(2008/03) March 2008

juz booked a confinement lady for $1.7k. My colleagues said that the popular ones usually very fast booked. This is the second confinement lady i called le.

adeline,
possible to ask boss to allow you to work from home on certain days?

i am not sure whether to book confinement lady cos my mum says she will take 1 month leave to help me do my confinement. but i also scared she cannot cope. Hmmm....

kevjul
My gynae prescribed me utrogeston, multivitamins & folic acid. I take Vit C also as i can't eat any citrus fruit.

if gt mum help, shd be ok. many of my colleagues' mum helping them do confinement too.

btw, i gt 4 pregnant colleagues! all 4 giving birth this year. haha! fertile workplace......

babylush

it's very nice of your mum to do that! you can rest assured she'll take good care of you and bb...why not just engage a part time maid to take care of the household chores?

me thinking of that too as prob will be asking my mil to help out.... heard stories about some confinement ladies who back out last minute la, this la that la... and some even asking for $2.3k for next year march *faint*

wow. so many taking supplements. my gynae only give me folic acid. and i don't drink milk because i don't like the taste now.

Should i request from my gynae? Not sure whether it will be expensive or not.

Hi Babypink, please change my EDD to 18th March.

Supplement
The first gynae which i see when i had my #1 recommend neurogain. However when i conceived her, i didnt take any multi vitamins nor fish oil n not even folic after the first trimester... jus drink lots of milk. Now i take fish oil (nordic naturals from vitakids. I like tat cos it is strawberry flavoured. I tend to burb a lot after taking fish oil thus cannot stand the fishy smell), and multi-vit whcih is inclusive in my package. Doc say take multi-vit can no nd take folic acid since it contan folic acid as well.

Adeline
Your boss male or female? Got child? All these makes a difference one.

oh god. my gastric is vibrating again. I realise that i ate a bit more, my gastric will start vibrating. Even though the a bit more is lesser than what i eat before my pregnancy.

mummyboy,
why not take gelusil after the meal. take like 30 mins - 1 hour after meal, this will reduce gastric hyperacidity. i just stock up on gelusil. really phobia of extreme gastric! or get Mylanta for faster relief. all these are completely safe for pregnancy b'cos it was prescribed by my gynae.

agree w abc...if boss has child,it does make a difference...

When i had my 1st child,I am just a contract staff..But the big boss is good.He renews my contract and give me maternity leave..Really thankful to him and my manager..

But my manager is a women with 2 kids.
That doesnt seems to be the case for me.
I came back to work today dragging my feet out of the house very unwillingly.

i feel that some women bosses tend to be pretty nasty even though they may have kids.. they somehow forgot the difficulties they went thru and prob the kindness they received along the way..

my current big boss is one example..she is reaching her fifties and her kids are in their teens. She is someone who craves for power and is capable of doing anything juz to get wat she wants. she can be very mean to us, always passing sarcastic remarks about us in front of us.. She is like a two-faced hypocrite, sometimes a tigress, sometimes a fox in rabbit disguise....

Lukily, my immediate supervisor is a very kind and understanding family man ...

just a question: do you think men or women make better bosses?

twinklestars: for me, male make better bosses. Eg: when i had menses cramp, i take urgent mc, he's ok. When i preggy now, he linked me wif his elder sister, saying *preggy is painful, bear wif it. my sister also vomit, cannot eat.*
So he tend to ask me to rest more n not work so long.

So far I've had only male bosses and I must say that they have both been very nice. My ex-boss, who's a Chinese, used to tell me to just take a day off to go home and rest if i m not feeling well (but I wasn't preggie then). My current boss, who's also male and is a European, is making plans for me to stop flying for business trips and for another colleague to take over my travels. He doesn't insist that we need an MC to take a day off work although he would encourage us to see a doctor if we are unwell. He's also quite flexible and not picky if you arrive 10 mins late or leave 10 mins earlier from work. Both of my male bosses are married with children, maybe that's why they are more understanding too.

My only one experience with female bosses is that they tend to be slightly more demanding. Heard from a male friend that his boss is female, single and in her 40's and she can scold the admin gal until she cry! Hope I never have to face those kind of bosses....

i think old single female boss makes the WORST kind of boss liao. especially when reality bytes and they realised that they're alone in this world, slaving time of their life for career. that's why they're bitter and do not understand family issues. sadly this group of people is increasing. i wonder what the govt is going to do about it. they already come up with cpf annuity b'cos govt dowan to take care of these pple when they're old. haizz..

on the other hand, male bosses can be more understanding. sometimes they're too blur they just let u go off with leaves or MC but some of them really understands the demand of pregnancies.

err but i foresee there will be more woman bosses in future. just look at the office environment, more women than men leh. these pple will climb up to become bosses one day. i find those independent, hiao managers really bitchy leh. bleargh.

For me, my family is definitely more impt then work. I am not one that crave for promotion or someone to say "Wah Adeline.. You perform so well at ur work i give u a Star".
i only wanna do my work well and go home.

My EX immediate supervisor was a female. She is very understanding towards me but too bad when i got preggy, just nice she tender her resignation to go other company for better prospects. She is so understanding cause she had a premature son so she knows exactly how i feel.

But my current immediate supervisor, She is okok but i think she not really happy. And when i at home resting i keep receiving her calls to ask me this and that. DuH!

Whereas my GM, he is very nice. but he leaving us soon in 2 weeks time. Sighz.. My company is corrupted with bad people!

i met gd and bad bosses in work regardless of gender...

Current male boss is quite a hypocrite..he can say in front of u "u mc cos u not enuff work to do is it?" buay tahan him..

One incident i need to take child care leave next day cos have to take my son for review on his bronchitius..he send me email if can go another day...anyway i only saw his email after i have taken the leave...

Hi Babypink my EDD showed is 24 March 2008 =D

Melody
As I very scared I will have stretch mark on my tummy as it look ugly, so i check with my gynae at my previous appt whether can I apply stretch mark lotion at tis stage? He told me to avoid stretch mark cream tat contain cocoa butter cos some of his patient got skin irritation after applying sketch mark cream tat contain cocoa butter.

Bubble
Palmer brand dont buy it. I dun like also. I like mustela.. (not sure is it spelt like that)
I bought from kiddy palace few weeks ago cause they having promo. it smells nice.

Bubble
I not sure if they still have that promo.. cause the usual price is about $53.. but for the promo they selling twin pack for $91 moerover i have discount card so minus 10% i only pay $80.

where can we get cheaper maternity wears? the pants and blouse at those maternity shops in shopping malls are so expensive!

mummyboy,
hdb shops lor or This Fashion, some baby doll tops are good enough for maternity wear.

to me it's not about the brand but how u wear it.

mummyboy

u can try TPY central or amk hub or beauty world, the shop is carrano, their dress, pant, or top cost less den 40 i tthink.... tat day i buy 1 dress, 2 top, 1 skirt. all cost 95... quite cheap

re: stretch mark cream

i m using mothercare inhouse stretchmark cream

go Top Shop lor, i think Top Shop looks like This Fashion. amk also have Mums & Babes i think. oh btw, Kiddy Palace also has nice, affordable maternity wears. if u don't have the discount card, better apply for one.

Thks Adeline for yr info.

Cheryl, how much did u pay for yr stretchmark cream

Ya loh maternity wear so ex, I jus bought 1 3/4 jean & 1 jean skirt costs me abt S$130 >.<

i dono if i shd continue buying after buying one maternity pants. scared by the third trimester all maternity pants cannot wear and must buy new sets. nw still tummy haven't really balloned but cannot button/hook le. so really look very bad when my top "accidentally" exposes my unbuttoned pants. kept trying to pull my blouse down. Those that have been pregnant second time, can u advise if it is a gd time to buy maternity pants now? or should wait till 20 weeks?

btw, nw 15 weeks. Today one of my colleague saw me and said "Your tummy is showing." Then another colleague says,"Where got so fast the baby showing. Now, the tummy is the fats."
so sad.

aly

u 15 week?? u feb mtb??? i m 16 week now.. and edd is ard 21 feb

btw my tummy oso show liao. quite big.. scary.. just started to wear maternity wear this week... i bot a few dresses, shd be able to fit till birth

my EDD is ard 28th feb to 1st mar. (according to different calculation)
cheryl,
my tummy is very very tight. like wan to burst like tat..
the feeling is i need to expand more but my skin is too tight.

And when i get up after sitting or lying for a long time, i will feel a ache. like muscle pull. u gt tis feeling too? sometimes can feel light throbbing pain.. normal? i duno whether i am too sensitive to pain.

aly

yes i have that feeling oso.. and my tummy is really tight.. as if it is going to burst... i guess the tummy is growing quite fast oso..my tummy dun have ache but back n butt ache more....

aly...u can start buying maternity wear liao...

once tummy starts to grow,damm hard to button up pants..unless u wan to get skirts (L size or XL size)..

hi cheryl & aly,

my tummy oso showing... going to be 15th weeks soon.. I still can wear my skirts but wear them high-waist, no longer hipster... hahah
i scare i will grow very fat... =(

aly

next week is my next appt. hopefully can see liao...

venue

yes, my skin is keep stretching.... i think my belly button kana stretch till going to pop out liao

I am in 12 wk now but couldn't button up my pants when I was in my 9th wk. I went to buy one pair of maternity pants (black) (ard $95) and one maternity skirt (black) (ard $80) from Thyme Maternity. They are very elastic and comfortable and I can use baby doll tops or larger long sleeved shirts with them for work and they are very comfy too. Especially the skirt, super elastic band! Can accomodate until 3rd trimester coz you can wear it at 3 different heights on the tummy. Would recommend the pants and skirt to anyone who needs to wear smart/ formal clothes for work. There is currently a 20% off at OG Orchard which also has a Thyme Maternity outlet there. The sales lady Linda from the Thyme Maternity section was very helpful when I was there to buy my clothes.

Note for those who buy the pants: If you need to alter the length of the pants, wash it first before you alter it coz the length might shrink slightly after washing.

mine on the 18th.. 12 more days to go. hope can see too. will drag my hubby along tis time no matter hw busy he is.

My skirts cant even zip up.. then pants always unbuttom when sit down..must go shopping liao..

haiz...now cant wait to go home

bellybutton...towards the later stage,skin really v stretch and i thot that my belly button going to pop out but it din...

i m jus back from the NT test @ tmc... so interesting to c baby movin..

but i haven know my result wo.. they say will send to my gynae...

but i read tat someone know ur result as not very good.. n do some more testing...then how come i dun need to know my result now?? does it mean i will need to go back to do other test.. if my gynae tell me my result not good???

anyone know ah???

Spring Maternity has affordable maternity clothes. Bought 6 pieces of tops and bottoms during the National Day period sale. T-shirts were going at 2 for $42. A few pieces more expensive. Paid around $240 in total. The outlet at Suntec has more choices.

cladi,

How come the doc who took the NT test for you can't tell you the results hah? I went for mine at KKH and although it was not administered by my gynae, she was able to explain to me the results and asked if I wanted to go for further tests. I thought event he results not that good, the doc should advise on the spot coz the results are almost instantaneous leh...

My gynae had schedule to see me a month after the NT scan was done so I was given the impression that there was no need to refer to the gynae to explain the NT scan...

just measured the tummy (sharpest point) 31 inches. don look very big but y feel so heavy!?
can't imagine hw i am going to cope when my tummy gets bigger in third trimester. now already walking around feeling very fat, like having a ball in front of me.. but the thing is the ball still small but heavy leh.. i oso gt slight backache. maybe bad posture.