(2008/04) April 2008

jaspire, that's exactly what my hubby said lor. he say dun wan bb to be so stressed when still so young. but then it's not supposed to be stressful mah, we just want to expose them stimulate them, better than just lying there staring at the ceiling mah. and it's only a few minutes each day, not like forcing them to do it the whole day. andway if bb not good mood also can;t do what, they won't be interested.

i told my hubby if baby REALLY no interest and i can't use it with her in any way then i'll sell lor.

yeps me and hubby going down to meet you ladies later. hope to make it in time at 2pm, cos my girl whole nite never sleep well until now dun wan to wake up.. PMed you my hp number, can you send me a sms and let me know your number too? Angel already has my number

Girls, I won't be able to go down to GD's today. Need to go straight to MIL's to check and collect baby in afternoon; today is first day at work . Hope you have a fruitful trip!

Lynn, me cant check my PM cos its linked to my ofc email and I am out of office. Hahaha... dats y i gave my personal email addy.

Will you be bringing bb along? Too bad my hubby cannot join wor... both you and angel is bringing hubby so nice! My hubby cant take leave leh.

Hmm, i think the flashcard will take oni less than 5 mins each day leh until we progress further? Will need to ask the trainer later.

Btw next week's episode of Super Kids on Tuesday, Channel 8 is about flashcards. Might want to check it out to see how it works :D

22:30 星期二特写: 小超人5 Tuesday Report: Super Kids 5

lynn - ya, the white residue at the top of the milk level.... oh, will dissolve if i swirl it around in the glass bottle before pouring out, even when i just take out from the fridge and it is cold? Okie, will try that... thanks!

sputnilk, yeps it will dissolve. just keep swirling lor. i was thinking since it's milk fats, if not given to bb then bb will not have the needed fats..

just be careful when swirling, dun shake ebm..

Hi Jaspire and Lynn

looking forward to the Flashcard meetup later at 2pm. Cutiebb, can you join us? Have Pmed you.

Yesterday night, me and hubby also discussing, it's really an expensive investment but it's a structured way to introduce babies to 'sight' reading from a young age. Morevoer, once I return to work, our helper can use the flashcards to occupy our baby rather than let baby stare into ceiling whole day, just eat and sleep. I believe some form of stimulation is good.

Jaspire, must bring baby?

mummies.. ask for opinions here regarding baby swimming..

need to decide between bringing baby to hwa xia for swimming ($108 for 5 sessions), buying the mambo float and tub to DIY at home or simply buying te mambo float and wait till bb is older and bring to public pool..

how old would they need to be before they can go public pool? public pool no temperature control leh..

Lynn - btw, wat's the capacity of the avent cups u using to store the EBM in the fridge? Do u remember how much u bought them for? Thinking that i may have to stop using the glass bottles soon if my gal's appetite increase, cos the glass bottles can contain only abt 120ml.

sputnik, i bot the set with 1x180ml and 10x260ml, something like that..

i can check the price later, still have the box cos still not using the bigger sized ones yet. the good thing abt them is next time can use to store bb puree too.

Lynn
personally i'd bring baby to pool with a float when he's older. tank swimming needs fixed scheduled time. my baby now still has very short attention span, and sometimes sleep a lot. so it's difficult to bring him for a scheduled activity. i figure when he's older and can stay awake longer, then bring him to the pool.

lynn - okie, let me know if u manage to check the price ;-) Are u using the lansinoh milkbags to freeze your ebm? saw that you freeze them in 250ml per bag. I thot the max capacity is 6oz which is abt 180ml?

sputnik
lynn probably filled the whole bag. 6oz is half full. i think it's personal preference and ease of use when defrosting, qty frozen in bag does not affect milk quality. i fill around 6-7oz.

i tried amy's method of removing air from the milkbag, really quite effective and easy! thanks for sharing Amy

sputnik, ya i fill up above the 'max'. but not all the way to the top cos need to give some space for expansion. i tried once 280ml and really really very full when frozen. 250 to 260 still quite safe..

lynn,joelle - oh, cos was reading the instructions for use of the milkbag, it says max capacity is 6oz, so i kuai kuai follow... haha..alamak, so i could have put more in the milkbag...wat a waste...

Do u combine milk expressed from separate sessions when freezing? Cos each time i express only abt 130-160ml, thiking of combining now if can store more in each milkbag.

Angel and Lynn, me not bringing baby... cos me alone. Anyway, they say 1st time there its best not to bring baby so that we can focus and understand how it works, else if baby is there... baby cry we will have to carry walk ard etc and will miss the lesson. But since both you and hubby there, maybe ok. And also if you dun have anyone else to look after baby, bring baby along loh... I will oni bring baby the next time i go again.

Hi Lynn,
I brought my baby to huaixa at harbourfront to swim twice and he seems to enjoy it. He is now 10 weeks old.
I checked with my PD and he advised to bring babies to public pools after 6 months of age. He said baby's immunity is still not that strong and may get sick easily if we bring him to a public pool when he's still so young. PD also said that the chlorine at the pool may not be sufficient to protect baby from disease spreading germs.
Hope this info helps..=)

Lynn: I brought Byron swimming 2 weeks ago when he is 11 weeks go, at my aunt's condo pool. I felt huaxia is quite dodgy so din wanna sign up package with them. Byron enjoyed the swim very much
I used the mambo neck float for him. Intend to bring him this weekend again.

GD baby: Din get approval to get the set from hubby. Thinks its too expensive and says its more fun making them ourselves. Enjoy the lesson ladies!

Sputnik: I asked if we can combined EBM pumped at different times before and most mummies told me not too. So better not lah

hi sputnik
i combine ebm from different sessions to freeze, but so far max is 2 sessions. however i date the bag at the older ebm session.
similarly, i also combine ebm from different sessions to feed, if necessary.

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>NICK </TD><TD>Learning System</TD><TD>Pooh book</TD><TD>Rainbow Fish</TD><TD>Dora</TD><TD>Status </TD></TR><TR><TD>1,2</TD><TD>Jgal</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Self </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>Stefylim</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid $59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>Kea</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid. $44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>Puffish</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>cyl_16</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>Sputnik</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>Koori</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Esther Zhang</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Serena</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>Burpy babe</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$44.95 </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Joelle</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Porkie</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>Strawberry</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Swirl</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>BabyBliss</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>Cutiebb</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Jo</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>XiaoZhu</TD><TD>LS-Blue/Ordered</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid. $44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59 </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>Cherish</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>Bmbm</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>Ting</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>Prawnie</TD><TD>LS-Blue</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1/Ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$44.50 </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>BeBe</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Christine</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>ABCmum</TD><TD>LS-Pink </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>-- </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Beh Jolene</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/order</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Scubababe</TD><TD>LS-Blue </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Geryl</TD><TD>LS-Pink</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid.$59.00 </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>--- </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>Lynn</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD>Paid. $10 </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Raynsky</TD><TD></TD><TD>1/order</TD><TD>1/ordered</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$20 </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>yo</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1</TD><TD>1/ordered </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Angel</TD><TD>LS-Pink/Ordered</TD><TD>1/order</TD><TD>1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Paid.$30 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

My acct no. is DBS saving plus 001-1-053838

Books queue

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Pooh Loves You!</font>
ORDERED (9) STEFYLIM,Burpy Babe,Cutiebb,Strawberries,Strawberries,Xiaozhu,Cherish,Esther Zhang,Puffish
ORDERED (9) Koori,swirl,Christine,Serena,Geryl,Jolene,Sputink,Raynsky,bebe
ORDERED (9) Porkie,angel --- 7 more available --- please let me know if you are interest. Each book only USD3.99 exclude shipping

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Rainbow Fish!</font>
ORDERED (9) Strawberries,Strawberries,Jgal,Esther Zhang,Kea,Chewy,Puffish,Koori,swirl
ORDERED (9) cutiebb,Christine,STEFYLIM,Serena,Geryl,Jolene,Sputink,Raynsky,bebe
Waiting list ( not ordered)
1. Porkie
2. yo
3. angel

<font color="119911">LittleTouch™ LeapPad® Book: Dora the Explorer A Gift from Big Sister Dora</font>
ORDERED (9) Prawine,Lynn,Jgal,Geryl,Esther Zhang,Koori,yo,chewy,puffish

<font color="0000ff"><u>deposit $30 for LS</u></font>
ABCmum

<font color="0000ff"><u>deposit $29 for additional 2 books</u></font>
Angel

<font color="0000ff"><u>deposit $20 for 2 books </u></font>
yo

<font color="0000ff"><u>Acct no. required for refund (email to [email protected])</u></font>
Calamari : $29
Burpy babe : $0.45

okay... i have recovered frm the stress of the leapfrog spree.. i already made 2 orders on books. Anyone want to add to the book order? cos' i need more order to order another batch of rainbow fish. I am not sure when the 3.99 offer is going to end.

Dear all , please check your order/payment status. For book order, please make sure the queue and table is correct.

sputnik

you can combine the ebm from separate session, dun freeze it. what i did was i express 150ml at abt 9am store in the fridge and 150ml at 1pm. After tat i pour into a milk bag. Outside the milk bag will label today date at 9am.

Jgal, thanks so much for coordinating the sprees. May I check how come 2 extra books order at USD3.99 each is = $29? Is it because shipping costs is added?

angel : orginally, it was selling at $9.99 each until last wk. Some already paid me $59 for 2 books with the LS. Since LS + 2 books with shipping definitely going to be more than $59. I ask that $29 be topup for easy calculation, instead of me refunding now.

If just order the books, need to topup $20 only. I dun think the book will eventually cost more than $10 per bk.

bebe - sorry, jus to clarify your posting, u say 'you can combine the ebm from separate session, dun freeze it'... so u combine milk expressed from separate session in a milkbag but not for freezing?

Sorry to ask so many questions.. cos i am in a dilemma on what is the best way to store breastmilk, so hope to get some tips here.

sputnik

yes dun freeze it. you express ur milk out in a bottle and keep it in the fridge for 48hrs. i m sure you can express like 300ml within 48hrs. lidat then u can combine. you can't combine once u freeze it.

jaspire

yeah...milk bag is so ex so must pour in as much as possible.

joelle - thanks for your advice as well... thik i will combine EBM from 2 separate sessions to freeze.. currently i also combine EBM from separate sessions to feed.

Hey ladies,
Re: Sex Life

After 8 wk postpartum, my hb and I resumed our sex life and it was pain like hell and v dry at the vaginal area the first time, the 2nd and 3rd trial was not good either, pain and dry. Does any 1 of u experience this or things go well? Doesnt help with lubricant too! Sigh, cos of this, my hb gets v frustrated with me and I m v upset abt it too! Btw, I had a C sect and was told my gynae can only resume after 8 wks postpartum.

Prawnie,

Nick : bbgoh
Qty : 2tube
Amount : $13.60

will do transfer after work, please advice if i calculate wrongly.

ur both collection plc not convenience for me, can u plz do mail out for me, i can pay the register mail fee. how much plz advice so i can transfer together lata.

<font color="119911">RE: freezing ebm from different session </font>

Hmm..... Personally, i think it's not very good to combine because freshly ebm is warmer than the stored one. So by adding warm one to the cold one, you are effectively "warming" up the milk, then cool it. anyway, i read this article that provided a solution to the problem. First, keep ebm from diff sessions in the fridge. When they are of the same "coolness", then "combine" them into a bag. Then freeze it.

Information found in :
http://www.wikihow.com/Store-Your-Expressed-Breast-Milk

I am also subscribe to the theory of last in first out on my milk. Cos' the old the milk, the less nutrient is has. So why let new milk become old milk before consuming.

RE: First Teeth Toothpaste (DRUGSTORE SPREE)

1496418.jpg

I will be ordering in the above toothpaste for Ethan.

He has some of the following symptoms and I think he will be teething soon..

<font color="119911">When will my baby start getting teeth?

The vast majority of babies sprout their first teeth when they're between 4 and 7 months of age. An early developer may get his first white cap as early as 3 months, while a late bloomer may have to wait until he's a year old or more. (In rare cases, a baby's first tooth is already visible at birth.) Whenever the first tooth makes its appearance, celebrate the milestone by taking pictures and noting the date in your child's baby book.</font>

<font color="0000ff">What teething symptoms will my baby experience?

Experts disagree about whether teething actually causes symptoms — like fussiness, diarrhea, and fever — or whether these common symptoms are not related to teething at all and just coincidentally appear at the same time as emerging teeth. Regardless, many parents maintain that their teething babies do experience discomfort (though some babies get through the process with no problems at all). The symptoms most likely to trouble a teether include:

• Drooling (which can lead to a facial rash)
• Gum swelling and sensitivity
• Irritability or fussiness
• Biting behavior
• Refusing food
• Sleep problems</font>

Jgal: I want the Rainbow and Pooh love you book too, hopefully at $3.99.

Xiang: Can you add a tube for me too! Thanks!

Store EBM: If its last in first out, wouldn't the older milk be forever not used..... oh no i seem to be given my baby all the old milk first

RE: DRUGSTORE SPREE

<font color="0000ff">First Teeth Toothpaste Order List (US$4.49)</font>
<table border=1><tr><td>Nick</TD><TD>Qty</TD><TD>Cost</TD><TD>Total (US$) </TD></TR><TR><TD>Calamari</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4.49</TD><TD>13.47 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Stefylim</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>4.49</TD><TD>8.98 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chewy</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4.49</TD><TD>13.47 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xiang</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>4.49</TD><TD>13.47 </TD></TR><TR><TD>Scubababe</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>4.49</TD><TD>4.49 </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Note:
1. USD RATE: 1.45 (Will adjust accordingly to the credit bill)
2. Ordering of other items from drugstore is accepted.
3. Transfer payment will be advised later.

<font color="119911">P.S. I cannot ensure the colour of the toothbrush provided with the pack but will try my best to match it with your baby.</font>

scubababe : You will be getting the poohbook at $3.99 (exc. shipping) cos' i have ordered extra in the morning. As for the rainbow fish, i hope to order today.

scubababe : yeah. If you store too much milk, you end up having to throw them. But then again, the whole idea of bf is give the best to the baby, so i guess it's okay to throw, knowing that you have given him the best.

Stefy,

he tends to chew on his hand now and then.. i dun want him to get a habit out of it.. so i think it's better for me to buy it first since the 4th month will be here sooner than we thought.

Xiang,
Very fast ethan exhibit teething prob. Last time my girl also bite while bf but now not really. However i do notice more saliva on ur mouth and she keep eating her drumstick yummily w saliva on hand, lips faintz.... Do u know the retail price for first toothbrush/paste in spore?

babes, silly qn, but cannot reuse the milk bags izzit?

scubababe, I remembered u bought ur mambo baby float fr a BP here, u still hv the contact? I am bringing my son to swim this wkend, any idea if I shld get the swimsuit for NW/infant with the float or juz the warmer suit will do? I am buying him a diaper wear eps for swimming too.. incase he poo poo.. wow.. then I be in DEEP trouble.. hahahaha

180 Pikkolo Carrier Order, No shipping fee from States to Spore? BP ends today

Confirmed Orders
1) Amy - Stone
2) Jacelyn - Appletini
3) Lynn - Appletini
4) Esther
5) Starling-Appletini
6) Kang-Appletini

Mummies, do remember to email to [email protected] for payment purpose.

Many april mummies buy appletini model hor. Mar mummies buy a lot of spa, somerset, stone etc

Today i tried the pouch on my girl using hip carrier style with legs and hands and head all out, she slept in it. I m so happy. Finally my pouch is not wasted kekeke. Think asian bb use this better at 2.5mths to 3mths onwards unless ur bb is like Sherin, super easy and adaptable, can use from birth kekeke

How is the outing next sat mummies? My bb going for jab next fri
Jgal, did ur girl develop any fever or cranky after jab? Did u give anything else to her to help her manage? Thinking of giving her barley water/ling yang/ My friend told me to feed her w a small teaspoon of medication that pd give straight after her jab to prevent fever coming up. Hmm m not very keen to give medication yet. How?

chewy: cannot reuse. The bags are meant for 1 time use. Dun know what will happen if you sterilize it. Whether it will give off poisonous substances.