(2008/04) April 2008

xiang....do u know the size of the babysafe mattress??? i got a hand down cot but feel like buying a new mattress for bb instead...

xiang,
That's fast for the mothers work info! Have you gone down to check out the prices? I am thinking of getting a mattress protector too, but don't know whether a normal no-brand one will do? I bought a playpen mattress and even with all the robinsons discount, still cannot match the price.

chewy,
For electric pdts, perhaps u want to check out the warranty validity before buying. If you buy now and the warranty period starts ticking, then maybe not worthwhile to rush for the sales. For other items, I'm already stocking up slowly. I got the pump too, but will only collect in Mar so that the warranty will start then.

Steph,
I got the Infantino carrier instead of baby bjorn which is really too expensive. Actually, no need to buy that so soon because a newborn cannot fit in until he reaches a certain weight.

jaspire & jamie,
sori to inform u so late coz I'm just bk hm fm orchard...
my hubby will be going Lavender tmr, I will sms both of u in the morning in case u din log in to the forum. gdnitezzz...

Jenny

PM i.e. private message is link to ur email address which u used to register at this forum. You just gotto check ur email

<font color="0000ff">morning...

Hi Porkie,
glad it is not too serious.... do rest well... don think too much....

hmmm still thinking about getting a new mattress for my no 2... but now my hubby don like the smaller cot we have... we have a bigger one for my no 1 but i pass it to my cousin which is still using... haiz....</font>

Good morning everyone...

Thanks for all the comments on the baby carrier. Baby Bjorn is indeed quite expensive...tsukushi, do you remember how much was the Infantino carrier and where can i find it? thks!

hi bbroyce, tks! Will wait for your sms... I will be working late so might get my hubby to pick up the stuff from your hubby.

Gd Morning

<font color="119911">Porkie</font>: Glad it's good news for you. Dun have to lose sleep abt it.

<font color="119911">Jgal</font>: I will pay you cash when we meet. Thanks for arranging.

<font color="119911">tsukushi</font>: Hee, I am too eagar to get the discount as most of the departmental stores does not offer discount for BabySafe. I popped by GWC branch last night with my hubby. Reserve a cot mattress for collection on Thur or the weekends. Bought the following items:
1. BabySafe Infant Pillow
2. BabySafe Infant Sleep Positioner
3. BabySafe Cot Mattress Sheet
4. One Travel diaper changing pad

<font color="119911">Stephanie Lim</font>: BabySafe mattress comes in the following sizes:
Baby cot mattress
28in X 56in X 3in (70cm X 142cm X 7.5cm)
28in X 52in X 3in (70cm X 133cm X 7.5cm)
28in X 48in X 3in (70cm X 122cm X 7.5cm)
24in X 48in X 3in (60cm X 122cm X 7.5cm)

If the above sizes doesn't fit into your cot, you can customise it at $30.

You can call BabySafe @ 6356 1258 for enquiries.

Check out the size for more information on the cot mattress. http://www.babysafe.com.sg/product_nl_001.html

However, not all sizes are available at Motherworks. Call motherworks to check the availability before going down.
They are opened on Public Holidays as well.

Hi, calamari

The mattress actually comes with holes. Usual price of 28" x 48" is S$175. As for the rest, I am not too sure. But you can call BabySafe to check the prices. There's no difference in the price they quoted me as compared to departmental stores. So far, I saw the mattress at Kiddy Palace and Robinson, both selling at $175.

The pic of the mattress is available at the above link that I posted.

i haven receive my baby cot so dunno wat is the size... how to make any purchases?

sherin, for me for baby full month celebration... most likely at home for convenience.

hi xiang,

thanks so much for the info,if customise,the mattress will cost above $200,cos $175+$30,the BabySafe Cot Mattress Sheet is the same as the cot mattress protector or is it the bed sheet?how much is it?what is special abt the BabySafe Cot Mattress Sheet ?what is the One Travel diaper changing pad ?how much is it?

Sherin: hmm...i plan for my baby first month celebration to be at my place club house. Some of my friends did it at hotels....but restricted to only relatives cos too expensive.

Went for checkup yesterday. Scanned baby's heart and organs, etc. Baby's doing fine. I put on 2 kg over 4 weeks.

Peeked at a couple of bags at Miu miu, luckily (or unluckily) bag I liked was not on sale :p

Went JL, managed to get a few front button gown PJs and disposable cotton undies, Impression brand for preggies.

Didn't have time to go DFS, so more money saved. Had a nice, relaxing facial instead.

Hope everyone has a good lunch and thank goodness it's only another half-day to pub. holiday!!

Hi Sherin,
I be doing my baby full month celebration outdoors. Less hassle & think my hse be messy so dun want too much work. We are thinking of hotels or restaurant, juz enjoy & dun hv to worry.. heehee

Hi joelle- glad to hear ur baby's doing well! My scan is next thurs, can't wait to see wat's my little one doing. Oh man, he's been kicking & moving so much these days...

Hi jaspire & jamie,
pls mit my hubby this late afternn at Lavender mrt ctrl station @ 6.30pm for your collection of warming shampoo and body wash.

chewy, where do u intend to hold it at? I also thought do it outside, less hassle, no need to clean up.
i know marriott has a package which is for $38++ per pax.

hi gals, just to check with you. Do you know if our hubby parents will give any ang pow during confinement to us to buy tonic etc? Or it shld be from our parents? Is there any such traditions?

jaspire : my own grandma expecting a grand affair when i deliver.. but not sure if my in-laws will do it or not. But this is wat happened when i was born.

Upon delivery, relatives will bring in tonic, liqour for mummy's confinement thru parents. I think some ppl give angbao instead.Both side.. but more is expected from the dad's side since bb carries their surname.

Upon full mth, the dad's side are to "return" gift, which includes cakes , chix , egg and rice.
In return, relatives will give ang bao and gold for the baby.

jaspire: Both side shld give us angbao/tonic. I hope my in-laws will do it properly else my parents will get angry.

jaspire, my MIL gave me and my #1 each an ang pow during confinemt period bt I dunno if traditionally she shld give or nt. My confinemt is done at my parents' plc and my mum buy and cook tonic and confinemt food for me... I gave her an ang pow aft my confinemt instead.

Hi chewy
yes mine is moving frequently too. it's such a drag between checkups! hope the 2 holidays coming up makes the wait easier for you

RE: First month celebration

I wish to do the first month celebrations at home. It's more economical and convenient in terms of gift and baby logistics. However both our extended families combined comes up to about 70 pax. Definitely can't do on 1 day! The alternative would be to split two parties on Saturday and Sunday.... :S

RE: Baby birth traditions

WOW I didn't know there were traditions for family to follow!! Nor did I know that there were gifts to give, then need to return gifts,etc. Reminds me of wedding traditions , man that was a headache >.< Interesting point, good to note though.

wah, headache wor... cos my MIL is doing my confinement. I will be giving her $ to buy my confinement food and also to thank her for taking care of me. Also will be engaging a maid to do housework so that my MIL only need to look after my SIL's 1 yr old boy, my baby and me. Not sure if my mum expects my MIL to give anything wor... or if my mum will give. I am quite wary about such things cos I want to make sure everyone is happy wor.

Hi goodbabyb

I bought the cot mattress cos my colleague actually recommended it. We saw it at kiddy palace and like the softness that it provides. The Babysafe mattress comes with "holes" so that when baby turns and sleep on stomach, he can actually breathe..

BabySafe Cot Mattress Sheet that we bought is a fitted bedsheet with 5" height. It's different from the waterproof mattress protector. The waterproof mattress protector cost $33.90 at Mothers Work for 2pcs in a pack. The size of the protector need not match the mattress.

The travel-size diaper changing pad I bought is similar to the one shown in the picture
1161075.jpg

Jaspire.. 1 thing you can do is to ask your hubby to give money to your mil first.. few thousands. But be sure your hubby communicate what is expected of her to use the money for. 1) herbs and tonic 2) gold from the grandchild etc. I dun think you are suppose to give angbao to her cos' that's her grandchild, take up the same surname. Groom's family is actually supposed to take care of your confinement and pay for the expenses, very much like the wedding.

If your mother do for you, it's out of good will and that one you need to give angbao on behalf of your hubby's family.

hey gals, sorry to be jumping about topics. Anyone know how to do digital scrapbooking? I wanna try that but dunno where or how to start? Any suggestion?

I'll prob be doing my first month celebration at my condo's function room. Hoping to keep it simple, cos i thik planning for it during our confinement will not be very easy. Not sure if my in laws expect a grand affair tho...

jaspire
both my mum & mil gave ang pao for my #1 when she is born. my mum did the confinement for me & i gave her ang pao in return for taking care of me & bb.
i guess it depends on individual family tradition beliefs.

joelle
my #1 first mth also done at home, its definitely more convenient & comfortable for bb. my invited guests/ relatives also abt 60pax, but i still do it in 1 day coz not all of them will come at the same time.

finally got some spare time to come in and read abit of the postings ...

Regarding BB's full month... Trying to get my hubby to ballot for the SAF Chalet .. if successful most probably will be holding the full month day .. cos more spacious .. home limited space ..

Hi Sherin,

Interested in the Marriot package leh... you know if they throw in a room? Would be more convenient cos then BB can rest if too tired.

Hi everyone..

Wow, the thread is indeed moving fast.. on to the topic of one month celebrations already! From what i learnt, the in-laws are traditionally suppose to take care of the daughter-in-laws confinement. in the sense of cooking, caring for her and buying her tonics. But really, my own MIL doesn't do that. I do know of some MIL who offer to pay for the confinement lady. During the one month, i gave my mother and aunty an angpao, just as a gesture.

Am planning to have the 1 month party at home also.. for my first one, we did it at a function room but baby really hated it and was crying and crying. Only stop crying when we told him, its okie we can go home now. So this time, i think better to have at home. More convienent for me to bf also.

Jgal
Oh I didn't know traditionally groom's family is IC of confinement. No wonder my MIL keep insisting on paying for the CL!

jamie
Hey that's a good idea! I didn't think about different timing for different groups of people. Maybe I can do lunch with mine then dinner with his family. Getting the celebration over in one day makes more sense than dragging over two. Thanks for sharing.

For baby full month, if I 'chia' at hotel, i would be broke man! Hahaha..cos I have very big families and many friends...should be about 150 pax. Then hotel bill will come up to $7,000. I will just hold it at my condo club house and throw in better baby favours

Hmm..I also didn't know that my in-laws have to pay so many things one, like CL and confinment food + ang pow. So far my MIL never suggest leh.

Actually, groom and bride side's elderly esp those you invite for your wedding and you give teh to them have to give you something during/after your confinement. That's to say your SIL/ BIL/uncles/aunties etc .. All have to give something to the baby/mummy, we are not talking abt pass-downs.

My grandma told me, she give gold & angbao to her niece i.e. my very young auntie when she give birth also. So i think i will be expecting my granduncles to give to me.

calamari, i oso dunno mil will pay for CL and confinement food. My MIL doesnt want me to get CL cos she say she can do. And I still thinking of giving her $ to do my confinement. My MIL oso never suggest that she will give any ang pow.

steph,
I got the Infantino's Eurorider carrier at ~$79 after the 20% discount. But have to wait for bb to reach 8lb before can be used.

Xiang,
You bought a lot of things indeed! Did you get the newborn pillow? Supposed to help prevent flathead but don't know whether it's effective. I only know its usage after buying. Didn't know what the flat infant pillow was for either. I already bought a swaddler, so don't know whether the infant positioner is still required.