nt result that is less than 1mm ? i wonder my nt scan is accurate now

Burpy... yupe. Idea!!! i will suggest to my hubby next time when we were there for the 3D. he is just happy that i am not delivering in TMC. aiyoh, where got pp decide the hosp based on parking fees leh? Unbelievable right?

Just checked my bill. I was charged $150 for the scan and $150 for the FTS - Maternal Serum Screening. so Jenny, this is where the $300 goes...

On top of this, I am charged with $20.80 for Blood Cell Prof - think this is the blood test for my hubby. And another $62 for some additional antenatal Panel 3 - which i suspect is for the HIV test and other blood test.

In total I paid $409.60 inclusive of 7% GST.

Cath: thanks... yah lorh... so after reassurance from Doc... felt better.. my scan also not done by my gynae. Its done by another doc...

me worry liao...seem like all can c bb move etc...but i didnt c leh...haiz......mine scan at 12wks, oso didnt c....

calamari,

Did you do the scan at the clinic itself or did you go upstairs? I think the fbi card doesn't apply to our clinic.

I'm looking at mrs wong's weekend class too, but have not signed up yet.

Btw, i got a call from the clinic too. results seemed good but the caller did not tell me in detail. Don't know what are the figures..
y are you seeing ur gynae so soon? I'm going back only in Nov.

My NT scan is 1.3mm.

tsukushi: The nurses led me to the 4th floor scanning dept to do the test. Yes, the FBI applies, as long as it is not done in our clinic. The FBI does not apply to our gynae's package though :p

When the clinic called me, they also just tell me "you are in low risk, so no need to do amnio" but I probed Esther (the nurse) further by asking her the ratio. You can call her and ask her tomorrow? She gave me 2 results: a Tri-21 result and the overall result, which for me is 1: 11000 and 1:16000 respectively. She said Dr Cheng is aware of my results.

My next appointment is next Mon where the gynae will explain in more detail the scan results to me. Yay! can see BB soooon...

tsukushi: sorry forgot your last question. The last time I saw my gynae was 3 weeks back mah, and I don't want my oscar and gynae check-up to be on the same day, cos I want him to explain the results to me 1 week after mah. So he ask me go for Oscar first, 1 week later see him.

good morning, saw my gynae yesterday afternoon, he assure me the pain is due to expansion therefore its okie ... advised also not to dye my hair .. but okie to drink 1 cup a coffee a day!

Burby_Babe: me saw dr tham yesterday, he say since i am there might as well go for the First Trim Screen than i dun have to go back on 16th Oct .. and can save me 1 consultation fee... (he calculated abt 11 weeks liao) so went to TPS to wait and do the scan .. end up .. only 10 weeks + close to 11 .. bb is 44.9mm .. short of 0.1mm if not be able to do the FTS ... :p end up still gotta go back on 16th October to do the screen again .. but luckily they din charge me for the ultrascan at TPS... able to c my bb bouncing inside and also can c the legs, body and head clearly liao but hand can only c abit ... heheheh so excited .. cant wait to go back on 16th Oct again

Mng mtbs....

Jenny: Ohh good that they did not charge you for the scan. u know the doc whom u saw at the TPS to do the scan?

So good that u can get to see ur baby again on 16th.. For me, I can only get to see baby in November when I go back to see Dr Tham... Looking forward to it... = )

<font color="0000ff">Hi cloudluv,
Will not visit dr Kee on tues till maybe Dec.... coz my class is from Tues to Thurs..... see how is the progress getting on.....

Hi Serene,
cutting cost.... since i getting a maid .... will not book a confinement lady, for my no 1 my confinement lady only do at the day.... plus my mother will be having me during confinement, as she is working 4 hrly.... so should be okie.... but u all think i shld still get a confinement lady? since i will be taking care of the baby at night by myself.... don want my baby to sleep with stranger.....

hi calamari ,
u are not alone...... me also big..... haha now i think i hit 67kg already.... fainting..... </font>

Jenny: so cute hoh seeing ur bb bouncing and playing... me have to wait for 22 oct to see bb again. really cant wait keke... btw, if i remem correctly tat time u sick rite? u went to GP or gynae to see doc? me not feeling well, sore throat and flu.

poshies

i dont its necessary to get a confinement lady since your mum is ard & with a maid, i think it should be ok. i dont hv a maid & my mum did confinement for me when i had my #1.
now for my #2, i dont tik i will get a maid, will most probably opt for confinement caterer & send my #1 to childcare, to reduce my mum's workload. anyway i will still take care of bb at nite myself.

cheesycake

i'm also down with flu, sorethroat & cough. no need to see gynae, just normal GP will do. but got to tell doc that u are preggie.

Cheesycake: me went to see normal GP .. but u must tell ur GP tat u r preggy .. and double confirm the med he giving issit alright to take when u preggy. ..

haiz...ystrdae i mentioned stomache rite..now stil have..jus call my nurse, she ask me go dw tmr , shld be infection back again..haiz....

poshies- wow, how come ur previous CL only do day? my SIL CL which i m getting told me that we should rest at night so she cover night duties, day time she will cook, do housechores + teach us how to handle the bb for 1st timer. we hv plenty of time to cover night next time she say.

so far my family engage her for 4 times over the 3 year. but she a bit ex $2k.

already imagine myself looking haggard after delievery cannot image cover night feeding.. i want to focus on getting rid of sagging tummy.

Kea: ur stomache is crampy one or painful like normal type? how come u infection come back again? ur gyane nv give u solution to wash and medicine to take?

cheesycake

mine is crampy slight pain type....mine is Uterus infection..not UTI...so doc will insert medication for me.....last visit, he didnt check for me coz i feeling ok...haiz..now like that again....damn sian....sat jus c him...if go back again. spend $ again..haiz

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jamie,
Thanks.... i don know whether is my mother able to help me coz she is working.... haiz plus not too sure whether the maid can handle new born, especially bath them? i need someone to do washing, bathing the bb and cooking for me.... the rest i think i can handle.... coz i plan to breastfeed my baby... so no need confirnement lady at night... since i will be the one waking up to feed the bb..... that happen during my no1

Hi Serene,
coz my confinement lady is Singaporean, staying around my area... she come about 7.30 am in the morning.... doing the washing,.... preparing the bath for the bb... and cook my breakfast, when bb wake up... she will bath her..... then do a bit of housework...... i nurse bb myself..... as i direct latch on..... but she do all the changing of daiper.... i'm using cloth diaper... she is encouge that... so she need to wash the daiper also..... anyway newborn.... nothing much they do... just sleep, eating and cry.... haha.... just relax..... she don do marketing as my mother will being all the foodstuff for her to cook.... and tell u 1 thing.... my washer break down on 2 week... then my DH waiting for a week to get a new washer... as he want to use the cc after that month due.... so the bill will be next.... haha my confinement nanny had to hand wash all the clothes for a week... she din complain... haha

but 1 thing i learn... don rock your baby or carry them around for long..... it will become an habit... from begining my boy is not rock to bed... so now he hate pple to pat or rock him to sleep... he will sleep his own.... </font>

poshies

maybe u can discuss with your mum on what are the things she can help u. i agree, its a matter of luck to get a good maid, & not every maid have experience handling new borns. by then u may not hv the time to train her. otherwise no choice then get your confinement lady again.

my mum dont stay over however my MIL offers to help in the evening/ nite but since i'm breastfeeding, she's of no help actually.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Jamie,
No way to get my old confinement lady already... as she used to be my boy nanny till i change him to childcare as her own daughter had just gave birth... by next year, her own granddaughter is only 8 month old....

That way I'm abit loss now.... my hubby will only do mopping and vaccumming .... no other thing already... plus my boy is superglue to me.... how how... 1 think good is during confinement, i don think my mother will be able to help for long hour... coz she need to fetch my son at 6 pm.... and she want me to rest... so think she will bring him home...</font>

night feeding can feed from bottle expressed breastmilk .. the CL say. my SIL hv a lot of breastmilk sometimes we busy talking, my SIL don want to feed CL will will prepare the fozen ones.

wow for 2nd born so much logistic to take care.. if can spare the money to take away the stress, do it. spend the time to bond with the baby esp the 1st one.. i always pity the elder child during the 1st month.. cos my nephew (2 yrs old) don like me to carry him but when the new sister came along he will be a good boy sit on my lap for 2 hours. can feel he v sad that he being neglected.

Calamari,

Weight gain? Dun worry ler, i am the same as u

same build some more.

Gender,
Whose gynae can tell the gender at 12 or 13th weeks? I would like to see him/her also

poshies

aiyo, another headache to get a gd confinement lady. otherwise it would be gd to get back the same one. then i guess no choice, u hv to get a maid early to train her, if no gd can still change.
moreover your mum will sure be tired, having to work & helping u out. dont worry too much lah, maybe things arent that bad, just let it come what may. anyway u still hv time to source for a gd maid.

Calamari: i think i bigger size than u ar!! .. heheh cos i heavy bones type ... b4 preggy .. weigh always ard between 65 to 68kg .. that time 1st preggy weigh abt 68kg .. yesterday weigh abt 70.1 kg... so gain abt 2kg so far

serene

yes, there's really quite a fair bit to do for logistics when 2nd one comes along. no doubt the 1st one may somehow feel neglected. but we will always try our best to cater for their needs/ attention. well at least 1 parent for instance my hubby will be the one as i need to take care of our 2nd newborn. infact we already start telling my ger abt her sibling every nite. not sure she understands but will contd to do so till the 2nd one is born.

Haiz..me also headache as no one take care of me. Ask my hubby for opinion, only make me more angry. He said, why confinement woman cannot eat like normal. Westerner also eat like normal, e.g Burgers, Fries.. They also nvr take chinese herbs. =.='' vomit blood or not..

they understand.. cos my nephew v cute do the political right things.. u ask him you like mei mei, he will say yes.. u ask him can bring mei mei home, he will shake his head. kiss mei mei, he will gently kiss her. i always like to disturd them..

ask yr 1st one to talk to your bb, my the other niece v cute, cos the brother always talk to my SIL when pregnant, my niece only recongise his voice.. any instruction he give she understands.. v funny too.. he will say mei mei don cry, the mei mei look at him and stop crying, mei mei, look here or don move, she will follow. we give the same instruction, she don understand. but the bro always like to beat her.. she still like him alot. maybe this is called bonding.

Me no mum and MIL.
Hubby dun like stranger stay in our house. He volunteer to do housework. (Cleaning and washing clothings) Thinking of order confinement food if really no choice. I have search the confinement food which cost ard $1.4k. Then baby maybe i can take care be.

HI all,

I have got frens who engaged confinement lady thru recommendadtion and turn out to be terrible. One of them doze off while carrying baby and drop baby on the floor. some keeps persuading mom not to breastfeed. aiyo alot of story. And there was one case where this CL actually cheated mommies in this forum of money by asking them to place deposits or something. So better get reccomendation thru reliable source.

What is the market rate for CL? someone mention 2K!!!!Wow.

For mommies who not keen on getting CL, maybe can engage a maid to do housework and cater confinement food (which is not cheap either but better then getting a CL that stresses you).

For mommies who breastfeed baby I tink having a CL not that necessary coz CL cannot feed baby.

FOr me, my past two pregnancies I din engage CL and I also got no help from IL and my mom. I find it less stressful coz some well-meaning advice from the elders can be quite stressful esp when it is your first child. Got frens who go into postnatal depression coz of IL and even their own mom. One of my fren's MIL refuse to let my fren carry her baby coz she says my fren is "dirty" and locked baby in the room!!! So for this third delivery, I might engage another maid to help with housework and my first maid will concenrate on my two older kids.

Hope I am not scaring anyone here but just to share that not all CL would be a great help.

xiaozhu

i also intend to order confinement food but its gonna be siong for u if no helper ard to take care of bb. u need to rest & recuperate at least for 1 mth after birth. will be very tiring for u esp when u need to bathe & nurse bb. its not easy. maybe can consider a daytime confinement lady, like what poshies did?

xiaozhu- my god yr husband say that. confinement is not only abt food. nowadays CL cook normal food too with occasions herbal soup.. if u don eat right don hv enough breastmilk. but our weather here is humid, so must take care not to dip in water too often.

plus just give birth, see natural birth or not.. if hv wound how to move around. plus 1st time parents both must hv confident to bath, change, clean the poo poo.

yr husband don hv friends or siblings, ask him to check first before give this type of comments. if i m u, sure get one and ask him to pay. tell him the bb is sharing his surname.

if u want to eat burgers who will buy for you when ur husband out working? you going out with bb? another reasons is don bring out bb during the first mth cos u don want to expose the bb to germs. remember one yr ago, a young couple bring the bb out to expo during 1st mth suddely the bb hv difficulty breathing, but the ambulance cannot reach them in them, bb passed away. so be a bit pang dang is good. suffer 9 mths and all the cost becos of this something happen not worth it.

ask ur mom if she is fit. my mom v funny, send my SIL home after 3 days of confinement. cos her health no good say want to faint after cooking for 3 days. end up her mom hv to take care of her.

ya.. at least day time help is good wat jamie suggests.. cost $1.4k for food is exp. don like is one thing, but for good cause is no choice.

see u hv friends or anyone doing confinement now, go and see the CL how she handle the bb before u decide. or ask the CL to invite u over to QC her work before u decide.

by the way, if u want to slim down eat burgers and fries will make u harder to lost weight.

hi serene...
yup lor... i think i might want too look for a maid soon... maybe in jan..... see how thing get.... for food wise... it is good to eat better during confinement... plus i don think i can bath bb during the 1st month... coz i might end up c-section again..... so i need some one to help to bath the bb....

Serene - Thks for advise.
Mom passed away liao.
Check already, hire 1 CL cost ard 1.6-2k depends on 1)thru agency or direct engage. 2)Malaysian/ Sporean. Then also food cost, cooking hassle (Hubby hate kitchen messy), Ang Bao...etc
Mmm...worst come to worst, book confinement food, baby give hubby look after. But of coz must let hubby attend the pre-natal class when i'm in 20 weeks.
'Chuan Dao Chiao Tou, Zi Ruan Zhi' Now just be happy mom, then baby also will be happy. Love to see those baby chuckling sound and those 'mi mi yan', so adorable.

Burby_Babe: me dun remember the TPS doctor name wor .... hahahha

btw me picked up a brochure in regards of the Antenatal Programme... U can have a look i just scan ..

attachment_icon.gif

A Package.tif (42.1 k)</td></tr></table></center>

XiaoZhu: I have 1 suggestion. I can get my mother to provide you with confinement food since our EDD is close. Mine is 2nd Apr, yours is 1st. I spoken to my mother, she say okay but your hubby needs come my house to collect the food 3 times a day for the first 2 wks because, my mother will monitor then cook according to our condition. She say shld not cook all at once.. need to see what's our condition then cook individually..So she wont have time to bring over. Occasionally, she can go over to advise you on how to take care of the bb when bb refuse to eat for no reason/rash or other "surprise" problems.

My mother is now doing confinement catering for her churchmates and she has over 15 yrs of experience taking care of babies
the pity is that she stay very far frm me. So she only helping with the confinement. email/msn me at [email protected] to talk more. She will also advise you on boil drinking liquid for confinement.. as you know we are not suppose to drink plain water.. will have bad water retention.

*P/S* If our delivery is more than 1 wk apart then we cannot help you.

Burby_Babe:hmm tried to save in jpeg file .. but not able to post in cost dimension too big .. u got email? maybe i email to u ..

When i have #1, my MIL did the 1st week for me, my HB did 2nd week then my aunty did 3rd and 4th week.
however, for 1st 2 weeks, i bath baby and do everything myself. 2nd week, my HB cook for me then my aunty occasionally drop by to help me till she couldnt bear to see me suffer no more by doing everything then she helped me for 3rd and 4th week. Come over every morning 7am and started cooking etc.

Now! my grandma will be doing confinement for me. She is over 80yrs old but she can still cook + she has a maid who is very exp in looking after babies.
So i'll be gng over grandma hse to stay.