(2008/04) April 2008

Babydust,
I take essence of chick once a week only. My mom makes tonic soup with pao sheng and wolfberries, about once a week too. Maybe will take a bit of birdnest if gynae gives green light. But also don't dare to take too much, cos my SIL took quite a lot and my niece has asthma. Don't know whether there's any link, but just to be safe.

Can share how does a bb kick feels like? I keep having a throbbing feeling but I don't know whether that's air bubbles due to gastric.

cherish - i also very tired, got neck ache, think kana flu infected by colleague, sian! Wat to do? Gynae say can take panadol. Now must drink more water.

Double post

Kea - i take 2 panadol, if i have pain / migrain/ fever. Coz 1 tablet not working de. Better take after food. Dun take over 8 tablets in a day can liao.

tsukushi,

I believe yr SIL has taken too MUCH bird nest! too much will have opposite result! don take too much of essence too.. Once a week is advise...
now u shld take in more cordeceps. Once in the am after u've woken.. next is before u r going to bed. Only cordeceps... put 3-4 strands of cordeceps and throw into a small cooking pot and brew for abt 20mins drink the water only.. then keep it aside and repeat the same procedure before u sleep. it should strengthen the baby's organ with all the nutrient needed for a healthy organ...

Sparks: I am not sure if you are correct about birds nest and EOC. Did you seek any medical advice about these products?

kea: A normal panadol a day should be fine. If in doubt, maybe you want to call your clinic to rec-confirm? Hearing it from the doctors/your gynae would be your best advice.

haha calamari... my cousin has the same appetite when she's pregnant and now her son has asthma.. don know why it is so.. but the doc says her son's lung's very 'cold'. So my mother asked her did she take too much bird's nest.. she mention she's been taking 5 days a week since her bb was on 4mths.. I'm actually not sure if it's the way anot, but asthma is the type of sickness where all moms wanted to avoid.. prevention is better than cure. Now her son cannot sleeps under air-con room otherwise the temp shld be ard rm temp 25-26 celsius. Now i compare her son with my neice.. there's a great difference lor.. i don't have any proof abt these products therupetic effects but i certainly will avoid adverse effects.

I'm not stating that bird nest is not good.. jus take moderately...

I think there is no scientific proof whether EOC or birds nest is good or bad for pregnant ladies :p Similarly, my friends have taken both of these products and babies are very healthy and rosy. Personally I have seeked both my gynae and a sinseh about these 2 products and they were supportive of the consumption. But I guess ultimately its up to individual belief.

Anyway, can't wait to go home. Half an hour more!

tsukushi: counting down to clinic visit? argh...i got 13 more days to go...15 days for u is it if I recall correctly? ;)

.really depends on the body of the person.. some ppl are warm body.. eat too much of one thing will be bad..
Those who are having dizzy spell.. it's probably due to low blood pressure which is quite common. Regular EOC is good in this case.

calamari,
You're taking 2 bottles of bird nest a week? Are there different grades of bottled bird nest from EYS? I have only bought the concentrated one before but that type must be consumed within 2 weeks, so don't think can finish if I only take a mouthful each time. Some say that home-cooked is the best, but I don't know how to prepare it properly.

My next clinic visit is another 10 days to go.
Bump is already protruding, wonder how big bb has grown by now. Strangely, my weight has not changed even though bump is growing.

Btw, I'm thinking of getting a bump pillow. Getting a bit uncomfortable to lie on my side now.

Jgal,
Guess I'm on the right track to take EOC, cos I have dizzy spells very often.

Hi all, not sure if you gals remembered sometime ago when I posted wat my boss did to me after I told her I was preggy. Anyway, to summarise, she told me that I dont have to do what I am currently doing anymore, and changed my job role completely. I was not given a choice, when I asked her if I have other options, she said no, this is the only option. I guess it was left unsaid that I can resign if I wanted. I asked her straight out if she is demoting me, and she did not answer. When she spoke to me, she even used incidents from 2 years back against me, which I felt was totally unjustified. One of her reasons for demoting me was because my MC record was not that great previously, cos I had some health problems.

Well, good news is that my pay would not be reduced although my job scope changed. But I thik my boss not happy abt this, cos I guess she find wat they pay me not very worth it. So after she told me HRs decision, she pretend to show concern and ask me if I want to reduce my working hours, maybe to work 50%. Cos also last few weeks I was on MC quite frequent as I had very bad morn sickness and also kena food poisoning. Told her I will thik it over. Few days later, I told her I decided to stick with my current working arrangement, she not happy at all and told me straight out that she will be monitoring my performance very closely for the next few months. I feel she is threatening to force me to reduce my working hours if I continue to take MC, as I believe that she does not want me to enjoy this privilege. I told her I really wont be able to predict wat would happen in the future, she just said that I know my situation best. I was so upset after talking to her that I went back to my place and started crying. I cant believe that she is so heartless. Does that mean that if something happen to me and I have to be hospitalized or something, she will force me to reduce my working hours? This will have impact during my maternity leave, cos they will pay me based on my last drawn salary.

Now I am keeping my fingers crossed that I will not hv to take MC for the next few months. I still feel very sad everytime I thik abt the way she is treating me, but I trying to keep myself happy for the sake of the baby.

tsukushi: Yah I take the bottled bird nest from EYS twice a week. I bought the concentrated one where you take 1 teaspoon per day in the morning as well but decided to pass it to my hubby cos I prefer to drink the bottled one - quantity is more hahaha and very nice to drink. Yes, there are different grades of bird nest. The ones where you need to boil yourself is definitely better.
They are selling 6 pieces (plucked ones) for $178 at EYS. Unplucked ones are cheaper but dunno how much. However, my mother and I do not know how to boil it so I decided to just go with the bottled ones.

I know our appointments are 2 - 3 days apart but cannot remember whose is earlier
Hehehe. Think we will be scheduled for Detailed Test soon.

Yah, I am already showing too, especially after dinner! I looked like I am 6 months pregnant after dinner haha! And I realise my tummy is now hard. But nowadays many people wear babydoll tops and dress, so many colleagues still think I am just putting on weight and not pregnant, hehe.

Sputnik: Be strong and just take things as it is now. Take good care!

Sputnik : dont worry so much. I believe the situation has turn for the better. Now that we know HR stands. HR will not allow your boss to fire or reduced your working hrs. I think hr is thinking of the big pic. they dun want to hurt their reputation or to set fear in other wed colleagues.. maybe to themselves. This is how mnc works.

I believe that your boss already suggest to hr to your reduce pay etc.. but hr dun want.. and suggest to her to ask you to reduce wk hr, then they can justify reducing your pay. I think your boss already spoken to them abt your 2 yr ago MC and recent MC-ing. Also see change job scope didnt work liao.. So that why your boss is jumping at you. Dont worry abt maternity leave and pay now. Just take MC when you need to.

Unless the company has some financial problems , on tight budget etc so no matter how your boss jump and shout, unless you sleep on you job. there is no way HR will go her way. Cos' hr dun want to affect the organisation, they will be willing to spend abit more on you. Just be careful frm now on .. No more msn/yahoo, browsing motherhood site or ready friend's forwarded emails. Dont let your boss catch you, cos' it got nothing to do with your preggy and they can be use as evident that you are not doing your job.

BTW, if you feel like talking to us.. just take mc :p lor.. i would like to see your boss hopping mad.

<font color="0000ff">morning all mtbs....

how is the weekend... haha a bit funnie to ask in the middle of the week rite... had not been logging in since last sat.... just finish my report yesterday day and took 1 of the test.... today can take a breather.... but I suppose to finish my assignment today too.... haiz......

hi sputnik,
don worry too much at the moment.... what will happen will happen.... just relax and enjoy yourself.... if not it might be worst for you.... anyway if u need hospitalise.... it is under a different leave... .so it will not be too bad.... I think it is ur immediate boss that is not happy with u..... just ignore her.... do all the necessary work...... if u completed ur job .... she cant do anything..... think positively....</font>

Haiz... i'm kinda feeling that it's normal for boss's to 'cut down' our work load and receive sacastic remarks and stares from others...

My boss is also cutting my daily work too.. My dept. conducts daily am mtg to summaries and compile watever matters that 's needed to priorties today he came and said I'm not needed in the mtg the only comments pregnant mum's hormones is unpredictable so he said ask me to take some light/simple work instead.

ya...i tink is reali anti preggies in Singapore work Society.... if no mc , pple will say wah, tis preggis super gd n independent...if mc, pple will start all e shit stuff..they will nv understand untill they r preggie and into the miserable situation themselves...wad to do.......tis is life...haiz......pathetic.....

i was telling my DH that i don feel lyk wking anymore...i say i don wan mc oso must c pple face, damn stress and sian...arady sick still must c tis n tt....then he say if stay hm more sian, parents will nag at me for financial income nt enough for bb etc..haiz.....tis is life again.....sry for nagging here...

Actually a lot depends on the boss. One of my staff was pregnant last year and she was on mc, about thrice a month. I find its reasonable and have not actually sort of discriminate her although some people will gossip. Now its my turn to be pregnant, I do feel that I am under scrutiny and additional pressure to perform up to the same standard or even better, just to prove a point. My own boss has given me lesser projects to handle. To overcome my over-sensitivity, I just take it that he does not want to overwork me. My mentality now is take things as it is. We cannot stop people from judging us, sigh. Chin up!

/blue{well that is life....
what ever u do or behaviour is under thousand of pple, some even don know one comments....

so just stay positive..... live happily...

easy to say then done.....

cheers up}

1035872.gif

hi starlet. .. could you provide me with your information ... so i can add into the chart

EDD, GYNAE,HOSPITAL,BB sex

Hi i am on 2 days mc. got flu and sore throat. Doc did say that panadol is ok, but take only those plain ones, not those like flu panadol, etc.

sputnik

dont worry & stress too much. Your health & bb is the most impt right now. just let it come wat may. stay positive.

kea

i agree with u, our society is not very pro for child bearing. although our govt seems to support but its just not enough! its our culture...
i'm quite lucky to work only part time & i dont feel the stress of taking mc as my co. is very understanding. its a big decision u hv to make shd u decide to quit & be a SAHM. which i'm also seriously considering when my #2 comes. fiancial part, we just need to make some adjustment lor. but i'm sure everything is worth it as the 1st few years are the most critical. just my 2 cents worth opinion

welcome to the club starlet!!

hi gals.. anyone seriously considering changing career.. ha haha .. i was thinking of switching to teaching .. at least it's half day.. and after a few yrs can quit, to do tuition when the kid is older.

** ha ha ha my england is very poor.. but i think i can teach chinese / computer study **

Jgal, its not tat easy for teaching also. For sure its a secured job but not easy. I don tik its really half day job, got to do marking, tuition, other ECAs, etc. But if u are really keen, might be good to consider.

am back from lunch ... just had lunch at swenson's with my colleagues today .. cos got Free Ice Cream on the House... hehheheh

Hi mtbs,

I am also an April MTB, would like to check with you gals... I super afraid of constipation so i have been increasing my fruits intake. Any idea what are the fruits that we should avoid besides pineapple and watermelon? Can we eat jackfruit, durians?

amy

durians are very pu & heaty. besides increase fruit intake, u also must increase veg intake. no doubt there's certain fruits which is not recommendable but i always believe everything eat in moderation is alright.

hi MTBs
i was in the may thread but guess i shd belong here since my edd has been changed to 28 apr instead. jus went for oscar test last wk n everything's cleared
am in my 13 wks nw.

Jgal- teacher is not easy leh. my hb taught for 3 yrs n has decided to quit nxt mth liao. too many things to handle! after sch, got meetings, CCA, need to bring bk work to mark. on many occasions he had to make do w 3-4 hrs of sleep jus to finish all his marking. hv to go bk durin sch hols for meetings, preparation work, etc.

Yeah .. i know .. it's not easy. I have friend who is so stress up that she needs to see psychiatrist. But it's a easy option for job security etc..I only plan to do for 2-3 yrs.. then switch to tutoring.

Hi everyone..

Seems like everyone is grabbling with work stress... i am also stressed out, wanted to resign last week but hubby told me to think about the 3 months paid maternity. Anyways, i got a scare today cos i tot i had bleeding so went to see doctor. Luckily it was just some old blood from my previous placenta separation. Doc gave me 2 days MC but i have to go back to work! Tried to see if can see gender of baby but baby is shy

Welcome Starlet

Spuntik: Good news is u have already won the case aginst your boss whether she likes it or not. Anyway there is no case for mc that was taken like 2 years ago. She's quite a monster and childish to bring up case of past few years. Anyway those supposedly case in the past year stands no chance in upseting your pay and performance for the moment. If she wants to bring a case against u, she shd have done it years ago and not now, she is being petty and unprofessional in the eyes of HR and us.

For now, pregnancy is actually a good excuse to take mc officially whether the company likes it or not because it is proven in history and scientifically that pregnancy triggers many hormones changes and disrupts body system during the 9 months. My colleague was down for 4 months in her first trimester both for her first and current children. Peers just need to cover and do them if not find a part-timer to do the work. That's life.

Just take care of your health because most importantly we want our bb to grow healthily and not be affected by other things. Hence if u take care to minimise stress, eat well, sleep early and have gd spirit, then sickness or discomfort will not come and bother u. Then mc would not be a problem. Anyway the next few months should be easier on us, festive season moods r in like christmas, new year, chinese new year etc. Bonus is coming and we shd be happy, there are many holidays coming. So just pen your thoughts on the happy coming days and u will be fine

Hi jgal,

My info as follows:

EDD: 4th Apr 08
Gynae: Dr Poon
Hospital : MT A

hi all, heard from some ppl, if bb cross their leg, most probably will be gal.cos bb is shy..wondering how true is it..

Thanks for all your words of encouragement. I really feel better after posting here as there are not many people I can talk to about this. I have stopped surfing the net in the office for quite a few weeks already, like Jgal said, dun want to give her anymore ammunition against me. I try to avoid her in the office now and just do my own work. Its not like Im the first one who got pregnant in my dept. There were quite a few who got pregnant before me and they also took a lot of MCs (more than me), but she never say anything also. She is just out to get me. I really hope that that she will get her retribution for treating me this way while I am in this condition. Really envy those people who have understanding bosses.

Actually my company is quite pro family, cos I see quite a lot of women getting pregnant over and over, for the 6 years that I have been there, have even seen a few getting pregnant 3 times. I was thinking of talking to HR about the way I am being treated, but I am afraid that they will tell my boss and the situation will end up worse. So just try and bear with it for the next few months and pray that I dont have to take MCs.

BTW, does anyone know if we can do hair treatment? Was thinking of going for a haircut and doing treatment at the same time as my hair is pretty dry.

calamari,
Maybe will check out the EYS birdnest. Tempted to take too! The dried one is really costly as compared to bottled ones! But, what is the difference between bottled and home-made birdnest?

I estimate my detailed scan should be around end Nov when I'm at my 20th week. Wonder whether gynae can see the gender next week? If she sees, wonder if she will tell me?

sputnik,
You have my sympathy. Try to endure for another 5 mths and you will take home 8 mths of pay!!!! I am counting down to the next 5 mths..hehe Also tempted to take MCs sometimes, feel lousy at work, but trying hard to endure too. I bet my appraisal for this FY will be very poor. But at this point, appraisal is not my top priority.