(2008/03) March 2008

Good Morning all!

Fattening the Baby:
LOL. Pediasure does work. My Phoebe looks more chubby. But, quite siong on pocket. Anyway, try feeding cheese and potatoes (boiled/mashed) and durains. That is if bb can take these. Phoebe loves durain too.

Melissa: Phoebe also takes abt 5oz per feed, dpds on mood, and 3 feeding per day only. :p I am racking my brains trying to squeeze in the 600mls per day.

Aly: Yeah, pediasure does not contain lactose. It tastes better than Marigold fresh milk. LOL.

How much do you get the pediasure at? I found a shop in Jurong West selling at $30.50 for the 900g tin. I'm still searching around the west neighbourhood area.

Probably not the best option, but I think chocolates can help fatten up too. Try Kit Kat, Cadbury chocolates, Milo nuggets etc. There's those chocolate flavoured biscuits that are shaped like teddy bears too, forgot what the name of it is. Can try drinking Yakult too (it also seems help baby to poo). Freshly squeezed orange juice works too.

too bad ryan dislikes pediasure... not sure if it's because the sample is choco flavoured.
i bought the meiji meltkiss dark choco for him to try. (supposedly for me) he also eat 1pc then dun wan liao.
i dare not buy 1 tin of vanilla pediasure, i scared he dun drink then i waste $$.

reena: i started ryan on nuggets & fries since 14mths. din work on the fattening part. juz made ryan more thirsty..

blue skies: ryan dun like yakult or vitagen. tried both. i running out of ideas wat fatty foods to feed him.

so far, i tried (bak zhang, macdonalds, kfc, choco praline, bread, biscotti, starbucks)
only thing i refuse to feed him with is (coke, soft drinks)

melissa: i fatter than u! my hb also pui pui.. dunno y my boy so skinny.
then i'll get all the (cause my BM is too little for him) blah blah story...

petrina
I think dark chocolate is not as sweet because it has higher cocoa content. Maybe you can try the normal chocolates? If you are giving him fries, try to give him those which are big and chunky, and shake off the salt on a tissue paper before giving it to him. Those fries that they serve with fish & chips (e.g from Swensen's) are crispy on the outside and still soft on the inside. But the MacDonald's type can be a little bit soggy.

Pet: If we meet, u can try the vanilla one. If u pass by bt batok, u can call me too.
Or ask the PD/doc when you go to the clinic. Or U can also pick up the leaflet and send in for sample? The sample took abt 1 mth to reach me la. Hahaha.

Maybe Phoebe is like wu di tong. Anything also sup. LOL. She even tried a small mouth of wasabi crackers - Calbee. She only dislike tomatoes based things like tobasco and those chinese style tomato sauced and fried fish.

But I very seldom feed soft drinks.

melissa, pd was being sarcastic. I never give alex unhealthy stuff with the thought to fatten him up. I'm chubby tubby myself, so i wan alex to develop healthy eating habits

blue skies: he dun like normal choco. i gave him subway cookies, he only eat cookies w/o the choco.

kell: thks for the offer.. only chance i pass by BB is on sats when i go church.. i think i'll email them for a sample. faster.. lol
ryan also greedy to try everything. his recent love is the jpn champange grapes. damn exp..

but my mom said, ryan everything also eat.. yeah.. but the total amt of food he eats in an entire day does not even fill up 1 bowl. !DUH!
so i think i can only get him to drink more cream milk as he's a total milk lover. (though i'm not sure he loves mine or cow's)

kell, i thot ntuc now having pediasure offer now? thot i saw it less than $30. maybe u check it out. i am also racking my brain how to let dd drnk more milk. now i thk everyday, at mst 450ml or less only.
reena, i hope ur kid is ok nw. e bump look so big. i almst screamed when i saw that picture. never seen such big bump before.
clover, glad ur hb and urself are ok. must have a shock. luckily bb nt in e car.

I'm trying to get Tommy to sleep now and when he asked for more milk for the 4th time, I said NO, go nap nap NOW! haha

both my kids love milk, can drink as much as you want to give them....talking about fattening foods that's healthy....avocado (but i think that makes tommy poo poo too much so I don't give anymore), full fat yogurt, roast chicken (tommy loves that), eggs, cheese....just don't give lean meats...babies need fat to develop their brains so cholesterol is not a health concern for them

With 2 kids, it's harder to avoid snacks since Chelsea takes snacks and like to show it to her brother :p....just now we were at the market and we passed by soft drinks being displayed and Tommy boy pointed at it and wanted some...he kicked up a bit of fuss when I refused :p....his eating habits are already corrupted :p

JTS
I fell down wearing my crocs on sat. Its slippery on wet floor. Luckily, I lightly sprained my ankle and didn't drop Phoebe. So, don't buy crocs. At that price, its not worth it.

kell: i gave up on crocs a super long time ago.. IMO, they r lousy n costly.. i changed my casuals to fitflops. comfy & safe.

adeL: oh.. i think i gave ryan too much grilled chicken breast meat. tats y not fatty enough?
kfc or nuggets, i also peel away all the skin n fats. cause i tot it's quite disgusting..

i think if ryan eats a lot of stuff, then restricting to lean meat is fine...but if you think he's not gaining weight well, then I would say just give him a drumstick yummy

Reena, the puff looks tasty.

I love durian crepe, those which are sold at takashimaya food court or durian pancake...

Anyone can share the recipe to make durian pancake/crepes? how to make the durian filling...it's really good!

I think the most important taste is the filling...hmmmm yummy.Any recipe to share???

Petrina, thx for the info!
My kids love to eat KFC and stuff...my first son only eats the skin! It's not healthy but very difficult to stop him. Thus, i seldom bring him to KFC or Mcdonald.

My PD suggested to motivate kids to be active or doin some sports, running, jumping etc everyday. After that, they will eat more. Then put them on bed. After sleep - feed them again with any food/milk/ice cream. After 1 hour its dinner time, play an hour or more than put them on nite sleep after milk.

I've tried in my first son, Yes..it's working. He looks chubby but the weight is still maintaining around 16-17kg. i don't why? maybe he's growing tall.

adeL: hehs, maybe y he's eating lean meat cause it's MINE to begin with.. he only loves to share food. doesn't like to have his separate share.

kresentia: no probs. pm me if u need any other info.

Yeah, my crocs is a little worn, the base edges had smoothen, but just a tiny bit. Like 10% of the whole area. Maybe I'm gng to super glue sand paper to the base. LOL

I think some knock out brands can never work safely in SG. Cos the rain comes like 80% of the time and Crocs home market don't rain (ok, but only 10% of the time)...

OK, end of Crocs Drama. :p

Kell,
I can't remember how much but i think it is $31.25 for 1 tin (900g) plus two small tins of ready to drink pedisure milk 8oz(chocolate and strawberry flavor)
ntuc is selling it now for $28.45

i think if ryan eats a lot of stuff, then restricting to lean meat is fine...but if you think he's not gaining weight well, then I would say just give him a drumstick yummy

the last 2 words sound delicious =p

Erny
the word crepe just make me yearn for those at marche, missing tat place now

kell
glad all is fine, i agree tat it is not worth the $, esp when there r horror cases of the kids' toes trapped in escalators

Pet
hehe, i never find nuggets skin disgusting, tot it is part of the whole yummy package

gaining wt
how i wish i m in the shoes of those kids who can't gain weigh, can eat and eat without worrying abt tightess of clothes

chubby babies
drinking milk 2 hrs-ly like mine sure helps .. he drinks more than 1 litre of milk a day. he is on solid too, but even after meal wan to have milk. The milk addiction starts at 6am and ends only at 10pm

melissa
gald tat the swelling is better now..can imagine the heart pain, somemore during a vacation

clover
glad tat all is fine, and tat none is injured. accidents r scary

reena: oh. i love to make crepes.. mango crepes r easier than durian crepes. filling - mango & whipped cream. LOL

bbpink: oh. for ryan, i felt the flour wasn't well cooked. of course for us, we'll eat the whole thing. hahaha
when i peel it away, i can feel the wetness n stickiness. same as the kfc skin. can literally c the uncooked flour/fats.

Pet,
Actually the fillings are the same. If I were to make durian puffs again, I'm just going to make it with whipped cream. Hmm.. I've got one big mango sitting at my counter top, maybe I should make some mango puffs/crepes hehehe

reena: ya. same. i juz meant, durian harder to get than mango. hehe
i'm more tempted to eat the physical fruit rather than mash it.

some shops they add lots funny things in the durian filling. so i tot it might be more ley chey.

Ade,
You can find the recipe in my blog. I've got a few other recipes for the choux pastry, will try out another day and find the "perfect" choux ;-) but for now, this recipe is good enough for me as it's really very simple.

Reena, Thx! I plan to try this weekend. Hope I can make it nicely. Cos I am not very good in cooking and baking...hiiiii

BabyPink, Yeah..the crepe at Marche is delicious!

Mikael,
Yes, fresh durians minus the seed. But actually no need to be so accurate. I used 10 pcs of durians with relatively small seeds. If you like more flavour, cut down on the whipping cream.

I use hand sanitizer too but not extensively. But I thought once you rub it dry, it should be fine, no? Anyway, thanks for sharing, will take extra note.

BTW, DD1 started her very own blog

http://pinkylovespear.blogspot.com/

She saw my blog and wanted one for herself. I started this blog after her constant pestering. Will use it as a tool for her to practise her writing (sentence construction) and typing skills.

Would apppreciate some encouraging notes to boost her confidence. Thanks!

Reena,
Excellent idea. I can't wait for DD1 to start blogging too.. lol but of course, I gotta teach her about internet security and be more vigilant who she interacts with. Then that will be the time when I'll fear the world more than ever!! Hahahaa.. Your DD's blog is so cute!! Heart warming!

kresentia,
thanks for sharing. it makes sense. even though it sounds like just another urban legend to me, but there's truth in it. i noticed Tricia is more curious than her elder sister so i must always watch her more carefully than DD1.

petrina,
i can imagine u licking on the durian paste while making durian puffs hahaa. i'd be the same kind too. durian is too yummy to make into a different form of food! :p

Reena, really envy you for making all these home made yummy food. i have no flair for cooking and baking. i can only cook simple stuff. i can never let my guests feast on my cooking b'cos i'm scared they'll hate it! haha..

pediasure,
I think there's a cheaper alternative? Dumex came out with All-In-One or something like that. I requested a sample and Tricia seems to take it well. however, she still favors real solid food vs liquids.

Gosh! I typed a long posting wanna and I tot I sent but how come i din see it when i scrolled back! I typed it this evening before I went to make my son sleep. Juz woke up and log into the forum and its gone?! Eeeeerie...

Aiya... too lazy to retype again.

Juz pop in to say hi to all mummies here! For your info, I m stil alive juz in case some tot I m not! Hahahhahha!

YT
u and ur sense of humour..haha, just saw ur earlier post..

Reena
very sweet ..feel like creating under blogspot jolovespink myself..hehe ") and a fantastic way to train sentence construction

Good Morning!

There's a few sales gng on today - I know Isetan has 1 - too bad I'm working.

Hand Sanitiser:
After rubbing the liquid on your hands, and when hands are dried, even if you touch your mouth, there will be a bitter, alcohol taste. I dun use on young children cos I tasted myself - albeit accidentally.

Anyone interested to take over some of my son's clothings? All brand new as I bought too many clothes for him. $6 each with postage.

Item 1
Carters
Size 12 months
Size runs big.
2694758.jpg
2694759.jpg
2694760.jpg

Item 2
TKS
Size 2T
2694761.jpg
2694762.jpg
2694763.jpg

Item 3
Nattajack
Size 2 - 3 years old
2694764.jpg
2694765.jpg

Item 4
Carters
Size 2T
2694766.jpg
2694767.jpg

Item 5
Carters
Size 2T
2694768.jpg
2694769.jpg

Reena
Your daughter's blog is cute
I tried to leave a comment but kept coming up with an error msg leh :p will try again later

those clothes look like a good deal but they seem rather big?? i think i'll pass since i don't like to keep too many clothes in storage bfor can wear although i really like the blue shirt

AdeL,
Thanks! I leave her alone to do her blog but will check for spelling mistake once she complete. She read too many Archie books, her style very Archie and I have to tell her it's incorrect. I worry later she writes compo like this in school *faint*

No worries about the clothes. Yes, good deal as selling below cost (but some are gifts). I'm just the opposite when it comes to kids' stuff, be it clothings or shoes. I like to have buffer. Eg shoes, I always have a spare pair of bigger size at home, so that once they outgrow the current pair, I don't have to scout around like mad to look for a suitable shoe. Cos it happened to me when we only have dd1 then.. scurried around to look for a new pair :p