(2008/03) March 2008

Cheryl..u know when is the next sale??

Anybody went to robinson's new baby corner.. saw from papers the other time..but yet to visit the stores..

Morning MTBs..

Raining this morning, so any of you girls were late for work?

mummy babe dude,

You want a baby checklist? i think i posted before..maybe you give mi your email i sent the one i'm having to you...

btw i'm also a first-time mummy like u.. I am wondering are you getting a breast pump..

I've seen a lot of mummies buying then later some of them dont find it useful at all..

can share your experience with mi anyone?

trust me, u will FIND the time to buy even when you're waddling like a duck, with swelling foot and piles... hahaha.. reminds me of me, still do last minute shopping 12 hours before my induction. i was told that it's good to walk during the last trimester, makes delivery easier. i guess i didn't walk enough b'cos my labor was like 8 hours even though i was already dilated when i checked in.

bellebeins,
i put off getting a pump after delivery too. this is for me to decide if i'm suitable for breastfeeding. finally i got it b'cos i need to use once i get back to work or when i need to go out and couldn't latch baby directly. so it really depends, if you're adamant to breastfeed, do get the pumps first. for starters, avent isis is good enough. i like it. but once i get to work, i bought Ameda Lactaline, electronic dual pump, which saves time.

for starters these are important:

- lots and lots of newborn diapers, for babies born below 3kg, they're too small to fit the S size. so for the first few weeks, get the newborn type, they're slightly smaller.

- wet wipes or cotton balls, if u want to wash them with warm water. babies poo a lot during the first few days, especially breastfed babies.

- swaddle blankets, to keep them warm. i swaddle them when she's asleep to keep them warm and not startled easily.

- baby clothes, buy cheap cheap one can already

- baby detergent

- nursing pads (disposable - i recommend pigeon brand) you will leak a lot as your body gets accustomed to your baby's feeding demand.

- nipple shield and nipple cream or olive oil. trust me your nipple might crack with all that latching so make it a habit to mosturize it. else you might need a nipple shield to help you survive the pain when baby needs to latch. not easy ok, luckily i had a high threshold of pain and preservered.

- abdominal binder, i mentioned this before hehe.

there's more lah but i think the above are the more crucial ones.

swimming
hey i also wan to go. Mummy_norman where u go for swim since u stay near me and wdl swimming pool is under reno?

Baby item
No nd to buy. Hv a few brand new bottles hvnt use one from my #1. My fren passed me a electric dual pump and i hv a manual one from my first preg. Guess i jus nd bb clothes cos i gv them away le..

Yeay goin to see my bb later.. will confirm gender then.

swimming
it's great to be done with 1st tri. Now we can be "free"
. i hope to start swimming too. can i join in the swimming group?

i went for a scan on thursday.Week 12. FINALLY!! The babies are 7cm long and their heads are 2cm long. My gynae was more excited than i to check the gender...lol. Most prob two gals one boy she said. Hope so. my hb n i on the other hand couldn't see anything from the scan at all :p

in my baby room now sits three boxes of baby clothes all donated courtesy of families and friends. Three packets of newborn baby diapers from a friend who cautioned against stocking up too many as babies grow very fast out of it. One bathing tub. Baby monitor. Let's just call me a collection centre... hehehhe

kais,
wow so excited for you!! now you have girls and boy!! how wonderful. hey 3 packets of diapers not enough leh. it's only enough for 1 liao hahaa. besides i think that since you're going to deliver early, you will need more newborn diapers. they poop a lot at first. wish i could see your scan pics kais!

i'm still waiting for more people to give me diapers... hehehe... juz kidding.

My hb is planning to write in to see if we can get any sponsorship for diapers, milk powder, baby essentials, etc. Nothing ventured nothing gained

Even buying bulk from distributors should be cheaper than from the shelves we figured.

Will be going back to work tomorrow.FINALLY!! So, will find time to scan and post
akan datang

kais,

i am so excited for u, u r so lucky...one time can close shop lio. hehehhe. two girls some more. kais, u stay in bishan? me too. we can go swimming together and just imagine my baby can have ur babies as friends, me so lucky as well....

mummy dude

yes, her new condo, balmond green is along the balmoral rd. i like the swimming pool there, clean and quite.

Baby item,

i also dun feel like buying new one. i will ask for my aunty, her baby already a yr plus, she will give me baby's bed, trolley and others baby items. some old folks said new born babies better using old clothing and i only buy babies item on the last trimester. i will wait till metrol got 20%, more worth it. hehehehehe

kate
Yah, bishan st 23. Facing Bishan park. Our kids can picnic tog and besides three kids, i hv two terriers too.. hehehe.. hope u like dogs.

kais,

i used to have 2 silky terrier, miumiu is gigi mother. miumiu is 8yrs old, she was given by my friend. gigi is her doughter now she is 5 yrs old i think. miumiu now stay with my aunty cause i can't handle 2 dogs. hahahaha. have u add me in my msn? [email protected]

hi kais,

really happy for u and cant help to meet you to see ur triplets esp when we are in our 3rd trimester... are the 2 girls identical twins?

<font color="0000ff">Kais</font>

congrats !

very happy for u
will update accordingly

2 gals and 1 boy ..just what I was hoping to have eventually

<font color="aa00aa">kate,
ic...i live at sengkang still not too far to travel to ur aunty condo. u wana organise the swimming group? how abt on a sat? let me knoe n also count me in.

kais,
wah...finally u r at ur 12wks liao...happy for u got boy n gals....will be v merries.

<font color="aa00aa">Swimming is a wonderful form of exercise during pregnancy. The water makes you buoyant so that the extra pregnancy weight isn't so stressful to your muscles and joints. You can swim laps for aerobic exercise; you can also do resistance exercises in the water to tone your muscles. As with any form of exercise, be sure to listen to your body's signals so you don't overdo it. Also, drink lots of water before, during, and after your workouts, even though you might not feel like you're sweating. Put on plenty of waterproof sun screen if you're swimming in an outdoor pool and try to avoid the really hot times of day (10:00 am - 3:00 pm). You might want to call around and see if you can find an aqua aerobics class nearby. Even one that does not specialize in pregnancy fitness can be modified for your needs.</font>

the swimming sounds so excited, too bad, i'm a non-swimmer (sounds like non-smoker).. I don't know how to swim, if not i will love to join u ladies, can u imagine a pool of preggies? that's gg to be quite amusing.

yoga
anyone confirmed their yoga lessons? i sent rita my cheque, haven't hear from her yet.

after the scan, my gynae says if she has to guess it's a gal, but still too early to confirm as i'm 13wk only. i prefer boy, but like everyone says 'no shrimp, fish oso good lah'... LOL.

kais ,congrats on all the good news, loves to hear from you.

buying baby stuff
too early to buy, my gynae kept saying to wait till later, i think she will give me the que to start buying. LOL.. i feel that i'm so at ease with her, she seems to plan everything for me.

stretch mark cream
gynae says to start creaming my belly from now on!!! everyone started?

oscar test
babyDe, yes, the higher the ratio, the lower the risk your bb has DS. for eg. the baseline for ur age is 1:700, and if the result is 1:1000, then u r safe! my gynae explained the result to me.

ultrascan
today i see my bb jumping up and down in the waterbag - wah so active, i cannot believe it! and at one time, he/she turnt her face to be scanned directly! anyone seen bb's face scan yet? it's so cool.

yup, niwa,
dr wong says the same things to me. she says buy after next visit (20th week) when she can confirm the gender then. and she says can start cream now.. but she will advise not to get the brand palmer cos many of her patients get rashes after using. then again, i have a colleague using palmer. she says it works fine for her. i guess it depends on individual.

niwa

i aslo sent rita the cheque already, i assume the lessons are confirmed so see ya on the 7th oct!

kais
congrats! must keep us updated on your triplets!

stretch mark cream - i started using already- this brand called pureen... not too bad la... my gynae actually don't believe in anti stretchmark cream cos he said it's genetic whether you will get it or not... so decided not to invest so much on stretch mark cream... just apply so that i feel good psychologically...

baby stuff - i only gotten a bumper play mat thru' small small world BP - still waiting for it to come-- guess it's the first baby item i bought. didn't want to wait cos don't know when's the next BP and certain designs maybe out of stock... the rest think i'll slowly get during nov/dec when there're sales going on...

i've also signed up for cord blood storage with cordlife last sat at a $400 discount... just want to be a kiasu parent and get some form of medical insurance for bb ..... just in case...* touch wood*

babe_dude
oh yah, been to the centrepoint robinsons baby section.. it's very well stocked compared to some other departmental stores... worth going to take a look cos the things are so nicely presented .. but of course, nice things come at a nice price... hehe.. and find that the variety of prams there are wider... but of course can also go baby kingdom and baby hypermart at kaki bukit for comparison though things are placed more haphazardly at these 2 places...

babyDE

ok.will include u. u can come to bishan and we go together. it's hard to go there cause no busess or mrt direct to there. my car can sit 3 to 4 mummies. most probably on every saturday cause sunday i have rita yoga class. this week i see how is my flu going on, now still haven't fully recover.add me in my msn so i can contact those who want to join.

niwa,
i sms her today, mine she has already received cause i just drop it istead of mail it. u post the cheque to her? got write ur name and h/p behind the cheque? today monday maybe u got to wait till tues or wed. dun worry she will sms u once she received it.

Swimming gathering

Kate
kais
mummy dude
baby DE

Swimming gathering
Kate
kais
mummy dude
baby DE
abcdisney n gal (can or not?) Btw where har??

Kais
Got sponsorship? so nice.. got cheaper lobang must share ley.. hahaha.... can? heehee....

Gynae visit
Confirm it is a boy... now ppl help me think of boy's name. I tot of one suddenly this morning.. Jervoir? Is this common? I dun wan a common name ley... hahaha... I tot of this cos suddenly think of jovial = happy then relate to this name lor. hahaha...

Hey who else going NT scan in TMC? Kate and Linda right? Wan to put at similiar date? i am goign on 22 oct at abt 12 noon...

Swimming gathering
Kate
kais
mummy dude
baby DE
abcdisney n gal (can or not?) Btw where har??
Adeline ++ heheh

Kais
omg.. so long nv check thread and glad to hear ur good news!!!!

abc
congratz! so fast think of name!! hahaha

Btw i was pretty worried after my food poisoning last week. Afraid that it will harm the baby. My diet is still as usual. Unhealthy! Sighz.. and have been stopping my supplements since i started vomiting.

<font color="0000ff">abc</font>

that name u think of is rather unique, i m thinking of one that starts with K and is single syllabus..if u gals have nice unique names to shae, tell me hor
hehe, tot of Kash

abc, ur gender is confimed at 16th week or 20th week ?is tat ur detailed scan ?

heh, cos i wana schedule mine accordingly

anyway, i was quite boh liao and was thinking of these..which one sounds nicer ? ;)

<font color="0000ff">Kruz

Keef

Kell

Kemp

Kern

Kal

Kash

Khys

Kay

Kart

Kerg

Kert

Kirk

Klaus

Kurt

Kyle

Klark

Klay

Kleon

Kliff

Kraig</font>

abc,
congrats for boy. don't worry if you don't get girl lah. can always try again hehehe.

babypink,
i like Kyle best. sounds friendly. Kash sounds like Cash. many many $$$ coming haha.

bellebeins,
you blur lah you. i don't forget which week i am one. hehehe.

Adeline,
don't feel bad about stopping supplements. i didn't take it all by choice. i hate those fish oil and i can't swallow pills! so it's my problem lor hehehe.

bellebeins,

how I wish I'm also 16 weeks now then I can go for the triple test. I'm only 14 weeks and 6 days. Hoping 5th Oct comes quickly so that I can go for my triple test. Have been thinking and worrying too much abt the test. Keep asking my hubby if my baby is gg to be fine. Gg crazy soon.

Melissa,

I know i very blur one sometimes.. hehe..
and it sleeping has been quite rough lately as well...cant find a good position..

Jerejoy,

I will be going for my doc's appointment this fri.. Supposingly to do some tests.. but still wonder if i should even do the triple test....

Melissa,

I know i very blur one sometimes.. hehe..
and sleeping has been quite rough lately for me as well...cant find a good position.. any problem with that for u?

Jerejoy,

I will be going for my doc's appointment this fri.. Supposingly to do some tests.. but still wonder if i should even do the triple test....

Tips to Sleep Better During Pregnancy
======================================
Tip to sleep more comfortably during your pregnancy.

* Create a Comfortable Sleep Environment

To begin with, you need a comfortable sleeping environment. A firm mattress will really help your body to relax, and you also need to keep the room at a cool temperature. You will tend to be a lot hotter during pregnancy than you would be normally, so having a fan or an air conditioner in the bedroom will help you keep cool as you sleep.

* Find a Comfortable Pregnancy Sleep Position

Finding a comfortable sleeping position is one of the biggest problems during pregnancy. It is impossible to sleep on your stomach, and after your fourth month you do not want to sleep on your back. Sleeping on your back constricts a major blood vessel. It also puts a lot of pressure on your intestines and on your back, which can cause or aggravate constipation or hemorrhoids.

Instead, you will have to sleep on your side. Using a pillow between your legs or underneath your stomach can make side sleeping a lot more comfortable. Also, spreading out your legs can be a more comfortable position for side sleeping.

* Monitor Pre-Sleep Liquid Consumption

One of the most disruptive things about sleeping when pregnant is having to get up multiple times during the night to pee. This is pretty much impossible to avoid, but if you limit your liquid consumption for a few hours before bedtime, you may have to get up fewer times during the night.

Of course it is vitally important that you stay properly hydrated during pregnancy, so if you are not drinking during those hours before bedtime, make sure to drink extra during the rest of the day.

* Keep Lights Dim

Having nightlights or dimmer switches sin the bedroom and bathroom means that you will not have to turn on bright lights when you get up in the middle of the night. Staying in semidarkness helps keep your body in sleep mode, so it will be easier to nod off again when you get back in bed.

* Relax Your Mind

If you are having trouble sleeping because your mind is racing thinking about the new baby and all the changes that will soon be happening in your life, try practicing some relaxation techniques before bedtime. A light snack, a warm bath, or a little bit of yoga are all ways to help your mind relax so that you will be able to fall asleep easier when you get in bed.

* Don't Force Sleep

If you just find it impossible to sleep, get up and do something else instead of tossing and turning. Then you may find yourself tired enough in an hour or so to get back in bed and fall asleep again.

bellebeins,

If u are doing the triple test, can u pls let me know how the test is conducted and how long to know the results? Thanks!

Maybe I hv been seeing some of the sad stories in the forum and started to be v paranoid. Trying to calm myself to stay positive.

Jerejoy
i did my triple test. They jus extract yr blood. Tat's all. Will knw result in less than a week. Usu if noting wrong doc wun call u.

Babypink
Yrs confirm a gal liao? I know it when i had my 12 weeks scan (NT scan) gynae scan the area.. saw that little thingy protuding out.. 50% boy... yesterday is 16 week plus... see the whole gential area.. so confirm liao lor....

I also like Kyle...

Hey i oso wan some input ley.. actually i think of A and Bs.. but somehow duno y jus suddenly think of the name jervoir lor... Nice or not?

Cant think of unique name for A and B ley...

jerejoy,

dont be paraniod.. no good...always think positive when it comes to baby..

Hmmm..i still wonder if i should take the test...at first i dont think need...

but then again..no harm going for a triple test since i'm pass the oscar test stage..

haiz...see wat my doc say..then i wonder that day she take the measurement of my bb's neck should be enueff rite...

abc
hehehehe...congrat is a boy. one boy one girl means hao(good). u want to bring ur girl, can. c my car can fit or not if not i will pick u up in newton MRT cause no bussess to go there. what is NT test? so many tests. will comfirm with dr Ang first. going for his appt on the 5th.

Adeline,
dun worry, sometimes i also skip my supplements, yesterday nite still feel a bit of heartburn and i only eat vr little for my dinner. sometimes my appetite so good sometimes no appetite at all. Adeline, where u stay? cause need to arrange for the swimming gathering.

about my flu

i try not to take any medicine for my flu cause i have just finish my chinese cough medicine. now my flu have been a few days, getting better but not fully recover. so worry, taking so much medicine nowadays will harm baby or not? i called up my gyena for advice, he said any normal flu medicine can take. should i take?

abc,

Thanks for the info. Need to wait for a week huh. A bit long hor. Think I will be crazy by then. ;p

bellebeins,

Thanks for yr encouragement. Will try to think positively. I think u can skip the triple test since u hv done the oscar test. I tot the oscar test is more accurate than the triple test. Just my guess.

I hv a dog too. She's a maltese. Love her so much.
985455.jpg

Jerejoy,

I didnt do any oscar test also.. I went in the last visit.. Dr Lim said to measure bb's neck..no blood drawn also.. then she said normal ..thats all..

But i thinking all should be fine.. positive thinking...*haha* so dont know if i should just skip the triple test as well..

abc,

She's very adorable. Hope she wun feel jealous when my baby is born. My frd's dog ignored her after she has given birth.

abc,

She's very adorable. Hope she wun feel jealous when my baby is born. My frd's dog ignored her after she has given birth.

jerejoy,

The 'coconut tree' on your maltese's head is so cute

Actually, just to play safe, why dun you go for the triple test? Just take your blood sample and you can go off le.

pegsfur,

Thanks! It's so fun playing with her hair. Haha! Hopefully my baby is a gal so that I can dress her up everyday.